DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This non-final office action is in response to the application filled on 10/18/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic benefit under 35 U.S.C. 119 (e). The provisional application No. 63/591,755, was filed on 10/19/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of date of this action, IDS filled has been annotated and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claim 11), which recites “commands for increasing a number of pickable workpieces transferred to a picking area” is not clear. It is not clear what is referred by “increasing a number of pickable workpieces”. Is it referring determine work commands so that many workpieces can be picked or something else.
Dependent claim(s) 2-10 and 12-20 is/are also rejected because they do not resolve their parent deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 10, 11, 12, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0065501 (“Doi”), and further in view of US 2020/036188 (“Diaz”).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claim 11), as best understood in view of indefiniteness rejection explained above, Doi discloses a method of operating at least one (see at least [0019], where “The robot control device 10, for example, controls the robot 2 so as to cause the robot 2 to move the holding target 8 from the work start bench 6 to the work destination bench 7.”), the method comprising:
operating at least one processor in communication with the at least one
(see at least [0026], where “The processor may execute programs that realize various functions of the controller 12.”):
identify at least one reference workpiece type for one or more workpieces
within a pre-processing area (see at least [0005], where “The database contains reference information including object information of multiple objects and holding manner information of the multiple objects.”; see also [0041], where “The controller 12 checks the object information contained in the reference information against the recognition information of the holding target 8. When object information that matches or is similar to the recognition information is included in the reference information (when such information is registered in the database 20), the controller 12 acquires the holding manner information associated with the object information that matches or is similar to the recognition information.”);
identify at least one set of reference operating commands associated with the at least one reference workpiece type (see at least [0041]), the at least one set of reference operating commands comprising one or more commands for increasing a number of pickable workpieces transferred to a picking area (see at least fig 8, where operating command for holding various types of objects are determined. The number of pickable objects increases; some objects are pickable using database and some other objects are pickable estimating holding manner using interference model); and
define a set of actuator operating commands for one or more actuator components of the at least one autonomous robot based on an initial image showing the one or more workpieces within the pre-processing area and the at least one set of reference operating commands (see at least fig 8, block S7, [0024], [0108] and [0130]); and
operating the at least one autonomous robot according to the set of actuator operating commands to increase the number of pickable workpieces transferred to the picking area (see at least [0112-113]).
Doi does not disclose the following limitation:
autonomous robot.
However, Diaz discloses a method wherein an automated assembly comprise robotic devices for object pick, see at least [0003].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Doi to incorporate the teachings of Diaz by including the above feature for reducing human involvement during manufacturing process.
Regarding claim 2 (and similarly claim 12), Doi further discloses a method comprises operating the at least one processor to: identify one or more pickable workpieces from the one or more workpieces transferred to the picking area shown within a subsequent image, the subsequent image illustrating the one or more workpieces subsequent to the at least one (see at least [0048], where “The feature amount may also be the image itself representing the view of the object. Images representing views of the object may include images of an object in a particular posture captured from various viewpoints.”; workpiece is identified on the image and object is picked based on the image information); and
retrieve the one or more pickable workpieces from the picking area and to transfer the one or more pickable workpieces to a receiving area (see at least fig 1, where object is picked from one area and transfer to another area).
Doi does not disclose the following limitation:
at least one autonomous robot being operated according to the set of actuator operating commands.
However, Diaz further discloses a method wherein at least one autonomous robot being operated according to the set of actuator operating commands (see at least [0033]).
Regarding claim 8 (and similarly claim 18), Doi further discloses a method comprising operating the transfer component of the at least one autonomous robot to transfer the one or more workpieces to the pre-processing area (see at least fig 1, where object is transferred from one area to another. Any area can be pre-processing area).
Regarding claim 10 (and similarly claim 20), Doi further discloses method wherein the at least one autonomous robot comprises (see at least fig 1); and
the at least one pick-and-place robot comprising the end-of-arm-tooling component (see at least fig 1, where the robot includes tooling component).
Doi does not disclose the following limitations:
at least one autonomous robot comprises a pre-processing robot; and
the pre-processing robot comprising the transfer component and the one or more actuator components.
However, Diaz further discloses a method wherein the at least one autonomous robot comprises a pre-processing robot (see at least fig 1A, where the assembly system comprises two robots; 130 and 140); and
the pre-processing robot comprising the transfer component and the one or more actuator components (see at least [0034], where “various actuators in the first robotic device 130 in order to move the cradle 150 to the location L1.”).
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0065501 (“Doi”), and in view of US 2020/036188 (“Diaz”), as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of US2024/0246245 (“Olson”).
Regarding claim 3 (and similarly claim 13), Doi in view of Diaz does not disclose claim 3. However, Olson discloses a method comprising operating the at least one processor to: select one set of reference operating commands of the two or more sets of reference operating commands as an initial set of reference operating commands, the initial set of reference operating commands being associated with a reference workpiece type most similar to the one or more workpieces within the pre-processing area (see at least [0051], where “upon identification of the workpiece 126 (e.g., determination of the type of the workpiece 126), the controller 120 determines which one of the end effectors 102 corresponds to the workpiece 126 and instructs the robotic manipulator 104 to retrieve the selected one of the end effectors 102. The controller 120 also determines which one of the processing programs 162 corresponds to the workpiece 126 and instructs the robotic manipulator 104 and the machine tool 118 according to the selected one of the processing programs 162.”); and
adapt the initial set of reference operating commands based on each unselected set of reference operating commands of the two or more sets of reference operating commands to define the set of actuator operating commands for the one or more actuator components of the at least one autonomous robot (see at least [0074] and [0086]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Doi in view of Diaz to incorporate the teachings of Olsen by including the above feature for increasing efficiency by providing commands based on the object type, which is determined before.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0065501 (“Doi”), and in view of US 2020/036188 (“Diaz”), as applied to claim 1 and 11, above, and further in view of US 2020/0095001 (“Menon”).
