DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. It is noted, however, that pages 6-8 of the Applicant’s Response argues unclaimed language directed to the prior arts.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The identifier for claim 2 indicates the claim canceled and it is treated as such.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitations “a tube configured to reciprocate in response to ocean waves and entrain water therein in response to said reciprocation” in lines 6-7 of claim 1 is not found or described in the originally filed specification. Nowhere in the originally filed specification discloses or describe the tube configured to “reciprocate in response to ocean waves and entrain water therein in response to said reciprocation”. The Applicant is requested to clearly and specifically points out where in the originally filed specification discloses and describes the specific limitations. On paragraph 0462 of the PGPub, which the Examiner believes closest to the feature Applicant attempt to claim, merely describe waves “cause the device to move up and down, water within the tube moves up and down as well, causing water to move in and out of the tube…” and not specific reciprocate and entrain water in response to said reciprocation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davoodi et al. (US 2015/0345726 A1), Page (US 2011/0057448 A1) and Gilboa (US 2011/0030365 A1).
For claim 1, Davoodi discloses a production network, comprising: a plurality of floating wave motion to electrical energy converters deployable at a surface of an ocean (Fig. 2, 3, abstract),
a navigation system in communication with, and configured to establish positions for, the plurality of floating wave motion to electrical energy converters across the surface of the ocean (Para. 0009, 0010, 0047, 0048, 0055, 0150, where the navigation system receives location from the communication system); and a propulsion system cooperating with said navigation system to propel the plurality of floating wave motion to electrical energy converters to positions established by the navigation system (Para. 0017, 0018, 0080, 0083, 0144, where the navigation system operate the propulsion system to commanded positions).
Davoodi does not specifically disclose each said floating wave motion to electrical energy converter having a chemical synthesizing apparatus that is powered by electrical energy converted from wave motion, and configured to produce a chemical through a chemical reaction; and a dedicated vessel for collecting a portion of the chemical and delivering to a remote location. Page in the same field of the art discloses each said floating wave motion to electrical energy converter having a chemical synthesizing apparatus that is powered by electrical energy converted from wave motion, and configured to produce a chemical through a chemical reaction; and a dedicated vessel for collecting a portion of the chemical and delivering to a remote location (Para. 0029, 0076, 0114, 0115, where the energy converters synthesizing at least hydrogen through electrolysis process and a transport vessel can collect and deliver the chemical to land). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the invention of Davoodi to have each said floating wave motion to electrical energy converter having a chemical synthesizing apparatus that is powered by electrical energy converted from wave motion, and configured to produce a chemical through a chemical reaction; and a dedicated vessel for collecting a portion of the chemical and delivering to a remote location, as taught by Page to harvest additional types of energy and collect the energy for use at different locations.
Davoodi further does not specifically disclose said plurality of floating wave motion to electrical energy converters including a tube configured to reciprocate in response to ocean waves and entrain water therein in response to said reciprocation. Gilboa in the same field of the art discloses floating wave motion to electrical energy converters including a tube configured to reciprocate in response to ocean waves and entrain water therein in response to said reciprocation (Para. 0004, 0006, where tube that is configured as acceleration tube moving with the ocean waves). floating wave motion to electrical energy converters including a tube configured to reciprocate in response to ocean waves and entrain water therein in response to said reciprocation, as taught by Gilboa to include known tube structures that reacts to the ocean wave relate to energy generations.
For claim 3, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, wherein the tube has an inner wall defining a constriction that is adapted to accelerate water moving within the tube (Gilboa - Para. 0004, 0006, where tube that is configured as the known acceleration tube moving with the ocean waves).
For claim 4, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, wherein the navigation system is located on land (Para. 0009, where the operations can be controlled by remote centralized system on land).
For claim 5, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, wherein the propulsion system comprises a water jet (Para. 0017, propulsion may be water jet).
For claim 7, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, wherein the propulsion system comprises a propeller (Para. 0017, propulsion may be propellers).
For claim 8, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1 wherein the propulsion system comprises a rigid sail (Para. 0020, propulsion may be sails).
For claim 9, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1 wherein the chemical is hydrogen (Para. 0029, 0076, 0114, 0115, where the energy converters synthesizing at least hydrogen through electrolysis process).
For claim 11, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, wherein the dedicated vessel is adapted to collect, store, transport, and offload hydrogen gas (Page - para. 0029, 0076, 0114, 0115, where the energy converters synthesizing at least hydrogen through electrolysis process and a transport vessel can collect and deliver the chemical to land).
For claim 12, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, wherein the dedicated vessel is adapted to collect, store, transport, and offload hydrogen gas (Page - para. 0029, 0076, 0114, 0115, where the energy converters synthesizing at least hydrogen through electrolysis process and a transport vessel can collect and deliver the chemical to land), but does not explicitly disclose the vessel is adapted to collect, store, transport and offload liquified ammonia. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare the vessel taught by Page to be ready for collect, store, transport and offload any known types of elements, in gas or liquid form and achieve the same and expected result.
For claim 13, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, wherein the vessel is autonomous (Para. 0009, 0019, 0037, 0055, 0057, 0073).
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davoodi et al. (US 2015/0345726 A1), Page (US 2011/0057448 A1) and Gilboa (US 2011/0030365 A1)as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McIntee (US 2013/0168489 A1).
For claim 6, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the propulsion system comprises a ducted fan. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to employ any known type of propulsion system for motive power for the water vehicles. Even so, McIntee discloses a multifunction vehicle that includes a ducted fan for propulsion (Fig. 1, para. 0009). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the invention of Davoodi to employ ducted fan as propulsion system, as taught by McIntee to select desire types of propulsion system for the vehicles.
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davoodi et al. (US 2015/0345726 A1), Page (US 2011/0057448 A1) and Gilboa (US 2011/0030365 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kambara et al. (US 2018/0009661A1).
For claim 10, Davoodi, as modified, discloses the chemical production network of Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the chemical is ammonia. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art any known types of chemicals may be produced based on the teachings of Page using any well-known chemical production methods that would achieve predicted results. Kambara discloses the well-known method of ammonia production using chemical reactions using hydrogen and nitrogen (At least in abstract, para. 0002-0005, 0012). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the invention of Davoodi and produce ammonia as a product, as taught by Kambara for appropriate and energy usage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(US 2018/0023541 A1) Santos discloses a system for collecting energy from wave water moving water oscillating water tubes.
(Offshore Facilities to Produce Hydrogen, 2017, MDPI, Energies, pp. 1-15) Blanco-Fernandez et al. discloses wave interacting with off-shore structures and various configures of water going through and moving structures relate to producing Hydrogen.
(US 2012/0267949 A1) Sharon et al. discloses a wave energy harvesting transport vessel system that harvest and transport energy to land.
(US 2011/0281478 A1) Blumenthal discloses a ship propulsion system that harvest energy and produce hydrogen.
(US 2012/0325290 A1) Gizara discloses an ocean power plant that produces energy and hydrogen.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SZE-HON KONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657