DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the one or more latches of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Additionally, the drawings (see Figs. 5A-5C) are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(l), because the character of the lines are insufficient for satisfactory reproduction characteristics, and 37 CFR 1.84(m), because the use of solid gray shading reduces legibility and does not adequately contrast with the rest of the drawings.
“(l) Character of lines, numbers, and letters. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
(m) Shading. The use of shading in views is encouraged if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Shading is used to indicate the surface or shape of spherical, cylindrical, and conical elements of an object. Flat parts may also be lightly shaded. Such shading is preferred in the case of parts shown in perspective, but not for cross sections. See paragraph (h)(3) of this section. Spaced lines for shading are preferred. These lines must be thin, as few in number as practicable, and they must contrast with the rest of the drawings. As a substitute for shading, heavy lines on the shade side of objects can be used except where they superimpose on each other or obscure reference characters. Light should come from the upper left corner at an angle of 45°. Surface delineations should preferably be shown by proper shading. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color.”
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Lines 5-6: “a module cover; a module base” are already introduced in Lines 3-4 above.
For the purpose of examination below, Examiner interprets claim 1 as reciting:
“An optical transceiver heat sink module assembly for use with optical transceivers comprising:
a module cover;
a module base;
an optical transceiver cover adapted for attachment to the module cover and the module base; and”.
Claim 3, Line 2: “the transceiver cover” should be amended to recite “the optical transceiver cover”.
Claim 8, Line 2: “the transceiver cover” should be amended to recite “the optical transceiver cover”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “one or more thermal gaskets disposed at contact points between the optical transceiver cover, the module cover, the module base and one or more optical transceivers”. The limitation is indefinite because it is unclear if the one or more thermal gaskets are disposed between just the optical transceiver cover and one or more optical transceivers, just the module cover and one or more optical transceivers, or just the module base and one or more optical transceivers or if there are thermal gaskets between optical transceiver cover and the module cover, the module cover and the module base, and the module base and the one or more optical transceivers or if there is a separate thermal gasket between the optical transceiver cover and one or more optical transceivers, the module cover and one or more optical transceivers, and the module base and one or more optical transceivers.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the main heat dissipation path" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the torque force" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizumi (US 9470862 B2) in view of Kehret (US 20120020017 A1).
As to Claim 1 (as best understood), Yoshizumi discloses:
An optical transceiver heat sink module (optical transmission device 10, comprising heat transfer plate 34, heat sink 38) assembly for use with optical transceivers (col. 1, Lines 23-26 “There has conventionally been a pluggable-type module (hereinafter, referred to as a “pluggable module”) as an optical module configured to be connected to an optical fiber to transmit and receive an optical signal”) comprising:
a module cover (top of heat transfer plate 34);
a module base (bottom of heat transfer plate 34);
one or more optical transceivers 37 (Pluggable modules 37-1 to 37-6),
an optical transceiver cover (heat sink 38, see Figs. 4-7) adapted for attachment to the module cover (top of 34) and the module base (bottom of 34; 38 and 34 are attached); and
wherein, when assembled, a main heat dissipation path is from the one or more optical transceivers 37 to the optical transceiver cover 38 to the module base (bottom of 34) through a back wall (back portion of pedestals 40-1, 40-2 of heat sink 38) of the optical heat sink module assembly (col. 6-7, Lines 65-67 and 1-3 “the heat sink 38 may cover the side surfaces of the cages 36 as well as top surfaces of the cages 36, and thus may efficiently absorb the heat generated from the pluggable modules 37-1 to 37-6 via the cages 36-1 to 36-6. As a result, the heat dissipation efficiency in the optical transmission device 10 may be improved”; at least a portion of heat is transferred to 34 via pedestals 40-1,40-2 of 38).
Yoshizumi does not disclose:
one or more thermal gaskets disposed at contact points between the optical transceiver cover, the module cover, the module base and one or more optical transceivers.
However, Kehret discloses:
one or more thermal gaskets (402, see Fig. 4A) disposed at contact points between the optical transceiver cover (thermal shunt 404, corresponds to 38 of Yoshizumi), and one or more components (component 400, wherein 400 corresponds to each module 37 of Yoshizumi; Par. 0031 “A thermally conductive material 402 provides a thermal interface between component 400 and a thermally conductive shunt (the "thermal shunt") 404 that is attached to the inside front surface of module 200. In one embodiment, thermal shunt 404 may be a rigid material, such as aluminum, and thermally conductive material 402 may be a compliant material, designed to guarantee contact between component 400 and thermal shunt 404”; in combination with Yoshizumi, 402 provides contact points between 37 and 38 of Yoshizumi and therefore also provides thermal contact between 37 and top and bottom of 34);
in order to guarantee thermal contact between the component and thermal shunt (Par. 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoshizumi as further suggested by Kehret e.g., providing:
one or more thermal gaskets disposed at contact points between the optical transceiver cover, the module cover, the module base and one or more optical transceivers;
in order to guarantee thermal contact between the optical transceivers and optical transceiver cover.
