DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s filing on 04/10/2026. Claims 1 - 6 were previously pending, of which claims 1 - 6 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled, and no new claims have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 1 - 6 are currently pending and are being examined below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 says “…movement of the autonomous mobile body determine if the obstacle…”. Should include the word “to” between the words “body” and “determine” for the sentence to sound more complete.
Claim 1 says “…determining that the obstacles is person,…”. Should say “…determining that the obstacle is a person,”.
Claim 1 says “…the second unit performs oscillating motion…”. Should say “…the second unit performs an oscillating motion…”.
Claim 1 says “…recognition operation is not perform if the…”. Should say “…recognition operation is not performed if the…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
9. With respect to the Applicant’s remarks, see pages 5 - 9, filed on 04/10/2026; Applicant’s “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
10. With respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the amendment renders this interpretation moot, the amended claims are no longer interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
11. With respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, applicant’s “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered and are persuasive. The prior art of record does not appear to disclose the limitation “wherein the recognition operation is not perform if the obstacle is not determined to be a person.” as amended in claim 1. However, due to the nature of the applicant’s amendments, the scope of the applicant’s invention has changed and thus requires new analysis and new application of prior art and further search found that Lee did disclose this limitation as mapped in the final office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 4, & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20130325244A1 (hereinafter, “Wang”), and further in view of US20200206916A1 (hereinafter, “Jung”), and further in view of US20180239355A1 (hereinafter “Lee”).
14. Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an autonomous mobile body comprising (Fig. 1): Figure 1 shows an autonomous mobile body of a moving robot.
a first unit including a drive wheel and a chassis and configured to move straight and turn and move left and right ([0156] – [0159] Fig. 2); A base (120) is recited which constitutes as a chassis. This base (120) includes drive wheels (210a, 210b, 210c) [0156] – [0157]. Each wheel has a respective drive motor (220a, 220b, 220c) that can independently drive each wheel (210a, 210b, 210c) in a forward or backwards direction allowing the robot (100) itself to move straight, turn, move left, and move right [0159]. The drive system (200) allows for omni-directional [0158].
15. Wang teaches a second unit disposed at an upper portion of the first unit and including…and an oscillating mechanism for performing oscillating motion of moving around a vertical axis with reference to the first unit ([0170] Fig. 1); Figure 1 shows an upper portion from the base (120). Portions such as the leg (130), the torso (140), the neck (150), and the head (160) all qualify as upper portions. The neck (150) includes a rotator (152) which allows for a continuous rotation (oscillating motion) of 360 degrees.
Wang does not explicitly teach …a top plate…
However, Jung teaches …a top plate… ([0026], [0028] – [0032] Fig. 3) Jung teaches a top plate (230). Based on figure 1, this top plate (400) can be used to place items on [0041].
Wang and Jung are analogous art because Wang teaches on a robot that has both a lower and upper portion that can rotate independently from each other while Jung teaches on a robot that has a top plate where items can be placed on. One of ordinary skill in the art would have the motivation to combine both Wang and Jung because combining Jung’s top plate provides a predictable mechanism for supporting items on a mobile robot while Wang’s independently rotatable upper portion provides improved maneuverability and orientation control. Mounting Jung’s item-supporting top plate on Wang’s rotating upper portion would predictably enhance the robot’s payload handling and flexibility without altering the fundamental operation of either system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Jung, to modify the teachings of Wang to include the teachings of Jung to improve transport capabilities and navigation efficiency.
