DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/18/2024, 08/12/2025, 02/26/2026, 03/27/2026, 05/21/2026, and 09/09/2026; the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 10, 11, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US20230397158-A1 to Hossain et al., from hereon Hossain.
Regarding claim 1 Hossain teaches…a method for wireless communication, comprising (Abs discloses…Methods and apparatuses for receiving, and controlling the reception of, transmissions at a wireless device. A method performed by a base station comprises deriving a paging cycle for the wireless device, wherein the paging cycle controls the listening of the wireless device to a downlink channel for transmission from the base station or a core network): receiving, by a terminal device (P.141 ), configuration information about a first extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) cycle for a core network and a second DRX cycle for an access node (P.65 discloses…paging cycle used both for RAN paging and CN paging. Also, mechanisms to indicate the RAN and CN Coordination during eDRX in RRC_INACTIVE state are provided. Also provided are methods to further reduce the RRC_INACTIVE paging and on-time with a solution for how to increase the DRX cycle length ), wherein the configuration information includes a single indicator included in a Radio Resource Configuration (RRC) signaling indicating whether a cycle length that is greater than 10.24 seconds upon the terminal device being in a non-active state is enabled (claims 30-36. ); and performing a communication by the terminal device based on the configuration information (Fig. 5-7, 9, 11, P. 35, 37, 68 discloses… embodiments which address one or more of the issues disclosed herein. Aspects of embodiments provide methods performed by wireless devices for receiving transmissions, the methods comprising: obtaining an indication; and determining a paging cycle for listening to a downlink channel for transmission from a base station or core network, CN, based on the obtained indication).
Regarding claim 5 Hossain teaches the method of claim 1, Hossain teaches…wherein a second rule specifies that the first eDRX cycle is longer than or equal to the second eDRX cycle(claim 34 discloses… determining, based on the indication, to set separate paging window lengths for the base station and CN or to use the same paging window length for the base station and CN ).
Regarding claim 6 Hossain teaches…a method for wireless communication, comprising(Abs discloses…Methods and apparatuses for receiving, and controlling the reception of, transmissions at a wireless device. A method performed by a base station comprises deriving a paging cycle for the wireless device, wherein the paging cycle controls the listening of the wireless device to a downlink channel for transmission from the base station or a core network): transmitting, by an access node to a terminal device (P.141 ), configuration information node (P.65 discloses…paging cycle used both for RAN paging and CN paging. Also, mechanisms to indicate the RAN and CN Coordination during eDRX in RRC_INACTIVE state are provided. Also provided are methods to further reduce the RRC_INACTIVE paging and on-time with a solution for how to increase the DRX cycle length ),, wherein the configuration information includes a single indicator indicating whether a cycle length that is greater than 10.24 seconds upon the terminal device being in a non-active state is enabled, wherein a first extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) cycle for a core network and a second DRX cycle for the access node are configured for the terminal device(claims 30-36. ); and performing a communication with the terminal device based on the configuration information(Fig. 5-7, 9, 11, P. 35, 37, 68 discloses… embodiments which address one or more of the issues disclosed herein. Aspects of embodiments provide methods performed by wireless devices for receiving transmissions, the methods comprising: obtaining an indication; and determining a paging cycle for listening to a downlink channel for transmission from a base station or core network, CN, based on the obtained indication).
Regarding claim 10 Hossain teaches the method of claim 6, Hossain teaches…wherein a second rule specifies that the first eDRX cycle is longer than or equal to the second eDRX cycle(claim 34 discloses… determining, based on the indication, to set separate paging window lengths for the base station and CN or to use the same paging window length for the base station and CN ).
Regarding claim 11 Hossain teaches…a device for wireless communication comprising (Abs discloses…Methods and apparatuses for receiving, and controlling the reception of, transmissions at a wireless device. A method performed by a base station comprises deriving a paging cycle for the wireless device, wherein the paging cycle controls the listening of the wireless device to a downlink channel for transmission from the base station or a core network), comprising at least one processor that is configured to cause the device to (P. 37 discloses… a wireless device for receiving transmissions. The wireless device comprises processing circuitry configured to cause the wireless device to: obtain an indication; and determine a paging cycle for listening to a downlink channel for transmission from a base station or core network, CN, based on the obtained information): receive configuration information about a first extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) cycle for a core network and a second DRX cycle for an access node (P.141 ) node (P.65 discloses…paging cycle used both for RAN paging and CN paging. Also, mechanisms to indicate the RAN and CN Coordination during eDRX in RRC_INACTIVE state are provided. Also provided are methods to further reduce the RRC_INACTIVE paging and on-time with a solution for how to increase the DRX cycle length ),, wherein the configuration information includes a single indicator included in a Radio Resource Configuration (RRC) signaling indicating whether a cycle length that is greater than 10.24 seconds upon the device being in a non-active state is enabled(claims 30-36. );; and perform a communication based on the configuration information (Fig. 5-7, 9, 11, P. 35, 37, 68 discloses… embodiments which address one or more of the issues disclosed herein. Aspects of embodiments provide methods performed by wireless devices for receiving transmissions, the methods comprising: obtaining an indication; and determining a paging cycle for listening to a downlink channel for transmission from a base station or core network, CN, based on the obtained indication).
