DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1, the Applicant argues [Remarks: pg. 12, 2nd – last para.], that “As can be seen from Han, the first openings 123 are provided with the first conductive pattern 130 and the second openings 143 are provided with the second conductive pattern 150, the first conductive pattern 130 and the second conductive pattern 150 are used to remove or reduce (e.g., considerably reduce) static electricity flowing into the touch screen panel 100 from outside. In other words, the regions of the first openings in Han are configured to remove or reduce static electricity flowing into the touch screen panel 100 from the outside. In contrast, the capacitance adjustment region in amended claim 1 is configured to reduce at least one of capacitance-to-ground of the touch electrode or coupling capacitance between two adjacent touch electrodes. That is, the regions of the first openings in Han are not to reduce at least one of capacitance-to-ground of the touch electrode or coupling capacitance between two adjacent touch electrodes, the regions of the first/second opening 123/143 in Han are not the capacitance adjustment region of the touch electrodes of the present application, and the first/second conductive patterns 130/150 in the first/second opening 123/143 of Han are not the floating electrode in the capacitance adjustment region of the present application, Han does not disclose the related features of the capacitance adjustment region. Further, Han is silent regarding the capacitance adjustment region, hence it also fails to disclose that the capacitance adjustment region includes at least two capacitance adjustment sub-regions, and each touch sensing sub-region of the at least two touch sensing sub-regions is correspondingly provided with at least one of the at least two capacitance adjustment sub-regions.
Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that Han fails to disclose the Features-A of claim 1 of the present application.”
The Office respectfully disagrees
Refer to paragraphs 77-78 of Han, the first openings 123 with corresponding first conductive patterns 130 are utilized to reduce or remove the static electricity flowing through the first sensing line 120 of the touch screen panel 100. By reducing or removing the static electricity, damage to the narrowest locations corresponding to the first connection patterns 122 of first sensing line 120 would be prevented [see para. 78]. Thus, there would be no or significantly reduced flow of static electricity [charge] to ground, since static electricity when flowing, flows from a high potential to a low potential. Further, by reducing or removing the static electricity, there would be less unintentional coupling between adjacent touch electrodes.
Thus, Han teaches wherein the capacitance adjustment region is configured to reduce at least one of capacitance-to-ground of the touch electrode or coupling capacitance between two adjacent touch electrodes.
Thus, Han teaches amended independent claim 1.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1, the Applicant argues [Remarks: pg. 13, 2nd para.], that “As can be seen from FIGS. 1-2 of Han, the first sensing cells 121 of the first sensing line 120 are arranged as follows: rows 1 to 2 are in the same region, rows 3 to 4 are in the same region, rows 5 to 6 are in the same region, and rows 7 to 8 are in the same region. This means that Han discloses the division of the first sensing cells 121 into four distinct regions, but it neither discloses nor teaches the six touch sensing sub-regions as recited in claim 1 of the present application. Therefore, Han fails to disclose or teach the feature recited in Features-B of amended claim 1: the second electrode comprises six touch sensing sub-regions, which are a third touch sensing sub-region, a fourth touch sensing sub-region, a fifth touch sensing sub-region, a sixth touch sensing sub-region, a seventh touch sensing sub-region, and an eighth touch sensing sub- region.”
The Office respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the electrode structure the six touch sensing sub-regions of figure 13 of the instant application) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
It appears the Applicant is relying only figure 2 of Han, which is utilized to show in greater detail the capacitive adjustment regions.
Refer to figure 1 of Han, which shows that a first sensing line 120 comprises at least six sub regions. There are at least six rows each row corresponding to claimed third to eight sub-regions, respectively, each utilizing a plurality of first openings 123 with corresponding first conductive patterns [corresponding to claimed capacitive adjustment regions].