As to Claim 2, the obvious modification of Yoshizumi in view of Kehret discloses:
further comprising one or more guides (plate members 41-1 to 41-5; see Figs. 3, 5 and 7 of Yoshizumi) disposed on the module cover (top of 34; 41-1 to 41-5 are disposed on top side of 34) to guide the optical transceivers 37 into position within the assembly (41-1 to 45-1 disposed between adjacent cages 36 for modules 37, modules 37 disposed between plate members 41-1 to 41-5; Yoshizumi).
As to Claim 3, the obvious modification of Yoshizumi in view of Kehret discloses:
further comprising one or more guides (plate members 41-1 to 41-5; see Figs. 3, 5 and 7 of Yoshizumi) disposed on the optical transceiver cover 38 (col. 6, Lines 43-49 “the heat sink 38 includes a main body 39, pedestal portions 40-1 and 40-2, and plate members 41-1 to 41-5…Each of the plate members 41-1 to 41-5 is provided to rise from the bottom surface of the main body 39 which faces the top surface of the substrate 35”) to guide the optical transceivers 37 into position within the assembly (41-1 to 45-1 disposed between adjacent cages 36 for modules 37, modules 37 disposed between plate members 41-1 to 41-5; Yoshizumi).
As to Claim 4, the obvious modification of Yoshizumi in view of Kehret discloses:
wherein the guides (41-1 to 41-5 of Yoshizumi) are walls (plate members 41-1 to 41-5 form walls between adjacent cages 36 for modules 37).
As to Claim 5, the obvious modification of Yoshizumi in view of Kehret discloses:
wherein the guides (41-1 to 41-5 of Yoshizumi) are walls (plate members 41-1 to 41-5 form walls between adjacent cages 36 for modules 37).
As to Claim 10, the obvious modification of Yoshizumi in view of Kehret discloses:
wherein the optical transceiver cover (38 of Yoshizumi) is attached to the module cover (top of 34) and the module base (bottom of 34) by one or more bolts (guide pins 43-1, 43-2 connect 38 to 34, wherein top and bottom of 34 are connected, col. 7, Lines 13-24 “guide pins 43-1 and 43-2 are provided, on the top surface of the heat transfer plate 34, on both end portions of the heat transfer plate 34 which exclude the region where the substrate 35 is arranged. The guide pins 43-1 and 43-2 are provided to rise from the top surface of the heat transfer plate 34. The guide pins 43-1 and 43-2 are longer than the separation distance from the top surface of the substrate 35 to the top surfaces of the cages 36-1 to 36-6… an insertion hole 44-1 into which the guide pin 43-1 is inserted is provided in the pedestal portion 40-1. An insertion hole 44-2 into which the guide pin 43-2 is inserted is provided in the pedestal portion 40-2”; Yoshizumi; definition of Bolt – “any of several types of strong fastening rods, pins, or screws, usually threaded to receive a nut” – Dictionary.com).
As to Claim 11, the obvious modification of Yoshizumi in view of Kehret discloses:
wherein two bolts (guide pins 43-1, 43-2 of Yoshizumi) are used to attach the transceiver cover 38 to the module cover (top of 34) and the module base (bottom of 34).
Yoshizumi and Kehret do not disclose:
wherein four bolts are used.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to provide four bolts/guide pins, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. It has also been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable (e.g., the number of bolts for effective coupling) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456; 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizumi (US 9470862 B2) in view of Kehret (US 20120020017 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Robinson (US 20230328920 A1).
As to Claim 6, the obvious modification of Yoshizumi in view of Kehret discloses:
wherein the optical transceiver cover (38 of Yoshizumi) is attached to the module cover (top of 34) and the module base (bottom of 34) by one or more guide pins (43-1, 43-2 connect 38 to 34, wherein top and bottom of 34 are connected, col. 7, Lines 13-24 “guide pins 43-1 and 43-2 are provided, on the top surface of the heat transfer plate 34, on both end portions of the heat transfer plate 34 which exclude the region where the substrate 35 is arranged. The guide pins 43-1 and 43-2 are provided to rise from the top surface of the heat transfer plate 34. The guide pins 43-1 and 43-2 are longer than the separation distance from the top surface of the substrate 35 to the top surfaces of the cages 36-1 to 36-6… an insertion hole 44-1 into which the guide pin 43-1 is inserted is provided in the pedestal portion 40-1. An insertion hole 44-2 into which the guide pin 43-2 is inserted is provided in the pedestal portion 40-2”; Yoshizumi).
