DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, lines 1-2, “the germination of seeds” should be “germination of seeds”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Platini et al. (WO2022118195, see attached publication).
Regarding claim 1, Platini teaches a method for monitoring discrete acoustic events; the method comprising: arranging at least one optical waveguide (Figs.1-7, 12) in a vicinity of a mechanical process understood to produce a discrete acoustic sound (Page 6, lines 6-13); optically coupling the at least one optical waveguide to at least one optical interrogator (Figs.1-7, 20); sensing the at least one optical waveguide using the at least one optical interrogator to detect when a discrete acoustic event is produced; and if the at least one optical interrogator detects that a discrete acoustic event is produced, notifying a monitoring system of the discrete acoustic event (Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Platini teaches wherein the at least one optical interrogator is selected from the group consisting of: a Mach-Zehnder interferometer; a Fiber Bragg Grating strain measurement interrogator; and an Optical Time Domain Reflectometry interrogator (Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Platini teaches arranging a first splitter-coupler at one end of the or each optical waveguide and a second splitter-coupler at another end of the or each optical waveguide; optically coupling the or each first splitter-coupler with a light source; and optically coupling the or each second splitter-coupler with a photodetector (Page 15, line 19 to page 16, line 8).
Regarding claim 4, Platini teaches arranging an acoustic-optic transducer configured for transducing an acoustic signal into an optical signal by converting the acoustic signal into a mechanical signal and subsequently converting the mechanical signal into the optical signal (Page 14, lines 3-12).
Regarding claim 5, Platini teaches wherein the at least one optical waveguide is arranged in a pattern selected from the group consisting of: a square spiral pattern, a round spiral pattern, a serpentine pattern, and an intersecting pattern adapted to allow sensing over the entire vicinity of the mechanical process (Page 19, lines 8-12).
Regarding claim 6, Platini teaches wherein the vicinity is characterized by a distance of at most 20 mm measured from a location where the mechanical process occurs or is expected to occur to a closest section of the at least one optical waveguide (Page 9, line 22 to page 10, line 21).
Regarding claims 17-22, the claims are commensurate in scope with the above claims 1-6, and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Platini et al. (WO2022118195, see attached publication) in view of Ooi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20220299481).
Regarding claims 7 and 23, Platini teaches all the features of claims 1 and 17 as outlined above, Platini is silent about counting each detected discrete acoustic event.
Ooi teaches counting each detected discrete acoustic event (Fig.12, steps 1214 and 1220, also paragraph 58-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to count each event because it would be used to trigger automated alerts.
Claims 8, 12-16, 24 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Platini et al. (WO2022118195, see attached publication).
Regarding claim 8, Platini teaches a method for monitoring the germination of seeds, the method comprising: arranging at least one optical waveguide (Figs.1-7, 12) in a vicinity of the at least one object (Page 6, lines 6-13); optically coupling the at least one optical waveguide to at least one optical interrogator (Figs.1-7, 20); sensing the at least one optical waveguide using the at least one optical interrogator to detect a discrete acoustic event; and if the at least one optical interrogator detects that the at least one event and has produced a discrete acoustic event, notifying the monitoring system of the event (Abstract).
Platini is silent about the method is for monitoring the germination of seeds, obtaining at least one seed arranged in an environment for germination, the object is a seed, the event is at least one shell of the at least one seed ruptures and the germination of the at least one seed.
However, Platini teaches use fiber optic conductor to monitor the growth and health for crops and plant (Abstract and page 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Platini’s fiber optical monitoring system to monitor seed germination, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 12, Platini teaches all the features of claim 8 as outlined above, Platini is silent about wherein said vicinity is characterized by a distance of at most 20 mm measured from a seed of the at least one seed to a closest section of the at least one optical waveguide.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to characterize vicinity as a distance of at most 20 mm measured from a seed of the at least one seed to a closest section of the at least one optical waveguide, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 13, Platini teaches all the features of claim 8 as outlined above, Platini is silent about arranging an acoustic insulation to acoustically shield the environment for germination from an outside environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use arrange an acoustic insulation to acoustically shield the environment for germination from an outside environment.
Regarding claim 14, Platini teaches all the features of claim 8 as outlined above, Platini is silent about analysing the discrete acoustic event produced by the at least one shell of the at least seed rupturing, in order to classify the discrete acoustic event into one of the different types of plant seeds.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to analyze the discrete acoustic event produced by the at least one shell of the at least seed rupturing, in order to classify the discrete acoustic event into one of the different types of plant seeds, , since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 15, Platini teaches all the features of claim 8 as outlined above, Platini further teaches wherein one or more of the steps of the method are performed by a computer (Page 20 line 18 to page 21, line 5).
Regarding claim 16, Platini teaches wherein the computer comprises at least one processor and a memory storing a computer program comprising instructions configured to perform one or more steps of the method (Page 20 line 18 to page 21, line 5).
Regarding claims 24 and 28-30, the claims are commensurate in scope with the above claims 8 and 12-14, and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 and 25-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The primary reasons for allowance of dependent claim 9 is the inclusion of the specific limitations of “wherein the environment for germination comprises a germination tray, and wherein the at least one optical waveguide is produced in a bottom of the germination tray by one of etching or lasering.”, in combination of with all other recited (method steps/associated elements) in a method for monitoring the germination of seeds.
The primary reasons for allowance of dependent claim 10 is the inclusion of the specific limitations of “wherein the environment for germination comprises a germination tray, and wherein the at least one optical waveguide comprises an optical fiber attached on an inner surface of the germination tray, the inner surface being arranged to support the at least one seed.”, in combination of with all other recited (method steps/associated elements) in a method for monitoring the germination of seeds.
The primary reasons for allowance of dependent claim 25 is the inclusion of the specific limitations of “wherein the environment for germination comprises a germination tray, and wherein the at least one optical waveguide is produced in a bottom of the germination tray by one of etching and/or lasering.”, in combination of with all other recited (method steps/associated elements) in a system for monitoring germination of seeds.
The primary reasons for allowance of dependent claim 26 is the inclusion of the specific limitations of “wherein the environment for germination comprises a germination tray, and wherein the at least one optical waveguide comprises an optical fiber attached on an inner surface of the germination tray, the inner surface being arranged to support the at least one seed.”, in combination of with all other recited (method steps/associated elements) in a system for monitoring germination of seeds.
Conclusion
/XIN Y ZHONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855