Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2022/0337980 A1) in view of Tanaka et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2021/0083769 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida et al. teaches in FIG. 2 a visible light communication system (Yoshida et al. teaches in paragraph [0004] visible light communication) configured to perform visible light communication between a terminal apparatus and a base station apparatus, the visible light communication system comprising: the terminal apparatus comprising multiple visible light communicators comprising a first visible light communicator and a second visible light communicator (Yoshida et al. teaches in paragraph [0052] that the terminal device 2 is provided with a plurality of communicators), the first visible light communicator performing visible light communication with a first base station apparatus and the second visible light communicator performing visible light communication with a second base station apparatus (Yoshida et al. teaches in FIG. 2 that the terminal device 2 communicates with base station apparatus 3A and base station apparatus 3B). The difference between Yoshida et al. and the claimed invention is that Yoshida et al. does not teach a controller configured to control the multiple visible light communicators, wherein the multiple visible light communicators each have a directivity in a different direction, and the controller is configured to perform simultaneous communication control of the first visible light communicator and the second visible light communicator. Tanaka et al. teaches in FIG. 7 an optical communication device comprising an optical communication section 125 and a beam control section 126. Tanaka et al. teaches in paragraph [0063] that the beam control section 126 controls the direction of the beam of the optical communication section. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Tanaka et al. with the system of Yoshida et al. because changing the direction of the optical transceiver to align with the other party of the communication optimizes the performance of the communication channel. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the direction of the optical transceiver, as taught by Tanaka et al., in the system of Yoshida et al.
Regarding claim 2, Yoshida et al. teaches in FIG. 2 that a communicator comprises at least one light emitting element (light emitter 21), at least one light receiving element (light receiver), and a transceiver configured to perform transmission and reception processing on a visible light signal by using the light emitting element and the light receiving element (modulation/demodulation circuit 23, optical wireless communication device 24 and signal processing device 25).
Claim 20 is rejected based on the same reason for rejecting claim 1.
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. and Tanaka et al. as applied to claims 1-2 and 20 above, and further in view of Jungnickel et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2021/0195632 A1).
Yoshida et al. and Tanaka et al. have been discussed above in regard to claims 1-2 and 20. The difference between Yoshida et al. and Tanaka et al. and the claimed invention is that Yoshida et al. and Tanaka et al. do not teach that the controller is configured to perform measurement processing on pilot visible light signals that the multiple visible light communicators receive from each of base station apparatuses while the first visible light communicator is performing visible light communication with the first base station apparatus.
Jungnickel et al. teaches in FIG. 1 a wireless optical communication network comprising base station frontends 14a-14g and terminals 16. Jungnickel et al. teaches in FIG. 2 that the frontends send beacon signals (equivalent to pilot signals of instant claim) to the terminals where the beacon signals comprise pilot sequences, and in FIG. 3 that the terminal perform measurement 31 based on the beacon signals. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Jungnickel et al. with the modified system of Yoshida et al. and Tanaka et al. because the beacon signals can be used to determine the quality of different channels of the different frontends so that appropriate communication parameters can be chosen. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use beacon signals for measuring channel quality, as taught by Jungnickel et al., in the modified system of Yoshida et al. and Tanaka et al.
Regarding claim 4, Jungnickel et al. teaches in FIG. 2 that the sending of the beacon signal is triggered by the starting of a time period.
Regarding claim 5, Jungnickel et al. teaches in paragraph [0183] that the frontends may transmit the beacon at a plurality of signals at different frequencies simultaneously.
Regarding claim 6, Jungnickel et al. teaches in FIG. 3 that the terminal sends a feedback (i.e. a report) to the base station.
Regarding claim 7, Jungnickel et al. teaches in FIG. 2 and FIG. 3 that the report is sent to the base station in a periodic manner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
skl21 June 2026
/SHI K LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635