DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of claims 1, 12 and 20 include “the bay sensors configured to detect a presence of a food ingredient stored in the bays . . .” This renders the claims indefinite as it is not clear what is required by the language or how the sensors are determining the presence of a food ingredient, as compared to other items. The language has been interpreted to require a sensor which can detect whether a bay is occupied but not specifically whether food is present. In so far as the claim is intended to require the sensor to distinguish between food ingredients and other substances clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-9, 11-13, 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0024081 to Garden.
Regarding claim 1 (and 12) Garden discloses a storage system, comprising: a plurality of mobile racks (106), the racks each comprising a plurality of bays (108); and a frame (306), comprising: a plurality of docks (see figure 18 showing 2), each dock configured to guide one of the mobile racks to a storage position in the dock (see 326/328); a lock (332, 330) configured to selectively prevent movement of the one of the mobile racks in the storage position; and a plurality of bay sensors for each dock, the bay sensors configured to detect a presence of a food ingredient stored in the bays of the one of the mobile racks when the one of the mobile racks is in the storage position (see paras 0144-0145 discussing light curtains and proximity sensor for each dock). See discussion above regarding requirements of the sensors themselves.
Regarding claims 2 and 13 Garden discloses the frame comprises a visual indicator in communication with one of the bay sensors, the visual indicator configured to indicate a presence of the food ingredient (see paras 00146-147).
Regarding claims 6 and 16 Garden discloses at least one of the docks comprises a guide configured to align the mobile rack in a horizontal direction within the dock (320, 322.
Regarding claims 8 and 18 Garden discloses the frame comprises a rack sensor configured to determine a location of one or more of the mobile racks with respect to the frame (para 0144).
Regarding claims 9 Garden discloses each of the mobile racks comprises a machine-readable tag configured to identify the rack within a predetermined proximity distance of the rack (para 0098).
Regarding claim 11 Garden discloses each of the mobile racks are unpowered (see 106 and figure 13).
Regarding claim 20 Garden discloses a method of storing food ingredients, comprising: providing a plurality of mobile racks (106), the racks each comprising a plurality of bays (108); and detecting a location of one of the mobile racks in a storage position of a frame (306 and para 0144-145); wherein the frame comprises: a plurality of docks, each configured to guide the one of the mobile racks to the storage position in the dock; a lock configured to selectively prevent movement of the one of the mobile racks in the storage position; and a plurality of bay sensors for each dock, the bay sensors configured to detect a presence of a food ingredient stored in the bays of the mobile rack when the mobile rack is in the storage position (see discussion above regarding claims 1 and 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garden in view of US 2023/0302984 to Van Den Heuvel.
Regarding the claims Garden discloses a user interface (para 0147) but does not disclose the lock comprises an electromagnet, the user interface is configured to actuate the electromagnet, each of the mobile racks comprises a magnet configured to interface with the electromagnet.
Van Den Heuvel teaches a system including a lock comprises an electromagnet (para 0022) and each of the mobile racks comprises a magnet configured to interface with the electromagnet (para 0022) as an alternative to mechanical locking system (para 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims to have modified Garden to include the lock comprises an electromagnet, the user interface is configured to actuate the electromagnet, each of the mobile racks comprises a magnet configured to interface with the electromagnet, as taught by Van Den Heuvel, because doing so merely entails substituting one known locking arrangement for another to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 7, 10, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garden in view of US 2024/0096824 to Borders.
Regarding the claims Garden discloses all the limitations of the claims except each of the plurality of bay sensors corresponds to a different respective bay of the mobile rack and the machine-readable tag comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag and the rack sensor is configured to detect a presence of a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag carried by the one or more of the mobile racks.
Borders teaches a system including each of the plurality of bay sensors corresponds to a different respective bay of the mobile rack (para 0035, cabinet or centralized sensors for determining tray contents) and the machine-readable tag comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag and the rack sensor is configured to detect a presence of a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag carried by the one or more of the mobile racks (para 0040) in order to monitor tray contents and maintain tray inventory (para 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims to have modified Garden to include each of the plurality of bay sensors corresponds to a different respective bay of the mobile rack and the machine-readable tag comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag and the rack sensor is configured to detect a presence of a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag carried by the one or more of the mobile racks, as taught by Borders, in order to monitor tray contents and maintain tray inventory.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited references show other similar system for tracking and handling racks and trays.
/MARK C HAGEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652