DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 8, 12, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dong (US 2025/0175837 A1)(hereinafter “Dong ‘837”).
Regarding claim 1, Dong ‘837 discloses a method for reporting a sensing result, applicable to a sensing-by-proxy initiator (Abstract: a communication method for sensing by proxy (SBP), includes: receiving, by an access point (AP), a first SBP request frame from an SBP requesting station, wherein the first SBP request frame comprises a requirement for requesting the AP to initiate a first sensing measurement as a proxy AP), the method comprising:
receiving a sensing-by-proxy report frame or a sensing-by-proxy report frame set from a sensing-by-proxy responder, wherein the sensing-by-proxy report frame or the sensing-by-proxy report frame set carries the sensing result (Fig. 7, [0072]: in step 730, the AP may send a message frame to the SBP requesting STA. In an embodiment of this disclosure, the message frame may include a sensing measurement setup ID for the SBP request frame. In other words, according to some embodiments of this disclosure, before sending the message frame, the AP may send a sensing measurement setup request frame to the responder according to the requirement of sensing measurement, where the sensing measurement setup request frame may include the sensing measurement setup ID allocated to the responder. [0075]: according to some embodiments of this disclosure, the message frame in step 730 may be a sensing measurement report frame. For example, when the AP completes the sensing measurement setup with the proper responder and completes the sensing measurement process, it may carry the sensing measurement setup ID while reporting the sensing measurement result to the SBP requesting STA.).
Regarding claim 5, Dong ‘837 discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Dong ‘837 also discloses:
transmitting an mth sensing-by-proxy report request frame to the sensing-by-proxy responder, wherein the mth sensing-by-proxy report request frame carries a terminate indication, wherein the terminate indication instructs the sensing-by-proxy responder to terminate a sensing measurement upon report of frame data corresponding to an mth sensing-by-proxy report frame (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims);
transmitting a first sensing-by-proxy termination frame to the sensing-by-proxy responder, wherein the first sensing-by-proxy termination frame instructs the sensing-by-proxy responder to terminate all or part of or at least one of sensing measurements established by the sensing-by-proxy responder on behalf of the sensing-by-proxy initiator ([0065]: Fig. 6, [0066]: in S66, the SBP AP may send a termination frame to the SBP STA, where the termination frame may indicate termination of the sensing measurement for the first SBP request frame.); or
receiving a second sensing-by-proxy termination frame transmitted by the sensing-by-proxy responder, wherein the second sensing-by-proxy termination frame instructs the sensing-by-proxy initiator to terminate all or part of or at least one of sensing measurements established by the sensing-by-proxy responder on behalf of the sensing-by-proxy initiator (Fig. 5, [0055]: in step 540, the AP may send a termination frame to the SBP requesting STA. For example, the AP may send the termination frame to the SBP requesting STA if the sensing measurement setup is not completed with a proper responder in step 530. In other words, in case the AP has not set up a sensing measurement that meets the requirement of sensing measurement in the SBP request frame, the AP may send the termination frame to the SBP requesting STA, where the termination frame may indicate termination of the SBP process corresponding to the SBP request frame. [0076]: the communication method shown in FIG. 7 may further include: in case that the AP does not set up a sensing measurement meeting the requirement of sensing measurement, the AP may send a termination frame to the SBP requesting STA, where the termination frame indicates termination of the SBP process corresponding to the SBP request frame.).
Regarding claim 8, Lim discloses a sensing-by-proxy initiator (Abstract: a communication method for sensing by proxy (SBP), includes: receiving, by an access point (AP), a first SBP request frame from an SBP requesting station, wherein the first SBP request frame comprises a requirement for requesting the AP to initiate a first sensing measurement as a proxy AP), comprising:
a processor and a memory storing at least one program, which when executed by the processor, causes the sensing-by-proxy initiator to ([0008]: according to an exemplary embodiment of this disclosure, an electronic device is provided. The electronic device includes a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor. The processor is configured to, upon executing the computer program, implement the method as described above.):
receive a sensing-by-proxy report frame or a sensing-by-proxy report frame set from a sensing-by-proxy responder, wherein the sensing-by-proxy report frame or the sensing-by-proxy report frame set carries a sensing result (Fig. 7, [0072]: in step 730, the AP may send a message frame to the SBP requesting STA. In an embodiment of this disclosure, the message frame may include a sensing measurement setup ID for the SBP request frame. In other words, according to some embodiments of this disclosure, before sending the message frame, the AP may send a sensing measurement setup request frame to the responder according to the requirement of sensing measurement, where the sensing measurement setup request frame may include the sensing measurement setup ID allocated to the responder. [0075]: according to some embodiments of this disclosure, the message frame in step 730 may be a sensing measurement report frame. For example, when the AP completes the sensing measurement setup with the proper responder and completes the sensing measurement process, it may carry the sensing measurement setup ID while reporting the sensing measurement result to the SBP requesting STA.).
