Claim Objections
Claims 13-16 and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13, line 1: “further comprising” should have been –wherein the operations further comprise”;
Claim 14, line 1: “further comprising” should have been –wherein the operations further comprise”;
Claim 18, line 1: “further comprising” should have been –wherein the operations further comprise”;
Claim 19, line 1: “further comprising” should have been –wherein the operations further comprise”;
Claims 15, 16, and 20 are objected to for being dependent on the objected claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 5:
“the user” in lines 2 and 3 are unclear whether they refer to “a user” in line 21 of claim 1 or line 2 of claim 4. For the examination purposes, “a user” in line 2 of claim 4 will be treated as --the user--.
With respect to claim 7:
“the hardware resources” in line 6 is unclear whether it refers to “hardware resources” in line 17 of claim 1 or line 3 of claim 7. For the examination purposes, “hardware resources” in line 3 of claim 7 will be treated as --the hardware resources--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinstein et al. (US 20110162033 A1, hereinafter Feinstein) in view of Heinrich et al. (US 11757612 B2, hereinafter Heinrich), Gulbay (US 20200137688), and McGavran et al. (US 9303997 B2, hereinafter McGavran).
With respect to claim 1:
Feinstein teaches A method for managing operation of a data processing system, the method comprising:
obtaining, (e.g., fig. 5 and [0084], “Process 500 determines a location of the data processing system”) using a resource of the data processing system (e.g., [0029], “For example, the location in such solutions may be determined by global positioning system (GPS) coordinates or an identifier, such as a telephone number, associated with the data processing system”);
(e.g., [0084], “a location of the data processing system”),
identifying, (e.g., fig. 5 and [0085], “Process 500 selects a policy based on the location determined in step 504 (step 506).”);
in an instance of the identifying where at least one policy of the any policies is keyed to at least one of the (e.g., [0085], “a policy based on the location”):
selecting, (e.g., fig. 5 and [0085], “Process 500 applies the selected policy (step 508).” And fig. 5 and [0087], “process 500 determines whether to configure the data processing system according to the policy (step 514)….process 500 either performs a security configuration or sends configuration instructions, such as to the operating system or a component thereof ( step 516).”);
performing, (e.g., fig. 5 and [0087], “process 500 either performs a security configuration or sends configuration instructions, such as to the operating system or a component thereof ( step 516).”); and
providing, using the updated data processing system, computer implemented services to a user of the updated data processing system (e.g., [0079], “For example, notification 422 may be transmitted, recorded, logged, displayed, announced, indicated, or otherwise communicated to one or more data processing systems, devices, or personnel.” And [0077], “Another example notification may display a message on the data processing system of security application 402 when networks are about to be switched and privileges affected as the location of the data processing system is changed.”).
Feinstein does not teach however Heinrich teaches
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”)
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”)
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”)
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”),
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”),
performing, by the management controller and using at least a sideband channel between the management controller (e.g., col. 2, lines 30-34, “BMC may be connected to the NIC through a sideband interconnect. As used herein, a "sideband interconnect" refers to a secondary, limited access communication interface for the NIC, which is separate from the NIC's in-band interconnect and is used for a specific purpose.”) and hardware resources (e.g., col. 2, lines 36-45, “The BMC may communicate management traffic with a given NIC for a variety of different purposes...powering down the NIC; powering up the NIC; updating firmware of the NIC;...validating hardware of the NIC”) of
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of Heinrich to reduce processing operations that are usually performed by CPUs.
Feinstein as modified by Heinrich does not teach however Gulbay teaches
obtaining, by (e.g., [0017], “A low power communication engine may operate in the out-of-band environment to determine the location trust levels.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich with the invention of Gulbay to increase security and efficiency of managing operations of the data processing system.
