Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 15-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Wolfe (US 2012/1030677).
Regarding claim 1, Wolfe discloses a method of forming blow-molded containers (abstract, [0021]), the method comprising: training a predictive model (validate a model relating blow molder input parameters and material distribution, [0065], Fig. 16), implemented by a control system that comprises at least one processor (processor 142, [0065]), to generate blow molder operating parameters for a blow molder based on inputs to the model (production tolerance as input, and associated control parameters as operating parameters, particularly if changed as part of validating the model, [0065], Fig. 16), wherein the inputs comprise one or more container characteristics and current operating parameters for the blow molder (material distribution and control parameters, [0065-67], Fig. 16); after training the predictive model, forming, with the blow molder, blow-molded containers from preforms ([0026-27] [0066]), wherein forming the blow-molded containers comprises: sensing, by one or more sensors, the current operating parameters for the blow molder during formation of blow-molded containers ([0065-67], Fig. 16); inspecting, by an inspection system (inspection system 50, [0029], Figs. 2-3), blow-molded containers after formation by the blow molder to determine the one or more container characteristics for the blow-molded containers ([0068-69]);
wherein forming the blow-molded containers comprises: sensing, by one or more sensors, the current operating parameters for the blow molder during formation of blow-molded containers ([0065-67]); inspecting, by an inspection system, blow-molded containers after formation by the blow molder to determine the one or more container characteristics for the blow-molded containers ([0065-69]); determining, by the control system, updated blow molder operating parameters for the blow molder based on the predictive model, the current operating parameters for the blow molder, and the one or more container characteristics determined by the inspection system ([0066]); outputting, by the control system, the updated blow molder operating parameters to the blow molder ([0066]); and applying, by the blow molder, the updated blow molder operating parameters in the formation of the blow-molded containers from the preforms ([0066]).
Regarding claim 2, Wolfe discloses wherein forming the blow-molded containers further comprises: heating, by the blow molder, the preforms ([0026]); and stretching, by the blow molder, the preforms by blowing fluid into the preforms to stretch the preforms to form the containers ([0027]).
Regarding claim 3, Wolfe discloses wherein the fluid comprises air ([0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Wolfe discloses wherein: stretching the preforms comprises a pre-blow of the preforms (pre-blow referenced in [0063]), stretching of the preforms by a stretching rod (core rod, [0027]), and a high-pressure blow of the preforms (stretched using air, [0027]); and the updated blow molder operating parameters output by the control system and applied by the blow molder comprise: an updated pre-blow pressure level for the pre-blow of the preforms ([0063]); an updated high-pressure blow pressure level for the high-pressure blow for the preforms ([0063]); and an updated blow timing ([0063]).
Regarding claim 5, Wolfe discloses wherein the updated blow molder operating parameters output by the control system and applied by the blow molder comprise further a temperature set point for the preforms (temperature of preform oven 2, [0056]).
Regarding claim 6, Wolfe discloses wherein the one or more container characteristics for the blow-molded containers determined by the inspection system comprise a material distribution profile of the blow-molded containers (abstract, [0055] [0063-67]).
Regarding claim 7, Wolfe discloses wherein the one or more container characteristics for the blow-molded containers determined by the inspection system comprise two or more average 2-wall thickness measurements for the blow-molded containers ([0021] [0023] [0029]).
Regarding claim 8, Wolfe discloses wherein the inspection system comprises: two or more light sensors ([0023]); and two or more light sources ([0022]), wherein: each of the two or more light sensors is paired with one of the two or more light sources([0022-23); each of the two or more light sources emit light energy at first and second wavelengths ([0022]); the containers absorb more of the light energy at the first wavelength than at the second wavelength ([0022]); and the containers, after formation, pass between, on a first side of the containers, the two or more light sensors and, on a second side of the containers, the two or more light sources ([0022-23]).
Regarding claim 9, Wolfe discloses wherein the inspection system further comprises a camera for capturing images of the containers ([0059]).
Regarding claim 10, Wolfe discloses wherein the one or more container characteristics for the blow-molded containers determined by the inspection system comprise a mass of the blow-molded containers ([0023] [0029]).
Regarding claim 11, Wolfe discloses wherein the one or more container characteristics for the blow-molded containers determined by the inspection system comprise a volume of the blow-molded containers ([0023] [0029]).
Regarding claim 15, Wolfe discloses wherein the predictive model comprises a regression model ([0065] [0067]).
Regarding claim 16, Wolfe discloses wherein training the predictive model comprises training the predictive model to (A) minimize a difference between (i) the one or more container characteristics for the blow-molded containers determined by the inspection system and (ii) target container characteristics for the blow-molded containers (model validated if correlation is greater than predetermined value, approaching production tolerance, [0065]), while (B) minimizing a difference between (i) the updated blow molder operating parameters and (ii) current operating parameters for the blow molder (model validated if correlation is greater than predetermined value, approaching production tolerance, [0065]).