Thus, Han teaches amended independent claim 1.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1, the Applicant argues [Remarks: pg. 13, last para. – pg. 14, 1st para.] that, “In addition, Han discloses that each first sensing cell 121 includes a plurality of first openings 123 and first conductive patterns 130 located within these openings for eliminating or reducing static electricity; and each second sensing cell 141 includes a plurality of second openings 143 adjacent to the second connection patterns 122, as well as second conductive patterns 150 located within these openings for eliminating or reducing static electricity. That is, the purpose of the first/second openings 123/143 in Han is to eliminate or reduce static electricity flowing into the touch screen panel 100 from the outside, rather than being configured to reduce at least one of capacitance-to-ground of the touch electrode or coupling capacitance between two adjacent touch electrodes as in the present application. Therefore, the structural design considerations (e.g., size, location, electrical isolation characteristics) for Han's static electricity dissipation openings are fundamentally different from those required for a region specifically configured to fine-tune capacitance. Han does not disclose or teach the features related to the capacitance adjustment region of the present application. That is, Han also fails to disclose or teach the feature recited in Features-B of amended claim 1: each of the first touch sensing sub-region, the second touch sensing sub-region, the third touch sensing sub-region, the fourth touch sensing sub-region, the fifth touch sensing sub-region, the sixth touch sensing sub-region, the seventh touch sensing sub- region, and the eighth touch sensing sub-region is correspondingly provided with one of the at least two capacitance adjustment sub-regions, each of the at least two capacitance adjustment sub- regions includes an invalid electrode, wherein the invalid electrode is the floating electrode, and the invalid electrode is disposed in a same layer as the first electrode or the second electrode and is floated. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that Han fails to disclose the Features-B of claim 1 of the present application.”
The Office respectfully disagrees
Refer to paragraph 82 of Han, which teaches that the conductive patterns are adjusted relative to openings to achieve predetermined capacitances.
Thus, Han teaches the amended independent claim 1 as argued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-10, 12, 14-16, & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US 20130328830).
As to claim 1, Han discloses a touch panel [abstract], comprising:
a plurality of touch electrodes [figs. 1-2 & para. 66 & 97] disposed in a same layer [fig. 3a & 77 & 82] comprising a touch sensing region (touch sensing region corresponding to first sensing lines 120 & second sensing lines 140) [figs. 1-3b] and a capacitance adjustment region (regions corresponding to first openings 123 & second openings 143) [figs. 1-2 & para. 77-84, 96, & 99], wherein the capacitance adjustment region is configured to reduce at least one of capacitance-to-ground of the touch electrode or coupling capacitance between two adjacent touch electrodes [figs. 1-2 & para. 77-84, 96, & 99];
wherein the touch sensing region is configured to transmit a touch signal [figs. 1-2 & para. 97-98];
the capacitance adjustment region is provided with a floating electrode inside (first conductive pattern 130 of first openings 123 & second conductive pattern 150 of second openings 143) [figs. 1-3b & para. 77-78, 81-83, 93-95, & 99], and the floating electrode is not connected to and is insulated with an adjacent touch electrode [figs. 3a-3b & para. 77 & 82]; and
the touch sensing region comprises at least two touch sensing sub-regions (multiple sensing cells in each off first sensing lines 120 and second sensing lines 140) [figs. 1-2 & para. 84-91], the capacitance adjustment region comprises at least two capacitance adjustment sub-regions (regions corresponding to first openings 123 & second openings 143) [figs. 1-2 & para. 77-84, 96, & 99], and each touch sensing sub-region of the at least two touch sensing sub-regions is correspondingly provided with at least one of the at least two capacitance adjustment sub-regions [figs. 1-2].
wherein the plurality of touch electrodes comprise a first electrode and a second electrode (first sensing lines 120 & second sensing lines 140) [figs. 1-2];
the first electrode comprises two touch sensing sub-regions, which are a first touch sensing sub- region and a second touch sensing sub-region (second sensing line 140, second sensing cell 141 of first column and second sensing cell 141of second column of second sensing line 140) [figs. 1-2];
the second electrode comprises six touch sensing sub-regions, which are a third touch sensing sub-region, a fourth touch sensing sub-region, a fifth touch sensing sub-region, a sixth touch sensing sub-region, a seventh touch sensing sub-region, and an eighth touch sensing sub- region (first sensing line 120, first sensing cell 121 corresponding to first to sixth row of first sensing line 120) [figs. 1-2]; and
each of the first touch sensing sub-region, the second touch sensing sub-region, the third touch sensing sub-region, the fourth touch sensing sub-region, the fifth touch sensing sub-region, the sixth touch sensing sub-region, the seventh touch sensing sub-region, and the eighth touch sensing sub-region is correspondingly provided with one of the at least two capacitance adjustment sub-regions (each sensing cell utilizes corresponding first openings 123 or second openings 143) [figs. 1-2], each of the at least two capacitance adjustment sub-regions includes an invalid electrode (first conductive patterns 130 & second conductive patterns 150) [figs. 1-3b & para. 77-78, 81-83, 93-95, & 99],
wherein the invalid electrode is the floating electrode [figs. 3a-3b & para. 77 & 82], and the invalid electrode is disposed in a same layer as the first electrode or the second electrode and is floated [figs. 3a-3b & para. 77 & 82].
