Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
US20090262275A1 Kang in view of Takashi JP2019015772A.
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a liquid crystal display (figs. 7, 8), comprising: a liquid crystal module (250; [0088]; figs. 7, 8); a cover glass (260a; [0090]) provided on the liquid crystal module (250)(see fig. 7); a light-shielding region (261; [0088]) formed on an outer periphery (see fig. 8) of the cover glass (260a); and an anti-reflection layer (260b, 261; [0077], [0080]) formed on a front surface side (see fig. 8) of the cover glass (260a), wherein the anti-reflection layer (260b, 261) includes a first anti-reflection layer (260b) corresponding to a display region (see fig. 8) for displaying an image and a second anti-reflection layer (261) corresponding to the light-shielding region (261)(see fig. 8), and a reflectance ([0088], [0091]) generated at a front surface (see fig. 8) of the second anti-reflection layer (261) is greater than a reflectance ([0088], [0091]) generated at a front surface (see fig. 8) of the first anti-reflection layer (260).
However, Kang does not explicitly disclose that a light-shielding region formed on an outer periphery of a back surface side of the cover glass.
Takashi teaches a light-shielding region (302) formed on an outer periphery of a back surface side (see fig. 1) of the cover glass (300) for the purpose of covering the black mask such that it can be prevented from being noticed and appears uniformly in the intermediate layer ([0031]-[0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify liquid crystal display of Kang with the light shielding layer of Takashi for the purpose of covering the black mask such that it can be prevented from being noticed and appears uniformly in the intermediate layer ([0031]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Kang and Takashi teach the liquid crystal display according to claim 1, Kang teaches wherein reflectances ([0088], (0091]) of the first anti-reflection layer (260b) and the second anti-reflection layer (261) are determined such that a sum of the reflectance generated at an interface of the light-shielding region (261; [0088]) formed on an outer periphery (see fig. 8) of the cover glass (260a) and the reflectance generated at the front surface of the second anti-reflection layer (261) is approximately equal to a sum of reflectances ([0088], (0091]) generated at interfaces of each layer in the liquid crystal module (250; [0088]; figs. 7, 8) of the display region and the reflectance ([0088], (0091]) generated at the front surface of the first anti-reflection layer (260b).
Regarding claim 3, Kang and Takashi teach the liquid crystal display according to claim 2, Kang teaches wherein the reflectances ([0088], [0091]) generated at the interfaces of each layer in the liquid crystal module ([0017]) include a reflectance ([0088], [0091]) generated at the interface of a shield electrode ([0017]-[0019]) and a glass substrate (upper cover; [0019]), a reflectance ([0088], [0091]) generated at the interface of the glass substrate (upper cover) and a liquid crystal panel (20), and a reflectance ([0088], [0091]) generated at the interface of the liquid crystal panel (20) and a TFT substrate (20a).
Claims 4 -6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang US20090262275A1 in view of Takashi JP2019015772A further in view of Kumar US 20220009201 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches a liquid crystal display (figs. 7, 8), comprising: a liquid crystal module (250; [0088]; figs. 7, 8); a cover glass (260a; (0090]) provided on the liquid crystal module (250)(see fig. 7); a light-shielding region (261; [0088]) formed on an outer periphery (see fig. 8) of the cover glass (260a); an portion (260b, 261; [0077], [0080]) formed on a front surface side (see fig. 8) of the cover glass (260a); and an anti-reflection layer (260b, 261; [0077], [0080]) formed on the portion, wherein the portion (260b, 261) includes a first adhesive portion (260b) that corresponds to a display region (see fig. 8) for displaying an image and a second portion (261) that corresponds to the light shielding region (261) (see fig. 8), and
a reflectance ([0088], [0091]) generated at an interface between the second portion (261) and the anti-reflection layer (260b, 261) is greater than a reflectance ([0088], [0091]) generated at an interface between the first adhesive portion (260b) and the anti-reflection layer (260b, 261).
However, Kang does not explicitly disclose that a light-shielding region formed on an outer periphery of a back surface side of the cover glass.
Takashi teaches a light-shielding region (302) formed on an outer periphery of a back surface side (see fig. 1) of the cover glass (300) for the purpose of covering the black mask such that it can be prevented from being noticed and appears uniformly in the intermediate layer ([0031]-[0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify liquid crystal display of Kang with the light shielding layer of Takashi for the purpose of covering the black mask such that it can be prevented from being noticed and appears uniformly in the intermediate layer ([0031]-[0032]).
Additionally, Kang and Takashi do not explicitly disclose the adhesive portion includes a first adhesive portion that corresponds to a display region for displaying an image and a second adhesive portion that corresponds to the light shielding region.
Kumar teaches adhesive portion (38 and 28) includes a first adhesive portion (38) that corresponds to a display region (36) for displaying an image and a second adhesive portion (28) that corresponds to the light shielding region (12) for the purpose of to help with the cure strength of the adhesive and to make a stronger display. [0007]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify liquid crystal display of Kang and Takashi with the adhesive portions taught by Kumar for the purpose of to help with the cure strength of the adhesive and to make a stronger display. [0007]
Regarding claim 5, Kang, Takashi and Kumar teach the liquid crystal display according to claim 4, Kang teaches wherein reflectances ([0088], [0091]) of the first adhesive portion (260b) and the second adhesive portion (261) are determined such that a sum of the reflectance generated at an interface or the light shielding region (261), the reflectance ([0088], [0091]) generated at the interface of the second adhesive portion (261), and a reflectance ([0088], [0091]) generated at a front surface of the anti-reflection layer (260b, 261) is approximately equal to a sum of reflectances generated at interfaces of each layer in the liquid crystal module ([0017]) of the display region, the reflectance ([0088], [0091]) generated at the interface of the first adhesive portion (260b), and the reflectance ([0088], [0091]) generated at the front surface of the anti-reflection layer (260b, 261).
Regarding claim 6, Kang, Takashi and Kumar teach the liquid crystal display according to claim 5, Kang teaches wherein the reflectances ([0088], (0091]) generated at the interfaces of each layer in the liquid crystal module ([0017]) include a reflectance ((0088], (0091]) generated at an interface of a glass substrate and a liquid crystal panel ([0017]), and a reflectance ((0088], [0091]) generated at an interface of the liquid crystal panel ([0017]) and a TFT substrate (20).
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang US20090262275A1 in view of Takashi JP2019015772A Takashi further in view of Kumar US 20220009201 A1 further in view of Kawahira US 20230185139
Regarding claim 7, Kang, Takashi and Kumar teach the liquid crystal display according to claim 6, however do not teach wherein a shield electrode is formed of an organic conductive film, and the reflectance generated at the interface between the shield electrode and the glass substrate is suppressed.
Kawahira teaches a shield electrode (230) is formed of an organic conductive film [0132], and the reflectance generated at the interface between the shield electrode (230) and the glass substrate (210) is suppressed for the purpose to control the amount of light transmitted through the liquid crystal panel. [0003]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify liquid crystal display of Kang with the shield electrode taught by Kawahira for the purpose to control the amount of light transmitted through the liquid crystal panel. [0003]
Conclusion
/AGNES DOBROWOLSKI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2871
/JENNIFER D. CARRUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871