DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 12, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reynolds et al. (US 20150229133) in view of Wang et al. (US 20230189269).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 20, Reynolds teaches measuring a first signal to obtain a first measurement result (Fig. 5b, Fig. 6A, and [0135] the backscatter coefficient is known, e.g., characterization measurements have been or can be taken); and transmitting, according to the first measurement result, a backscatter signal based on a second signal, wherein the first signal is transmitted by a second terminal device (Fig. 6A, 605, 620, Mobile backscatter device).
However, Reynolds does not expressly teach uplink signal and backscatter signal to a network device. Wang teaches Fig. 4, 105 Base Station. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Wang in order to support communications for multiple users by sharing the available network resources ([0002], Wang).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Reynolds does not teach, however, Wang teaches wherein the processor is further configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the first terminal device to perform: before the transmitting, according to the first measurement result, a backscatter signal to a network device based on a second uplink signal, receiving second information transmitted by the network device, wherein the second information comprises scheduling information of the second uplink signal (Fig. 4 and [0083] scheduling message 371 may include scheduling configuration for UE 115 to receive or detect backscatter transmissions or reflections from one or more wireless powered IoT device of wireless powered IoT device 410). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Wang in order to support communications for multiple users by sharing the available network resources ([0002], Wang).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 5-11, 13, 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. HUANG et al. (US 20220174676) discloses Fig. 5 and Fig. 6.
/EUNSOOK CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467