Feinstein as modified by Heinrich and Gulbay does not teach however McGavran teaches
identifying, (e.g., col. 10, lines 34-36, “the destination selector 220 is a destination predictor that generates a set of predicted destinations” and col. 9, line 54, “potential destinations for the device”);
filtering, by (e.g., col. 10, lines 55-59, “When presented with multiple potential destination regions and/or their addresses, the destination selector can filter out some of the potential destinations that have lower ranking or affinity scores”)
(e.g., col. 10, line 57-59, “the destination selector can filter out some of the potential destinations that have lower ranking or affinity scores”);
(e.g., col. 10, line 57-59, “the destination selector can filter out some of the potential destinations that have lower ranking or affinity scores”):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich and Gulbay with the invention of McGavran to reduce processing time associated with obtaining information at the time of the request by predicting information that will be needed by the user.
With respect to claim 12:
Feinstein teaches A non-transitory machine-readable medium having instructions stored therein, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations for managing operation of a data processing system, the operations comprising (e.g., [0116], “a read-only memory (ROM)” and [0117], “Further, a computer storage medium may contain or store a computer-readable program code such that when the computer-readable program code is executed on a computer, the execution of this computer-readable program code causes the computer to transmit another computer-readable program code over a communications link”):
obtaining, (e.g., fig. 5 and [0084], “Process 500 determines a location of the data processing system”) using a resource of the data processing system (e.g., [0029], “For example, the location in such solutions may be determined by global positioning system (GPS) coordinates or an identifier, such as a telephone number, associated with the data processing system”);
(e.g., [0084], “a location of the data processing system”),
identifying, (e.g., fig. 5 and [0085], “Process 500 selects a policy based on the location determined in step 504 (step 506).”);
in an instance of the identifying where at least one policy of the any policies is keyed to at least one of the (e.g., [0085], “a policy based on the location”):
selecting, (e.g., fig. 5 and [0085], “Process 500 applies the selected policy (step 508).” And fig. 5 and [0087], “process 500 determines whether to configure the data processing system according to the policy (step 514)….process 500 either performs a security configuration or sends configuration instructions, such as to the operating system or a component thereof ( step 516).”);
performing, (e.g., fig. 5 and [0087], “process 500 either performs a security configuration or sends configuration instructions, such as to the operating system or a component thereof ( step 516).”); and
providing, using the updated data processing system, computer implemented services to a user of the updated data processing system (e.g., [0079], “For example, notification 422 may be transmitted, recorded, logged, displayed, announced, indicated, or otherwise communicated to one or more data processing systems, devices, or personnel.” And [0077], “Another example notification may display a message on the data processing system of security application 402 when networks are about to be switched and privileges affected as the location of the data processing system is changed.”).
Feinstein does not teach however Heinrich teaches
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”)
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”)
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”)
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”),
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”),
performing, by the management controller and using at least a sideband channel between the management controller (e.g., col. 2, lines 30-34, “BMC may be connected to the NIC through a sideband interconnect. As used herein, a "sideband interconnect" refers to a secondary, limited access communication interface for the NIC, which is separate from the NIC's in-band interconnect and is used for a specific purpose.”) and hardware resources (e.g., col. 2, lines 36-45, “The BMC may communicate management traffic with a given NIC for a variety of different purposes...powering down the NIC; powering up the NIC; updating firmware of the NIC;...validating hardware of the NIC”) of
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of Heinrich to reduce processing operations that are usually performed by CPUs.
Feinstein as modified by Heinrich does not teach however Gulbay teaches
obtaining, by (e.g., [0017], “A low power communication engine may operate in the out-of-band environment to determine the location trust levels.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich with the invention of Gulbay to increase security and efficiency of managing operations of the data processing system.
Feinstein as modified by Heinrich and Gulbay does not teach however McGavran teaches
identifying, (e.g., col. 10, lines 34-36, “the destination selector 220 is a destination predictor that generates a set of predicted destinations” and col. 9, line 54, “potential destinations for the device”);
filtering, by (e.g., col. 10, lines 55-59, “When presented with multiple potential destination regions and/or their addresses, the destination selector can filter out some of the potential destinations that have lower ranking or affinity scores”)
(e.g., col. 10, line 57-59, “the destination selector can filter out some of the potential destinations that have lower ranking or affinity scores”);
(e.g., col. 10, line 57-59, “the destination selector can filter out some of the potential destinations that have lower ranking or affinity scores”):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich and Gulbay with the invention of McGavran to reduce processing time associated with obtaining information at the time of the request by predicting information that will be needed by the user.
