This is the First Office action on the Merits from the examiner in charge of this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 11, 13, 16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by USP 10544983 to Lee et al (hereinafter Lee).
Lee discloses (Claim 1). A refrigerator 201 comprising (Figs. 1-18): a cabinet 10 having a storage space 20; a main door 31 configured to open and to close at least a portion of the storage space 20, and the main door 31 including: a door opening 33, a first hinge mount that is recessed downward from an upper surface of the main door 31, and a main hinge hole 31c disposed at the first hinge mount; a sub-door 32 configured to open and to close the door opening 33 of the main door 31, and the sub-door 32 including: a second hinge mount 89 that is recessed downward from an upper surface of the sub-door 32, a sub-hinge hole 32a disposed at the second hinge mount 89, and a top part (not numbered) that covers an upper portion of the second hinge mount 89 (such as shown in Fig. 8); a main hinge 70 disposed on an upper surface of the cabinet 10 and including a main hinge plate 72 and a main hinge shaft 74 to couple to the main hinge hole 31c; a first wire 64 that extends from the main door 31 and passes through the main hinge shaft 74 (Fig. 5); a main hinge cover 76 (Figs. 1-2) disposed on the upper surface of the cabinet 10 and is configured to cover the main hinge plate 72 and the first wire 64; a sub-hinge 82 disposed at the first hinge mount of the main door 31, and the sub-hinge 82 including a sub-hinge plate 82a and a sub-hinge shaft 83 to couple to the sub-hinge hole 32a; a second wire 66 that extends from the sub-door 32 and passes through the sub-hinge shaft 83; and a sub-hinge cover 86 disposed at the first hinge mount and is configured to cover the sub-hinge plate 82a and the second wire 66, wherein a bottom surface of the top part of the sub-door 32 faces a portion of the sub-hinge cover 86 and overlaps the sub-hinge shaft 83 in a vertical direction (such as shown in Figs. 8-10); (Claim 2). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the portion of the sub-hinge cover 86 is disposed between the top part of the sub-door 32 and the sub-hinge shaft 83; (Claim 3). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the bottom surface of the top part of the sub-door 32 overlaps the portion of the sub-hinge cover 86 in the vertical direction, and the second wire 66 is to pass inside the sub-hinge cover 86; (Claim 4). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the top part of the sub-door 32 has a top surface that is coplanar with the upper surface of the sub-door 32; (Claim 5). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the top part of the sub-door 32 includes a sub-cover that is disposed on the sub-door;
(Claim 8). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the main hinge cover 76 is vertically arranged with respect to the main hinge shaft 74 so as to shield at least a portion of the main hinge shaft 74, and the sub-hinge cover 86 is vertically arranged with respect to the sub-hinge shaft 83 so as to shield at least a portion of the sub-hinge shaft 83; (Claim 11). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the sub-hinge cover 86 comprises a stopping part configured to restrict an opening degree of the sub-door 32 relative to the main door 31 when the main door 31 closes the at least a portion of the storage space and the sub-door 32 opens the door opening of the main door 31;
(Claim 13). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the top part of the sub-door 32 is configured to cover a portion of the second wire 66; (Claim 16). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the second hinge mount 89 is configured to recess frontward from a rear surface of the sub-door 32; (Claim 18). A refrigerator 1 comprising (Figs. 1-18): a cabinet 10 having a storage space 20; a first door 31 configured to open and to close at least a portion of the storage space 20, the first door 31 having a door opening 33, and the first door 31 including: a first hinge mount that is recessed from an upper surface of the first door 31, and a first hinge hole 31c disposed at the first hinge mount; a second door 32 configured to open and to close the door opening 33 of the first door 31, and the second door 32 including: a second hinge mount 89 that is recessed from an upper surface of the second door 32, a second hinge hole 32a disposed at the second hinge mount 89, and a top cover configured to cover a portion of the second hinge mount 89; a first hinge plate 72 disposed on the cabinet and having a first hinge shaft 74 to couple to the first hinge hole 31c; a first wire 64 that extends through the first hinge hole 31c; a first hinge cover 76 configured to cover the first hinge plate 72 and the first wire 64; a second hinge plate 82a disposed at the first hinge mount of the first door 31, and having a second hinge shaft 83 to couple to the second hinge hole 32a; a second wire 66 that extends through the second hinge hole 32a; and a second hinge cover 86 configured to cover the second hinge plate 82a and the second wire 66, wherein the top cover of the second door 32 faces the second hinge cover 86 and overlaps the second hinge shaft 83 in a vertical direction; (Claim 19). The refrigerator of claim 18, wherein the second wire 66 is to pass inside the second hinge cover 86; (Claim 20). A refrigerator 1 comprising (Figs. 1-18): a cabinet 10; a first door 31 having a door opening 33, and the first door 31 including: a first hinge mount, and a first hinge hole 31c disposed at the first hinge mount; a second door 32 configured to open and to close the door opening 33 of the first door 31, and the second door 32 including: a second hinge mount 89 that is recessed from an upper surface of the second door 32, a second hinge hole 32a disposed at the second hinge mount 89, and a top cover configured to cover a portion of the second hinge mount 89; a first hinge plate 72 to couple to the first hinge hole 31c; a first wire 64 that extends through the first hinge hole 31c; a first hinge cover 76 configured to cover the first hinge plate 72 and the first wire 64; a second hinge plate 82a disposed at the first hinge mount of the first door 31, and to couple to the second hinge hole 32a; a second wire 66 that extends through the second hinge hole 32a; and a second hinge cover 86 configured to cover the second hinge plate 82a and the second wire 66, wherein the top cover of the second door 32 faces the second hinge cover 86 and overlaps the second hinge hole 32a.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of US 2017/0350644 to Xia et al (hereinafter Xia).
