DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 9, line 2, “a second cam surfaces” is recited. The term “surfaces” should likely be “surface” as discussed in instant specification [0022]. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read “a second cam surface”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 1, lines 8-9, “a cut-out trigger configured to activate the disengaged configuration of the main power contact when the appliance cycle finishes” is recited. The claimed subject matter “when the appliance cycle finishes” is not enabled by the specification. Instant specification paragraphs [0006; 0025] only state it is part of the configuration of the cut-out trigger. While it is understood how cut-out trigger 102 disengages the main power contact, the structure is causing the trigger to operate at the end of the appliance cycle is not discussed. The specification discusses signals and triggers [0007; 0034-0035; 0039-0040] but does not discuss end of cycle sensors, signals, or triggers sent to operate the cut-out trigger. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read “a cut-out trigger configured to activate the disengaged configuration of the main power contact”.
Regarding claims 2-13, they are rejected because they pend from claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, lines 8-9, “a cut-out trigger configured to activate the disengaged configuration of the main power contact when the appliance cycle finishes” is recited. The claimed subject matter “when the appliance cycle finishes” is not enabled by the specification. Instant specification paragraphs [0006; 0025] only state it is part of the configuration of the cut-out trigger. While it is understood how cut-out trigger 102 disengages the main power contact, the structure is causing the trigger to operate at the end of the appliance cycle is not discussed. The specification discusses signals and triggers [0007; 0034-0035; 0039-0040] but does not discuss end of cycle sensors, signals, or triggers sent to operate the cut-out trigger. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read “a cut-out trigger configured to activate the disengaged configuration of the main power contact”
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, line 2, “the first position” is recited. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 3, lines 2-3, recites “a first position” and claim 5 does not pend from claim 3. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read “a first position”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lavreneie, WO 2013181289 A1 (Note: given page numbers are located at the bottom of the pages and not the number of the page in the electronic document).
Regarding claim 1, Lavreneie teaches a door locking device for a door of a household appliance (door-lock 10; [Abstract]), comprising:
a door sensing contact (bistable switch 50) having an engaged configuration and a disengaged configuration (page 5, second paragraph discusses 50 having open and closed positions);
a sensing pin (door sensing pin 68) configured to activate the disengaged configuration of the door sensing contact when the door is opened (page 5, last paragraph-page 6, first paragraph discusses 68 activating and deactivating 50);
a main power contact (first electric contact N) having an engaged configuration and a disengaged configuration (page 6, first and second paragraphs discuss N being connected and disconnected);
a cut-out trigger (lateral tab 90) configured to activate the disengaged configuration of the main power contact (see claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) of claim 1; page 8, last paragraph-page 9, first paragraph discusses the movement of 90 abutting 52 and triggering 54 to make a power connection);
a cut-out pin (safety pin 86) configured to disengage the main power contact and the door sensing contact when the door is forcibly opened (page 8, last paragraph discusses 86 breaking 54 contact with 48 in the event of a forcible opening which breaks the hook or rotary cam); and
a locking pin (locking element 30) moveable between a door-locked and a door-unlocked position (page 4, third paragraph discusses 30 being retracted and extracted positions thereby locking slider 16).
Regarding claim 2, Lavreneie teaches the door locking device of claim 1 further comprising a coupling member (rocker lever 74), which is operably engageable with the cut-out trigger (90) and the locking pin (30; 74 engages 52, 90 is connected to 52, and 30 engages 62 of 52; all joined for combined effect thereby meeting the Merriam-Webster definition 1b for couple and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term), such that when the locking pin is in the door-unlocked position (Figs 3-7), the cut-out trigger activates the disengaged configuration of the main power contact (N; Fig 5 depicts main power disengaged by the position of 90).
Regarding claim 5, Lavreneie teaches the door locking device of claim 2 wherein the cut-out trigger (90) further comprises a leg (Figs 3; 5 depict 90 to be structured as a leg) and wherein when the coupling member is in a first position (see claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claim 5; 74; Figs 9;10 depicts 74 to be in a first position), the leg arrests the sensing pin such that if the door is attempted to be opened while the coupling member is in the first position (movement from Figs 4;5 to Figs 9;10 depicts the door locking and page 8, last paragraph-page 9, first paragraphs discusses 90 allowing 54 to contact 48, effectively deactivating 68 which is structured to break such an electrical contact thereby meeting the Merriam-Webster definition 2c of inactive and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term), the door sensing contact (50) remains in the engaged configuration and the main power contact (N) remains in the engaged configuration (Figs 9;10 depicts the apparatus in the locked position therefore 50 and N are engaged; page 6, second paragraph-page 8, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, Lavreneie teaches the door locking device of claim 2 wherein the coupling member (74) comprises a first cam surface (end portion 78) which engages with the locking pin (30; Fig 7 depicts 78 engaged with 52 and 52 engages with 30) .
