DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 16625684, filed on 12/21/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/18/2024, 6/6/2025, 3/24/2026, and 7/28/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Egloff (20090262346) hereafter Egloff.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Egloff discloses a mirror unit (9A) comprising: a mirror device (9A) that includes a base (43) including a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, and a movable mirror (40, 41) supported in the base (43) to be movable along a first direction that intersects the first surface (fig. 9A, par. [0101]-[0105]); and a member (30) including a third surface (9A) that faces the second surface, a fourth surface opposite to the third surface, and a fifth surface that is separated from the mirror device in a region where the fifth surface faces at least the movable mirror, wherein the second surface of the base and the third surface of the member are joined to each other, and the fifth surface of the member extends to an outer edge of the member when viewed from the first direction (fig. 9, par. [0032][0034][0100]-[0105]).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Egloff discloses the mirror unit according to The mirror unit according to wherein the second surface of the base and the third surface of the member are joined to each other by direct bonding (fig. 9, par. [0100]-[01005]).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Egloff discloses the mirror unit according to The mirror unit according to wherein the mirror device is constituted by a semiconductor substrate, the semiconductor substrate includes a support layer that is a first semiconductor layer, a device layer that is a second semiconductor layer, and an intermediate layer that is an insulating layer disposed between the support layer and the device layer, the second surface of the base is a surface opposite to the intermediate layer in the device layer, and a mirror surface of the movable mirror is provided on a surface on the intermediate layer side in the device layer (fig. 9A, par. [0032][0034][0100]-[0105]).
Regarding claims 4 and 9 Egloff discloses the mirror unit according to The mirror unit according to wherein the base further includes a sixth surface that is separated from the member in a region including at least a part of an outer edge of the base when viewed from the first direction (fig. 9A, par. [0032][0034][0100]-[0105]).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Egloff discloses the mirror unit according to The mirror unit according to wherein the outer edge of the member is located outside of an outer edge of the base when viewed from the first direction (fig. 9A).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11879731 hereafter Suzuki. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 of Suzuki read on or make obvious claims 1-10 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a mirror unit comprising: a mirror device that includes a base including a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, and a movable mirror supported in the base to be movable along a first direction that intersects the first surface; and a member including a third surface that faces the second surface, a fourth surface opposite to the third surface, and a fifth surface that is separated from the mirror device in a region where the fifth surface faces at least the movable mirror, wherein the second surface of the base and the third surface of the member are joined to each other, and the fifth surface of the member extends to an outer edge of the member when viewed from the first direction (see claims 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki discloses a mirror unit comprising: a mirror device that includes a base including a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, and a movable mirror supported in the base to be movable along a first direction that intersects the first surface; and a member including a third surface that faces the second surface, a fourth surface opposite to the third surface, and a fifth surface that is separated from the mirror device in a region where the fifth surface faces at least the movable mirror, wherein the second surface of the base and the third surface of the member are joined to each other, and the fifth surface of the member extends to an outer edge of the base when viewed from the first direction (see claims 1 and 6).
Regarding claims 2-5 and 7-10, Suzuki discloses the limitations therein (see claims 2-5 7, 8).
Conclusion
/JAMES C. JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872