Lee discloses all the elements as discussed above including the limitations in (i) Claim 6 of a controller (col. 8, line 40) disposed on the cabinet 10 and configured to control an operation of the refrigerator 1, a first connector to connect the first wire to the controller (col. 8, lines 38-43, [T]he first electric wire 64 may be separably connected to the main body electric wire 77 of the main body 10, and may be connected to a controller (not shown) or a power supply device (not shown) that is connected to the main body electric wire 77. The first electric wire 64 may extend to the inner door 31 to be connected to the second electric wire 66.); (ii) Claim 14 of wherein the sub-door 32 includes a cap decoration 46 (Figs. 12-14) having a decoration opening 90 and a circuit board 99 provided at the decoration opening 90, a third wire 66 (col. 8, lines 61-64, [F]or convenience of description, although each of the first and second electric wires 62 are described as a single electric wire, a plurality of first and second electric wires 62 may be formed and applied.); (iii) Claim 15 of a decoration cover (Fig. 12, not numbered) to cover the decoration opening 90 of the cap decoration 46.
The differences being that Lee fails to clearly disclose the limitations in (a) claim 6 of a second connector to connect the second wire to the controller; (b) claim 7; (c) claim 14 of wherein the cap decoration 46 has a wire entrance structure that is open to the second hinge mount, and wherein the third wire is to pass through the wire entrance structure and is to be guided to the second hinge mount; (d) claim 15 of and a mounting part to extend from the decoration cover and to be inserted into the decoration opening of the cap decoration, and the circuit board to be mounted to the mounting part.
Regarding (a) and (b), since it is well known in the art to pass a plurality of wires through a hinge shaft, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include the limitations in (a) claim 6 of a second connector to connect the second wire to the controller; (b) claim 7 of wherein the second wire is to pass a rotation axis of the main hinge shaft and extend to the main hinge cover with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Regarding (c) and (d), Xia discloses a refrigerator comprising: a cabinet having a storage space; a door 2 configured to open and to close at least a portion of the storage space, the door including: a cap decoration having a decoration opening 27 and a controller 7 having a circuit board 71 provided at the decoration opening 27, a decoration cover 28 to cover the decoration opening 27 of the cap decoration; and a mounting part 29 (Figs. 8-9) to extend from the decoration cover 28 and to be inserted into the decoration opening 27 of the cap decoration, and the circuit board 7 to be mounted to the mounting part 29. Further, Lee discloses wires 66 provided within sub-door 32 to connect to a controller, it is inherent that the cap decoration is provided with a wire entrance structure that is open to the second hinge mount.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Xia, to modify Lee to include the limitations in (c) claim 14 of wherein the cap decoration 46 has a wire entrance structure that is open to the second hinge mount, and wherein the third wire is to pass through the wire entrance structure and is to be guided to the second hinge mount; (d) claim 15 of and a mounting part to extend from the decoration cover and to be inserted into the decoration opening of the cap decoration, and the circuit board to be mounted to the mounting part with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of US 2016/0061514 to Seo et al (hereinafter Seo).
Lee discloses all the elements as discussed above including the limitations in claim 17 of wherein the sub-door includes: a transparent panel assembly 60 that includes a front panel configured to provide a front of the sub-door 32; an outer plate (Fig. 4) having a plate opening 34, and the outer plate to couple to the transparent panel assembly 60; a door liner having a liner opening; an upper cap decoration to couple to an upper portion of the outer plate; and a foaming agent insulation member provided in the door 32.
The differences being that Lee fails to clearly disclose the limitations of a rear panel configured to provide a rear of the sub-door; and the door liner to couple to the rear panel; a lower cap decoration to couple to a lower portion of the outer plate; and the insulation member provided in a space defined by the outer plate, the door liner, the upper cap decoration, the lower cap decoration and the transparent panel assembly.
Seo discloses a refrigerator sub-door 30 comprising: a transparent panel assembly (Fig. 5) that includes a front panel 110 configured to provide a front of the sub-door 30 and a rear panel 140 configured to provide a rear of the sub-door 30; an outer plate having a plate opening 33, and the outer plate to couple to the transparent panel assembly; a door liner having a liner opening, and the door liner to couple to the rear panel 140; an upper cap decoration to couple to an upper portion of the outer plate; a lower cap decoration to couple to a lower portion of the outer plate; and an insulation member provided in a space defined by the outer plate, the door liner, the upper cap decoration, the lower cap decoration and the transparent panel assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Seo, to modify Lee to include the limitations in claim 17 of a rear panel configured to provide a rear of the sub-door; and the door liner to couple to the rear panel; a lower cap decoration to couple to a lower portion of the outer plate; and the insulation member provided in a space defined by the outer plate, the door liner, the upper cap decoration, the lower cap decoration and the transparent panel assembly with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and all show structures similar to various elements of applicant’s disclosure.
HVT
April 15, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637