Regarding claim 12, Dong ‘837 discloses all features of claim 8 as outlined above.
Dong ‘837 also discloses wherein the at least one program, which when executed by the processor, causes the sensing-by-proxy initiator to:
transmit an mth sensing-by-proxy report request frame to the sensing-by-proxy responder, wherein the mth sensing-by-proxy report request frame carries a terminate indication, wherein the terminate indication instructs the sensing-by-proxy responder to terminate a sensing measurement upon report of frame data corresponding to an mth sensing-by-proxy report frame (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims);
transmit a first sensing-by-proxy termination frame to the sensing-by-proxy responder, wherein the first sensing-by-proxy termination frame instructs the sensing-by-proxy responder to terminate all or part of or at least one of sensing measurements established by the sensing-by-proxy responder on behalf of the sensing-by-proxy initiator ([0065]: Fig. 6, [0066]: in S66, the SBP AP may send a termination frame to the SBP STA, where the termination frame may indicate termination of the sensing measurement for the first SBP request frame.); or
receive a second sensing-by-proxy termination frame transmitted by the sensing-by-proxy responder, wherein the second sensing-by-proxy termination frame instructs the sensing-by-proxy initiator to terminate all or part of or at least one of sensing measurements established by the sensing-by-proxy responder on behalf of the sensing-by-proxy initiator (Fig. 5, [0055]: in step 540, the AP may send a termination frame to the SBP requesting STA. For example, the AP may send the termination frame to the SBP requesting STA if the sensing measurement setup is not completed with a proper responder in step 530. In other words, in case the AP has not set up a sensing measurement that meets the requirement of sensing measurement in the SBP request frame, the AP may send the termination frame to the SBP requesting STA, where the termination frame may indicate termination of the SBP process corresponding to the SBP request frame. [0076]: the communication method shown in FIG. 7 may further include: in case that the AP does not set up a sensing measurement meeting the requirement of sensing measurement, the AP may send a termination frame to the SBP requesting STA, where the termination frame indicates termination of the SBP process corresponding to the SBP request frame.).
Regarding claim 15, Dong ‘837 discloses a sensing-by-proxy responder (Fig. 1, [0034]), comprising:
a processor and a memory storing at least one program, which when executed by the processor, causes the sensing-by-proxy responder to ([0008]: according to an exemplary embodiment of this disclosure, an electronic device is provided. The electronic device includes a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor. The processor is configured to, upon executing the computer program, implement the method as described above.):
transmit a sensing-by-proxy report frame or a sensing-by-proxy report frame set to a sensing-by-proxy initiator, wherein the sensing-by-proxy report frame or the sensing-by-proxy report frame set carries a sensing result ((Fig. 7, [0072]: in step 730, the AP may send a message frame to the SBP requesting STA. In an embodiment of this disclosure, the message frame may include a sensing measurement setup ID for the SBP request frame. In other words, according to some embodiments of this disclosure, before sending the message frame, the AP may send a sensing measurement setup request frame to the responder according to the requirement of sensing measurement, where the sensing measurement setup request frame may include the sensing measurement setup ID allocated to the responder. [0075]: according to some embodiments of this disclosure, the message frame in step 730 may be a sensing measurement report frame. For example, when the AP completes the sensing measurement setup with the proper responder and completes the sensing measurement process, it may carry the sensing measurement setup ID while reporting the sensing measurement result to the SBP requesting STA.)).
Regarding claim 18, Dong ‘837 discloses all features of claim 15 as outlined above.
