DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the Applicant’s filing on April 1, 2026. Claims 1-19 and 21 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
The previous objections to claims 1, 10 and 13 are withdrawn in consideration of Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of claims 1-19 under 35 U.S.C. 101 are maintained. The previous rejection of cancelled claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn.
Applicant submits that the independent claims, in general, are not directed to an abstract idea (Applicant Remarks pg. 9). However, as detailed in the previous Office Action dated 1/7/2026 and repeated in the rejection below, the limitations for accessing data and determining operating ranges based on the accessed data are directed to a mental process practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. The accessing and determining steps of claims 1 and 10 are the equivalent of a person observing or recalling a power consumption rate for a particular electric vehicle, observing a remaining capacity of a power storage device, and mentally determining an estimated operating range of the electric vehicle, in multiple operation modes, based on the person’s observations or knowledge of interpreting acquired data. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
Applicant suggests that the limitations for accessing data and determining an operating range impose meaningful limitations such that they integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (Applicant Remarks pg. 9). However, as indicated in the 101 analysis below, accessing data and determining an operating range may be performed mentally. Accordingly, in step 2A Prong 2, accessing and providing data for presentation on a display device is extra solution activity, i.e. general data gathering and generic outputting of information such as displaying or transmitting of information, which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Further, accessing and providing data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity previously known in the art. See FR 2 914 739. Accordingly, in step 2B, this limitation does not amount to significantly more than a judicial exception.
Applicant argues that the claimed invention is tied to an electric work vehicle or a particular machine and, therefore, integrates the judicial exception into a practical application (Applicant Remarks pg. 10). However, the electric work vehicle is merely an object on which the claimed invention operates. The use of the electric work machine contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed invention in a data gathering step and field-of-use limitation and so does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more (MPEP 2106.05(b)).
Applicant further suggests that the claimed invention improves electric work vehicle technology and thus integrates the judicial exception into a practical application (Applicant Remarks pg. 10). However, this is an improvement to a mental process. It has not been integrated into practical application (it's still just generic output or generally outputting a result of the mental process determinations to a display). The improvement recited in the claims is merely to the accessing and processing of information, which is thus an improved mental process, not an improvement to the technology. An improved abstract idea is still an abstract idea (see Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1151, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("a *new* abstract idea is still an abstract idea").
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the previous rejections of claims 1-19 under 35 U.S.C. 101 are maintained.
The previous rejections of claims 1-2, 4, 10-11 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102 are withdrawn in consideration of amended independent claims 1 and 10. However, new rejections of claims 1-2, 4, 10-11 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the previous rejections of claims 3, 9, 12 and 18-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Applicant submits that Takagi in view of Vilar fails to provide any teaching or suggestion as to determining an operating range, wherein such determination "comprises determining a first operating range for the first operating mode based on a first power consumption rate of the first work implement assembly and determining a second operating range for the second operating mode based on a second power consumption rate of the second work implement assembly" and "providing, with the computing system, data indicative of the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes for simultaneous presentation on a display device" (Applicant’s Remarks pg. 12). However, a person of ordinary skill in the art could combine the teachings of Takagi and Vilar to arrive at a system that determines operable ranges for any number of modes and simultaneously displays the operable ranges to an operator.
Takagi teaches a system for determining an operable time for an operating mode and a travel time for traveling modes of an electric work vehicle with a work implement based on power consumption in each mode and remaining battery capacity (Takagi ¶ [0044]-[0045]). Takagi further discloses displaying the remaining operable and travel time for each mode simultaneously (Takagi: operable and travelable times in Figs. 7 and 12). Vilar teaches a system that determines power consumption in multiple modes, including a backhoe mode and loader mode (Vilar ¶ [0042]), to determine if the remaining battery capacity is enough to complete operator defined missions (Vilar ¶ [0047]). Thus, Takagi teaches how a remaining battery capacity can be divided by a rate of power consumption for a given mode to arrive at an operable range for the given mode and simultaneously displays operable ranges for multiple modes to an operator. Takagi teaches an operable mode and a traveling mode but does not explicitly disclose modes associated with first and second work implements. Vilar teaches operable modes for first and second work implements (Vilar ¶ [0042]) as well as determining an average power consumption rate for each operable mode (Vilar ¶ [0047]). Vilar further teaches combining the average power consumption rate with a time that the battery will run in each mode in order to determine if a remaining battery charge is enough to complete a given mission (Vilar ¶ [0047]) which suggests determining an operable range for multiple modes of operation as taught by Takagi. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that combining the above teachings of Takagi and Vilar would result in a system that determines operable ranges for any number of modes and simultaneously displays the operable ranges to an operator to allow the operator to grasp how long they could use any given mode.
Applicant claims there is no motivation to combine the teachings of Takagi with the teachings of Vilar (Applicant’s Remarks pg. 13). However, the previous Office Action, dated January 7, 2026, includes a motivation to combine the teachings of Takagi and Vilar in the rejections to claims 3, 9, 12 and 18-20 where it says “a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to enable planning and optimization of a workday of a battery powered electric work vehicle (Vilar ¶ [0005]).”
The previous rejections of claims 5-8 and 14-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in consideration of amended independent claims 1 and 10. However, new rejections of claims 5-8 and 14-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 Analysis:
STEP 1: Does claim 1 fall within one of the statutory categories? Yes. The claim is directed toward a method, which falls within one of the statutory categories.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? Yes, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 1 recites: A method for estimating operating ranges for an electric work vehicle, the method comprising:
accessing, with a computing system, data associated with a power consumption rate of the electric work vehicle, the electric work vehicle being operable in a plurality of operating modes including a first operating mode associated with a first work implement assembly and a second operating mode associated with a second work implement assembly;
accessing, with the computing system, data associated with a remaining capacity of a power storage device of the electric work vehicle;
determining, with the computing system, an estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes for the electric work vehicle based at least in part on the data associated with the power consumption rate and the remaining capacity of the power storage device, wherein determining the estimated operating range comprises determining a first operating range for the first operating mode based on a first power consumption rate of the first work implement assembly and determining a second operating range for the second operating mode based on a second power consumption rate of the second work implement assembly; and
providing, with the computing system, data indicative of the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes for simultaneous presentation on a display device.