16. Wang teaches an obstacle detection sensor configured to detect a surrounding obstacle; and [0176] – [0177] The robot (100) may have a sensor system (400) that includes several different types of sensors to monitor the environment of the robot (100). This sensor system (400) may include obstacle detection obstacle avoidance (ODOA) sensors.
a controller configured to [0155], when the obstacle detection sensor detects an obstacle in a traveling direction of the autonomous mobile body during movement of the autonomous mobile body determine if the obstacle is a person, and in response to determining that the obstacles is person, upon controlling the first unit to change the traveling direction of the autonomous mobile body to avoid the obstacle, control the second unit to perform a recognition operation in which the second unit performs oscillating motion in the same direction as the direction in which the traveling direction is to be changed before changing the traveling direction [0095] – [0096], [0191], [0342] – [0343], The robot (100) has a controller (500) that coordinates operation and movement of the robot (100) [0155]. This robot (100) also has a sensor system (400) which is used to detect objects and obstacles that may be in the way of the robot (100). The ODOA sensors are used to avoid and detect objects or obstacles in the way of the robot (100) [0187], [0190], [0198]. The robot (100) can also rotate the upper portion (second unit) towards a second heading (direction). Once the robot has rotated the upper portion to a panning limit, the robot (100) will then begin rotating the lower portion of the robot towards the second heading after the upper portion has faced the second heading such that now both the upper and lower portions are facing the same heading to travel in [0095] – [0096], [0342] – [0343]. Therefore, the robot (100) has a controller (500) which will operate the movement based on a detection of the sensor system (400). Once the robot (100) has detected an object or obstacle in the travel path of the robot (100), the robot (100) will move the upper portion to a second heading first, followed by the lower portion moving towards the second heading right after, and the robot (100) will continue travel in that direction of that heading. The robot (100) can use a three-dimensional image sensor (450) which can be used for person recognition. Therefore, this robot (100) can also determine if an obstacle is a person [0191].
17. Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the recognition operation is not performed if the obstacle is not determined to be a person.
However, Lee in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the recognition operation is not performed if the obstacle is not determined to be a person [0067] – [0068], [0084]. Lee teaches that the robot selectively performs a particular operation named a personal operation or person action when the detected object is recognized as a person. Specifically, Lee describes that the robot detects an object, determines whether the object is a person, and thereafter performs a personal operation responsive to the determination that the object is a person. Thus, Lee teaches that the personal operation is conditionally dependent upon a successful determination of a person. Conversely, when the detected obstacle/object is not determined to be a person, the robot will not perform the corresponding personal operation.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application with a reasonable expectation of success, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Wang with the teachings of Lee, to only perform a specific operation related to the detection of a person to avoid unnecessary motions or certain behaviors when the obstacle detected is an inanimate object.
18. Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the autonomous mobile body according to claim 1, wherein the controller causes the second unit to perform a different recognition operation according to the obstacle when causing the second unit to perform a predetermined recognition operation [0180], [0182] – [0185], [0187]. The sensor system (400) may contain a sonar proximity sensor (410) that provides the ability to see objects in the horizontal plane [0180]. The sensor system (400) may also include cliff proximity sensors (420) to detect a cliff [0182] – [0183]. The sensor system (400) may also include contact sensors (430) so that the robot (100) can physically detect a bump of an obstacle [0185]. The sensor system (400) may also include a laser scanner (440) to scan an area in front of the robot (100) [0187]. All these sensors located on the upper portion of the robot (100) perform distinct recognition routines for different types of obstacles. The controller uses these different recognition results to issue appropriate drive commands and orientation adjustments, demonstrating that the robot’s sensor system (400) inherently performs different recognition operations based on the type of detected object. Therefore, the robot’s (100) upper portion which houses the sensors and performs these different kinds of logic, can perform varied recognition operations according to the object or obstacle detected.
19. Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the autonomous mobile body according to claim 1, wherein
when causing the second unit to perform a predetermined recognition operation, the controller causes the second unit to perform a different recognition operation according to a distance between the autonomous mobile body and the obstacle or a relative speed between the autonomous mobile body and the obstacle [0176] – [0177], [0195]. Wang does disclose imaging and sensing system which is mounted on the upper portion of the robot (100). The three-dimensional image sensors (450a, 450b) being shown in figure 1. These three-dimensional image sensors capture detailed environmental information that varies with object proximity and scene context. The imaging system and mapping module can be used to generate a three-dimensional representation of objects and features in the robot’s path and the controller (500) uses those representations to adjust navigation and obstacle avoidance. Due to the upper portion’s sensors providing depth and visual data about nearby and distance objects, the controller (500) will selectively apply different imaging parameters when processing sensor data for navigation and avoidance. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the upper portion inherently engages in different recognition operations based on the detected context of the objects as part of its perception processing. Therefore, the upper portion’s recognition behavior varies according to the nature and proximity of detected objects and obstacles.
20. Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the autonomous mobile body according to claim 1, wherein when controlling the first unit to change the traveling direction of the autonomous mobile body to avoid the obstacle, upon controlling the second unit to perform the oscillating motion before changing the traveling direction, the controller controls an angle of the oscillating motion of the second unit such that the second unit faces a direction of the destination until the autonomous mobile body arrives at the destination [0095] – [0096], [0342] – [0343]. The robot (100) has a controller (500) that coordinates operation and movement of the robot (100) [0155]. This robot (100) also has a sensor system (400) which is used to detect objects and obstacles that may be in the way of the robot (100). The ODOA sensors are used to avoid and detect objects or obstacles in the way of the robot (100) [0187], [0190], [0198]. The robot (100) can also rotate the upper portion (second unit) towards a second heading (direction). Once the robot has rotated the upper portion to a panning limit, the robot (100) will then begin rotating the lower portion of the robot towards the second heading after the upper portion has faced the second heading such that now both the upper and lower portions are facing the same heading to travel in [0095] – [0096], [0342] – [0343]. Therefore, the robot (100) has a controller (500) which will operate the movement based on a detection of the sensor system (400). Once the robot (100) has detected an object or obstacle in the travel path of the robot (100), the robot (100) will move the upper portion to a second heading first, followed by the lower portion moving towards the second heading right after, and the robot (100) will continue travel in that direction of that heading which means that the upper portion will continue to face in the heading direction until arrival at its destination.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20130325244A1 (hereinafter, “Wang”), and further in view of US20200206916A1 (hereinafter, “Jung”), and further in view of US20180239355A1 (hereinafter “Lee”), and further in view of US20210331315A1 (hereinafter, “Park”), and further in view of NPL – Videre: Journal of Computer Vision Research (hereinafter, “Camus”).
22. Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the autonomous mobile body according to claim 1, wherein
…causes the second unit to perform oscillating motion in the same direction as a direction in which the traveling direction is changed before changing the traveling direction,… This robot (100) also has a sensor system (400) which is used to detect objects and obstacles that may be in the way of the robot (100). The ODOA sensors are used to avoid and detect objects or obstacles in the way of the robot (100) [0187], [0190], [0198]. The robot (100) can also rotate the upper portion towards a second heading (direction). Once the robot has rotated the upper portion to a panning limit, the robot (100) will then begin rotating the lower portion of the robot towards the second heading after the upper portion has faced the second heading such that now both the upper and lower portions are facing the same heading to travel in [0095] – [0096], [0342] – [0343]. Therefore, the robot (100) has a controller (500) which will operate the movement based on a detection of the sensor system (400). Once the the robot (100) has detected an object or obstacle in the travel path of the robot (100), the robot (100) will move the upper portion to a second heading first, followed by the lower portion moving towards the second heading right after, and the robot (100) will continue travel in that direction of that heading.
Wang as modified by Jung does not explicitly teach when the obstacle detection sensor detects an obstacle in the traveling direction of the autonomous mobile body during the movement of the autonomous mobile body, the controller calculates a travel route for avoiding the obstacle based on a predicted traveling direction of the obstacle and a distance to the obstacle,…and controls an angle of the oscillating motion of the second unit such that the angle is larger than a maximum angle change amount at which the traveling direction of the first unit changes most greatly in the travel route.
