DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Communication Method, Apparatus, and System For Physical Layer Protocol Data Unit Sequence Generation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 11-12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4-5, 11-12, and 19-20, these claims recite instances of a symbol “P” in relation to matrix operations. However, the meaning of the symbol “P” is unclear within the context of the respective claims. In paragraph [0144] of the specification, the symbol “P” is indicated as referring to a concatenation operation. Claims 4-5, 11-12, and 19-20 should be amended to clarify the meaning of the “P” symbol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 13-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xin et al. (US 2014/0003474 A1)(hereinafter “Xin”).
Regarding claim 1, Xin discloses a method comprising:
generating a first sequence based on a complete complementary code set through a concatenation operation (Fig. 8, [00043]: FIG. 8 is a flow chart 800 of a method for constructing a set of Zero-Correlation-Zone (ZCZ) concatenated complementary pair (CCP) sequences of length LxN with zero-correlation-zone range greater than one or with zero-correlation-zone range equal to one and the set size greater than two. Following start block 802 in FIG. 8, complementary pair sequences A and B of length N are selected at block 804. At block 806 ZCZ sequences sign sequences pA and pB of length L/2 are selected. At block 808, the sign sequences are combined with the complementary pair sequences A and B to form the member ZCZ CCP sequence having a zero-cross-correlation-zone range greater than one or zero-correlation-zone range equal to one and the set size greater than two. [0040]: in a further embodiment, the sequence generator may be implemented as a sequentially accessed memory that stores one or more complete ZCZ CCP sequences.), wherein the complete complementary code set is based on a Golay pair (Claim 20: where the complementary pair sequences A and B comprise Golay sequences.) and a Hadamard matrix through a Kronecker product operation ([0121]: the initial set of sign sequences may be obtained by interleaving elements of the initial set of sign sequences pA and pB to form a sign matrix…(equation omitted) and then expanding the sign matrix by calculating a Kronecker product of the Hadamard matrix…(equation omitted) with sub-matrices of the sign matrix to forming an expanded sign matrix as…(equation omitted), where…represents a Kronecker tensor product operation.); and
sending a physical layer protocol data unit comprising the first sequence (Fig. 1, [0002]: FIG. 1 shows the frame structure of a Physical layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) 100 defined in the IEEE 802.11ad specification. The frame structure includes a short training field (STF) 102, a channel estimation field (CEF) 104, a header 106, a data packet 108 and a beamforming receiver/transmitter training (TRN-R/T) field 110. The channel estimation field (CEF) 104 is used for channel estimation and detection of modulation types used in header and data packets when they are transmitted over a physical layer of a network. Fig. 2, [0003]: FIG. 2 illustrates the CEF sequences defined in the IEEE 802.11ad specification for wireless local area networks. The CEF sequence for SC modulation consists of a prefix sequence 200 which is a part of the STF 102, followed by eight concatenated, alternating, 128-bit Golay complementary sequences, 202, 204, 206, 208, 210, 212, 214 and 216, and a postfix sequence 218. The sequences Ga128 and Gb128 form a Golay complementary pair. Accordingly, Xin discloses use of a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) having a frame structure that includes a channel estimation field that includes a first sequence based on a complete complementary code set through a concatenation operation).
Regarding claim 2, Xin discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Xin also discloses generating a zero correlation zone sequence set comprising the first sequence, wherein the physical layer protocol data unit comprises the zero correlation zone sequence set ([0023]: the present disclosure relates to the construction and use of a set of Zero-Correlation-Zone (ZCZ) concatenated complementary pair (CCP) sequences …. Such sequences have applications in communication systems as training signals for estimating a channel response and as information signals. [0029]: in one embodiment the ZCZ CCP sequences are selected from a set of sequences having a zero correlation zone greater than one.).
Regarding claim 6, Xin discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Xin also discloses wherein the first sequence is for at least one of channel estimation ([0002]: the channel estimation field (CEF) 104 is used for channel estimation and detection of modulation types used in header and data packets when they are transmitted over a physical layer of a network. [0065]: more generally, when a training sequence is used both for channel estimation and signalling,…ZCZ CCP sequences may be used to provide optimal channel estimation and signal detection in a communication system.), target sensing (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), or time synchronization (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims).
Regarding claim 7, Xin discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Xin also discloses sending the first sequence using a first antenna, wherein the first antenna corresponds to the first sequence in a zero correlation zone sequence set (Fig. 9, [0066]: the transmitter sub-system 901 includes a sequence generator 500 operable to pass a training sequence 906, selected from a set of training sequences, to an antenna 908. The training sequence is propagated over a communication channel 928 to the receiver sub-system 903, where it is received by antenna 910 or receiver 904. The receiving transceiver 904 is configured to identify the transmitted training sequence from the received signal 912. In this example, the receiving transceiver 904 includes two ZCZ CCP sequence generators 500'' and 500''', which is appropriate when the sequence to be detected is one selected from a pair of sequences.).