Regarding claim 9, Lavreneie teaches the door locking device of claim 2 wherein the coupling member (74) comprises a second cam surface (see claim interpretation under claim 9 Claim Objection (end portion 78) which engages with the cut-out trigger (90; Fig 3 depicts 78 of 76 engaging with 52 and 90).
Regarding claim 12, Lavreneie teaches the door locking device of claim 1 wherein the cut-out pin (86) is configured to engage with a cam surface of the door or a cam surface of a safety slider cooperating with the door as the door is opened to disengage the main power contact (Fig 5 depicts 86 engaged with a cam surface of slider 81 which cooperates with hook 18 mounted on the appliance door).
Regarding claim 13, Lavreneie teaches a household appliance [Abstract] comprising the door locking device of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Lavreneie teaches a door locking device for a door of a household appliance (door-lock 10; [Abstract]), comprising:
a door sensing contact (bistable switch 50) having an engaged configuration and a disengaged configuration (page 5, second paragraph discusses 50 having open and closed positions);
a sensing pin (door sensing pin 68) configured to activate the disengaged configuration of the door sensing contact when the door is opened (page 5, last paragraph-page 6, first paragraph discusses 68 activating and deactivating 50);
a main power contact (first electric contact N) having an engaged configuration and a disengaged configuration (page 6, first and second paragraphs discuss N being connected and disconnected);
a cut-out trigger (lateral tab 90) configured to activate the disengaged configuration of the main power contact (see claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) of claim 14; page 8, last paragraph-page 9, first paragraph discusses the movement of 90 abutting 52 and triggering 54 to make a power connection);
a cut-out pin (safety pin 86) configured to disengage the main power contact and the door sensing contact when the door is opened (page 8, last paragraph discusses 86 breaking 54 contact with 48 in the event of an opening which breaks the hook or rotary cam);
a locking pin (locking element 30) moveable between a door-locked and a door-unlocked position (page 4, third paragraph discusses 30 being retracted and extracted positions thereby locking slider 16); and
wherein the cut-out trigger further comprises a leg (Figs 3; 5 depict 90 to be structured as a leg) which is configured to arrest the sensing pin when the door is locked (movement from Figs 4;5 to Figs 9;10 depicts the door locking and page 8, last paragraph-page 9, first paragraphs discusses 90 allowing 54 to contact 48, effectively deactivating 68 which is structured to break such an electrical contact thereby meeting the Merriam-Webster definition 2c of inactive and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, and 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, while Lavreneie teaches it is known in the art for a door locking device to further comprise an electromagnetic driving mechanism (electromagnetic actuator 34) adapted to actuate the coupling member (74) between a first position (Fig 12 depicts the first position to be the closed door locked position of 30 where 16 has cammed 68 upward causing 74 to pivot counterclockwise) and a second position (Fig 7 depicts the second position to be the open door unlocked position of 30 where 68 has cammed downward causing 74 to pivot clockwise), one of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to modify Lavreneie as claimed in the instant application wherein in the first position the coupling member urges the locking pin into the door-locked position and urges the cut-out trigger away from the main power contact; without the use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the references.
Regarding claims 4, 6, 7, 10, and 11 are allowable because they pend from claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art for door lock mechanisms.
Spiessl, US 20080106105 A1, teaches a door lock for the door of a household appliance with a cut-out trigger operably engaged with a main power contact and a locking pin.
Kasack et al., US 9217217 B2, teaches a door-locking device for a household appliance with door sensing and main power contacts operably engaged with a locking pin.
Choi, US 10829881 B2, teaches a door lock device for washing machine with a door sensing pin.
Oton, WO 2013151964 A1, teaches a door locking device with integrated door sensing switch.
/STEVEN A TULLIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3675