DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 18, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on March 18, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be a serious search burden for the non-elected inventions. This is not found persuasive because the non-elected inventions contain limitations that differ in classification requiring different search fields.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “protrusion extending circumferentially from an outer surface of at least a portion of the body” of Claims 1, 3, and 9 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. The figures show a “protrusion” 144 in the Figures but that appears to be a protrusion of the abutment and does not meet the limitation as claimed. It appears that the “protrusion” as claimed may be the “cutting surface” 109. Additionally, the “cutout” of Claim 3 is not seen in the drawings or described in the specification. The limitation of an aperture “extending from the opening through at least a portion of the body” as claimed in Claim 6 is not shown in the drawings. Figure 7 shows aperture 114 but it is not seen in any other figures to demonstrate the extension through the body as claimed. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the “cutout” of Claim 3 does not appear anywhere in the specification and therefore the specification does not provide antecedence or disclosure of this claimed element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1, 3, and 9, the “protrusion” as claimed is confusing and unclear, as it is not disclosed in the specification or seen in the figures. Protrusion 144 as seen in Figure 11 is described in the specification as a portion of the abutment. This terminology is inconsistent with the claimed element of a protrusion in Claim 1 that is a part of the rotary instrument and extends from an outer surface of the body. From reading the specification and the description of the claimed element, the examiner finds that the “cutting surface” 109 may be the intended limitation. For the purpose of examination, the “protrusion” as recited in Claims 1, 3, and 9 will be interpreted as the cutting surface 109 as seen in Figure 6.
Regarding Claim 9, it is unclear which first end is being referenced in line 4, the first end of the body or the first end of the tip. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as the first end of the body as the examiner believes was the intent of the applicant.
All claims not specifically addressed above are rejected based on their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shaw (US 5,261,818).
Regarding Claim 1, Shaw discloses a rotary instrument (abstract) comprising a body (12 and including portion interior of 16 taken together) with a first end and a second end (see Figure 1 where first end is closer to tip 13 and second end is at end farthest from tip), a tip (13) connected to and extending from the first end of the body, where the tip has a first end and a second end (see Figure 1), and a protrusion (portion of 16 that extends laterally from midline) extending circumferentially from an outer surface of at least a portion of the body (as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Shaw discloses the rotary instrument of claim 1, and further discloses that the tip has a truncated cone shape (as seen at 14 in Figure 1, where the tip is truncated by end of channels at 28).
Regarding Claim 3, Shaw discloses the rotary instrument of claim 1, and further discloses that wherein the body further comprises a first portion (portion interior 16) and a second portion (12), the first portion receiving the protrusion, and the second portion having at least one cutout in the outer surface of the body and extending from the first portion to the second end (channel 18 is a cutout portion that begins in the outer surface of the body at 20 and extends from the first portion at 16 to the second end).
Regarding Claim 4, Shaw discloses the rotary instrument of claim 3, and further discloses that the second portion further comprises a flat end contacting the second end of the body (at second end, the end is flat as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Shaw discloses the rotary instrument of claim 1, and further discloses that the tip further comprises an edge contacting the body (edge contacts the body at end of tip closest to the body), and a raised lip (32) extending circumferentially along the edge.
Regarding Claim 6, Shaw discloses the rotary instrument of claim 1, and further discloses that the tip further comprises an opening (34) and an aperture (channel 18 as it traverses tip 13), the aperture extending from the opening through at least a portion of the body along an axis extending longitudinally through a center of the body (as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Shaw discloses the rotary instrument of claim 1, and further discloses that the tip further comprises a wide end, a narrow end, and a side extending between the narrow end and the wide end, the side having a first portion and a bevel, where the first portion extends from the wide end to the bevel, and where the bevel extends from the first portion to the narrow end (see annotated Figure below).
Regarding Claim 9, Shaw discloses the rotary instrument of claim 1, and further discloses that the protrusion further comprises a top surface, and a side surface, where the top surface is connected to the side surface, where the top surface extends perpendicular to the body and faces towards the first end of the body, and where the side surface extends parallel to the outer surface of the body (see annotated Figure below).
Regarding Claim 10, Shaw discloses the rotary instrument of claim 1, and further discloses that the tip has a smooth outer surface (see annotated Figure of tip above).
Regarding Claim 11, Shaw discloses the rotary instrument of Claim 1, and further discloses that the tip and the body are longitudinally aligned along an axis extending through a longitudinal center of the body (as seen in Figure 1).
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacoby et al. (US 2020/0246116 A1, hereinafter “Jacoby”).
Regarding Claim 1, Jacoby discloses a rotary instrument (Figure 1a, 100) comprising a body (120 and 128 taken together) with a first end and a second end (see Figure 1a where first end is closer to tip 116 and second end is at end farthest from tip), a tip (116) connected to and extending from the first end of the body, where the tip has a first end and a second end (see Figure 1a), and a protrusion (portion of 128 that extends laterally from midline) extending circumferentially from an outer surface of at least a portion of the body (as seen in Figure 1a).
Regarding Claim 7, Shaw discloses the rotary instrument of claim 1, and further discloses that the body and the tip are monolithically formed (as seen in Figure 2).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772