Dong ‘837 also discloses wherein the at least one program, which when executed by the processor, further causes the sensing-by-proxy responder to:
receive an mth sensing-by-proxy report request frame from the sensing-by-proxy initiator, wherein the mth sensing-by-proxy report request frame carries a termination indication, wherein the termination indication instructs the sensing-by-proxy responder to terminate a sensing measurement upon report of frame data corresponding to an mth sensing-by-proxy report frame (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims); or
receive a first sensing-by-proxy termination frame from the sensing-by-proxy initiator, wherein the first sensing-by-proxy termination frame instructs the sensing-by-proxy responder to terminate all or part of or at least one of sensing measurements established by the sensing-by-proxy responder on behalf of the sensing-by-proxy initiator ([0065]: Fig. 6, [0066]: in S66, the SBP AP may send a termination frame to the SBP STA, where the termination frame may indicate termination of the sensing measurement for the first SBP request frame.); or
transmit a second sensing-by-proxy termination frame to the sensing-by-proxy initiator, wherein the second sensing-by-proxy termination frame instructs the sensing-by-proxy initiator to terminate all or part of or at least one of sensing measurements established by the sensing-by-proxy responder on behalf of the sensing-by-proxy initiator (Fig. 5, [0055]: in step 540, the AP may send a termination frame to the SBP requesting STA. For example, the AP may send the termination frame to the SBP requesting STA if the sensing measurement setup is not completed with a proper responder in step 530. In other words, in case the AP has not set up a sensing measurement that meets the requirement of sensing measurement in the SBP request frame, the AP may send the termination frame to the SBP requesting STA, where the termination frame may indicate termination of the SBP process corresponding to the SBP request frame. [0076]: the communication method shown in FIG. 7 may further include: in case that the AP does not set up a sensing measurement meeting the requirement of sensing measurement, the AP may send a termination frame to the SBP requesting STA, where the termination frame indicates termination of the SBP process corresponding to the SBP request frame.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong ‘837 in view of Trainin et al (US 2023/0009140 A1)(hereinafter “Trainin”).
Regarding claim 2, 9, and 16, Dong ‘837 discloses all features of claims 1, 8, and 15 as outlined above.
Dong ‘837 also discloses wherein the sensing-by-proxy report frame carries a piece of frame data [0075]: according to some embodiments of this disclosure, the message frame in step 730 may be a sensing measurement report frame. For example, when the AP completes the sensing measurement setup with the proper responder and completes the sensing measurement process, it may carry the sensing measurement setup ID while reporting the sensing measurement result to the SBP requesting STA.). Dong ‘837 does not disclose wherein the piece of frame data is a medium access control management protocol data unit (MMPDU), and the piece of frame data comprises partial data of one measurement result in the sensing result, or all data of the one measurement result, or data of at least two measurement results. However, Trainin discloses wherein the piece of frame data is a medium access control management protocol data unit (MMPDU), and the piece of frame data comprises partial data of one measurement result in the sensing result, or all data of the one measurement result, or data of at least two measurement results [0111]: one of the STAs 804 may operate as the initiator device and use the AP 802 as a proxy to obtain measurement reports from the other STAs 804. For example, in some aspects, a first STA 804 may operate as the initiator device, the second and third STAs 804 may operate as responder devices, and the AP 802 may operate as a proxy for the first STA 804. [0062]: the payload 204 may include a PSDU including a data field (DATA) 214 that, in turn, may carry higher layer data, for example, in the form of medium access control (MAC) protocol data units (MPDUs) or an aggregated MPDU (A-MPDU). [0070]: the frame control field specifies the frame type, for example, a data frame, a control frame, or a management frame.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to send or receive the sensing-by-proxy report frame or the sensing-by-proxy report frame set carrying the sensing result, as taught by Dong ‘837, in which the frame data is a MMPDU unit, as taught by Trainin. Doing so allows for communication between the SBP initiator and the SBP responder to conform the IEEE 802.11 stand to provide for greater interoperability between communication system elements (See Trainin [0079].).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Dong ‘837 in view of Trainin discloses all features of claims 2 and 9 as outlined above.