The limitation highlighted in claim 1 above is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. The limitation of claim 1 highlighted above merely consists of accessing data associated with a power consumption rate of an electric vehicle, accessing data associated with a remaining capacity of a power storage device, and determining an estimated operating range of a plurality of operating modes for the electric work vehicle based on the accessed data. This is the equivalent of a person observing or recalling a power consumption rate for a particular electric vehicle, observing a remaining capacity of a power storage device, and mentally determining an estimated operating range of the electric vehicle, in multiple operation modes, based on the person’s observations or knowledge of interpreting acquired data. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 1 recites: A method for estimating operating ranges for an electric work vehicle, the method comprising:
accessing, with a computing system, data associated with a power consumption rate of an electric work vehicle, the electric work vehicle being operable in a plurality of operating modes including a first operating mode associated with a first work implement assembly and a second operating mode associated with a second work implement assembly;
accessing, with the computing system, data associated with a remaining capacity of a power storage device of the electric work vehicle;
determining, with the computing system, an estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes for the electric work vehicle based at least in part on the data associated with the power consumption rate and the remaining capacity of the power storage device, wherein determining the estimated operating range comprises determining a first operating range for the first operating mode based on a first power consumption rate of the first work implement assembly and determining a second operating range for the second operating mode based on a second power consumption rate of the second work implement assembly; and
providing, with the computing system, data indicative of the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes for simultaneous presentation on a display device.
Claim 1 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The additional elements underlined above do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application. The accessing steps using a computing device are recited at a high level of generality (as a general means of data gathering) and amount to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra solution activity. Further, the providing step is recited at a high level of generality (as a generic outputting of information such as displaying or transmitting of information) and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is also a form of insignificant extra solution activity. Still further, the method amounts to instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea which is indicative that the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application. In the instant case, the steps of accessing and determining are performed by a processor. Thus, it is clear that the abstract idea is merely implemented on a computer, which is indicative of the abstract idea having not been integrated into a practical application.
Additionally, the structural limitations of the electric work vehicle amount to an object on which the method of determining an estimated operation range of an electric vehicle operates, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Further, the use of the electric work machine contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method in a data gathering step and field-of-use limitation and so does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more (MPEP 2106.05(b)). Thus, the additional structural limitations of the electric work vehicle do not amount to a particular machine and do no integrate the exception into a practical application or provide significantly more.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. A conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of accessing using a computer and providing data steps are well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) activities in the field. Acquiring and providing data are fundamental, i.e. WURC, activities performed by processors. (See U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0222404 in claim 1 rejection below)
Claim 10 Analysis:
STEP 1: Does claim 10 fall within one of the statutory categories? Yes. The claim is directed toward a system, which falls within one of the statutory categories.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? Yes, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 10 recites: A system for estimating operating ranges for electric work vehicles, the system comprising:
an electric work vehicle comprising an electric traction motor and a power storage device configured to store power for powering the electric traction motor, the electric work vehicle further comprising at least one work implement assembly, the electric work vehicle being operable in a plurality of operating modes including a first operating mode associated with a first work implement assembly and a second operating mode associated with a second work implement assembly;
a display device configured to present information to an operator of the work vehicle; and
a computing system communicatively coupled to the display device, the computing system being configured to:
access data associated with a power consumption rate of the electric work vehicle;
access data associated with a remaining capacity of the power storage device;
determine an estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes for the electric work vehicle based at least in part on the data associated with the power consumption rate and the remaining capacity of the power storage device wherein determining the estimated operating range comprises determining a first operating range for the first operating mode based on a first power consumption rate of the first work implement assembly and determining a second operating range for the second operating mode based on a second power consumption rate of the second work implement assembly; and
provide data indicative of the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes for simultaneous presentation on the display device.
The limitation highlighted in claim 10 above is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. The limitation of claim 10 highlighted above merely consists of accessing data associated with a power consumption rate of an electric vehicle, accessing data associated with a remaining capacity of a power storage device, and determining an estimated operating range for of a plurality of operating modes for the electric work vehicle based on the accessed data. This is the equivalent of a person observing or recalling a power consumption rate for a particular electric vehicle, observing a remaining capacity of a power storage device, and mentally determining an estimated operating range of the electric vehicle, in multiple operation modes, based on the person’s observations or knowledge of interpreting acquired data. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 10 recites: A system for estimating operating ranges for electric work vehicles, the system comprising:
an electric work vehicle comprising an electric traction motor and a power storage device configured to store power for powering the electric traction motor, the electric work vehicle further comprising at least one work implement assembly, the electric work vehicle being operable in a plurality of operating modes including a first operating mode associated with a first work implement assembly and a second operating mode associated with a second work implement assembly;
a display device configured to present information to an operator of the work vehicle; and
a computing system communicatively coupled to the display device, the computing system being configured to:
access data associated with a power consumption rate of the electric work vehicle;
access data associated with a remaining capacity of the power storage device;
determine an estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes for the electric work vehicle based at least in part on the data associated with the power consumption rate and the remaining capacity of the power storage device wherein determining the estimated operating range comprises determining a first operating range for the first operating mode based on a first power consumption rate of the first work implement assembly and determining a second operating range for the second operating mode based on a second power consumption rate of the second work implement assembly; and
provide data indicative of the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes for simultaneous presentation on the display device.
Claim 10 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The additional elements underlined above do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application. The accessing steps using a computing device are recited at a high level of generality (as a general means of data gathering) and amount to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra solution activity. Further, the providing step is recited at a high level of generality (as a generic outputting of information such as displaying or transmitting of information) and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is also a form of insignificant extra solution activity. Still further, the system amounts to instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea which is indicative that the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application. In the instant case, the steps of accessing and determining are performed by a processor. Thus, it is clear that the abstract idea is merely implemented on a computer, which is indicative of the abstract idea having not been integrated into a practical application.
Additionally, the structural limitations of the electric work vehicle amount to an object on which the method of determining an estimated operation range of an electric vehicle operates, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Further, the use of the electric work machine contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method in a data gathering step and field-of-use limitation and so does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more (MPEP 2106.05(b)). Thus, the additional structural limitations of the electric work vehicle do not amount to a particular machine and do no integrate the exception into a practical application or provide significantly more.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claim 10 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. A conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of accessing using a computer and providing data steps are well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) activities in the field. Acquiring and providing data are fundamental, i.e. WURC, activities performed by processors. (See U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0222404 in claim 1 rejection below)
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-19 and 21 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 2-9, 11-19 and 21 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claims 1 and 10.