With respect to claim 17:
Feinstein teaches A data processing system, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory coupled to the processor to store instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations for managing operation of the data processing system, the operations comprising: (e.g., [0118], “A data processing system suitable for storing and/or executing program code will include at least one processor coupled directly or indirectly to memory elements through a system bus”):
obtaining, (e.g., fig. 5 and [0084], “Process 500 determines a location of the data processing system”) using a resource of the data processing system (e.g., [0029], “For example, the location in such solutions may be determined by global positioning system (GPS) coordinates or an identifier, such as a telephone number, associated with the data processing system”);
(e.g., [0084], “a location of the data processing system”),
identifying, (e.g., fig. 5 and [0085], “Process 500 selects a policy based on the location determined in step 504 (step 506).”);
in an instance of the identifying where at least one policy of the any policies is keyed to at least one of the (e.g., [0085], “a policy based on the location”):
selecting, (e.g., fig. 5 and [0085], “Process 500 applies the selected policy (step 508).” And fig. 5 and [0087], “process 500 determines whether to configure the data processing system according to the policy (step 514)….process 500 either performs a security configuration or sends configuration instructions, such as to the operating system or a component thereof ( step 516).”);
performing, (e.g., fig. 5 and [0087], “process 500 either performs a security configuration or sends configuration instructions, such as to the operating system or a component thereof ( step 516).”); and
providing, using the updated data processing system, computer implemented services to a user of the updated data processing system (e.g., [0079], “For example, notification 422 may be transmitted, recorded, logged, displayed, announced, indicated, or otherwise communicated to one or more data processing systems, devices, or personnel.” And [0077], “Another example notification may display a message on the data processing system of security application 402 when networks are about to be switched and privileges affected as the location of the data processing system is changed.”).
Feinstein does not teach however Heinrich teaches
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”)
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”)
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”)
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”),
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”),
performing, by the management controller and using at least a sideband channel between the management controller (e.g., col. 2, lines 30-34, “BMC may be connected to the NIC through a sideband interconnect. As used herein, a "sideband interconnect" refers to a secondary, limited access communication interface for the NIC, which is separate from the NIC's in-band interconnect and is used for a specific purpose.”) and hardware resources (e.g., col. 2, lines 36-45, “The BMC may communicate management traffic with a given NIC for a variety of different purposes...powering down the NIC; powering up the NIC; updating firmware of the NIC;...validating hardware of the NIC”) of
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of Heinrich to reduce processing operations that are usually performed by CPUs.
Feinstein as modified by Heinrich does not teach however Gulbay teaches
obtaining, by (e.g., [0017], “A low power communication engine may operate in the out-of-band environment to determine the location trust levels.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich with the invention of Gulbay to increase security and efficiency of managing operations of the data processing system.
Feinstein as modified by Heinrich and Gulbay does not teach however McGavran teaches
identifying, (e.g., col. 10, lines 34-36, “the destination selector 220 is a destination predictor that generates a set of predicted destinations” and col. 9, line 54, “potential destinations for the device”);
filtering, by (e.g., col. 10, lines 55-59, “When presented with multiple potential destination regions and/or their addresses, the destination selector can filter out some of the potential destinations that have lower ranking or affinity scores”)
(e.g., col. 10, line 57-59, “the destination selector can filter out some of the potential destinations that have lower ranking or affinity scores”);
(e.g., col. 10, line 57-59, “the destination selector can filter out some of the potential destinations that have lower ranking or affinity scores”):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich and Gulbay with the invention of McGavran to reduce processing time associated with obtaining information at the time of the request by predicting information that will be needed by the user.
Claims 2-6, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinstein as modified by Heinrich, Gulbay, and McGavran as applied to claims 1, 12, and 17 above, and further in view of Dubal et al. (US 7581029 B2, hereinafter Dubal).
