DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7-9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davoodi et al. (US 2015/0345726 A1) and Page (US 2011/0057448 A1).
For claim 1, Davoodi discloses a production network, comprising: a plurality of floating wave motion to electrical energy converters deployable at a surface of an ocean (Fig. 2, 3, abstract),
a navigation system in communication with, and configured to establish positions for, the plurality of floating wave motion to electrical energy converters across the surface of the ocean (Para. 0009, 0010, 0047, 0048, 0055, 0150, where the navigation system receives location from the communication system); and a propulsion system cooperating with said navigation system to propel the plurality of floating wave motion to electrical energy converters to positions established by the navigation system (Para. 0017, 0018, 0080, 0083, 0144, where the navigation system operate the propulsion system to commanded positions).
Davoodi does not specifically disclose each said floating wave motion to electrical energy converter having a chemical synthesizing apparatus that is powered by electrical energy converted from wave motion, and configured to produce a chemical through a chemical reaction; and a dedicated vessel for collecting a portion of the chemical and delivering to a remote location. Page in the same field of the art discloses each said floating wave motion to electrical energy converter having a chemical synthesizing apparatus that is powered by electrical energy converted from wave motion, and configured to produce a chemical through a chemical reaction; and a dedicated vessel for collecting a portion of the chemical and delivering to a remote location (Para. 0029, 0076, 0114, 0115, where the energy converters synthesizing at least hydrogen through electrolysis process and a transport vessel can collect and deliver the chemical to land). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the invention of Davoodi to have each said floating wave motion to electrical energy converter having a chemical synthesizing apparatus that is powered by electrical energy converted from wave motion, and configured to produce a chemical through a chemical reaction; and a dedicated vessel for collecting a portion of the chemical and delivering to a remote location, as taught by Page to harvest additional types of energy and collect the energy for use at different locations.
For claim 4, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, wherein the navigation system is located on land (Para. 0009, where the operations can be controlled by remote centralized system on land).
For claim 5, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, wherein the propulsion system comprises a water jet (Para. 0017, propulsion may be water jet).
For claim 7, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, wherein the propulsion system comprises a propeller (Para. 0017, propulsion may be propellers).
For claim 8, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1 wherein the propulsion system comprises a rigid sail (Para. 0020, propulsion may be sails).
For claim 9, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1 wherein the chemical is hydrogen (Para. 0029, 0076, 0114, 0115, where the energy converters synthesizing at least hydrogen through electrolysis process).
For claim 11, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, wherein the dedicated vessel is adapted to collect, store, transport, and offload hydrogen gas (Page - para. 0029, 0076, 0114, 0115, where the energy converters synthesizing at least hydrogen through electrolysis process and a transport vessel can collect and deliver the chemical to land).
For claim 12, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, wherein the dedicated vessel is adapted to collect, store, transport, and offload hydrogen gas (Page - para. 0029, 0076, 0114, 0115, where the energy converters synthesizing at least hydrogen through electrolysis process and a transport vessel can collect and deliver the chemical to land), but does not explicitly disclose the vessel is adapted to collect, store, transport and offload liquified ammonia. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare the vessel taught by Page to be ready for collect, store, transport and offload any known types of elements, in gas or liquid form and achieve the same and expected result.
For claim 13, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, wherein the vessel is autonomous (Para. 0009, 0019, 0037, 0055, 0057, 0073).
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davoodi et al. (US 2015/0345726 A1) and Page (US 2011/0057448 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Carroll et al. (6,768,216).
For claim 2, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, but does not specifically disclose one of the plurality of floating wave motion to electrical energy converters comprises an oscillating water column. Carroll in the same field of the art discloses one of the plurality of floating wave motion to electrical energy converters comprises an oscillating water column (Fig. 2-4, abstract, col. 1, ln 21-35, col. 2, ln 9-26, col. 7, ln 8-21). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the invention of Davoodi to configure one of the plurality of floating wave motion to electrical energy converters comprises an oscillating water column, as taught by Carroll to employ the known method for harvesting wave energy from the ocean.
For claim 3, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, wherein one of the plurality of floating wave motion to electrical energy converters comprises a water-filled tube having an inner wall defining a constriction that is adapted to accelerate water moving within the water-filled tube (Carroll - Fig. 2-4, abstract, col. 1, ln 21-35, col. 2, ln 9-26, col. 7, ln 8-21).
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davoodi et al. (US 2015/0345726 A1) and Page (US 2011/0057448 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McIntee (US 2013/0168489 A1).
For claim 6, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the propulsion system comprises a ducted fan. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to employ any known type of propulsion system for motive power for the water vehicles. Even so, McIntee discloses a multifunction vehicle that includes a ducted fan for propulsion (Fig. 1, para. 0009). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the invention of Davoodi to employ ducted fan as propulsion system, as taught by McIntee to select desire types of propulsion system for the vehicles.
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davoodi et al. (US 2015/0345726 A1) and Page (US 2011/0057448 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kambara et al. (US 2018/0009661A1).
For claim 10, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the chemical is ammonia. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art any known types of chemicals may be produced based on the teachings of Page using any well-known chemical production methods that would achieve predicted results. Kambara discloses the well-known method of ammonia production using chemical reactions using hydrogen and nitrogen (At least in abstract, para. 0002-0005, 0012). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the invention of Davoodi and produce ammonia as a product, as taught by Kambara for appropriate and energy usage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(US 2012/0267949 A1) Sharon et al. discloses a wave energy harvesting transport vessel system that harvest and transport energy to land.
(US 2011/0281478 A1) Blumenthal discloses a ship propulsion system that harvest energy and produce hydrogen.
(US 2012/0325290 A1) Gizara discloses an ocean power plant that produces energy and hydrogen.
/SZE-HON KONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657