DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 1000-1700 (paras. 108-110). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 100-170 (fig. 6). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 13, lines 1-3, “the system drives the vehicle … but transfer driving control” should read “the system drives the vehicle … but transfer driving control”. This appears to be a typographical error.
On page 13, line 5, “but do not otherwise operate” should read “but to not otherwise operate”. This appears to be a typographical error.
On page 13, line 19, it appears that “FIG. 19” should read “FIG. 1” because only figures 1-6 are included in the disclosure.
On page 23, lines 9-10, “at the one second candidate” should read “at the second candidate”. This appears to be a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-6, 12 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 2 and 12, line 5, “fixed stat information” should read “fixed state information”. This appears to be a typographical error.
Claims 3-6 should each be limited to a single colon because using multiple colons in a single sentence to form nested lists is grammatically incorrect and makes it confusing to determine the relationships between limitations.
In claim 4, lines 5, 7, 11 and 12, the scores should be designated as a first score and a second score to make it clear that they are different scores.
In claim 14, lines 5, 6, 9 and 10, the scores should be designated as a first score and a second score to make it clear that they are different scores.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, lines 2 and 5, respectively, the limitation “based on state information of a moving object” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear if the moving object is the vehicle recited in line 1 of each claim. Paragraph 45 discloses a vehicle is an exemplary moving object. Paragraph 55 further discloses heading information originating from the center point of a front bumper of a vehicle. Figures 2A, 2B, and 3 illustrate moving object 210 as a vehicle. Therefore, for the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the moving object is the vehicle that includes the claimed apparatus.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, lines 14-16 and 13-16, respectively, the limitation “the separation distance condition [is] set based on updated state information, and wherein the updated state information is obtained by updating, based on the first optimal sample point, the state information” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear how the separation distance condition can depend on the first optimal sample point when the separation distance condition is used to determine the first optimal sample point in claim 1, lines 2-9, and claim 11, lines 5-11. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that a second separation distance condition is set based on updated state information.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, lines 14 and 15, respectively, the limitation “selecting a second optimal sample point” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear if is the same second optimal sample point selected in claim 1, lines 18-19, and claim 11, lines 22-23. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that claims 8 and 18 are directed to selecting a new second optimal sample point.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, line 2, the limitation “the moving object moves from the vehicle” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the vehicle moves away from itself. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the separation distance is the distance the vehicle moves.
Regarding claim 11, line 14, the limitation “set based on updated state information” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the updated state information that is obtained by updating the state information of the moving object based on the first optimal point is the same state information updated based on a first optimal sample point recited in lines 10-11. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the second candidate sample points, second azimuth conditions, and separation distance condition are based on the same updated state information.
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9-11, 15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwai et al. (US 2023/0219567), hereinafter Iwai, in view of Meuleau (US 9,405,293).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, as best understood, Iwai discloses an apparatus of a vehicle, the apparatus comprising: one or more processors (Iwai; fig. 2: processor 110); and memory storing instructions (Iwai; para. 62: vehicle control program 130 is stored in the storage device 120), when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: generate, based on state information of a moving object (Iwai; para. 96: the control device 100 sets an imaginary arc A lying ahead of the vehicle 1. More specifically, the arc A is a predetermined distance Lgl_p away from the position of the vehicle 1), a plurality of first candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 96: A plurality of path candidate points C is temporarily set on this arc A.), wherein the plurality of first candidate sample points satisfy a plurality of first azimuth conditions (Iwai; para. 96: An interval between adjacent path candidate points C on the arc A is an angle Δθview.) and a separation distance condition (Iwai; para. 96: arc A is a predetermined distance Lgl_p away from the position of the vehicle 1 in a radial direction); generate, based on state information updated based on a first optimal sample point, a plurality of second candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 100: on the assumption that the vehicle 1 has moved to the selected path candidate point C, the control device 100 may search for and select the next path candidate point C. The sub-global path PS is represented by a set of a plurality of