With respect to claim 2:
Feinstein teaches obtaining, by (e.g., fig. 1 and [0075], “In another embodiment, policy 414 may be received from a policy server, such as server 106 in FIG. 1.”) (e.g., [0084], “the data processing system”)
obtaining, (e.g., [0087], "a security configuration or sends configuration instructions")
Feinstein fails to teach however Heinrich teaches (e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”),
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of Heinrich to reduce processing operations that are usually performed by CPUs.
Feinstein and Heinrich fail to teach however McGavran teaches (col. 9, line 54, “potential destinations for the device”);
(col. 9, line 54, “potential destinations for the device”); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich and Gulbay with the invention of McGavran to reduce processing time associated with obtaining information at the time of the request by predicting information that will be needed by the user.
Feinstein, Heinrich, and McGavran fail to teach however Dubal teaches caching, (e.g., col. 4, lines 34-37, “In the illustrated embodiment, applicable updates are cached 320 in a memory associated with the machine, such as the memory 206 pending return of the machine from its dormant state.“.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich and McGavran with the invention of Dubal to reduce risk of infection and threats to the system and network.
With respect to claim 3:
Feinstein teaches (e.g., fig. 5 and [0085], “Process 500 selects a policy based on the location determined in step 504 (step 506).” And [0087], “process 500 determines whether to configure the data processing system according to the policy (step 514)”)
Feinstein fails to teach however Heinrich teaches (e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of Heinrich to reduce processing operations that are usually performed by CPUs.
Feinstein and Heinrich fail to teach however McGavran teaches the second set of potential destination locations, (e.g., col. 21, lines 53-55, “identifies one or more predicted destinations based on out-of-state probability analysis,” and col. 12, lines 39-42, “an "out-of-state" probability analysis (where "out-of-state" refers to the device currently being in a location that is not one of the machined-generated destination regions for the device)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich with the invention of McGavran to reduce processing time associated with obtaining information at the time of the request by predicting information that will be needed by the user.
Feinstein, Heinrich, and McGavran fail to teach however Dubal teaches discarding, (e.g., col. 5, lines 4-9, “In one embodiment, applying 316 cache policies may include applying a cache retention policy to cached updates to control how long updates remain in a cache. For example, one such policy could be to delete an update if a later superseding update has been stored. Another such policy could be to delete updates as soon as they are applied.”) (e.g., col. 5, line 5, “cached updates”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich and McGavran with the invention of Dubal to reduce risk of infection and threats to the system and network.
With respect to claim 4:
Feinstein teaches (e.g., [0084], “the data processing system”).
Feinstein fails to teach however McGavran teaches wherein the second set of potential destinations locations (e.g., col. 10, lines 35-36, “a set of predicted destinations” and col. 9, line 54, “potential destinations for the device”) is based on indicators of future intent of travel for a user (e.g., col. 3, lines 17-20, “In some embodiments, this engine includes a machine-learning engine that facilitates the formulation of predicted future destinations and/or future routes to destinations based on stored, user-specific data)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of McGavran to reduce processing time associated with obtaining information at the time of the request by predicting information that will be needed by the user.
With respect to claim 5:
Feinstein fails to teach however McGavran teaches wherein the indicators of future intent comprise: personal calendar items for the user regarding the travel for the user in the future; and instant messages directed to (e.g., col. 3, lines 22-28, “In some embodiments, the stored, user-specific data includes data about any combination of the following: … (3) locations of calendared events in the user's calendar… (5) addresses parsed from recent e-mails and/or messages sent to the user.”) and from the user expressing the intent of the travel (e.g., col. 5, lines 55-56, “in other embodiments supply the
telecom messages that they send”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of McGavran to reduce processing time associated with obtaining information at the time of the request by predicting information that will be needed by the user.
With respect to claim 6:
Feinstein teaches (e.g., [0084], “the data processing system”).
Feinstein fails to teach, however McGavran teaches wherein the indicators of the future intent do not include geolocation of the user, and geolocation (e.g., col. 3, lines 22-28, “In some embodiments, the stored, user-specific data includes data about any combination of the following: (1) previous destinations traveled to by the user, (2) previous routes taken by the user, (3) locations of calendared events in the user's calendar, ( 4) locations of events for which the user has electronic tickets, and (5) addresses parsed from recent e-mails and/or messages sent to the user.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of McGavran to reduce processing time associated with obtaining information at the time of the request by predicting information that will be needed by the user.
