DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on April 2, 2026 in response to the previous Office Action (01/08/2026) is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 1 – 15 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that Choi fails to disclose that the ventilation grooves are not inclined with respect to the optical axis (see Remarks, p. 5).
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Choi teaches that the ventilation grooves 135 extends to the extension groove 137. Thus, the ventilation groove is the combination of 135 and 137 (see Choi ¶32). As such, the ventilation groove extends in the direction of the optical axis at a 90 degree angle via 137 (fig. 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 5, 7 – 8 and 11 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (KR 2008-0037767A machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a camera module comprising: a lens barrel (160) (fig. 3; ¶29); an image sensor (120) disposed below the lens barrel along an optical axis direction of the lens barrel and electrically connected to a substrate (110) (fig. 3; ¶29); and a sub-housing (130 step) that is disposed between the lens barrel and the substrate and on which an infrared filter (180) is mounted (¶29), wherein the sub-housing comprises a gas discharge portion (135/137) penetrating between first and second surfaces facing each other in the optical axis direction (figs. 4-5; ¶30,32, 44), and wherein a central axis along a penetration direction of the gas discharge portion is inclined with respect to the optical axis (fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Choi also teaches wherein the gas discharge portion has a uniform width with respect to the central axis (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Choi also teaches further comprising an adhesive portion disposed to cover at least a portion of the gas discharge portion (¶34,35).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 4. Choi also teaches wherein the adhesive portion is disposed to surround an inner peripheral surface of the gas discharge portion (¶34,35).
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Choi also teaches wherein the central axis of the gas discharge portion is inclined toward the outside of the sub-housing (¶26: bent, sawtooth).
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Choi also teaches wherein the sub-housing comprises an opening, and the central axis of the gas discharge portion is inclined toward the opening of the sub-housing (figs. 3, 4; ¶26: bent, sawtooth).
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Choi also teaches wherein the central axis of the gas discharge portion is inclined with respect to the first surface of the sub-housing (¶26: bent, sawtooth).
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Choi also teaches wherein the gas discharge portion is inclined and extended so that the central axis forms a certain angle with the optical axis (¶26: bent, sawtooth).
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Choi also teaches further comprising: a lens driver (150/140 screw) configured to mount and move the lens barrel (fig. 3); and a housing configured to accommodate the lens barrel and the lens driver (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Choi also teaches wherein the gas discharge portion is disposed outside an edge of the infrared filter (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Choi also teaches wherein the gas discharge portion only penetrates a portion of the sub-housing that does not overlap the infrared filter with respect to the optical axis direction (fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Gu (US 2021/0074750).
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Choi also fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sub-housing further comprises: a seating portion in which the infrared filter is accommodated and that is disposed to surround an opening of the sub-housing; and a frame portion disposed on an outer portion of the sub-housing to surround the seating portion, and wherein the gas discharge portion is disposed in the frame portion.
In a similar field of endeavor, Gu teaches an image sensor package including sub-housing 350, which includes stepped portion 351 in the top surface and the filter 370 is mounted on the stepped portion 351, and opening part for emitting to the outside through the housing member through top and bottom (fig. 3). In light of the teaching of Gu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Gu’s configuration in Choi’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in easily releasing heat generated in the image sensor and reducing resolution degradation (¶63).
Claim(s) 2, 9 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Shim (KR 2008-0076425 machine translation).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Choi also fails to explicitly disclose wherein the gas discharge portion penetrates upper and lower portions of the sub-housing in a straight line.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shim teaches an image sensor assembly including an opening 26 for discharging gas and heat generated, wherein the opening has a cylindrical shape and passes through the housing member 20 through top and bottom (fig. 3). In light of the teaching of Shim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use the known technique of cylindrical shaped opening passing through the housing, as taught by Shim, with the invention of Choi would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system.
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Choi also fails to explicitly disclose wherein the gas discharge portion has a hollow cylindrical shape.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shim teaches an image sensor assembly including an opening 26 for discharging gas and heat generated, wherein the opening has a cylindrical shape (abstract; p.3, last full paragraph; fig. 2, 4). In light of the teaching of Shim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use the known technique of cylindrical shaped opening, as taught by Shim, with the invention of Choi would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system.
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Choi also fails to explicitly disclose wherein the gas discharge portion has a circular cross-sectional shape.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shim teaches an image sensor assembly including an opening 26 for discharging gas and heat generated, wherein the opening has a circular shape (abstract; p.3, last full paragraph; fig. 2, 4). In light of the teaching of Shim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use the known technique of circular shaped opening, as taught by Shim, with the invention of Choi would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639