DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to applicant’s response filed 04/17/2026 to the Requirement for Restriction/Election, dated 02/20/2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The effective filing date of the present application is 07/19/2024. Claims 1-10, as filed on 10/18/2024, are currently pending.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Figures 1-6) and claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 04/17/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 8-10, as filed on 10/18/2024, are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-7, as filed on 10/18/2024, are considered below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3, “an axle portion rotatable” should be --- an axle portion that is rotatable ---.
In lines 8-9, “the diameter” should be --- a diameter ---.
In lines 10-11, “provide resistive force of different magnitude according to moment arm of different magnitude” should be --- provide a resistive force of different magnitudes according to a moment arm of different magnitudes ---.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4, 6, and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 3-5:
“a reel for a pulling cord to be wound therearound; the resistive force mechanism being characterized in that:
the reel has an axle portion” should be
--- a reel for a pulling cord to be wound therearound;
wherein the reel comprises an axle portion ---.
In claim 2, lines 1-2, “The resistive force mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the resistive force mechanism further comprises an adjusting unit; the adjusting unit comprises:” should be --- The resistive force mechanism as claimed in claim 1, further comprising an adjusting unit, the adjusting unit comprising: ---.
In claim 2, line 4, “the sliders” should be --- the plurality of sliders ---.
Claim 3 should be amended as follows:
---- The resistive force mechanism as claimed in claim 2, wherein each of the first and second base plates has a plurality of guiding grooves; the plurality of guiding grooves are arranged annularly with respect to the axle portion and extend along radial directions of the axle portion; each of the plurality of sliders has two guiding pillars; the two guiding pillars of each of the plurality of sliders are movably inserted in the plurality of guiding grooves of the first and second base plates, respectively; when the plurality of sliders are driven by the moved member, the two guiding pillars of each of the plurality of sliders respectively slide along the plurality of guiding grooves of the first and second base plates to make the plurality of sliders leave or approach the axle portion. ---.
In claim 4, line 4, “the linkages” should be --- the plurality of linkages ---.
In claim 4, line 5, “the linkages” should be --- the plurality of linkages ---.
In claim 4, line 6, “the sliders” should be --- the plurality of sliders ---.
In claim 4, line 7, “the linkages to swing in a way that the linkages drive the sliders” should be --- the plurality of linkages to swing in a way that the plurality of linkages respectively drive the plurality of sliders ---.
In claim 6, lines 1-2, “The resistive force mechanism as claimed in claim 5, wherein the resistive force mechanism further comprises” should be --- The resistive force mechanism as claimed in claim 5, further comprising ---.
Claim 7 should be amended as follows:
--- The resistive force mechanism as claimed in claim 6, wherein the connecting member further has two sliding grooves; the adjusting unit further comprises two sliding pillars; an end of each of the two sliding pillars is fixed to the moved member, and another end of each of the two sliding pillars is movably disposed in each of the two sliding grooves of the connecting member, respectively; when the two sliding pillars are driven by the moved member, the two sliding pillars respectively slide in the two sliding grooves relative to the connecting member. ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 2, line 3: an operation member rotatably disposed on the reel.
In claim 2, lines 4-5: a moved member driven by the operation member to drive the sliders to leave or approach the axle portion.
Such corresponding structure is/are:
Regarding the operation member, the specification, as originally filed, page 10, lines 22-23: discloses: “As shown in FIG. 1, FIG. 2 and FIG. 4, the operation member 41 has a knob 42, and a threaded rod 43 connected with the knob 42.”
Regarding the moved member, the specification, as originally filed, page 4, lines 8-12 discloses: “The moved member has a central threaded hole. The threaded rod of the operation member is screwed into the central threaded hole of the moved member. In this way, the moved member is driven by the operation member to linearly displace along the threaded rod of the operation member back and forth stably.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Charnitski (US 2002/0086777).
Regarding claim 1, Charnitski discloses a resistive force mechanism (Figure 6; paragraphs 0066-0068) comprising:
a drive unit (the flywheel 10; Figure 6; paragraphs 0066-0068); and
a reel (the spool 30; Figure 6; paragraphs 0066-0068) for a pulling cord (the line 40; Figure 6; paragraphs 0066-0068) to be wound therearound; the resistive force mechanism being characterized in that:
the reel has an axle portion (the first axle 20; Figure 6; paragraphs 0066-0068) driven by the drive unit to rotate, a first base plate (the first sprocket 530; Figure 6; paragraphs 0066-0068) disposed on the axle portion, a second base plate (the bearing 22 farthest from the first sprocket 530; Figure 6; paragraphs 0066-0068) disposed opposite to the first base plate, and a plurality of sliders (paragraph 0067: the “rods or sections 34 having swivel points 35, 36 at the spool ends and the rods 34 are connected at hinge points 37”; Figure 6); the sliders are annularly arranged around the axle portion (Figure 6), and movably disposed between the first and second base plates for leaving or approaching the axle portion (paragraph 0067: “Preferably, the swivel points 36 at one end of the spool 30 are connected to a slidable sleeve 38 mounted to the axle 20. The sleeve 38 can be moved along the axle 20 in one direction to cause the rods or sections 34 to swivel away from the axle 20, increasing the spool slope and in the opposite direction to cause the rods or sections 34 to swivel toward the axle 20, decreasing the spool slope.”; Figure 6).