With respect to claim 13:
Feinstein teaches obtaining, by (e.g., fig. 1 and [0075], “In another embodiment, policy 414 may be received from a policy server, such as server 106 in FIG. 1.”) (e.g., [0084], “the data processing system”)
obtaining, (e.g., [0087], "a security configuration or sends configuration instructions")
Feinstein fails to teach however Heinrich teaches (e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”),
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of Heinrich to reduce processing operations that are usually performed by CPUs.
Feinstein and Heinrich fail to teach however McGavran teaches (col. 9, line 54, “potential destinations for the device”);
(col. 9, line 54, “potential destinations for the device”); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich with the invention of McGavran to reduce processing time associated with obtaining information at the time of the request by predicting information that will be needed by the user.
Feinstein, Heinrich, and McGavran fail to teach however Dubal teaches caching, (e.g., col. 4, lines 34-37, “In the illustrated embodiment, applicable updates are cached 320 in a memory associated with the machine, such as the memory 206 pending return of the machine from its dormant state.“.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich and McGavran with the invention of Dubal to reduce risk of infection and threats to the system and network.
With respect to claim 14:
Feinstein teaches (e.g., fig. 5 and [0085], “Process 500 selects a policy based on the location determined in step 504 (step 506).” And [0087], “process 500 determines whether to configure the data processing system according to the policy (step 514)”)
Feinstein fails to teach however Heinrich teaches (e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of Heinrich to reduce processing operations that are usually performed by CPUs.
Feinstein and Heinrich fail to teach however McGavran teaches the second set of potential destination locations, (e.g., col. 21, lines 53-55, “identifies one or more predicted destinations based on out-of-state probability analysis,” and col. 12, lines 39-42, “an "out-of-state" probability analysis (where "out-of-state" refers to the device currently being in a location that is not one of the machined-generated destination regions for the device)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich with the invention of McGavran to reduce processing time associated with obtaining information at the time of the request by predicting information that will be needed by the user.
Feinstein, Heinrich, and McGavran fail to teach however Dubal teaches discarding, (e.g., col. 5, lines 4-9, “In one embodiment, applying 316 cache policies may include applying a cache retention policy to cached updates to control how long updates remain in a cache. For example, one such policy could be to delete an update if a later superseding update has been stored. Another such policy could be to delete updates as soon as they are applied.”) (e.g., col. 5, line 5, “cached updates”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich and McGavran with the invention of Dubal to reduce risk of infection and threats to the system and network.
With respect to claim 15:
Feinstein teaches (e.g., [0084], “the data processing system”).
Feinstein fails to teach however McGavran teaches wherein the second set of potential destinations locations (e.g., col. 10, lines 35-36, “a set of predicted destinations” and col. 9, line 54, “potential destinations for the device”) is based on indicators of future intent of travel for a user (e.g., col. 3, lines 17-20, “In some embodiments, this engine includes a machine-learning engine that facilitates the formulation of predicted future destinations and/or future routes to destinations based on stored, user-specific data)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of McGavran to reduce processing time associated with obtaining information at the time of the request by predicting information that will be needed by the user.
With respect to claim 16:
Feinstein fails to teach however McGavran teaches wherein the indicators of future intent comprise: personal calendar items for the user regarding the travel for the user in the future; and instant messages directed to (e.g., col. 3, lines 22-28, “In some embodiments, the stored, user-specific data includes data about any combination of the following: … (3) locations of calendared events in the user's calendar… (5) addresses parsed from recent e-mails and/or messages sent to the user.”) and from the user expressing the intent of the travel (e.g., col. 5, lines 55-56, “in other embodiments supply the
telecom messages that they send”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of McGavran to reduce processing time associated with obtaining information at the time of the request by predicting information that will be needed by the user.