As to claim 6, Han discloses the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein a shape of the invalid electrode comprises at least one of a rectangle, a triangle, a regular hexagon, or a circle (first conductive patterns & second conductive patterns) [figs. 2 & 4].
As to claim 9, Han discloses the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein the capacitance adjustment region is hollowed out (first openings123 & second openings 143) [figs. 1-3b & para. 77 & 82].
As to claim 10, Han discloses the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein the capacitance adjustment region is filled with an insulating layer (protection layer 114) [figs. 3a-3b & para. 77 & 82].
As to claim 12, Han discloses the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein a shape of the capacitance adjustment region is the same as or different from a shape of the touch electrode [figs. 2 & 4].
As to claim 14, Han discloses the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein
the first touch sensing sub-region and the second touch sensing sub-region are correspondingly provided with a first invalid electrode and a second invalid electrode respectively (each of second sensing cells 141 utilize second openings 143 with second conductive patterns 150) [figs. 1-2];
the third touch sensing sub-region and the fourth touch sensing sub-region are correspondingly provided with a third invalid electrode and a fourth invalid electrode respectively (each of sensing cells 121 utilize first openings with first conductive patterns 130, corresponding to first row and second row of first sensing line 120) [figs. 1-2];
the fifth touch sensing sub-region and the sixth touch sensing sub-region are correspondingly provided with a fifth invalid electrode and a sixth invalid electrode respectively (each of sensing cells 121 utilize first openings with first conductive patterns 130, corresponding to third row and fourth row of first sensing line 120) [figs. 1-2]; and
the seventh touch sensing sub-region and the eighth touch sensing sub-region are correspondingly provided with a seventh invalid electrode and an eighth invalid electrode respectively (each of sensing cells 121 utilize first openings with first conductive patterns 130, corresponding to fifth row and sixth row of first sensing line 120) [figs. 1-2].
As to claim 15, Han discloses the touch panel according to claim 14, wherein
a third width of the first invalid electrode, a third width of the second invalid electrode, a third width of the third invalid electrode, a third width of the fourth invalid electrode, a third width of the fifth invalid electrode, a third width of the sixth invalid electrode, a third width of the seventh invalid electrode and a third width of the eighth invalid electrode are adjusted so as to adjust the area of corresponding invalid electrodes, thereby adjusting the area of the first electrode in a corresponding region and the area of the second electrode in a corresponding region [figs. 1-3b & para. 77-78, 81-83, 93-95, & 99].
As to claim 16, Han discloses a touch display device [para. 5], comprising:
a layered display panel [para. 5] and the touch panel [para. 5] according to claim 1.
As to claim 19, Han discloses the touch display device according to claim 16, wherein
the first touch sensing sub-region and the second touch sensing sub-region are correspondingly provided with a first invalid electrode and a second invalid electrode respectively (each of second sensing cells 141 utilize second openings 143 with second conductive patterns 150) [figs. 1-2];
the third touch sensing sub-region and the fourth touch sensing sub-region are correspondingly provided with a third invalid electrode and a fourth invalid electrode respectively (each of sensing cells 121 utilize first openings with first conductive patterns 130, corresponding to first row and second row of first sensing line 120) [figs. 1-2];
the fifth touch sensing sub-region and the sixth touch sensing sub-region are correspondingly provided with a fifth invalid electrode and a sixth invalid electrode respectively (each of sensing cells 121 utilize first openings with first conductive patterns 130, corresponding to third row and fourth row of first sensing line 120) [figs. 1-2]; and
the seventh touch sensing sub-region and the eighth touch sensing sub-region are correspondingly provided with a seventh invalid electrode and an eighth invalid electrode respectively (each of sensing cells 121 utilize first openings with first conductive patterns 130, corresponding to fifth row and sixth row of first sensing line 120) [figs. 1-2].
As to claim 20, Han discloses the touch display device according to claim 19, wherein
a third width of the first invalid electrode, a third width of the second invalid electrode, a third width of the third invalid electrode, a third width of the fourth invalid electrode, a third width of the fifth invalid electrode, a third width of the sixth invalid electrode, a third width of the seventh invalid electrode and a third width of the eighth invalid electrode are adjusted so as to adjust the area of corresponding invalid electrodes, thereby adjusting the area of the first electrode in a corresponding region and the area of the second electrode in a corresponding region [figs. 1-3b & para. 77-78, 81-83, 93-95, & 99].
Conclusion
/DAVID TUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622