Priority
The present application filed on 10/18/2024 has a PRO 63/544,747 filed on 10/18/2023.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2 are currently pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed.
The rejection is as below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hassman et al. (Open-label, rapid initiation pilot study for extended-release buprenorphine subcutaneous injection. Am J Drug Alcohol Abuse. 2023;49(1):43-52. doi:10.1080/00952990.2022.2106574).
Hassman et al. teaches safety and tolerability of initiating BUP-XR following a single BUP-TM 4 mg dose. (Objectives) Specifically, the reference teaches “If the Clinical Opiate Withdrawal Scale (COWS) was ≥8, BUP-TM 4 mg was administered. Participants not exhibiting hypersensitivity, precipitated opioid withdrawal (POW), or sedation symptoms within 1 hour received BUP-XR 300 mg (assessed as inpatients for 48 hours and outpatients to Day 29).” (Methods) Results support increased flexibility for initiating BUP-XR. Initiating BUP-XR 300 mg following a single BUP-TM 4 mg dose was well tolerated. Although some participants initially experienced withdrawal symptoms after injection, significant symptomatic improvement was observed in all participants within 24 hours. (Conclusions). The reference teaches continuing with either BUP-TM 4 mg or BUP-XR 300 mg depending on the Clinical Opiate Withdrawal Scale (COWS) was ≥6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hassman et al. (Open-label, rapid initiation pilot study for extended-release buprenorphine subcutaneous injection. Am J Drug Alcohol Abuse. 2023;49(1):43-52. doi:10.1080/00952990.2022.2106574).
Hassman et al. teaches safety and tolerability of initiating BUP-XR following a single BUP-TM 4 mg dose. (Objectives) Specifically, the reference teaches “If the Clinical Opiate Withdrawal Scale (COWS) was ≥8, BUP-TM 4 mg was administered. Participants not exhibiting hypersensitivity, precipitated opioid withdrawal (POW), or sedation symptoms within 1 hour received BUP-XR 300 mg (assessed as inpatients for 48 hours and outpatients to Day 29).” (Methods) Results support increased flexibility for initiating BUP-XR. Initiating BUP-XR 300 mg following a single BUP-TM 4 mg dose was well tolerated. Although some participants initially experienced withdrawal symptoms after injection, significant symptomatic improvement was observed in all participants within 24 hours. (Conclusions). The reference teaches continuing with either BUP-TM 4 mg or BUP-XR 300 mg depending on the Clinical Opiate Withdrawal Scale (COWS) was ≥6.
Hassman et al. fail to specifically teach (c) administering a second dose of 300 mg of BUP-XR to said human by subcutaneous injection 2 as early as day 8 or up to one month after injection 1, (d) administering 100 mg or 300 mg of BUP-XR monthly to the human by subcutaneous injection 3 starting one month from administration of said injection 2 and continuing monthly as long as needed.
In absence of side-by-side comparison showing which criticality results in unexpected results with relevant statistical analysis, it would have been obvious to modify the regimen required to effectively treat the subject for the purpose taught by the references, including, but not limited to the severity of the disease or disorder, previous treatments, the weight, general health and/or age of the subject and the presence of other diseases. The regimen would thus have been expected to be variable and, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the determination of the optimum dosing regimen to employ would have been a matter well within the purview of the skilled artisan.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness- type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of US 11000520 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the US patent teaches method of treating opioid use disorder in a human in need thereof, the method comprising the steps of: (a) administering a first composition comprising about 300 mg of buprenorphine to the human once per month by subcutaneous injection for two months; wherein the first composition comprises (i) about 18 wt % of buprenorphine free base; (ii) about 32 wt % of a poly(DL-lactide-co-glycolide) copolymer; and (iii) about 50 wt % of N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone; and (b) administering a second composition comprising about 100 mg of buprenorphine to the human once per month by subcutaneous injection beginning with a third month and for at least four months; wherein the second composition comprises (i) about 18 wt % of buprenorphine free base; (ii) about 32 wt % of a poly(DL-lactide-co-glycolide) copolymer; and (iii) about 50 wt % of N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone; to treat the opioid use disorder; further comprising inducting and stabilizing the patient on a transmucosal composition comprising buprenorphine prior to step (a).
In absence of side-by-side comparison showing which criticality results in unexpected results with relevant statistical analysis, it would have been obvious to modify the regimen required to effectively treat the subject for the purpose taught by the references, including, but not limited to the severity of the disease or disorder, previous treatments, the weight, general health and/or age of the subject and the presence of other diseases. The regimen would thus have been expected to be variable and, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the determination of the optimum dosing regimen to employ would have been a matter well within the purview of the skilled artisan.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant invention over the copending subject matter.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/LAYLA SOROUSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622