path candidate points C that is arrayed at regular intervals Lgl_p), wherein the plurality of second candidate sample points satisfy a plurality of second azimuth conditions (Iwai; para. 96: An interval between adjacent path candidate points C on the arc A is an angle Δθview.) and the separation distance condition (Iwai; para. 96: arc A is a predetermined distance Lgl_p away from the position of the vehicle 1 in a radial direction), and wherein the updated state information is obtained by updating, based on the first optimal sample point, the state information of the moving object (Iwai; para. 100: on the assumption that the vehicle 1 has moved to the selected path candidate point C, the control device 100 may search for and select the next path candidate point C.); based on an optimal sample point condition (Iwai; para. 99: term H1 on the right side of Formula (1) represents the risk value Urisk at the path candidate), information related to a goal point (Iwai; para. 98: Lgoal is a distance from the evaluation point E to the destination), and information related to the plurality of first candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 calculates the first evaluation value Jsemi for each path candidate), select the first optimal sample point from the plurality of first candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 searches for and selects such a path candidate point C that the first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smallest), wherein the first optimal sample point satisfies the optimal sample point condition (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 selects a path candidate for which the first evaluation value Jsemi is smallest, i.e., such a path candidate point C that the first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smallest); based on the optimal sample point condition, the information related to the goal point, and information related to the plurality of second candidate sample points, select a second optimal sample point from the plurality of second candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 searches for and selects such a path candidate point C that the first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smallest), wherein the second optimal sample point satisfies the optimal sample point condition (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 selects a path candidate for which the first evaluation value Jsemi is smallest, i.e., such a path candidate point C that the first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smallest); generate, based on the first optimal sample point and the second optimal sample point, a driving route (Iwai; para. 100: sub-global path PS is represented by a set of a plurality of path candidate points C that is arrayed at regular intervals Lgl_p); and control, based on the driving route, the vehicle for autonomous driving (Iwai; para. 51: a target path PT for reaching the destination is calculated in real time, and the vehicle 1 is controlled so as to follow this target path PT).
Iwai does not explicitly disclose the plurality of first azimuth conditions and the separation distance condition are set based on the state information of the moving object; and the plurality of second azimuth conditions and the separation distance condition are set based on updated state information.
Meuleau, in the same field of endeavor (autonomous vehicle navigation), discloses a plurality of azimuth conditions are repeatedly set based on state information of a moving object (Meuleau; col. 5, ll. 24-30: The distances between successive pairs of layers 240a-240f can be constant or non-constant. As one example, the spacing between layers 240a-240f can decrease in proportion to the curvature of the roadway 200 at a particular location such that the spacing between layers 240a-240f is smaller within curves than on straight sections.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the arc angle and interval between adjacent path candidate points of Iwai to span the width of the road the vehicle travels, as disclosed by Meuleau, to yield the predictable result of restricting candidate locations to locations that are on the road.
Iwai, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the separation distance condition is set based on the state information of the moving object; and the separation distance condition is set based on updated state information.
Meuleau further discloses a separation distance condition is repeatedly set based on state information of a moving object (Meuleau; col. 5, ll. 31-39: trajectory planning system 140 can model each of the layers 240a-240f of the roadway 200 as having a plurality of nodes 300 that are spaced from one another transversely with respect to the roadway 200 within a width of each layer (sometimes referred to herein as a first width). In particular, each of the layers 240a-240f has a width that extends transverse the roadway (e.g. generally perpendicular to the central track 210 at the respective location of each of the layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the arc radius of Iwai, as modified, to be smaller within curves than on straight sections, as disclosed by Meuleau, to yield the predictable result of reducing the amount of processing performed on sections of road that require less direction changes.