However, Park teaches when the obstacle detection sensor detects an obstacle in the traveling direction of the autonomous mobile body during the movement of the autonomous mobile body, the controller calculates a travel route for avoiding the obstacle based on a predicted traveling direction of the obstacle and a distance to the obstacle,… [0095], [0107] – [0111] LiDAR may be used to sense objects or obstacles in the travel direction of the robot (1) and the distance of that object or obstacle in relation to the robot (1). Based on the detected objects and the distance in relation to the robot (1), the controller (740) will generate a navigation route via waypoints based on position information of the waypoints and the sensed objects. The generation of this navigation route is the same as calculating a travel route for avoiding obstacles or objects.
Wang as modified by Jung and Park does not explicitly teach …and controls an angle of the oscillating motion of the second unit such that the angle is larger than a maximum angle change amount at which the traveling direction of the first unit changes most greatly in the travel route.
However, Camus teaches …and controls an angle of the oscillating motion of the second unit such that the angle is larger than a maximum angle change amount at which the traveling direction of the first unit changes most greatly in the travel route [Pg. 46 - 7 Gaze Control]. Camus teaches gaze control where a camera can be rotated passed its limits (maximum angle). Both require a controller of some sort to control an angular change whether that boundary is implemented as a software limit or a physical stop. The operative concept here is controlling an angular change that exceeds a defined maximum constraint. The difference is only linguistic, not functional.
Wang, Park, and Camus are art used because Wang teaches having the upper portion of the robot rotate to the direction it is heading first before having the lower portion follow suit while Park teaches on LiDAR that can detect objects and obstacles and generate a navigation route avoiding these detected objects and obstacles while Camus teaches having a rotation implementation that can rotate the object or portion of a robot passed a maximum limit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Park and Camus to modify the teachings of the combination of Wang as modified by Jung to include the teachings of Park and Camus because doing so will increase the range of direction the robot can face allowing for more flexible movement.
23. Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20130325244A1 (hereinafter, “Wang”), and further in view of US20200206916A1 (hereinafter, “Jung”), and further in view of US20180239355A1 (hereinafter “Lee”), and further in view of US20210346557A1 (hereinafter, “Brooks”).
24. Regarding claim 5, Wang as modified by Jung does not explicitly teach the autonomous mobile body according to claim 1, wherein
when the obstacle detection sensor detects an obstacle in the traveling direction of the autonomous mobile body during the movement of the autonomous mobile body, the controller determines whether the obstacle recognizes presence of the autonomous mobile body, and if the controller determines that the obstacle recognizes the presence of the autonomous mobile body, the controller causes the second unit to perform a predetermined recognition operation.
However, Brooks teaches the autonomous mobile body according to claim 1, wherein
when the obstacle detection unit detects an obstacle in the traveling direction of the autonomous mobile body during the movement of the autonomous mobile body, the control unit determines whether the obstacle recognizes presence of the autonomous mobile body, and if the control unit determines that the obstacle recognizes the presence of the autonomous mobile body, the control unit causes the second unit to perform a predetermined recognition operation ([0027], [0054]). Brooks robot can detect the presence of a human and communicatively interact with the human [0054]. When a human (object) comes into the traveling direction of the robot, the robot will detect the human and determine if the human recognizes the presence of the robot allowing for the robot to predict where the human will be based on interaction cues [0027]. The robot will alert the human in various ways to signal to the human that the robot is aware of the human’s presence and vice versa by also alerting the human of the robot’s presence and will adjust its action (predetermined recognition operation) accordingly based on the human’s interaction with the robot. The robot may stop cleaning if the human needs to pass by, the robot may return to cleaning if the human moves away, etc. Therefore, Brooks infers human acknowledgement of the robot and adjusts its behavior based on the human’s interaction.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application with a reasonable expectation of success, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Wang as modified by Jung with the teachings of Brooks, to enhance the adjustment of the robot with human interaction to adapt motion to further minimize risk and improve safety.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID MESQUITI OVALLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669