DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 12-15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pacala (US 2022/0291387).
Regarding Claims 1 and 15, Pacala discloses a signal processing apparatus [#200 of Fig 2; 0010; 0041; 0044-46] and method performed; comprising: a signal detection unit configured to perform photonic event detection processes in parallel for at least two light-receiving elements of a pixel array [0051; 0101; 0140-42]; and a histogram generation unit configured to accumulate detection results about photonic events recognized at predefined time intervals by the signal detection unit in a plurality of bins and generate a histogram [0034; 0080-81; 0091-95; 0105-08; 0140-45].
Regarding Claim 2, Pacala also discloses wherein the signal detection unit is further configured to perform the photonic event detection processes in parallel [0142] for a plurality of light-receiving elements constituting each pixel in the unit a pixel [0034; 0080-81; 0091-95; 0105-08; 0140-45].
Regarding Claim 3, Pacala also discloses wherein the pixel comprises light-receiving elements arranged in an n*m array (n and m are natural numbers of at least 2) [0101-02; 0140-42].
Regarding Claim 4, Pacala also discloses wherein the signal detection unit is further configured to perform photonic event detection processes in parallel for a plurality of pixels, and each of the plurality of pixels comprises at least one light-receiving element [0100-02; 0105-08; 0140-45].
Regarding Claim 12, Pacala also teaches configured to determine a size of a time interval for detecting a photonic event according to a number of light-receiving elements constituting a pixel [0075-78; 0080-81; 0091-95; 0105-08; 0140-45].
Regarding Claims 13 and 20, Pacala also discloses a filter unit configured to repeat a process of multiplying a laser pulse model by the histogram while shifting the laser pulse model at intervals of a sub-time zone less than a time interval of a bin and to improve a time resolution of the histogram to a size of the sub-time zone [0075; 0091-2; 0102-09; 0175-0181].
Regarding Claims 14, Pacala also discloses configured to extract a region of interest comprising a predetermined number of bins around a bin having highest frequency in the histogram [0075; 0091-2; 0102-09; 0175-0181] and perform a process of the multiplication while shifting the laser pulse model over the region of interest [0105-07; 0137-38].
Regarding Claim 18, Pacala also discloses wherein the generating of the histogram comprises accumulating a number of photonic event detections for a predetermined number of consecutive time intervals in the histogram when a cumulative value of the number of photonic event detections for the predetermined number of consecutive time intervals is greater than a predefined threshold value [0077-80; 0097-0100; 0175-0181].
Regarding Claim 19, Pacala also discloses dividing a histogram memory into a plurality of regions according to a number of pixels to which the at least two light-receiving elements belong; and storing a histogram corresponding to each pixel in the plurality of regions [0080-81; 0100-02; 0112; 0140-45].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-11, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacala (US 2022/0291387), as applied to Claims 1 and 15, above and further in view of Finkelstein (US 2019/0250257)
Regarding Claim 5, Pacala also teaches configured to detect a photonic event of each light-receiving element in a predefined time interval [0031; 0081; 0092-95; 0100-02; 0142]. Pacala broadly teaches edge detection [0059; 0075; 0077; 0081] – but does not explicitly teach wherein the signal detection unit comprises a plurality of edge detectors one-to-one mapped to a plurality of light-receiving elements. Finkelstein teaches wherein the signal detection unit comprises a plurality of edge detectors one-to-one mapped to a plurality of light-receiving elements [0155; 0158]. It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Pacala to include plural edge detectors in order to indicating that the respective times of arrival of the photons detected at different elements are correlated
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Pacala does not explicitly teach – but Finkelstein does teach wherein each of the plurality of edge detectors comprises a plurality of flipflops configured to operate in different phases for a common clock frequency, and a phase difference between the plurality of flipflops corresponds to the time interval [0155; 0158]. It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Pacala to include plural edge detectors in order to indicating that the respective times of arrival of the photons detected at different elements are (or are not) correlated.
Regarding Claim 7, Pacala also teaches a weight recognition unit configured to accumulate a number of photonic event detections of each edge detector at each time interval and to recognize a weight for each time interval [0075; 0092; 0097-0100; 0175-0181].
Regarding Claim 8, Pacala also teaches a plurality of edge counters configured to output in parallel a number of detections of each edge detector for each time interval [0075; 0092; 0097-0100; 0175-0181]. Finkelstein also teaches this limitation in [0155; 0158].
Regarding Claim 9, Pacala also teaches a synchronizer configured to synchronize the weight for each time interval and output the synchronized weight [0075; 0092; 0097-0100; 0175-0181].
Regarding Claim 10, Pacala also teaches a configured to compare a cumulative value of a number of photonic event detections for a predetermined number of consecutive time intervals with a predefined threshold value to determine whether to accumulate the number of photonic event detections for the predetermined number of consecutive time intervals in the histogram [0075-78; 0092; 0097-0100].
Regarding Claim 11, Pacala also teaches wherein the signal detection unit is further configured to detect photonic events in parallel for a plurality of pixels comprising at least one light-receiving element, and the histogram generation unit is further configured to perform in parallel a process of determining whether to accumulate a histogram for the plurality of pixels [0075-78; 0080-81; 0091-95; 0105-08; 0140-45].
Regarding Claim 17, the rejection of Claims 7-8 applies mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
JAMES R. HULKA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645