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, as best understood, Iwai, as modified, discloses selecting the first optimal sample point comprises: selecting, based on a first free space region condition, the first optimal sample point (Iwai; para. 95: control device 100 recognizes risks (e.g., obstacles) in the sensor detection range RNG_S and calculates the risk potentials in real time), wherein the first free space region condition is determined by using the state information of the moving object (Iwai; para. 95: The risk potential represents the risk value Urisk as a function of position.), and wherein the first optimal sample point satisfies the first free space region condition (Iwai; para. 99: The first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smaller as the risk value Urisk at the path candidate becomes smaller.; para. 100: control device 100 selects a path candidate for which the first evaluation value Jsemi is smallest; para. 101: a sub-global path PS for moving to the destination while avoiding risks around the vehicle 1 is obtained), and wherein the selecting the second optimal sample point comprises: performing one of: selecting, based on a second free space region condition, the second optimal sample point from the plurality of second candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 selects a path candidate for which the first evaluation value Jsemi is smallest, i.e., such a path candidate point C that the first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smallest … on the assumption that the vehicle 1 has moved to the selected path candidate point C, the control device 100 may search for and select the next path candidate point C), wherein the second free space region condition is determined by using the state information of the moving object (Iwai; para. 95: The risk potential represents the risk value Urisk as a function of position.), and wherein the second optimal sample point satisfies the second free space region condition (Iwai; para. 99: The first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smaller as the risk value Urisk at the path candidate becomes smaller.; para. 100: control device 100 selects a path candidate for which the first evaluation value Jsemi is smallest; para. 101: a sub-global path PS for moving to the destination while avoiding risks around the vehicle 1 is obtained); or selecting a new first optimal sample point from the plurality of the first candidate sample points.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, as best understood, Iwai, as modified, discloses the plurality of first azimuth conditions comprise at least one of -14°, -10°, -7°, -5°, 0° (Iwai; fig. 7: one of the control points C is located on a 0° heading relative to the vehicle), 5°, 7°, 10°, or 14°.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, as best understood, Iwai, as modified, discloses the separation distance condition comprises a separation distance that the moving object moves from the vehicle (Iwai; para. 86: sub-global path PS is represented by a set of a plurality of path candidate points (transit points) C arrayed at regular intervals. Thus, the sub-global path PS is formed by connecting a plurality of path candidate points (transit points) C arrayed at regular intervals).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwai in view of Meuleau as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Funke et al. (US 2023/0192127), hereinafter Funke.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, as best understood, Iwai, as modified, discloses the state information of the moving object comprises: variable state information, wherein the variable state information comprises location information of the moving object (Iwai; para. 96: the control device 100 sets an imaginary arc A lying ahead of the vehicle 1. More specifically, the arc A is a predetermined distance Lgl_p away from the [current] position of the vehicle 1) and heading information of the moving object (Iwai; para. 67: States of the vehicle 1 include … a yaw rate, a steering angle, etc.).
Iwai, as modified, does not explicitly disclose fixed state information, wherein the fixed state information comprises length information of the moving object and maximum steering angle information of the moving object.
Funke, in the same field of endeavor (autonomous vehicle navigation), discloses fixed state information, wherein the fixed state information comprises length information of a moving object (Funke; para. 11: steering limits may be determined using kinematic and/or dynamic models of the vehicle, taking into account vehicle specifications such as wheelbase) and maximum steering angle information of the moving object (Funke; para. 11: the remote system may provide steering limit data, such as steering angle limits and steering rate limits, to an autonomous vehicle as a table or other data structure including discrete and discontinuous steering limit values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have limited the arc angle of Iwai, as modified, to be within a range of steering limits based on the motion and specifications of the vehicle, as disclosed by Funke, with the motivation of determining optimized trajectories holistically, by considering vehicle-specific and state-specific steering limits in combination with other vehicle safety and operational considerations thereby improving overall driving efficiency and vehicle safety (Funke; para. 19).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, as best understood, Iwai, as modified, discloses generating the plurality of first candidate sample points comprises: setting the plurality of first azimuth conditions with reference to turning radius information (Iwai; para. 96: An interval between adjacent path candidate points C on the arc A is an angle Δθview.), wherein the turning radius information is determined based on the fixed state information and the variable state information (Funke; para. 11: steering limits may be determined using kinematic and/or dynamic models of the vehicle, taking into account vehicle specifications such as wheelbase), and wherein the generating the plurality of second candidate sample points comprises: setting the plurality of second azimuth conditions with reference to the turning radius information (Iwai; para. 100: on the assumption that the vehicle 1 has moved to the selected path candidate point C, the control device 100 may search for and select the next path candidate point C.; para. 96: An interval between adjacent path candidate points C on the arc A is an angle Δθview.).
