DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 23, 24 and 25 are currently pending.
Claims 23, 24 and 25 have been considered on the merits.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the use of trademarks.
The use of the terms: TeSR™2 in 0165; mTeSR™1 in 0165; TeSR™E8 in 0165; Pluriton™ reprograming medium; StemFit® in 0165; Stem-cellbanker® in 0197-0198; Triton™-X 100 in 0210; Alexa Fluor® 555 in 0211; Hyaluronan Quatikine™ Elisa Kit in 02200; Varioskan® Flash in 0220, 0225; NucleoSpin® RNA Plus in 0236; ReverTra Ace® qPCR RT Master Mix in 0236; and Thunderbird™ Next Sybr® qPCR mix in 0236, which are a trade names or a marks used in commerce, have been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 25 is objected to in the recitation of “An amplifier for an expression”, and in the interest of improving claim form, it is suggested that the recited phrase be amended to recite “An amplifier for the expression”.
Appropriate correction is appreciated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 23, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Miastkowska et al. (Cosmetics, 2018).
With respect to claims 23, 24 and 25, Miastkowska teaches a composition or agent containing an extract of a stem cell (abstract).
Miastkowska teaches the composition has anti-aging and rejuvenating properties as recited in claims 23 and 24 (abstract and pg. 1 last para. to pg. 2 para. 2). Miastkowska does not teach the composition is an amplifier for the expression of a rejuvenation factor or a rejuvenation related factor as recited in claim 25. However, the composition of the Miastkowska is the same as that claimed by applicant. Thus, the intended use of the composition as an anti-aging agent, rejuvenation agent, and an amplifier for the expression of a rejuvenation factor or a rejuvenation related factor is also inherent in the composition of the Miastkowska. It is noted that the intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 (MPEP 2112).
Therefore, the invention reference anticipates the claimed subject matter or the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claims 23, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tan et al. (Experimental Dermatology, 2022).
With respect to claims 23, 24 and 25, Tan teaches a composition or agent containing a secretion of a stem cell (abstract). Tan teaches compositions containing mesenchymal stem cell secretomes or conditioned media for skin treatment and rejuvenation (pg. 675 Col. 1 para. 3). In addition, Tan teaches a composition containing stem cells which have regenerative properties (pg. 675 Col. 2 para. 1, pg. 677 para. 1 and Table 1).
With respect to claim 23, Tan teaches “secretomes from various MSCs contain a wide range of cytokines and growth factors that are beneficial in reducing, blocking or reversing symptoms of skin aging” (pg. 679 Col. 2 para. 2). With respect to claim 24, Tan teaches the cytokines found in the secretome restore the dermal thickness, reduce wrinkles reduction and enhance the skill texture which would be considered rejuvenating (pg. 679 Col. 2 para. 2). Tan does not teach the composition is an amplifier for the expression of a rejuvenation factor or a rejuvenation related factor as recited in claim 25. However, the composition of the Tan is the same as that claimed by applicant. Thus, the intended use of the composition as an anti-aging agent, rejuvenation agent, and an amplifier for the expression of a rejuvenation factor or a rejuvenation related factor is also inherent in the composition of the Tan. It is noted that the intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 (MPEP 2112).
Therefore, the invention reference anticipates the claimed subject matter or the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claims 23, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nistor et al. (US 2018/0116951 A1).
With respect to claims 23, 24 and 25, Nistor teaches a composition containing culture medium from partially differentiation of pluripotent stem cells or biased pluriptoent stem cells (0024-0026).
Although Nistor teaches the composition improves the appearance of the skin (abstract), Nistor does not teach the composition as an anti-aging agent, rejuvenation agent, and an amplifier for the expression of a rejuvenation factor or a rejuvenation related factor as recited in claims 23, 24, and 25, respectively. However, the composition of the Nistor is the same as that claimed by applicant. Thus, the intended use of the composition as an anti-aging agent, rejuvenation agent, and an amplifier for the expression of a rejuvenation factor or a rejuvenation related factor is also inherent in the composition of the Nistor. It is noted that the intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 (MPEP 2112).
Therefore, the invention reference anticipates the claimed subject matter or the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
/EMILY A CORDAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632