Regarding claim 15 Hossain teaches the device of claim 11, Hossain teaches…wherein a second rule specifies that the first eDRX cycle is longer than or equal to the second eDRX cycle(claim 34 discloses… determining, based on the indication, to set separate paging window lengths for the base station and CN or to use the same paging window length for the base station and CN ).
Regarding claim 16 Hossain teaches…an apparatus for wireless communication(Abs discloses…Methods and apparatuses for receiving, and controlling the reception of, transmissions at a wireless device. A method performed by a base station comprises deriving a paging cycle for the wireless device, wherein the paging cycle controls the listening of the wireless device to a downlink channel for transmission from the base station or a core network),, comprising at least one processor configured to cause the apparatus to P. 37 discloses… a wireless device for receiving transmissions. The wireless device comprises processing circuitry configured to cause the wireless device to: obtain an indication; and determine a paging cycle for listening to a downlink channel for transmission from a base station or core network, CN, based on the obtained information): transmit (P. 141), to a terminal device, configuration information(P.65 discloses…paging cycle used both for RAN paging and CN paging. Also, mechanisms to indicate the RAN and CN Coordination during eDRX in RRC_INACTIVE state are provided. Also provided are methods to further reduce the RRC_INACTIVE paging and on-time with a solution for how to increase the DRX cycle length ),, wherein the configuration information includes a single indicator indicating whether a cycle length that is greater than 10.24 seconds upon the terminal device being in a non-active state is enabled, wherein a first extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) cycle for a core network and a second DRX cycle for apparatus are configured for the terminal device; and perform a communication with the terminal device based on the configuration information(claims 30-36. );; and perform a communication based on the configuration information (Fig. 5-7, 9, 11, P. 35, 37, 68 discloses… embodiments which address one or more of the issues disclosed herein. Aspects of embodiments provide methods performed by wireless devices for receiving transmissions, the methods comprising: obtaining an indication; and determining a paging cycle for listening to a downlink channel for transmission from a base station or core network, CN, based on the obtained indication).
Regarding claim 20 Hossain teaches the apparatus of claim 16, Hossain teaches…wherein a second rule specifies that the first eDRX cycle is longer than or equal to the second eDRX cycle (claim 34 discloses… determining, based on the indication, to set separate paging window lengths for the base station and CN or to use the same paging window length for the base station and CN ).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7, 12, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the main reason for objection of the claims under discussion is the inclusion of “wherein a first rule specifies that a unified eDRX cycle with respect to the first eDRX cycle and the second eDRX cycle is used to determine a same starting position of a paging time window for the core network and the access node”, “a first rule specifies that a unified eDRX cycle with respect to the first eDRX cycle and the second eDRX cycle is used to determine a same starting position of a paging time window for the core network and the access node”, “a first rule specifies that a unified eDRX cycle with respect to the first eDRX cycle and the second eDRX cycle is used to determine a same starting position of a paging time window for the core network and the access node”, and “a first rule specifies that a unified eDRX cycle with respect to the first eDRX cycle and the second eDRX cycle is used to determine a same starting position of a paging time window for the core network and the apparatus” as the prior art of record in stand-alone form nor in combination read into the disclosed claims as supported by the specification. Furthermore, the nearest prior such as US-10455638-B2 to Karakkad, US-20190313475-A1 to Siomina, WO-2018170911-A1 to Huang, and . KR-20170128231-A to Bangolae are silent on rule specifies that a unified eDRX cycle with respect to the first eDRX cycle and the second eDRX cycle is used to determine a same starting position of a paging time window for the core network and the access node.
Claims 3-4, 8-9, 13-14, and 18-19 are allowed as they depend from an allowed claim..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO form PTO-892: US-10455638-B2 to Karakkad, US-20190313475-A1 to Siomina, WO-2018170911-A1 to Huang, and . KR-20170128231-A to Bangolae.
/L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476