Claim(s) 4, 7-8, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwai in view of Meuleau as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Giovannini et al. (US 8,825,366), hereinafter Giovannini.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, as best understood, Iwai, as modified, discloses selecting the first optimal sample point comprises: based on first heading information at each of the plurality of first candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 96: An interval between adjacent path candidate points C on the arc A is an angle Δθview.), assigning a score to each of the plurality of first candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 calculates the first evaluation value Jsemi for each path candidate); and selecting, based on the score assigned to each of the plurality of first candidate sample points, the first optimal sample point (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 selects a path candidate for which the first evaluation value Jsemi is smallest, i.e., such a path candidate point C that the first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smallest … on the assumption that the vehicle 1 has moved to the selected path candidate point C, the control device 100 may search for and select the next path candidate point C), and wherein the selecting the second optimal sample point comprises: based on second heading information at each of the plurality of second candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 96: An interval between adjacent path candidate points C on the arc A is an angle Δθview.), assigning a score to each of the plurality of second candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 calculates the first evaluation value Jsemi for each path candidate); and selecting, based on the score assigned to each of the plurality of second candidate sample points, the second optimal sample point (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 selects a path candidate for which the first evaluation value Jsemi is smallest, i.e., such a path candidate point C that the first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smallest).
Iwai, as modified, does not explicitly disclose assigning the score to each of the plurality of first and second candidate sample points based on first directional information from the plurality of first and second candidate sample points to the goal point.
Giovannini, in the same field of endeavor (vehicle navigation), discloses repeatedly assigning a score to each of a plurality of candidate sample points based on first directional information from the plurality of candidate sample points to a goal point (Giovannini; col. 4, ll. 1-15: for evaluating a section of trajectory … the difference of heading is determined between the heading at said downstream end and a target heading at said target point; and a score is attributed to said section of trajectory, as a function of said distance and of said difference of heading. This score illustrates the ability of the section of trajectory to meet the set objective, that is to allow the aircraft if it follows this section of trajectory to rapidly reach said target point while having then a heading close to the target heading).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the calculation of the evaluation value Jsemi for each path candidate point of Iwai, as modified, to include the difference in heading between each point and a desired heading at the destination, with the motivation of allowing the vehicle to rapidly reach a destination while having then a heading close to a target heading (Giovannini; col. 4; ll. 13-15).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, as best understood, Iwai, as modified, discloses selecting the second optimal sample point comprises performing one of: based on at least one of the plurality of second candidate sample points being located within a region (Iwai; para. 98: Lgoal is a distance from the evaluation point E to the destination and calculated based on the map information 230.), selecting the second optimal sample point from the plurality of second candidate sample points, wherein the region is set based on a location of the goal point (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 searches for and selects such a path candidate point C that the first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smallest).
Iwai, as modified, does not explicitly disclose a heading difference value satisfying a threshold range and wherein the heading difference value is based on a difference between first heading information at at least one of the plurality of second candidate sample points and second heading information at the goal point; or based on the heading difference value not satisfying the threshold range, selecting a new first optimal sample point from the plurality of first candidate sample points.