Dong ‘837 does not disclose wherein in a case that at least two pieces of the frame data carry data belonging to a same measurement result, the at least two pieces of the frame data belong to a same aggregate medium access control protocol data unit (A-MPDU). However, Trainin discloses wherein in a case that at least two pieces of the frame data carry data belonging to a same measurement result, the at least two pieces of the frame data belong to a same aggregate medium access control protocol data unit (A-MPDU) ([0062]: the payload 204 may include a PSDU including a data field (DATA) 214 that, in turn, may carry higher layer data, for example, in the form of medium access control (MAC) protocol data units (MPDUs) or an aggregated MPDU (A-MPDU). [0069]: FIG. 4 shows an example PPDU 400 usable for communications between an AP 102 and a number of STAs 104. As described herein, each PPDU 400 includes a PHY preamble 402 and a PSDU 404. Each PSDU 404 may carry one or more MAC protocol data units (MPDUs). For example, each PSDU 404 may carry an aggregated MPDU (A-MPDU) 408 that includes an aggregation of multiple A-MPDU subframes 406. Each A-MPDU subframe 406 may include a MAC delimiter 410 and a MAC header 412 prior to the accompanying MPDU 414, which comprises the data portion (“payload” or “frame body”) of the A-MPDU subframe 406.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to send or receive the sensing-by-proxy report frame or the sensing-by-proxy report frame set carrying the sensing result, as taught by Dong ‘837, in which the frame data is an A-MPDU unit, as taught by Trainin. Doing so allows for greater efficiency for communication between the SBP initiator and the SBP responder by providing for transmitting of multiple measurement results within the same frame.
Claims 4, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong ‘837 in view of Dong (US 2025/0031079 A1)(hereinafter “Dong ‘079’).
Regarding claim 4, Dong ‘837 discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Doug ‘837 also discloses transmitting a sensing-by-proxy request frame to the sensing-by-proxy responder (Fig. 7, [0070]: in step 710, the AP may receive an SBP request frame from the SBP requesting STA, where the SBP request frame may include a requirement for requesting the AP to initiate sensing measurement as a proxy AP.). Doug ‘837 does not disclose wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame carries a requested frequency of the sensing result. However, Dong ‘079 discloses wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame carries a requested frequency of the sensing result (Fig. 1, [0049]: in step 101, a sensing session establishment initiation message frame sent by an initiator is received. [0069]: in some embodiments, the sensing session establishment initiation message frame includes first parameter information, and the first parameter information includes at least one of the following: [0070]: …period information…. [0071]: the period information indicates the measurement period information of WLAN sensing measurement. Examiner submits that the period information parameter indicative of a measurement period of the WLAN sensing measurement is equivalent to the claimed requested frequency of the sensing result.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit a sensing-by-proxy request frame to the sensing-by-proxy responder, as taught by Dong ‘837, wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame carries a requested frequency of the sensing result, as taught by Dong ‘079. Doing so allows for more efficient utilization of network resources by providing for scheduling of the sensing measurement at determined intervals.
Regarding claim 11, Dong ‘837 discloses all features of claim 8 as outlined above.
Doug ‘837 also discloses wherein the at least one program, which when executed by the processor, causes the sensing-by-proxy initiator to: transmit a sensing-by-proxy request frame to the sensing-by-proxy responder (Fig. 7, [0070]: in step 710, the AP may receive an SBP request frame from the SBP requesting STA, where the SBP request frame may include a requirement for requesting the AP to initiate sensing measurement as a proxy AP.). Doug ‘837 does not disclose wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame carries a requested frequency of the sensing result. However, Dong ‘079 discloses wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame carries a requested frequency of the sensing result (Fig. 1, [0049]: in step 101, a sensing session establishment initiation message frame sent by an initiator is received. [0069]: in some embodiments, the sensing session establishment initiation message frame includes first parameter information, and the first parameter information includes at least one of the following: [0070]: …period information…. [0071]: the period information indicates the measurement period information of WLAN sensing measurement. Examiner submits that the period information parameter indicative of a measurement period of the WLAN sensing measurement is equivalent to the claimed requested frequency of the sensing result.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit a sensing-by-proxy request frame to the sensing-by-proxy responder, as taught by Dong ‘837, wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame carries a requested frequency of the sensing result, as taught by Dong ‘079. Doing so allows for more efficient utilization of network resources by providing for scheduling of the sensing measurement at determined intervals.
Regarding claim 17, Dong ‘837 discloses all features of claim 15 as outlined above.