Therefore, claims 1-19 and 21 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-13, 18-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0222404 by Takagi et al. (herein after “Takagi”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0316713 by Vilar et al. (herein after “Vilar”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 1, Takagi discloses a method for estimating operating ranges for an electric work vehicle, the method comprising:
accessing, with a computing system (Takagi: controller 37A in Fig. 9), data associated with a power consumption rate of the electric work vehicle (Takagi ¶ [0050]: the operable-time calculating section 40 computes a power consumption amount of the electric motor 28 by adding up electric-current consumption of the electric motor 28 stored as the first history. Then, the operable-time calculating section 40 computes average power consumption per unit time during driving of the electric motor 28 (in other words, during operation of the hydraulic excavator) by dividing the power consumption amount mentioned before by the predetermined length of time t1), the electric work vehicle being operable in a plurality of operating modes (Takagi ¶ [0044]: the operable-time calculating section 40 computes an operable time by dividing the computed power storage amount of the battery device 19 by average power consumption per unit time during operation of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, during driving of the electric motor 28); Takagi ¶ [0065]: The travelable-time calculating section 41A of the controller 37A executes one process of computing a low-speed travelable time by dividing the power storage amount of the battery device 19 computed at the operable-time calculating section 40 by average power consumption per unit time during low-speed travelling of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, in a case in which the electric motor 28 and the travelling hydraulic motor are being driven, and in which the displacement mode of the travelling hydraulic motor is the large-displacement mode). In addition, the travelable-time calculating section 41A executes another process of computing a high-speed travelable time by dividing the power storage amount of the battery device 19 computed at the operable-time calculating section 40 by average power consumption per unit time during high-speed travelling of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, in a case in which the electric motor 28 and the travelling hydraulic motor are being driven, and in which the displacement mode of the travelling hydraulic motor is the small-displacement mode). Note that the one process and another process mentioned before are performed in parallel; Takagi: low-speed and high-speed traveling modes in Figs. 10 and 11; Takagi: operating mode in Fig. 5; Takagi: operable time and travelable time in Fig. 12) including a first operating mode(Takagi: operating mode in Fig. 5) (Takagi: low-speed and high-speed traveling modes in Figs. 10 and 11)
accessing, with the computing system (Takagi: controller 37A in Fig. 9), data associated with a remaining capacity of a power storage device of the electric work vehicle (Takagi ¶ [0049]: the operable-time calculating section 40 computes a power consumption amount of the electric motor 28 by adding up electric-current consumption of the electric motor 28 during the latest predetermined length of time t2 in the electric-current consumption of the electric motor 28 stored as the first history. Then, the operable-time calculating section 40 computes the current power storage amount by subtracting the power consumption amount mentioned before from a power storage amount in the past (before the lapse of the predetermined length of time t2) of the battery device 19);
determining, with the computing system (Takagi: controller 37A in Fig. 9), an estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes for the electric work vehicle based at least in part on the data associated with the power consumption rate and the remaining capacity of the power storage device (Takagi ¶ [0050]: the operable-time calculating section 40 computes an operable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before; Takagi ¶ [0069]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A computes a low-speed travelable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before; Takagi ¶ [0073]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A computes a high-speed travelable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before), wherein determining the estimated operating range comprises determining a first operating range for the first operating mode based on a first power consumption rate (Takagi ¶ [0050]: the operable-time calculating section 40 computes an operable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before) operating range for the second operating mode based on a second power consumption rate (Takagi ¶ [0069]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A computes a low-speed travelable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before; Takagi ¶ [0073]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A computes a high-speed travelable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before)
providing, with the computing system (Takagi: controller 37A in Fig. 9), data indicative of the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes for simultaneous presentation on a display device (Takagi ¶ [0050]: the operable-time calculating section 40 outputs the computed operable time to the display device 24 to be displayed thereon; Takagi ¶ [0069]: The travelable-time calculating section 41A outputs the computed low-speed travelable time to the display device 24; Takagi ¶ [0073]: The travelable-time calculating section 41A outputs the computed high-speed travelable time to the display device 24; Takagi: operable time and travelable time in Fig. 7 and 12).
It is noted that Takagi discloses calculating power consumption and remaining operable/travelable time for an electric work vehicle to address problems associated with variable power consumption for different modes of operation (¶ [0006]) but Takagi does not explicitly disclose including a first operating mode associated with a first work implement assembly and a second operating mode associated with a second work implement assembly; and
wherein determining the estimated operating range comprises determining a first operating range for the first operating mode based on a first power consumption rate of the first work implement assembly and determining a second operating range for the second operating mode based on a second power consumption rate of the second work implement assembly.
However, Vilar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches including a first operating mode (Vilar ¶ [0042]: operate in some combination of a backhoe mode, a loader mode) associated with a first work implement assembly (Vilar ¶ [0030]: the work vehicle 100 may include one or more work implements, which in the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 1 are a front-mounted bucket 130 (i.e., a loader) and a rear-mounted bucket 142 (i.e., a backhoe)) and a second operating mode (Vilar ¶ [0042]: operate in some combination of a backhoe mode, a loader mode) associated with a second work implement assembly (Vilar ¶ [0030]: the work vehicle 100 may include one or more work implements, which in the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 1 are a front-mounted bucket 130 (i.e., a loader) and a rear-mounted bucket 142 (i.e., a backhoe)); and
wherein determining the estimated operating range comprises determining a first operating range for the first operating mode based on a first power consumption rate of the first work implement assembly (Vilar ¶ [0047]: the controller in the present embodiment further tallies an average battery consumption rate for each associated mode of operation, and combines that rate with how long the battery will run in each associated mode of operation; Vilar ¶ [0049]: the controller further predicts how much battery charge will need to be consumed to complete the specified missions, i.e., road trips and jobs at each work site (step 310). As previously noted, the controller receives real-time sensor output information regarding the current charge state of the battery unit, wherein the controller may further project whether the current charge state of the battery unit is sufficient to complete the specified missions in the workday (step 312)) and determining a second operating range for the second operating mode based on a second power consumption rate of the second work implement assembly (Vilar ¶ [0047]: the controller in the present embodiment further tallies an average battery consumption rate for each associated mode of operation, and combines that rate with how long the battery will run in each associated mode of operation; Vilar ¶ [0049]: the controller further predicts how much battery charge will need to be consumed to complete the specified missions, i.e., road trips and jobs at each work site (step 310). As previously noted, the controller receives real-time sensor output information regarding the current charge state of the battery unit, wherein the controller may further project whether the current charge state of the battery unit is sufficient to complete the specified missions in the workday (step 312)).