Giovannini discloses selecting a point based on a heading difference value satisfying a threshold range and wherein the heading difference value is based on a difference between first heading information at at least one of a plurality of candidate sample points and heading information at a goal point (Giovannini; col. 4, ll. 1-22: for evaluating a section of trajectory … the difference of heading is determined between the heading at said downstream end and a target heading at said target point; and a score is attributed to said section of trajectory, as a function of said distance and of said difference of heading. This score illustrates the ability of the section of trajectory to meet the set objective, that is to allow the aircraft if it follows this section of trajectory to rapidly reach said target point while having then a heading close to the target heading … all the successive headings are taken into consideration, according to a predetermined pitch, from the current heading at the downstream end, for instance 10.degree., up to a maximum heading (for instance 170.degree. from the current heading), and this on either side of said current heading).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the calculation of the evaluation value Jsemi for each path candidate point of Iwai, as modified, to include the difference in heading between each point and a desired heading at the destination, with the motivation of allowing the vehicle to rapidly reach a destination while having then a heading close to a target heading (Giovannini; col. 4; ll. 13-15).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Iwai, as modified, discloses selecting a new first optimal sample point comprises: selecting a new first optimal sample point from the plurality of first candidate sample points, wherein the new first optimal sample point satisfies the optimal sample point condition, and wherein the new first optimal sample point is different from the first optimal sample point (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 selects a path candidate for which the first evaluation value Jsemi is smallest, i.e., such a path candidate point C that the first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smallest); generating a second plurality of second candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 100: on the assumption that the vehicle 1 has moved to the selected path candidate point C, the control device 100 may search for and select the next path candidate point C. The sub-global path PS is represented by a set of a plurality of path candidate points C that is arrayed at regular intervals Lgl_p), wherein the second plurality of second candidate sample points satisfy the plurality of second azimuth conditions (Iwai; para. 96: An interval between adjacent path candidate points C on the arc A is an angle Δθview.) and a second separation distance condition (Iwai; para. 96: arc A is a predetermined distance Lgl_p away from the position of the vehicle 1 in a radial direction), wherein the plurality of second azimuth conditions (Meuleau; col. 5, ll. 24-30: The distances between successive pairs of layers 240a-240f can be constant or non-constant. As one example, the spacing between layers 240a-240f can decrease in proportion to the curvature of the roadway 200 at a particular location such that the spacing between layers 240a-240f is smaller within curves than on straight sections.) and the second separation distance condition are set based on second updated state information (Meuleau; col. 5, ll. 31-39: trajectory planning system 140 can model each of the layers 240a-240f of the roadway 200 as having a plurality of nodes 300 that are spaced from one another transversely with respect to the roadway 200 within a width of each layer (sometimes referred to herein as a first width). In particular, each of the layers 240a-240f has a width that extends transverse the roadway (e.g. generally perpendicular to the central track 210 at the respective location of each of the layers), and wherein the second updated state information is obtained by updating, based on the new first optimal sample point, the state information of the moving object (Iwai; para. 100: on the assumption that the vehicle 1 has moved to the selected path candidate point C, the control device 100 may search for and select the next path candidate point C.); and based on the optimal sample point condition (Iwai; para. 99: term H1 on the right side of Formula (1) represents the risk value Urisk at the path candidate), at least one of the second plurality of second candidate sample points being located within the region (Iwai; para. 98: Lgoal is a distance from the evaluation point E to the destination and calculated based on the map information 230.), and a new heading difference value satisfying the threshold range, wherein the new heading difference value is based on a difference between new first heading information at at least one of the second plurality of second candidate sample points and the second heading information at the goal point (Giovannini; col. 4, ll. 1-22: for evaluating a section of trajectory … the difference of heading is determined between the heading at said downstream end and a target heading at said target point; and a score is attributed to said section of trajectory, as a function of said distance and of said difference of heading. This score illustrates the ability of the section of trajectory to meet the set objective, that is to allow the aircraft if it follows this section of trajectory to rapidly reach said target point while having then a heading close to the target heading … all the successive headings are taken into consideration, according to a predetermined pitch, from the current heading at the downstream end, for instance 10.degree., up to a maximum heading (for instance 170.degree. from the current heading), and this on either side of said current heading), selecting a second optimal sample point from the second plurality of second candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 searches for and selects such a path candidate point C that the first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smallest).