With respect to claim 18:
Feinstein teaches obtaining, by (e.g., fig. 1 and [0075], “In another embodiment, policy 414 may be received from a policy server, such as server 106 in FIG. 1.”) (e.g., [0084], “the data processing system”)
obtaining, (e.g., [0087], "a security configuration or sends configuration instructions")
Feinstein fails to teach however Heinrich teaches (e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”),
(e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of Heinrich to reduce processing operations that are usually performed by CPUs.
Feinstein and Heinrich fail to teach however McGavran teaches (col. 9, line 54, “potential destinations for the device”);
(col. 9, line 54, “potential destinations for the device”); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich and Gulbay with the invention of McGavran to reduce processing time associated with obtaining information at the time of the request by predicting information that will be needed by the user.
Feinstein, Heinrich, and McGavran fail to teach however Dubal teaches caching, (e.g., col. 4, lines 34-37, “In the illustrated embodiment, applicable updates are cached 320 in a memory associated with the machine, such as the memory 206 pending return of the machine from its dormant state.“.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich and McGavran with the invention of Dubal to reduce risk of infection and threats to the system and network.
With respect to claim 19:
Feinstein teaches (e.g., fig. 5 and [0085], “Process 500 selects a policy based on the location determined in step 504 (step 506).” And [0087], “process 500 determines whether to configure the data processing system according to the policy (step 514)”)
Feinstein fails to teach however Heinrich teaches (e.g., col. 1, lines 27-28, “baseboard management controller (BMC)”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of Heinrich to reduce processing operations that are usually performed by CPUs.
Feinstein and Heinrich fail to teach however McGavran teaches the second set of potential destination locations, (e.g., col. 21, lines 53-55, “identifies one or more predicted destinations based on out-of-state probability analysis,” and col. 12, lines 39-42, “an "out-of-state" probability analysis (where "out-of-state" refers to the device currently being in a location that is not one of the machined-generated destination regions for the device)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich with the invention of McGavran to reduce processing time associated with obtaining information at the time of the request by predicting information that will be needed by the user.
Feinstein, Heinrich, and McGavran fail to teach however Dubal teaches discarding, (e.g., col. 5, lines 4-9, “In one embodiment, applying 316 cache policies may include applying a cache retention policy to cached updates to control how long updates remain in a cache. For example, one such policy could be to delete an update if a later superseding update has been stored. Another such policy could be to delete updates as soon as they are applied.”) (e.g., col. 5, line 5, “cached updates”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich and McGavran with the invention of Dubal to reduce risk of infection and threats to the system and network.
With respect to claim 20:
Feinstein teaches (e.g., [0084], “the data processing system”).
Feinstein fails to teach however McGavran teaches wherein the second set of potential destinations locations (e.g., col. 10, lines 35-36, “a set of predicted destinations” and col. 9, line 54, “potential destinations for the device”) is based on indicators of future intent of travel for a user (e.g., col. 3, lines 17-20, “In some embodiments, this engine includes a machine-learning engine that facilitates the formulation of predicted future destinations and/or future routes to destinations based on stored, user-specific data)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of McGavran to reduce processing time associated with obtaining information at the time of the request by predicting information that will be needed by the user.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinstein as modified by Heinrich, Gulbay, McGavran, and Dubal as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Abraham et al. (US 20070185980 A1, hereinafter Abraham).
With respect to claim 7:
Feinstein teaches wherein performing the update workflow (e.g., [0087], "a security configuration or sends configuration instructions") (e.g., [0084], “the data processing system”), (e.g., [0067], “For example, an example policy may be to select the most secured known networks from the available networks operating in a location when possible.”).
Feinstein fails to teach however Heinrich teaches
, the hardware resources being distinct from the management controller (e.g., col. 8, lines 12-15, “The baseboard management controller may operate independently of the operating system of the system in which the baseboard management controller is disposed.”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of Heinrich to reduce processing operations that are usually performed by CPUs.
Feinstein and Heinrich fail to teach however Dubal teaches using a portion of the cached update data (e.g., col. 5, line 5, “cached updates”) (e.g., col. 5, line 5, “cached updates”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich with the invention of Dubal to reduce risk of infection and threats to the system and network.