Takagi teaches how a remaining battery capacity can be divided by a rate of power consumption for a given mode to arrive at an operable range for the given mode and simultaneously displays operable ranges for multiple modes to an operator. Takagi teaches an operable mode and a traveling mode but does not explicitly disclose modes associated with first and second work implements. Vilar teaches operable modes for first and second work implements (Vilar ¶ [0042]) as well as determining an average power consumption rate for each operable mode (Vilar ¶ [0047]). Vilar further teaches combining the average power consumption rate with a time that the battery will run in each mode in order to determine if a remaining battery charge is enough to complete a given mission (Vilar ¶ [0047]) which suggests determining an operable range for multiple modes of operation as taught by Takagi. Thus, examiner interprets the combination of Takagi and Vilar to teach a system that determines operable ranges for any number of modes associated with a work implement and simultaneously displays the operable ranges to an operator to allow the operator to grasp how long they could use any given mode associated with a work implement.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for estimating a battery time range for an operable mode and travelable modes for an electric excavator of Takagi to include the front-mounted bucket associated with a loader mode and rear-mounted bucket associated with a backhoe mode and predicting a rate of consumption for each mode to determine if a remaining battery capacity is enough to complete a mission of Vilar with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to enable planning and optimization of a workday of a battery powered electric work vehicle (Vilar ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Takagi and Vilar discloses further comprising:
actively controlling, with the computing system (Takagi: controller 37A in Fig. 9), an operation of the electric work vehicle such that the electric work vehicle is operated within one or more of the plurality of operating modes (Takagi ¶ [0043]: The start/stop control section 39 of the controller 37 controls the inverter device 27 depending on an input through the start/stop switch 26, and thereby controls start/stop of the electric motor 28; Takagi ¶ [0064]: The travelling-mode control section 44 of the controller 37A controls the motor-displacement controller 43 on the basis of an input through the travelling-mode selection switch 42); and
updating, with the computing system (Takagi: controller 37A in Fig. 9), the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes as the electric work vehicle is operated with the one or more of the plurality of operating modes (Takagi ¶ [0044]: the operable-time calculating section 40 computes an operable time by dividing the computed power storage amount of the battery device 19 by average power consumption per unit time during operation of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, during driving of the electric motor 28); Takagi ¶ [0065]: The travelable-time calculating section 41A of the controller 37A executes one process of computing a low-speed travelable time by dividing the power storage amount of the battery device 19 computed at the operable-time calculating section 40 by average power consumption per unit time during low-speed travelling of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, in a case in which the electric motor 28 and the travelling hydraulic motor are being driven, and in which the displacement mode of the travelling hydraulic motor is the large-displacement mode). In addition, the travelable-time calculating section 41A executes another process of computing a high-speed travelable time by dividing the power storage amount of the battery device 19 computed at the operable-time calculating section 40 by average power consumption per unit time during high-speed travelling of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, in a case in which the electric motor 28 and the travelling hydraulic motor are being driven, and in which the displacement mode of the travelling hydraulic motor is the small-displacement mode). Note that the one process and another process mentioned before are performed in parallel; Takagi: low-speed and high-speed traveling modes in Figs. 10 and 11; Takagi: operating mode in Fig. 5; Takagi: operable time and travelable time in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 3, Takagi discloses storing histories for electric-current consumption when calculating remaining operating and traveling times for an electric work vehicle but the disclosure suggests that these histories are not typically associated with prior periods of operation (Takagi: ¶ [0047], ¶ [0067], and ¶ [0071]). Thus, in light of the specification, Takagi fails to specifically disclose wherein:
accessing the data associated with the power consumption rate of the electric work vehicle comprises accessing data associated with a historical power consumption rate for the electric work vehicle; and
determining the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes comprises determining the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes based at least in part on the data associated with the historical power consumption rate for the electrical work vehicle.
However, Vilar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein:
accessing the data associated with the power consumption rate of the electric work vehicle comprises accessing data associated with a historical power consumption rate for the electric work vehicle (Vilar ¶ [0047]: Consumption rate tallies at the start of each day may be determined from historical data regarding prior usage (e.g., with respect to the specified missions, destinations, work vehicle, etc.). In an embodiment, the controller predicts rates of energy consumption for at least one operating mode corresponding to each specified mission. Rates of energy consumption may for example be predicted based on stored historical information regarding an average energy consumption for the at least one operating mode corresponding to each specified mission, and an input (e.g., user-specified or calculated by the controller) amount of time for each associated mission); and
determining the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes comprises determining the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes based at least in part on the data associated with the historical power consumption rate for the electrical work vehicle (Vilar ¶ [0047]: the controller in the present embodiment further tallies an average battery consumption rate for each associated mode of operation, and combines that rate with how long the battery will run in each associated mode of operation; Vilar ¶ [0049]: the controller further predicts how much battery charge will need to be consumed to complete the specified missions, i.e., road trips and jobs at each work site (step 310). As previously noted, the controller receives real-time sensor output information regarding the current charge state of the battery unit, wherein the controller may further project whether the current charge state of the battery unit is sufficient to complete the specified missions in the workday (step 312); Vilar ¶ [0051]: At any given time after combining the tallies and time at-load, continuously or upon demand throughout the workday, the controller may be configured to provide feedback to the operator for how much battery charge is needed to complete the planned workday. Such real-time feedback may merely compare the battery charge state remaining to the amount of charge needed to complete each of the remaining missions, or the feedback may be further broken down with respect to the amount of charge needed to complete individual ones of the remaining missions).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for estimating a battery time range for an operable mode and travelable modes for an electric excavator of Takagi modified by the front-mounted bucket associated with a loader mode and rear-mounted bucket associated with a backhoe mode and predicting a rate of consumption for each mode to determine if a remaining battery capacity is enough to complete a mission of Vilar to further include the historical power consumption rate for an electric backhoe of Vilar with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to enable planning and optimization of a workday of a battery powered electric work vehicle (Vilar ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Takagi and Vilar discloses further comprising actively controlling, with the computing system (Takagi: controller 37A in Fig. 9), an operation of the electric work vehicle such that the electric work vehicle is operated within one or more of the plurality of operating modes (Takagi ¶ [0043]: The start/stop control section 39 of the controller 37 controls the inverter device 27 depending on an input through the start/stop switch 26, and thereby controls start/stop of the electric motor 28; Takagi ¶ [0064]: The travelling-mode control section 44 of the controller 37A controls the motor-displacement controller 43 on the basis of an input through the travelling-mode selection switch 42) over an operational period (Takagi ¶ [0047]: the operable-time calculating section 40 stores a first history of electric-current consumption of the electric motor 28 sensed at the electric-current sensor 38 during driving of the electric motor 28 (in other words, during operation of the hydraulic excavator). The maximum number