Regarding claim 17, Wolfe discloses wherein the updated blow molder operating parameters comprises changes to the current operating parameters of the blow molder ([0065]).
Regarding claim 19, Wolfe discloses updating the predictive model to obtain an updated predictive model ([0065-66], Fig. 16); and after obtaining the updated predictive model, forming, by the blow molder, blow-molded containers from preforms using the updated predictive model (Fig. 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfe (US 2012/1030677) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fuhrer (US 2013/0037996) and Haesendonckx (US 2011/0260350).
Regarding claim 12, Wolfe teaches a method substantially as claimed. Wolfe does not disclose wherein the one or more sensors for sensing the current operating parameters for the blow molder during formation of blow-molded containers comprise one or more blow molder temperature sensors for sensing temperatures from the blow molder, such that the updated blow molder operating parameters for the blow molder determined by the control system are based in part on the temperatures from the blow molder.
However, in the same field of endeavor of blow molding with strict process requirements (abstract), Fuhrer teaches wherein the one or more sensors for sensing the current operating parameters for the blow molder during formation of blow-molded containers comprise one or more blow molder temperature sensors for sensing temperatures from the blow molder ([0027])
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor of blow molding and modeling thereof (abstract), Haesendonckx teaches wherein the one or more sensors for sensing the current operating parameters for the blow molder during formation of blow-molded containers comprise one or more blow molder temperature sensors for sensing temperatures from the blow molder (modeling blow mold temperature, [0019]), such that the updated blow molder operating parameters for the blow molder determined by the control system are based in part on the temperatures from the blow molder ([0019]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Wolfe to include temperature sensors in the blow molds and updating blow molder operating parameters based on data measured by such sensors because [0027] of Fuhrer teaches such sensors and [0019] of Haesendonckx teaches that blow molding temperature is a desired influencing factor in a simulation model for automatic control of the blowing operation.
Regarding claim 13, Wolfe as modified teaches wherein the one or more blow molder temperature sensors comprise one or more pyrometers (Fuhrer does not teach the type of temperature sensors, but it would have been obvious for them to by pyrometers because [0012] of Haesendonckx teaches that pyrometers can be used to measure temperatures in blow molding apparatuses).
Regarding claim 14, Wolfe discloses wherein: the blow molder comprises a plurality of molds ([0027]). Wolfe does not disclose the one or more sensors for sensing the current operating parameters for the blow molder during formation of blow-molded containers comprise one or more mold temperature sensors for sensing temperatures from the plurality of molds of the blow molder, such that the updated blow molder operating parameters for the blow molder determined by the control system are based in part on the temperatures from the plurality of molds of the blow molder.
However, in the same field of endeavor of blow molding with strict process requirements (abstract), Fuhrer teaches the one or more sensors for sensing the current operating parameters for the blow molder during formation of blow-molded containers comprise one or more mold temperature sensors for sensing temperatures from the plurality of molds of the blow molder ([0027])
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor of blow molding and modeling thereof (abstract), Haesendonckx teaches the one or more sensors for sensing the current operating parameters for the blow molder during formation of blow-molded containers comprise one or more mold temperature sensors for sensing temperatures from the plurality of molds of the blow molder (modeling blow mold temperature, [0019]), such that the updated blow molder operating parameters for the blow molder determined by the control system are based in part on the temperatures from the plurality of molds of the blow molder ([0019]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Wolfe to include temperature sensors in each blow mold and updating blow molder operating parameters based on data measured by such sensors because [0027] of Fuhrer teaches such sensors and [0019] of Haesendonckx teaches that blow molding temperature is a desired influencing factor in a simulation model for automatic control of the blowing operation.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfe (US 2012/1030677) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Haner (US 2015/0037518).
Regarding claim 18, Wolfe teaches a method substantially as claimed. Wolfe does not disclose wherein training the predictive model comprises training the predictive model periodically during operation of the blow molder.
However, in the same field of endeavor of blow molding with strict process requirements (abstract), Haner teaches wherein training the predictive model comprises training the predictive model periodically during operation of the blow molder ([0025]; note that this teaching is also in [0052] of the foreign priority document for Haner).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Wolfe to train the model periodically because [0025] of Haner teaches that periodic testing and updating maximizes documentation of production and product quality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Haesendonckx (US 8,758,670) teaches subject matter similar to Haesendonckx (US 2011/0260350), cited above. Fuhrer (US 9,266,275) teaches subject matter similar to Fuhrer (US 2013/0037996), cited above.
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744