Feinstein, Heinrich, and Dubal fail to teach however Abraham teaches (e.g., [0041], “The network access policy 118 can determine or alter network settings affecting policy receiving device 120. The network access policy 118 can selectively enable disable a network access port.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Heinrich and Dubal with the invention of Abraham to automatically adjust a device setting with the appropriate policy associated with a location.
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinstein as modified by Heinrich, Gulbay, and McGavran as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Finn et al. (US 20190188021 A1, hereinafter Finn).
With respect to claim 8:
Feinstein teaches the data processing system (e.g., [0084], “the data processing system”)
Feinstein fails to teach however Gulbay teaches (e.g., [0058], “Moreover, in some other embodiments, a battery power level assessment or A/C power connection status is made to determine if a wake event will not be problematic to forward inbound low power messages to in-band applications.”) and the management controller using the out-of-band communication channel (e.g., [0017], “A low power communication engine may operate in the out-of-band environment”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of Gulbay to increase security and efficiency of managing operations of the data processing system.
Feinstein and Gulbay fail to teach however Finn teaches the data processing system comprises a network module (e.g., [0075], “The computing node 300 includes … communications unit 310” and [0079], “Communications unit 310, in these examples, provides for communications with other data processing systems or devices. In these examples, communications unit 310 includes one or more network interface cards.”) adapted to separately advertise network endpoints for the management controller (e.g., [0030], “the computing node 102 may be associated with three IP addresses—one IP address for controller VM 108, one IP address for hypervisor 110, and one IP address for a BMC of the computing node 102”) and the hardware resources of the data processing system (e.g., [0013], “The hypervisor 110 manages the allocation of physical resources (such as storage 140 and physical processors) to VMs (e.g., user VM 104, user VM 106, and controller VM 108) and performs various VM related operations, such as creating new VMs and cloning existing VMs.”), the network endpoints (e.g., [0030], “three IP addresses”) being usable by a server
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein as modified by Gulbay with the invention of Finn to optimize sharing hardware resources on a single computer via virtualization.
With respect to claim 9:
Feinstein fails to teach however Gulbay teaches wherein the management controller and the network module are on separate power domains from the hardware resources so that the management controller (e.g., fig. 3 and [0051], “a low power communications engine 340” and [0012], “always-on low power communication technology”) and the network module are operable (e.g., fig. 3 and [0050], “Wireless interface adapter 320 may receive low power communications data traffic 305 via a low power communications technology protocol antenna 322” and [0021], “Such cloud agents or remotely located always-on management or security solutions may transmit messages and data via the low-power, always-on radiofrequency signals from base station transmitters via low power communication technologies such as LPWAN.”) while the hardware resources are inoperable (e.g., [0011], “Always-on security and manageability solutions require information handling systems to be always connected, even during dormant or semi-dormant states such as sleep states”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of Gulbay to increase security and efficiency of managing operations of the data processing system.
With respect to claim 10:
Feinstein fails to teach, however Gulbay teaches wherein the out-of-band communication channel runs through the network module (e.g., [0020], “For example, the low power communications engine of embodiments herein may operate via processor or control logic and memory on a remote management card 140”), and the in-band communication channel that services the hardware resources also runs through the network module (e.g., [0023], “Similarly, instructions 124 may be executed as part of in-band operations responsive to low power communications for always on management or security solutions that may receive messages and requiring activity or responses”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of Gulbay to increase security and efficiency of managing operations of the data processing system.
With respect to claim 11:
Feinstein teaches wherein the network module hosts a transmission control protocol/internet protocol (TCP/IP) stack to facilitate network communications (e.g., [0042], “Network 102 may represent a collection of networks and gateways that use the Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) and other protocols to communicate with one another.”)
Feinstein fails to teach however Gulbay teaches (e.g., [0017], ““A low power communication engine may operate in the out-of-band environment”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Feinstein with the invention of Gulbay to increase security and efficiency of managing operations of the data processing system.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE XUE HAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2192
/S. Sough/SPE, Art Unit 2192