of pieces of the stored data is set to the number of pieces of data sensed while the hydraulic excavator is in operation for a predetermined length of time t1 (e.g. 10 minutes); Takagi ¶ [0067]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A stores a third history of electric-current consumption of the electric motor 28 sensed at the electric-current sensor 38 in a case in which the electric motor 28 and the travelling hydraulic motor are being driven, and in which the displacement mode of the travelling hydraulic motor is the large-displacement mode (in other words, during low-speed travelling of the hydraulic excavator). The maximum number of pieces of the stored data is set to the number of pieces of data sensed while the hydraulic excavator is travelling at a low speed for the predetermined length of time t1 (e.g. 10 minutes); Takagi ¶ [0071]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A stores a fourth history of electric-current consumption of the electric motor 28 sensed at the electric-current sensor 38 in a case in which the electric motor 28 and the travelling hydraulic motor are being driven, and in which the displacement mode of the travelling hydraulic motor is the small-displacement mode (in other words, during high-speed travelling of the hydraulic excavator). The maximum number of pieces of the stored data is set to the number of pieces of data sensed while the hydraulic excavator is travelling at a high speed for the predetermined length of time t1 (e.g. 10 minutes));
wherein: accessing the data associated with the power consumption rate of the electric work vehicle comprises accessing data associated with an actual power consumption rate of the electric work vehicle across the operational period (Takagi ¶ [0047]: the operable-time calculating section 40 stores a first history of electric-current consumption of the electric motor 28 sensed at the electric-current sensor 38 during driving of the electric motor 28 (in other words, during operation of the hydraulic excavator). The maximum number of pieces of the stored data is set to the number of pieces of data sensed while the hydraulic excavator is in operation for a predetermined length of time t1 (e.g. 10 minutes); Takagi ¶ [0067]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A stores a third history of electric-current consumption of the electric motor 28 sensed at the electric-current sensor 38 in a case in which the electric motor 28 and the travelling hydraulic motor are being driven, and in which the displacement mode of the travelling hydraulic motor is the large-displacement mode (in other words, during low-speed travelling of the hydraulic excavator). The maximum number of pieces of the stored data is set to the number of pieces of data sensed while the hydraulic excavator is travelling at a low speed for the predetermined length of time t1 (e.g. 10 minutes); Takagi ¶ [0071]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A stores a fourth history of electric-current consumption of the electric motor 28 sensed at the electric-current sensor 38 in a case in which the electric motor 28 and the travelling hydraulic motor are being driven, and in which the displacement mode of the travelling hydraulic motor is the small-displacement mode (in other words, during high-speed travelling of the hydraulic excavator). The maximum number of pieces of the stored data is set to the number of pieces of data sensed while the hydraulic excavator is travelling at a high speed for the predetermined length of time t1 (e.g. 10 minutes)); and
determining the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes comprises determining the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes based at least in part on the data associated with the actual power consumption rate of the electrical work vehicle (Takagi ¶ [0050]: the operable-time calculating section 40 computes an operable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before; Takagi ¶ [0069]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A computes a low-speed travelable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before; Takagi ¶ [0073]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A computes a high-speed travelable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before).
Regarding claim 9, Takagi discloses wherein the electric work vehicle comprises an electric excavator (Takagi: excavator in Fig. 1; Takagi ¶ [0082]: Note that although in the examples explained above, the present invention is applied to an electric hydraulic excavator, this is not the sole example, and the present invention may be applied to an electric hydraulic crane and the like), wherein the first operating mode is an operating mode (Takagi ¶ [0044]: during operation of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, during driving of the electric motor 28); Takagi: operating mode in Fig. 5), and the plurality of operating modes further comprises a roading mode (Takagi ¶ [0065]: during low-speed travelling of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, in a case in which the electric motor 28 and the travelling hydraulic motor are being driven, and in which the displacement mode of the travelling hydraulic motor is the large-displacement mode); Takagi ¶ [0065]: during high-speed travelling of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, in a case in which the electric motor 28 and the travelling hydraulic motor are being driven, and in which the displacement mode of the travelling hydraulic motor is the small-displacement mode); Takagi: low-speed and high-speed traveling modes in Figs. 10 and 11).
It is noted Takagi fails to particularly disclose wherein the electric work vehicle comprises an electric backhoe loader, wherein the first operating mode is a loader mode, the second operating mode is a backhoe mode.
However, Vilar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the electric work vehicle comprises an electric backhoe loader (Vilar: loader backhoe 100 and battery unit 120 in Fig. 1), wherein the first operating mode is a loader mode, the second operating mode is a backhoe mode (Vilar ¶ [0042]: The term “mission” as used herein may generally connote a required action to be performed and requiring one or more operating modes which may include, without limitation, active modes, idle modes, and traveling operating modes for any one or more combinations of work vehicle components (e.g., work implements, traveling devices, etc.); Vilar ¶ [0042]: the work vehicle (i.e., a battery powered loader backhoe) may for example be expected to operate in some combination of a backhoe mode, a loader mode, and/or an idle mode for portions of the allotted time).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for estimating a battery time range for an operable mode and travelable modes for an electric excavator of Takagi modified by the front-mounted bucket associated with a loader mode and rear-mounted bucket associated with a backhoe mode and predicting a rate of consumption for each mode to determine if a remaining battery capacity is enough to complete a mission of Vilar to further include the energy consumption estimation for a backhoe mode and loader mode of an electric backhoe of Vilar with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to enable planning and optimization of a workday of a battery powered electric work vehicle (Vilar ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 10, Takagi discloses a system for estimating operating ranges for electric work vehicles, the system comprising:
an electric work vehicle (Takagi: electric hydraulic excavator in Fig. 1) comprising an electric traction motor (Takagi: electric motor 28 in Fig. 9) and a power storage device configured to store power for powering the electric traction motor (Takagi: battery device 19 in Fig. 9), the electric work vehicle further comprising at least one work implement assembly (Takagi: work implement 9 in Fig. 1), the electric work vehicle being operable in a plurality of operating modes (Takagi ¶ [0044]: the operable-time calculating section 40 computes an operable time by dividing the computed power storage amount of the battery device 19 by average power consumption per unit time during operation of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, during driving of the electric motor 28); Takagi ¶ [0065]: The travelable-time calculating section 41A of the controller 37A executes one process of computing a low-speed travelable time by dividing the power storage amount of the battery device 19 computed at the operable-time calculating section 40 by average power consumption per unit time during low-speed travelling of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, in a case in which the electric motor 28 and the travelling hydraulic motor are being driven, and in which the displacement mode of the travelling hydraulic motor is the large-displacement mode). In addition, the travelable-time calculating section 41A executes another process of computing a high-speed travelable time by dividing the power storage amount of the battery device 19 computed at the operable-time calculating section 40 by average power consumption per unit time during high-speed travelling of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, in a case in which the electric motor 28 and the travelling hydraulic motor are being driven, and in which the displacement mode of the travelling hydraulic motor is the small-displacement mode). Note that the one process and another process mentioned before are performed in parallel; Takagi: low-speed and high-speed traveling modes in Figs. 10 and 11; Takagi: operating mode in Fig. 5; Takagi: operable time and travelable time in Fig. 12) including a first operating mode (Takagi: operating mode in Fig. 5) (Takagi: low-speed and high-speed traveling modes in Figs. 10 and 11)