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwai in view of Meuleau as applied to claims 5 and 15 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0020045), hereinafter Huang.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, as best understood, Iwai, as modified, discloses selecting a first optimal sample point from the plurality of the first candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 searches for and selects such a path candidate point C that the first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smallest), wherein the first optimal sample point satisfies the optimal sample point condition (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 selects a path candidate for which the first evaluation value Jsemi is smallest, i.e., such a path candidate point C that the first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smallest) and the first free space region condition (Iwai; para. 99: The first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smaller as the risk value Urisk at the path candidate becomes smaller.; para. 100: control device 100 selects a path candidate for which the first evaluation value Jsemi is smallest; para. 101: a sub-global path PS for moving to the destination while avoiding risks around the vehicle 1 is obtained); generating a plurality of second candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 100: on the assumption that the vehicle 1 has moved to the selected path candidate point C, the control device 100 may search for and select the next path candidate point C.; para. 96: An interval between adjacent path candidate points C on the arc A is an angle Δθview.), wherein the plurality of second candidate sample points satisfy the plurality of second azimuth conditions (Iwai; para. 96: An interval between adjacent path candidate points C on the arc A is an angle Δθview.) and a second separation distance condition (Iwai; para. 96: arc A is a predetermined distance Lgl_p away from the position of the vehicle 1 in a radial direction), wherein the plurality of second azimuth conditions (Meuleau; col. 5, ll. 24-30: The distances between successive pairs of layers 240a-240f can be constant or non-constant. As one example, the spacing between layers 240a-240f can decrease in proportion to the curvature of the roadway 200 at a particular location such that the spacing between layers 240a-240f is smaller within curves than on straight sections.) and the second separation distance condition are set based on second updated state information (Meuleau; col. 5, ll. 31-39: trajectory planning system 140 can model each of the layers 240a-240f of the roadway 200 as having a plurality of nodes 300 that are spaced from one another transversely with respect to the roadway 200 within a width of each layer (sometimes referred to herein as a first width). In particular, each of the layers 240a-240f has a width that extends transverse the roadway (e.g. generally perpendicular to the central track 210 at the respective location of each of the layers), and wherein the second updated state information is obtained by updating, based on the first optimal sample point, the state information of the moving object (Iwai; para. 100: on the assumption that the vehicle 1 has moved to the selected path candidate point C, the control device 100 may search for and select the next path candidate point C.); and based on the optimal sample point condition (Iwai; para. 99: term H1 on the right side of Formula (1) represents the risk value Urisk at the path candidate), the information related to the goal point (Iwai; para. 98: Lgoal is a distance from the evaluation point E to the destination), information related to the plurality of second candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 96: A plurality of path candidate points C is temporarily set on this arc A.), and the second free space region condition (Iwai; para. 99: The first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smaller as the risk value Urisk at the path candidate becomes smaller.; para. 100: control device 100 selects a path candidate for which the first evaluation value Jsemi is smallest; para. 101: a sub-global path PS for moving to the destination while avoiding risks around the vehicle 1 is obtained), selecting a second optimal sample point from the plurality of second candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 searches for and selects such a path candidate point C that the first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smallest).
Iwai, as modified, does not explicitly disclose based on none of the plurality of second candidate sample points satisfying the second free space region condition, selecting a new first optimal sample point from the plurality of the first candidate sample points.
Huang, in the same field of endeavor (autonomous vehicle navigation), discloses based on none of a plurality of second candidate sample points satisfying a free space region condition, selecting a new first optimal sample point from a plurality of first candidate sample points (Huang; para. 88: process 400 may comprise determining whether there is a motion primitive of the set of motion primitives that is collision-free and connects the first node to the second node, according to any of the techniques discussed herein. If no such motion primitive is found, the search … may comprise back-tracking, which may comprise removing the previous connection 406 and determining a new previous connection and attempting to determine a new next connection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the search for and selection of the next path candidate point C of Iwai, as modified, when all of the potential paths will result in a collision, to backtrack and search from a different previous point, as disclosed by Huang, to yield the predictable result of identifying a route around an obstacle.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwai in view of Meuleau and Giovannini as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Huang.