Regarding claim 2, Charnitski further discloses wherein the resistive force mechanism further comprises an adjusting unit (the bearing 22 nearest to the first sprocket 530 together with the slidable sleeve 38; Figure 6; paragraphs 0066-0068); the adjusting unit comprises:
an operation member (the bearing 22 nearest to the first sprocket 530 together with the slidable sleeve 38; Figure 6; paragraphs 0066-0068) rotatably disposed on the reel (via the first axle 20; Figure 6); and
a moved member (the slidable sleeve 38; Figure 6; paragraphs 0066-0068) driven by the operation member to drive the sliders to leave or approach the axle portion (Figure 6; paragraphs 0066-0068).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hsu (US 2024/0359045).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses a resistive force mechanism (Figures 1-10) comprising:
a drive unit (the force-applying member 3; Figures 1 and 9); and
a reel (the reel 8; Figures 1, 3, 6, 8, and 10) for a pulling cord (the force transmitter 4; Figures 1, 3, 6, and 8-10) to be wound therearound; the resistive force mechanism being characterized in that:
the reel has an axle portion (the rotating shaft 11; Figures 1-8 and 10) driven by the drive unit to rotate (paragraph 0051: “One end of the force transmitter 4 is connected to the force-applying member 3, and the other end of the force transmitter 4 is directly or indirectly connected to the rotating shaft 11 to drive the rotating shaft 11 to rotate.”), a first base plate (the first ring 122 of the blade seat 12; Figures 1 and 4; paragraph 0056) disposed on the axle portion, a second base plate (the second ring 143 of the sliding seat 14; Figures 1 and 4; paragraph 0056) disposed opposite to the first base plate, and a plurality of sliders (the plurality of connecting members 15 together with the plurality of blades 13; Figures 1, 3-8, and 10); the sliders are annularly arranged around the axle portion (Figures 1, 3-8, and 10), and movably disposed between the first and second base plates for leaving or approaching the axle portion (Figures 1, 3-8, and 10).
Regarding claim 2, Hsu further discloses wherein the resistive force mechanism further comprises an adjusting unit (the adjusting member 5 together with the adjusting transmitter 6 and the sliding seat 14; Figures 1-8 and 10; paragraphs 0052-0054); the adjusting unit comprises:
an operation member (the adjusting member 5 together with the adjusting transmitter 6; Figures 1-3; paragraphs 0052-0054) rotatably disposed on the reel (via the rotating shaft 11; Figures 1-8 and 10; paragraphs 0052-0054); and
a moved member (the sliding seat 14; Figures 1-8 and 10; paragraphs 0052-0054) driven by the operation member to drive the sliders to leave or approach the axle portion (Figures 1, 3-8, and 10; paragraphs 0064-0071).
Regarding claim 3, Hsu further discloses wherein each of the first and second base plates has a plurality of guiding grooves (the plurality of first notches 121 in the first ring 122 of the blade seat 12, the plurality of second notches 142 in the second ring 143 of the sliding seat 14; Figures 1 and 4; paragraph 0056); the guiding grooves are arranged annularly with respect to the axle portion and extend along radial directions of the axle portion (Figures 1, 4, 5, 7, and 10); each of the sliders has two guiding pillars (the ends of the plurality of connecting members 15 respectively inserted into the plurality of second notches 142 in the second ring 143 of the sliding seat 14, the ends of the plurality of blades 13 respectively inserted into the plurality of first notches 121 in the first ring 122 of the blade seat 12; Figures 1, 3-8, and 10); the guiding pillars of the sliders are movably inserted in the guiding grooves of the first and second base plates respectively (Figures 1, 3-8, and 10); when the sliders are driven by the moved member, the guiding pillars of the sliders slide along the guiding grooves of the first and second base plates to make the sliders leave or approach the axle portion (Figures 1, 3-8, and 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record (Charnitski (US 2002/0086777); Hsu (US 2024/0359045)), alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious a resistive force mechanism in combination with all of the elements and structural and functional relationships as claimed and further including:
wherein the moved member is disposed on the operation member, and the moved member is driven by the operation member to displace between the first and second base plates; the adjusting unit further comprises a plurality of linkages; an end of each of the linkages is pivotably connected with the moved member; another end of each of the linkages is pivotably connected with each of the sliders; the moved member is driven by the operation member to drive the linkages to swing in a way that the linkages drive the sliders to leave or approach the axle portion (claim 4).
Conclusion
/GARY D URBIEL GOLDNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784