a display device configured to present information to an operator of the work vehicle (Takagi: display device 24 in Fig. 9); and
a computing system communicatively coupled to the display device (Takagi: controller 37A in Fig. 9), the computing system being configured to:
access data associated with a power consumption rate of the electric work vehicle (Takagi ¶ [0050]: the operable-time calculating section 40 computes a power consumption amount of the electric motor 28 by adding up electric-current consumption of the electric motor 28 stored as the first history. Then, the operable-time calculating section 40 computes average power consumption per unit time during driving of the electric motor 28 (in other words, during operation of the hydraulic excavator) by dividing the power consumption amount mentioned before by the predetermined length of time t1);
access data associated with a remaining capacity of the power storage device (Takagi ¶ [0049]: the operable-time calculating section 40 computes a power consumption amount of the electric motor 28 by adding up electric-current consumption of the electric motor 28 during the latest predetermined length of time t2 in the electric-current consumption of the electric motor 28 stored as the first history. Then, the operable-time calculating section 40 computes the current power storage amount by subtracting the power consumption amount mentioned before from a power storage amount in the past (before the lapse of the predetermined length of time t2) of the battery device 19);
determine an estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes for the electric work vehicle based at least in part on the data associated with the power consumption rate and the remaining capacity of the power storage device (Takagi ¶ [0050]: the operable-time calculating section 40 computes an operable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before; Takagi ¶ [0069]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A computes a low-speed travelable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before; Takagi ¶ [0073]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A computes a high-speed travelable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before), wherein determining the estimated operating range comprises determining a first operating range for the first operating mode based on a first power consumption rate (Takagi ¶ [0050]: the operable-time calculating section 40 computes an operable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before) (Takagi ¶ [0069]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A computes a low-speed travelable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before; Takagi ¶ [0073]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A computes a high-speed travelable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before)
provide data indicative of the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes for simultaneous presentation on the display device (Takagi ¶ [0050]: the operable-time calculating section 40 outputs the computed operable time to the display device 24 to be displayed thereon; Takagi ¶ [0069]: The travelable-time calculating section 41A outputs the computed low-speed travelable time to the display device 24; Takagi ¶ [0073]: The travelable-time calculating section 41A outputs the computed high-speed travelable time to the display device 24; Takagi: operable time and travelable time in Fig. 12).
It is noted that Takagi discloses calculating power consumption and remaining operable/travelable time for an electric work vehicle to address problems associated with variable power consumption for different modes of operation (¶ [0006]) but Takagi does not explicitly disclose including a first operating mode associated with a first work implement assembly and a second operating mode associated with a second work implement assembly; and
wherein determining the estimated operating range comprises determining a first operating range for the first operating mode based on a first power consumption rate of the first work implement assembly and determining a second operating range for the second operating mode based on a second power consumption rate of the second work implement assembly.
However, Vilar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches including a first operating mode (Vilar ¶ [0042]: operate in some combination of a backhoe mode, a loader mode) associated with a first work implement assembly (Vilar ¶ [0030]: the work vehicle 100 may include one or more work implements, which in the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 1 are a front-mounted bucket 130 (i.e., a loader) and a rear-mounted bucket 142 (i.e., a backhoe)) and a second operating mode (Vilar ¶ [0042]: operate in some combination of a backhoe mode, a loader mode) associated with a second work implement assembly (Vilar ¶ [0030]: the work vehicle 100 may include one or more work implements, which in the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 1 are a front-mounted bucket 130 (i.e., a loader) and a rear-mounted bucket 142 (i.e., a backhoe)); and
wherein determining the estimated operating range comprises determining a first operating range for the first operating mode based on a first power consumption rate of the first work implement assembly (Vilar ¶ [0047]: the controller in the present embodiment further tallies an average battery consumption rate for each associated mode of operation, and combines that rate with how long the battery will run in each associated mode of operation; Vilar ¶ [0049]: the controller further predicts how much battery charge will need to be consumed to complete the specified missions, i.e., road trips and jobs at each work site (step 310). As previously noted, the controller receives real-time sensor output information regarding the current charge state of the battery unit, wherein the controller may further project whether the current charge state of the battery unit is sufficient to complete the specified missions in the workday (step 312)) and determining a second operating range for the second operating mode based on a second power consumption rate of the second work implement assembly (Vilar ¶ [0047]: the controller in the present embodiment further tallies an average battery consumption rate for each associated mode of operation, and combines that rate with how long the battery will run in each associated mode of operation; Vilar ¶ [0049]: the controller further predicts how much battery charge will need to be consumed to complete the specified missions, i.e., road trips and jobs at each work site (step 310). As previously noted, the controller receives real-time sensor output information regarding the current charge state of the battery unit, wherein the controller may further project whether the current charge state of the battery unit is sufficient to complete the specified missions in the workday (step 312)).
Takagi teaches how a remaining battery capacity can be divided by a rate of power consumption for a given mode to arrive at an operable range for the given mode and simultaneously displays operable ranges for multiple modes to an operator. Takagi teaches an operable mode and a traveling mode but does not explicitly disclose modes associated with first and second work implements. Vilar teaches operable modes for first and second work implements (Vilar ¶ [0042]) as well as determining an average power consumption rate for each operable mode (Vilar ¶ [0047]). Vilar further teaches combining the average power consumption rate with a time that the battery will run in each mode in order to determine if a remaining battery charge is enough to complete a given mission (Vilar ¶ [0047]) which suggests determining an operable range for multiple modes of operation as taught by Takagi. Thus, examiner interprets the combination of Takagi and Vilar to teach a system that determines operable ranges for any number of modes associated with a work implement and simultaneously displays the operable ranges to an operator to allow the operator to grasp how long they could use any given mode associated with a work implement.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for estimating a battery time range for an operable mode and travelable modes for an electric excavator of Takagi to include the front-mounted bucket associated with a loader mode and rear-mounted bucket associated with a backhoe mode and predicting a rate of consumption for each mode to determine if a remaining battery capacity is enough to complete a mission of Vilar with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to enable planning and optimization of a workday of a battery powered electric work vehicle (Vilar ¶ [0005]).
Claim 11 recites analogous limitations to claim 2, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim 12 recites analogous limitations to claim 3, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim 13 recites analogous limitations to claim 4, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim 18 recites analogous limitations to claim 9, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 19, Takagi discloses an excavator bucket (Takagi: bucket 13 in Fig. 1) but fails to particularly disclose wherein the at least one work implement assembly comprises at least one of a loader assembly or a backhoe assembly.