Yoshizumi and Kehret do not disclose:
wherein the optical transceiver cover is attached to the module cover and the module base by one or more screws.
However, Robinson discloses:
wherein the optical transceiver cover (heat sink device 200; Fig. 2A) is attached to the module cover and the module base (supporting surface) by one or more screws (29, Par. 0093 “the fixing of the device on the supporting surface is effected through application of a force on the distal end 22c, 32c of each of the arm 22, 32”; Par. 0094 “each of the distal ends 22c, 32c defines a mounting hole for receiving a fastener. In a preferred embodiment, the fastener is a torque screw 29”);
in order to achieve a more effective thermal coupling between the thermal heat sink and the cooling target (Par. 0094).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoshizumi in view of Kehret as further suggested by Robinson e.g., providing:
wherein the optical transceiver cover is attached to the module cover and the module base by one or more screws;
in order to achieve a more effective thermal coupling between the optical transceiver cover and the module base.
As to Claim 7 (as best understood), the obvious modification of Yoshizumi in view of Kehret and Robinson does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a torque force applied to the one or more screws is 5 inch pounds.
However, Robinson further discloses:
wherein a torque force applied to the one or more screws (29 of Robinson) is a specific range or value (Par. 0094 “by using a torque screw, a user can control of the amount of torque applied to ensure that tightening is sufficient but not excessive”; “A further advantage of using torque screws is that, as the torque can be set to a specific value or range, it is possible to effect a mounting with a specific tightening force profile across the removable arms of the device”);
in order to ensure that tightening is sufficient but not excessive (Par. 0094).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoshizumi in view of Kehret and Robinson as further suggested by Robinson e.g., providing:
wherein a torque force applied to the one or more screws is 5 inch pounds;
in order to ensure that tightening is sufficient but not excessive.
Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. It has also been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable (e.g., the torque value of the screw for effective heat dissipation) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456; 105 USPQ 233.
Additionally, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable (e.g., the torque value of the screw for effective heat dissipation) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As to Claim 8, the obvious modification of Yoshizumi in view of Kehret and Robinson discloses:
wherein four screws (4 screws 29 of Robinson) are used to attach the optical transceiver cover (38 of Yoshizumi) to the module cover (top of 34) and the module base (bottom of 34 of Yoshizumi).
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizumi (US 9470862 B2) in view of Kehret (US 20120020017 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Szczesny (US 20130033821 A1).
As to Claim 9, the obvious modification of Yoshizumi in view of Kehret discloses:
wherein the optical transceiver cover (38 of Yoshizumi) is attached to the module cover (top of 34) and the module base (bottom of 34) by one or more guide pins (43-1, 43-2 connect 38 to 34, wherein top and bottom of 34 are connected, col. 7, Lines 13-24 “guide pins 43-1 and 43-2 are provided, on the top surface of the heat transfer plate 34, on both end portions of the heat transfer plate 34 which exclude the region where the substrate 35 is arranged. The guide pins 43-1 and 43-2 are provided to rise from the top surface of the heat transfer plate 34. The guide pins 43-1 and 43-2 are longer than the separation distance from the top surface of the substrate 35 to the top surfaces of the cages 36-1 to 36-6… an insertion hole 44-1 into which the guide pin 43-1 is inserted is provided in the pedestal portion 40-1. An insertion hole 44-2 into which the guide pin 43-2 is inserted is provided in the pedestal portion 40-2”; Yoshizumi).
Yoshizumi and Kehret do not disclose:
wherein the optical transceiver cover is attached to the module cover and the module base by one or more latches.
However, Szczesny discloses:
wherein the optical transceiver cover (heat sink 36, Fig. 1) is attached to the module cage 34 by one or more latches (Par. 0022 “In addition or alternative to the mounting clips 56, the mounting features 60, the mounting features 62, and/or the snap-fit connection, the heat sink 36 may be mounted to cage 34 using any other structure, means, fasteners, and/or the like, such as, but not limited to, using a threaded fastener, another type of non-threaded fastener, an interference fit, a latch, and/or the like”);
in order to provide a secure connection between the heat sink and cage (Par. 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoshizumi in view of Kehret as further suggested by Szczesny e.g., providing:
wherein the optical transceiver cover is attached to the module cover and the module base by one or more latches;
in order to provide a secure connection between the optical transceiver cover and module cover and base.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dogruoz (US 20200229321 A1), Bulman-Fleming (US 20050195571 A1) and Mistry (US 6884937 B1) disclose cooling for a plurality of pluggable modules.
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841