Regarding claim 8, Xin discloses a communication apparatus (Fig. 13, [0135]: mobile electronic device 1302.), comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions (Fig. 13, [0135]: memory 1316.); and
one or more processors coupled to the memory (Fig. 13, [0135]: processor 1310.) and configured to execute the instructions to cause the communication apparatus to ([0139]: it will be appreciated that any module or component disclosed herein that executes instructions may include or otherwise have access to non-transient and tangible computer readable media such as storage media, computer storage media, or data storage devices (removable or non-removable) such as, for example, magnetic disks, optical disks, or tape data storage.):
generate a first sequence based on a complete complementary code set through a concatenation operation (Fig. 8, [00043]: FIG. 8 is a flow chart 800 of a method for constructing a set of Zero-Correlation-Zone (ZCZ) concatenated complementary pair (CCP) sequences of length LxN with zero-correlation-zone range greater than one or with zero-correlation-zone range equal to one and the set size greater than two. Following start block 802 in FIG. 8, complementary pair sequences A and B of length N are selected at block 804. At block 806 ZCZ sequences sign sequences pA and pB of length L/2 are selected. At block 808, the sign sequences are combined with the complementary pair sequences A and B to form the member ZCZ CCP sequence having a zero-cross-correlation-zone range greater than one or zero-correlation-zone range equal to one and the set size greater than two. [0040]: in a further embodiment, the sequence generator may be implemented as a sequentially accessed memory that stores one or more complete ZCZ CCP sequences.), wherein the complete complementary code set is based on a Golay pair (Claim 20: where the complementary pair sequences A and B comprise Golay sequences.) and a Hadamard matrix through a Kronecker product operation ([0121]: the initial set of sign sequences may be obtained by interleaving elements of the initial set of sign sequences pA and pB to form a sign matrix…(equation omitted) and then expanding the sign matrix by calculating a Kronecker product of the Hadamard matrix…(equation omitted) with sub-matrices of the sign matrix to forming an expanded sign matrix as…(equation omitted), where…represents a Kronecker tensor product operation.); and
send a physical layer protocol data unit comprising the first sequence (Fig. 1, [0002]: FIG. 1 shows the frame structure of a Physical layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) 100 defined in the IEEE 802.11ad specification. The frame structure includes a short training field (STF) 102, a channel estimation field (CEF) 104, a header 106, a data packet 108 and a beamforming receiver/transmitter training (TRN-R/T) field 110. The channel estimation field (CEF) 104 is used for channel estimation and detection of modulation types used in header and data packets when they are transmitted over a physical layer of a network. Fig. 2, [0003]: FIG. 2 illustrates the CEF sequences defined in the IEEE 802.11ad specification for wireless local area networks. The CEF sequence for SC modulation consists of a prefix sequence 200 which is a part of the STF 102, followed by eight concatenated, alternating, 128-bit Golay complementary sequences, 202, 204, 206, 208, 210, 212, 214 and 216, and a postfix sequence 218. The sequences Ga128 and Gb128 form a Golay complementary pair. Accordingly, Xin discloses use of a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) having a frame structure that includes a channel estimation field that includes a first sequence based on a complete complementary code set through a concatenation operation).
Regarding claim 9, Xin discloses all features of claim 8 as outlined above.
Xin also discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the communication apparatus to generate a zero correlation zone sequence set comprising the first sequence, wherein the physical layer protocol data unit comprises the zero correlation zone sequence set ([0023]: the present disclosure relates to the construction and use of a set of Zero-Correlation-Zone (ZCZ) concatenated complementary pair (CCP) sequences …. Such sequences have applications in communication systems as training signals for estimating a channel response and as information signals.).
Regarding claim 13, Xin discloses all features of claim 8 as outlined above.
Xin also discloses wherein the first sequence is for at least one of channel estimation ([0002]: the channel estimation field (CEF) 104 is used for channel estimation and detection of modulation types used in header and data packets when they are transmitted over a physical layer of a network. [0065]: more generally, when a training sequence is used both for channel estimation and signalling,…ZCZ CCP sequences may be used to provide optimal channel estimation and signal detection in a communication system.), target sensing (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), or time synchronization (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims).
Regarding claim 14, Xin discloses all features of claim 8 as outlined above.
Xin also discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the communication apparatus to send the first sequence using a first antenna, wherein the first antenna corresponds to the first sequence in a zero correlation zone sequence set (Fig. 9, [0066]: the transmitter sub-system 901 includes a sequence generator 500 operable to pass a training sequence 906, selected from a set of training sequences, to an antenna 908. The training sequence is propagated over a communication channel 928 to the receiver sub-system 903, where it is received by antenna 910 or receiver 904. The receiving transceiver 904 is configured to identify the transmitted training sequence from the received signal 912. In this example, the receiving transceiver 904 includes two ZCZ CCP sequence generators 500'' and 500''', which is appropriate when the sequence to be detected is one selected from a pair of sequences.).