However, Vilar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one work implement assembly comprises at least one of a loader assembly or a backhoe assembly (Vilar: front-mounted bucket 130 and rear-mounted bucket 142 in Fig. 1).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for estimating a battery time range for an operable mode and travelable modes for an electric excavator of Takagi modified by the front-mounted bucket associated with a loader mode and rear-mounted bucket associated with a backhoe mode and predicting a rate of consumption for each mode to determine if a remaining battery capacity is enough to complete a mission of Vilar to explicitly include the front-mounted bucket (loader) and rear-mounted bucket (backhoe) for an electric backhoe of Vilar with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to enable planning and optimization of a workday of a battery powered electric work vehicle (Vilar ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Takagi and Vilar discloses wherein determining the estimated operating range further comprises:
calculating a first estimated operating time for the first work implement assembly by dividing the remaining capacity of the power storage device by the first power consumption rate associated with the first work implement assembly (Takagi ¶ [0044]-[0045]: The operable-time calculating section 40 of the controller 37 computes the power storage amount of the battery device 19 on the basis of a result of sensing by the electric-current sensor 38. In addition, the operable-time calculating section 40 computes an operable time by dividing the computed power storage amount of the battery device 19 by average power consumption per unit time during operation of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, during driving of the electric motor 28). The travelable-time calculating section 41 of the controller 37 computes a travelable time by dividing the power storage amount of the battery device 19 computed at the operable-time calculating section 40 by average power consumption per unit time during travelling of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, during driving of the electric motor 28 and the travelling hydraulic motor); and
calculating a second estimated operating time for the second work implement assembly by dividing the remaining capacity of the power storage device by the second power consumption rate associated with the second work implement assembly (Takagi ¶ [0044]-[0045]: The operable-time calculating section 40 of the controller 37 computes the power storage amount of the battery device 19 on the basis of a result of sensing by the electric-current sensor 38. In addition, the operable-time calculating section 40 computes an operable time by dividing the computed power storage amount of the battery device 19 by average power consumption per unit time during operation of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, during driving of the electric motor 28). The travelable-time calculating section 41 of the controller 37 computes a travelable time by dividing the power storage amount of the battery device 19 computed at the operable-time calculating section 40 by average power consumption per unit time during travelling of the hydraulic excavator (in other words, during driving of the electric motor 28 and the travelling hydraulic motor).
Takagi teaches how a remaining battery capacity can be divided by a rate of power consumption for a given mode to arrive at an operable range for the given mode and simultaneously displays operable ranges for multiple modes to an operator. Takagi teaches an operable mode and a traveling mode but does not explicitly disclose modes associated with first and second work implements. Vilar teaches operable modes for first and second work implements (Vilar ¶ [0042]) as well as determining an average power consumption rate for each operable mode (Vilar ¶ [0047]). Vilar further teaches combining the average power consumption rate with a time that the battery will run in each mode in order to determine if a remaining battery charge is enough to complete a given mission (Vilar ¶ [0047]) which suggests determining an operable range for multiple modes of operation as taught by Takagi. Thus, examiner interprets the combination of Takagi and Vilar to teach a system that determines operable ranges for any number of modes associated with a work implement by dividing a remaining battery capacity by a rate of power consumption for a given mode associated with a work implement.
Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0222404 by Takagi et al (herein after “Takagi”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0316713 by Vilar et al. (herein after “Vilar”), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2024/0257575 by Liu et al. (herein after “Liu”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Takagi and Vilar fails to particularly disclose further comprising accessing, with the computing system, data associated with an identity of an operator of the electric work vehicle.
However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising accessing, with the computing system, data associated with an identity of an operator of the electric work vehicle (Liu ¶ [0036]: Personalization or customization, i.e., customizing to a particular driver's preferences, style, behaviors (e.g., aggressive, neutral, or conservative driving) and common driving locations can be done in the vehicle's onboard range estimation or energy consumption estimation model by inputting into the vehicle's onboard model data from a particular driver; Liu ¶ [0082]: Driver-related information for a particular driver or drivers (e.g., driver preferences such as common driving routes or locations or time of day, or driver styles such as common speed or acceleration) can be stored in database 209 and accessible by energy consumption estimation client 205, also for inputting into the energy consumption estimation model to aid in training the energy consumption estimation model and in calculating an energy consumption estimation).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for estimating a battery time range for an operable mode and travelable modes for an electric excavator of Takagi modified by the front-mounted bucket associated with a loader mode and rear-mounted bucket associated with a backhoe mode and predicting a rate of consumption for each mode to determine if a remaining battery capacity is enough to complete a mission of Vilar to further include the data associated with a particular driver of Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to estimate the needed energy consumption of an electric vehicle along a particular route with a particular driver (Liu ¶ [0028]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Takagi and Vilar discloses wherein:
accessing the data associated with the power consumption rate of the electric work vehicle comprises accessing data associated with an anticipated power consumption rate for the electric work vehicle (Takagi ¶ [0050]: the operable-time calculating section 40 computes a power consumption amount of the electric motor 28 by adding up electric-current consumption of the electric motor 28 stored as the first history. Then, the operable-time calculating section 40 computes average power consumption per unit time during driving of the electric motor 28 (in other words, during operation of the hydraulic excavator) by dividing the power consumption amount mentioned before by the predetermined length of time t1); and
determining the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes comprises determining the estimated operating range for each of the plurality of operating modes based at least in part on the data associated with the anticipated power consumption rate of the electrical work vehicle (Takagi ¶ [0050]: the operable-time calculating section 40 computes an operable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before; Takagi ¶ [0069]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A computes a low-speed travelable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before; Takagi ¶ [0073]: the travelable-time calculating section 41A computes a high-speed travelable time by dividing the current power storage amount of the battery device 19 by the average power consumption mentioned before).
It is noted that the combination of Takagi and Vilar fails to particularly disclose accessing the data associated with the power consumption rate of the electric work vehicle comprises accessing data associated with an anticipated power consumption rate for the electric work vehicle based at least in part on the operator of the electric work vehicle.
However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches accessing the data associated with the power consumption rate of the electric work vehicle comprises accessing data associated with an anticipated power consumption rate for the electric work vehicle based at least in part on the operator of the electric work vehicle (Liu ¶ [0036]: Personalization or customization, i.e., customizing to a particular driver's preferences, style, behaviors (e.g., aggressive, neutral, or conservative driving) and common driving locations can be done in the vehicle's onboard range estimation or energy consumption estimation model by inputting into the vehicle's onboard model data from a particular driver; Liu ¶ [0082]: Driver-related information for a particular driver or drivers (e.g., driver preferences such as common driving routes or locations or time of day, or driver styles such as common speed or acceleration) can be stored in database 209 and accessible by energy consumption estimation client 205, also for inputting into the energy consumption estimation model to aid in training the energy consumption estimation model and in calculating an energy consumption estimation).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for estimating a battery time range for an operable mode and travelable modes for an electric excavator of Takagi modified by the front-mounted bucket associated with a loader mode and rear-mounted bucket associated with a backhoe mode and predicting a rate of consumption for each mode to determine if a remaining battery capacity is enough to complete a mission of Vilar and the data associated with a particular driver of Liu to further include the energy consumption data based on a particular driver of Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to estimate the needed energy consumption of an electric vehicle along a particular route with a particular driver (Liu ¶ [0028]).