Regarding claims 18, as best understood, Iwai, as modified, discloses selecting a first optimal sample point from the plurality of first candidate sample points, wherein the first optimal sample point satisfies the optimal sample point condition (Iwai; para. 100: control device 100 selects a path candidate for which the first evaluation value Jsemi is smallest, i.e., such a path candidate point C that the first evaluation value Jsemi becomes smallest); generating a plurality of second candidate sample points (Iwai; para. 100: on the assumption that the vehicle 1 has moved to the selected path candidate point C, the control device 100 may search for and select the next path candidate point C. The sub-global path PS is represented by a set of a plurality of path candidate points C that is arrayed at regular intervals Lgl_p), wherein the plurality of second candidate sample points satisfy the plurality of second azimuth conditions (Iwai; para. 96: An interval between adjacent path candidate points C on the arc A is an angle Δθview.) and a second separation distance condition (Iwai; para. 96: arc A is a predetermined distance Lgl_p away from the position of the vehicle 1 in a radial direction), wherein the plurality of second azimuth conditions (Meuleau; col. 5, ll. 24-30: The distances between successive pairs of layers 240a-240f can be constant or non-constant. As one example, the spacing between layers 240a-240f can decrease in proportion to the curvature of the roadway 200 at a particular location such that the spacing between layers 240a-240f is smaller within curves than on straight sections.) and the second separation distance condition are set based on second updated state information (Meuleau; col. 5, ll. 31-39: trajectory planning system 140 can model each of the layers 240a-240f of the roadway 200 as having a plurality of nodes 300 that are spaced from one another transversely with respect to the roadway 200 within a width of each layer (sometimes referred to herein as a first width). In particular, each of the layers 240a-240f has a width that extends transverse the roadway (e.g. generally perpendicular to the central track 210 at the respective location of each of the layers), and wherein the second updated state information is obtained by updating, based on the first optimal sample point, the state information of the moving object (Iwai; para. 100: on the assumption that the vehicle 1 has moved to the selected path candidate point C, the control device 100 may search for and select the next path candidate point C.); and based on the optimal sample point condition (Iwai; para. 99: term H1 on the right side of Formula (1) represents the risk value Urisk at the path candidate), at least one of the second plurality of second candidate sample points being located within the region (Iwai; para. 98: Lgoal is a distance from the evaluation point E to the destination and calculated based on the map information 230.), and a heading difference value satisfying the threshold range, wherein the heading difference value is based on a difference between first heading information at at least one of the plurality of second candidate sample points and the second heading information at the goal point (Giovannini; col. 4, ll. 1-22: for evaluating a section of trajectory … the difference of heading is determined between the heading at said downstream end and a target heading at said target point; and a score is attributed to said section of trajectory, as a function of said distance and of said difference of heading. This score illustrates the ability of the section of trajectory to meet the set objective, that is to allow the aircraft if it follows this section of trajectory to rapidly reach said target point while having then a heading close to the target heading … all the successive headings are taken into consideration, according to a predetermined pitch, from the current heading at the downstream end, for instance 10.degree., up to a maximum heading (for instance 170.degree. from the current heading), and this on either side of said current heading), selecting a second optimal sample point from the second plurality of second candidate sample points.
Iwai, as modified, does not explicitly disclose selecting a new first optimal sample point based on the heading difference value not satisfying the threshold range, wherein the first optimal sample point is different from the first optimal sample point.
Huang discloses selecting a new optimal sample point based on a heading difference value not satisfying a threshold range, wherein the new optimal sample point is different from the optimal sample point (Huang; para. 88: If no such motion primitive is found, the search … may comprise back-tracking, which may comprise removing the previous connection 406 and determining a new previous connection and attempting to determine a new next connection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified, when there is not a potential path within the maximum heading, the search for and selection of the next path candidate point C of Iwai, as modified, to backtrack and search from a different previous point, as disclosed by Huang, to yield the predictable result of identifying a route to the destination.
Supplemental References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Constantino et al., in US 12,077,181, disclose methods for navigating an autonomous vehicle in which a state space is parameterized into points sampled at regular intervals. Sample points are validated when they lie in a free space region that is not occupied by other static and/or dynamic objects, then a plurality of trajectories are generated from the validated sample points. An optimal trajectory is selected based on constraints such as a steering heading.
Wuthishuwong et al., in US 2023/0185304, disclose a system for estimating a trajectory of a vehicle wherein points located at regular intervals within a free space corridor are used to generate a vehicle trajectory with a minimum deviation to a reference trajectory.
Kulkarni et al., in US 2022/0177001, disclose a path planning method for a vehicle wherein the path is generated by selecting points in layers at regular intervals, connecting them into candidate trajectories, and rejecting trajectories that will result in collisions. An optimum sequence is then selected using Dijkstra’s algorithm.
Yang, in US 2022/0055658, discloses a system for avoiding a collision wherein a path is generated by selecting points in layer at regular intervals, connecting them into candidate trajectories, and rejecting trajectories that will result in collisions. An optimal travel path is then selected.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH THOMPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665