Regarding claim 4 (and similarly claim 14), Doi in view of Diaz does not disclose claim 4. However, Menon discloses a method comprising operating the at least one processor to: determine an orientation associated with each workpiece of the one or more workpieces within the pre-processing area (see at least [0028], where “A “pick-up zone” may be static, in various embodiments, and/or may be movable and/or comprise structures that can be moved under control of a computer or other processor to achieve a density, orientation, spacing, etc. of items in the pick-up zone that results in the robotic kitting system and/or a kitting system into which it is integrated to have or be more likely to have a strategy available to retrieve one or more items from the pick-up zone without human intervention.”); and
adapt the at least one set of reference operating commands associated with the at least one reference workpiece type based on the orientation associated with at least one workpiece of the one or more workpieces within the pre-processing area to define the set of actuator operating commands for the one or more actuator components of the at least one autonomous robot (see at least [0042], [0069] and [0027]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Doi in view of Diaz to incorporate the teachings of Menon by including the above feature for reducing product damage during grasping by picking objects based on the object orientation.
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0065501 (“Doi”), and in view of US 2020/036188 (“Diaz”), as applied to claim 1 and 11, above, and further in view of US 2023/0110897 (“Kansky”).
Regarding claim 5 (and similarly claim 15), Doi in view of Diaz does not disclose claim 6. However, Kansky discloses a method wherein: the at least one set of reference operating commands comprise at least one of an amplitude or a frequency of an adjusting motion of the one or more actuator components (see at least [0033], where “The system specifies a first group of frequencies for transmitting motion plans, sets of robotic commands to a robot, and sending feedback signals.”); and
the method comprises operating the at least one processor to adapt one or more of the amplitude or the frequency of the adjusting motion of the one or more actuator components of the at least one set of reference operating commands to define the set of actuator operating commands for the one or more actuator components of the at least one autonomous robot (see at least [0035], [0037] and fig 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Doi in view of Diaz to incorporate the teachings of Kansky by including the above feature for providing smoother trajectory when interacting with moving objects and changing environments.
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0065501 (“Doi”), and in view of US 2020/036188 (“Diaz”), as applied to claim 1 and 11, above, and further in view of US 2024/0316767 (“Song”).
Regarding claim 6 (and similarly claim 16), Doi in view of Diaz does not disclose claim 6. However, Song discloses a method comprising operating the at least one processor to identify each workpiece of the one or more workpieces as pickable or unpickable based on at least one of a position or an orientation of the workpiece (see at least fig 3 and fig 4, where grasp pose is determined based on object pose. See also [0037], where “the proposed grasp planning algorithm based on the grasp index is utilized to determine a better grasping position for the target object by considering the distance between the grasping position and the target object's centroid, as well as the width of the grasp segment to control the robotic arm 110 for improving the success rate of grasping.”; success of grasping is interpreted as pickable object).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Doi in view of Diaz to incorporate the teachings of Song by including the above feature for reducing product damage during grasping by picking objects based on the object position.
Claim(s) 7, 9, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0065501 (“Doi”), and in view of US 2020/036188 (“Diaz”), as applied to claim 1 and 11, above, and further in view of US 2018/0164788 (“Shimamura”).
Regarding claim 7 (and similarly claim 17), Doi in view of Diaz does not disclose claim 7. However, Shimamura discloses a method comprising operating the at least one processor to: determine a pickable workpiece density for the one or more workpieces, the pickable workpiece density being representative of a ratio of a plan view area of one or more pickable workpieces to a plan view area of the pre-processing area (see at least [0018], where “measure a density of the workpieces on the conveyor, and a robot for picking each workpiece on the conveyor connected to the manufacturing apparatus”); and
select the one or more actuator components from a plurality of actuator components of the at least one autonomous robot based on the pickable workpiece density (see at least [0018], where “adjusting a processing capability of at least one of the manufacturing apparatus and the post-processing apparatus based on the density of the workpieces measured by the image sensor.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Doi in view of Diaz to incorporate the teachings of Shimamura by including the above feature for avoiding slippage during grasping by picking objects based on the object position.
Regarding claim 9 (and similarly claim 19), Doi further discloses a method comprising operating the at least one processor to: identify at least one set of reference transfer operating commands associated with the at least one reference workpiece type (see at least [0006]), the at least one set of reference operating commands comprising one or more commands for operating the transfer component to yield a pre-determined workpiece (see at least fig 8); and
define the set of transfer operating commands for the transfer component of the at least one autonomous robot based on the at least one set of reference transfer operating commands associated with the at least one reference workpiece type (see at least fig 8).
Doi in view of Diaz does not disclose commands for operating the transfer component to yield a pre-determined workpiece density of workpieces. However, Shimamura further discloses a method wherein commands for operating the transfer component to yield a pre-determined workpiece density of workpieces (see at least [0012] and [077]).
Conclusion
SOHANA TANJU KHAYER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3657C
/SOHANA TANJU KHAYER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657