Claim 14 recites analogous limitations to claim 5, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim 15 recites analogous limitations to claim 6, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claims 7-8 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0222404 by Takagi et al (herein after “Takagi”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0316713 by Vilar et al. (herein after “Vilar”), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2024/0286491 by Gatti et al. (herein after “Gatti”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Takagi and Vilar wherein the electric work vehicle is operable within an operating mode(Takagi ¶ [0064]: The travelling-mode control section 44 of the controller 37A controls the motor-displacement controller 43 on the basis of an input through the travelling-mode selection switch 42. In a case in which the low-speed travelling mode is selected at the travelling-mode selection switch 42, the travelling-mode control section 44 controls the motor-displacement controller 43 to set the displacement mode of the travelling hydraulic motor to the large-displacement mode. On the other hand, in a case in which the high-speed travelling mode is selected at the travelling-mode selection switch 42, the travelling-mode control section 44 decides whether or not the power storage amount of the battery device 19 is equal to or larger than a predetermined value. Then, if the power storage amount of the battery device 19 is equal to or larger than the predetermined value, the travelling-mode control section 44 controls the motor-displacement controller 43 to set the displacement mode of the travelling hydraulic motor to the small-displacement mode). The Examiner interprets the high-speed travelling mode to be a first power consumption mode and the low-speed travelling mode to be a second power consumption mode. A low-speed travelling mode would implicitly have a lower expected power consumption rate compared to a high-speed travelling mode as made evident by the higher estimation for travelable time of 25A (low-speed mode) in Fig. 12 versus the lower estimation for travelable time of 25B (high-speed mode) in Fig. 12.
It is noted that the combination of Takagi and Vilar discloses selecting between two power consumption modes when the electric work vehicle is traveling but fails to particularly disclose selecting between power consumption modes when the electric work vehicle is in an operation mode other than travelling.
However, Gatti, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the electric work vehicle is operable within each of the plurality of operating modes in both a first power consumption mode and a second power consumption mode, the second power consumption mode being associated with a lower expected power consumption rate than the first power consumption mode (Gatti ¶ [0051]: In a first mode, if the SOC is above an upper threshold such as 70%, any mode may be selected by the operator. For a SOC between that upper threshold and a lower threshold such as between 70% and 40%, the operator may select only two of three available modes, which in this case are considered to be efficiency mode, and power saver mode, and performance mode is disabled. Finally, if the SOC is less than the lower threshold, which in this example is 40%, then only power saver mode is made available to the operator; Gatti ¶ [0052]: In the performance mode, there are no limits on operation of the pump or electric motor; Gatti ¶ [0053]: In power saver mode, pump displacement and rpm are controlled and also torque limits are placed on the motor, which ultimately limits the power available from the system). Examiner interprets the performance mode to be a first power consumption mode and the power saver mode to be a second power consumption mode.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for estimating a battery time range for an operable mode and travelable modes for an electric excavator of Takagi modified by the front-mounted bucket associated with a loader mode and rear-mounted bucket associated with a backhoe mode and predicting a rate of consumption for each mode to determine if a remaining battery capacity is enough to complete a mission of Vilar to further include the power consumption mode selection of Gatti with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to estimate a remaining time before an electrical power source will need recharging, based on an efficiency mode which is not currently selected, and the state of charge of the electrical power source to show a user the trade-offs between a currently selected mode and alternative modes (Gatti ¶ [0011]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Takagi and Vilar discloses further comprising providing, with the computing system, data indicative of the estimated operating range for one (Takagi ¶ [0069]: The travelable-time calculating section 41A outputs the computed low-speed travelable time to the display device 24; Takagi ¶ [0073]: The travelable-time calculating section 41A outputs the computed high-speed travelable time to the display device 24; Takagi: low-speed travelable time 25A and high-speed travelable time 25B in Fig. 12; Takagi ¶ [0078]: the controller 37A may simultaneously display the operable time, the low-speed travelable time and the high-speed travelable time on the display device 24).
It is noted that the combination of Takagi and Vilar discloses discloses selecting between two travelling power consumption modes and displaying estimated ranges for the two travelling power consumption modes but fails to particularly disclose selecting between power consumption modes when the electric work vehicle is in an operation mode other than travelling and displaying estimated ranges for the power consumption modes.
However, Gatti, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising providing, with the computing system, data indicative of the estimated operating range for one or more of the plurality of operating modes within both the first power consumption mode and the second power consumption mode for presentation on the display device (Gatti ¶ [0044]: The controller enters into a loop in which it estimates and provides expected operating times to the user based on historical data and monitors the SOC/H2 levels. In the present context, the term “state of charge” (SOC) encompasses a battery state of charge, a fuel level in a fuel tank for a fuel cell or a combination of both where both systems are applied together. The system is thus operable to estimate a remaining time before the electrical power source will need recharging, based on an efficiency mode which is not currently selected, and the state of charge of the electrical power source. In this way, a user may be shown the trade-offs between the current selected mode and alternative modes, in terms of estimated remaining time; Gatti ¶ [0046]: When the operator selects a particular mode, a calculation of how long the powertrain system can operate before needing a charge in this mode, is made and that information is sent to the user interface for display to the operator; Gatti ¶ [0052]: In all cases, an estimated duration, for example of battery discharge and fuel cell tank capacity may be provided to the operator, to provide an indication of when recharging will be necessary).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for estimating a battery time range for an operable mode and travelable modes for an electric excavator of Takagi modified by the front-mounted bucket associated with a loader mode and rear-mounted bucket associated with a backhoe mode and predicting a rate of consumption for each mode to determine if a remaining battery capacity is enough to complete a mission of Vilar and the power consumption mode selection of Gatti to further include the presentation of estimated range in multiple power consumption modes of Gatti with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to estimate a remaining time before an electrical power source will need recharging, based on an efficiency mode which is not currently selected, and the state of charge of the electrical power source to show a user the trade-offs between a currently selected mode and alternative modes (Gatti ¶ [0011]).
Claim 16 recites analogous limitations to claim 7, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim 17 recites analogous limitations to claim 8, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2023/0391225 discloses a trolley power management system that displays remaining power and time of operation for electric vehicles including a derating mode that lowers energy consumption when the electric vehicle is not connected to trolley power (¶ [0040]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.P.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666