Doug ‘837 also discloses wherein the at least one program, which when executed by the processor, further causes the sensing-by-proxy responder to: receive a sensing-by-proxy request frame from the sensing-by-proxy initiator (Fig. 7, [0070]: in step 710, the AP may receive an SBP request frame from the SBP requesting STA, where the SBP request frame may include a requirement for requesting the AP to initiate sensing measurement as a proxy AP.). Doug ‘837 does not disclose wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame carries a requested frequency of the sensing result. However, Dong ‘079 discloses wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame carries a requested frequency of the sensing result (Fig. 1, [0049]: in step 101, a sensing session establishment initiation message frame sent by an initiator is received. [0069]: in some embodiments, the sensing session establishment initiation message frame includes first parameter information, and the first parameter information includes at least one of the following: [0070]: …period information…. [0071]: the period information indicates the measurement period information of WLAN sensing measurement. Examiner submits that the period information parameter indicative of a measurement period of the WLAN sensing measurement is equivalent to the claimed requested frequency of the sensing result.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive a sensing-by-proxy request frame from the sensing-by-proxy initiator, as taught by Dong ‘837, wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame carries a requested frequency of the sensing result, as taught by Dong ‘079. Doing so allows for more efficient utilization of network resources by providing for scheduling of the sensing measurement at determined intervals.
Claims 6-7, 13-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong ‘837 in view of Zhang et al (US 2022/0263758 A1)(hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, Dong ‘837 discloses all features of claims 1, 8, and 15 as outlined above.
Zhang does not disclose wherein the sensing-by-proxy report frame carries a More Cached Report indicating bit, wherein the more cached report indicating bit indicates whether more cached measurement result data needs to be transmitted upon transmission of frame data in an element. However, Zhang discloses wherein the sensing-by-proxy report frame carries a More Cached Report indicating bit, wherein the more cached report indicating bit indicates whether more cached measurement result data needs to be transmitted upon transmission of frame data in an element (Fig. 7, [0246]: Zhang discloses an extension header including a reserved flag field associated with a cache index. The cache index is used to carry an identifier of the cache entry. A length of a cache index is 4 bytes. The cache index may be set when a third flag is set to 1. The cache index may be set to 0 if a third flag is default. [0245]: a length of the third flag may be 1 bit. Accordingly, Zhang discloses a frame that includes a flag of 1 bit that indicates that cached data needs to be transmitted.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive or transmit a sensing-by-proxy report frame from the sensing-by-proxy initiator, as taught by Dong ‘837, wherein the more cached report indicating bit indicates whether more cached measurement result data needs to be transmitted upon transmission of frame data in an element, as taught by Zhang. Doing so provides for indicating to the sensing-by-proxy initiator that additional cached measurements are available to be received providing for improved network reliability (see Zhang [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, 14, and 20, Dong ‘837 discloses all features of claims 1, 8, and 15 as outlined above.
Dong ‘837 does not disclose wherein the sensing-by-proxy report frame carries a report index, wherein the report index indicates a corresponding index of frame data in an element in a cache of the sensing-by-proxy responder. However, Zhang discloses wherein the sensing-by-proxy report frame carries a report index, wherein the report index indicates a corresponding index of frame data in an element in a cache of the sensing-by-proxy responder (Fig. 7, [0246]: Zhang discloses an extension header including a reserved flag field associated with a cache index (“a report index”). The cache index is used to carry an identifier of the cache entry. Accordingly, Zhang discloses a frame that includes a cache index that indicates that a corresponding index of cached data. [0485] The identifier of the first cache entry is used to uniquely identify the first cache entry in a cache of the first proxy node. The identifier of the first cache entry may include a cache index of the first cache entry, and the cache index is used to identify the first cache entry on an interface board of the first proxy node.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive or transmit a sensing-by-proxy report frame from the sensing-by-proxy initiator, as taught by Dong ‘837, wherein the sensing-by-proxy report frame carries a report index, wherein the report index indicates a corresponding index of frame data in an element in a cache of the sensing-by-proxy responder, as taught by Zhang. Doing so provides for identifying the cached data to sensing-by-proxy initiator providing for improved network stability, reliability, and robustness (see Zhang [0042]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lim et al. (US 20240049135 A1) – Improved Sensing Procedure – discloses a sensing frame format for communication between an initiator and a responder for performing WLAN sensing.
Du et al. (US 20250024386 A1) – Information Transmission Method and Apparatus – discloses a sensing by proxy procedure using a sensing measurement report frame.
Hu et al. (US 20240357675 A1) – Measurement Setup Identifier Determining Method and Related Apparatus – discloses that a requesting station requests an AP as a proxy of the requesting station to perform sensing measurement.
Suh et al. (US 20230300657 A1) – Sensing Measurement Report Frame Format – discloses transmitting, by an access point or station, a request for a measurement report using a sensing measurement report frame format that includes a category field, a public action field, and at least one measurement set-up identifier field and at least one sensing measurement report element.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463