Regarding claim 15, Xin discloses a communication apparatus (Fig. 13, [0135]: mobile electronic device 1302.), comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions (Fig. 13, [0135]: memory 1316.); and
one or more processors coupled to the memory (Fig. 13, [0135]: processor 1310.) and configured to execute the instructions to cause the communication apparatus to ([0139]: it will be appreciated that any module or component disclosed herein that executes instructions may include or otherwise have access to non-transient and tangible computer readable media such as storage media, computer storage media, or data storage devices (removable or non-removable) such as, for example, magnetic disks, optical disks, or tape data storage.):
receive a physical layer protocol data unit comprising a first sequence (Fig. 1, [0002]: FIG. 1 shows the frame structure of a Physical layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) 100 defined in the IEEE 802.11ad specification. The frame structure includes a short training field (STF) 102, a channel estimation field (CEF) 104, a header 106, a data packet 108 and a beamforming receiver/transmitter training (TRN-R/T) field 110. The channel estimation field (CEF) 104 is used for channel estimation and detection of modulation types used in header and data packets when they are transmitted over a physical layer of a network. [0025]: one aspect of the present disclosure relates to a mobile electronic device that is operable to identify a transmitted training sequence of a set of training sequences in a training sequence field in a signal frame that is propagated over a communication channel. The mobile electronic device includes a receiver operable to receive the propagated training sequence.), wherein the first sequence is based on a complete complementary code set through a concatenation operation (Fig. 8, [00043]: FIG. 8 is a flow chart 800 of a method for constructing a set of Zero-Correlation-Zone (ZCZ) concatenated complementary pair (CCP) sequences of length LxN with zero-correlation-zone range greater than one or with zero-correlation-zone range equal to one and the set size greater than two. Following start block 802 in FIG. 8, complementary pair sequences A and B of length N are selected at block 804. At block 806 ZCZ sequences sign sequences pA and pB of length L/2 are selected. At block 808, the sign sequences are combined with the complementary pair sequences A and B to form the member ZCZ CCP sequence having a zero-cross-correlation-zone range greater than one or zero-correlation-zone range equal to one and the set size greater than two. [0040]: in a further embodiment, the sequence generator may be implemented as a sequentially accessed memory that stores one or more complete ZCZ CCP sequences.), and wherein the complete complementary code set is based on a Golay pair (Claim 20: where the complementary pair sequences A and B comprise Golay sequences.) and a Hadamard matrix through a Kronecker product operation ([0121]: the initial set of sign sequences may be obtained by interleaving elements of the initial set of sign sequences pA and pB to form a sign matrix…(equation omitted) and then expanding the sign matrix by calculating a Kronecker product of the Hadamard matrix…(equation omitted) with sub-matrices of the sign matrix to forming an expanded sign matrix as…(equation omitted), where…represents a Kronecker tensor product operation.); and
perform at least one of channel estimation ([0002]: the channel estimation field (CEF) 104 is used for channel estimation and detection of modulation types used in header and data packets when they are transmitted over a physical layer of a network. [0065]: more generally, when a training sequence is used both for channel estimation and signalling,…ZCZ CCP sequences may be used to provide optimal channel estimation and signal detection in a communication system.), target sensing (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), or time synchronization based on the first sequence (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims).
Regarding claim 16, Xin discloses all features of claim 15 as outlined above.
Xin also discloses wherein the first sequence is in a zero correlation zone sequence set ([0023]: the present disclosure relates to the construction and use of a set of Zero-Correlation-Zone (ZCZ) concatenated complementary pair (CCP) sequences …. Such sequences have applications in communication systems as training signals for estimating a channel response and as information signals. [0029]: in one embodiment the ZCZ CCP sequences are selected from a set of sequences having a zero correlation zone greater than one.).
Regarding claim 18, Xin discloses all features of claim 15 as outlined above.
Xin also discloses wherein each sequence in a zero correlation zone sequence set is based on the complete complementary code set through the concatenation operation (Fig. 8, [00043]: FIG. 8 is a flow chart 800 of a method for constructing a set of Zero-Correlation-Zone (ZCZ) concatenated complementary pair (CCP) sequences of length LxN with zero-correlation-zone range greater than one or with zero-correlation-zone range equal to one and the set size greater than two. Following start block 802 in FIG. 8, complementary pair sequences A and B of length N are selected at block 804. At block 806 ZCZ sequences sign sequences pA and pB of length L/2 are selected. At block 808, the sign sequences are combined with the complementary pair sequences A and B to form the member ZCZ CCP sequence having a zero-cross-correlation-zone range greater than one or zero-correlation-zone range equal to one and the set size greater than two.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lim et al. (US 2025/0211377 A1) – Method and Device For Transmitting PPDU In Wireless System – discloses using a PPDU for sensing and channel estimation.
Kim et al. (US 2018/0294910 A1) – Method and Device For Transmitting and Receiving Secondary Synchronization Signal In Wireless Access System Supporting Narrowband Internet of Things – discloses generating pairs of Golay complementary sequences using a Hadamard matrix and a Kronecker delta function.
Lakkis (US 2009/0125792 A1) – Method and Apparatus For Preamble Creation and Communication In A Wireless Communication Network – discloses generation of Golay sequences using a Hadamard matrix and a Kronecker product.
Yang et al. (US 2021/0399822 A1) – Data Transmission Method, Apparatus, and System – discloses generating and transmitting a PPDU including a channel estimation field including sequences arranged in Golay sequences determined using a Kronecker product.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463