2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
CLAIM OBJECTION
5. Claims 2, 12 & 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 3 is also objected since claim 3 depends on claim 2. Interpreting the claims in light of the specification, examiner finds the claimed invention is patentably distinct from the prior art of record. The prior art does not expressly teach or render obvious the invention as recited in the claim.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8-11, 13, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (Pub No. 2023/0325050) and further in view of Lee et al (Pub No. 2016/0085266).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al discloses an electronic device comprising: a display (Fig. 3 & 10),; a communication module; memory storing one or more computer programs; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the communication module, the display, and the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (Fig. 1 & Para. 58), cause the electronic device to: perform a connection with an external electronic device including a flexible display extendable in one or more directions (Para. 86- 87: Flexible display 151 extendable D1 direction & Fig. 2-3) (Para. 59: Mobile device 100 can be connected to another mobile terminal), display an indicator for resizing the flexible display on at least a portion of the display based on the user input (Para. 92-96: Flexible display reshape/ resize based on user touch/ pressure/ deformation detection) & (Para. 127 & 180 & 204) and control to display the object on the resized flexible display based on an input selecting the indicator (Para. 25 & 85-86: Enlarger flexible display based on user selection) & (Para. 113 & 216 & 223).
Kim et al discloses does not explicitly discloses identify a user input for displaying the object on the display of the external electronic device.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee et al discloses identify a user input for displaying the object on the display of the external electronic device (Para. 229-232: Preview image output by the photograph device based on user gesture input) & (Para. 213: Gesture control identify[Wingdings font/0xE0] display preview image) & (Fig. 3: S303 gesture input & S305 receive photo & Para. 176-177).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the item sending and displaying system of Lee’s disclosure with the flexible screen controlling system, as taught by Kim. Doing so would have resulted in effectively sending selected items from one device to another device and control display unit based on the user input requirements.
Regarding claim 8 & 17, Kim discloses identify an extending direction of the flexible display based on the user input, and display the indicator including an item indicating the extending direction on at least a portion of the display in response to identifying the extending direction of the flexible display (Fig. 2: extending D1 direction on a portion of the display screen & enlarge display based on application user input & Para. 25 & 86).
Regarding claim 4 & 13, Kim discloses the electronic device to control to display an indicator for extending the flexible display on at least a portion of the display corresponding to a direction (Fig. 2-3: extending the flexible display to a direction D1).
Kim is silent regarding extending the display to a direction toward the external electronic device. Examiner taking official notice that extending display direction can be towards another device since neighboring device can locate around a device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the display expansion system to provide large screen display for user convenience.
Regarding claim 9 & 18, Kim discloses identify an attribute of the object (Para. 180: object-recent use app); resize the object to correspond to a size of the extended flexible display based on the attribute of the object (Para. 180-183 & 185: application layout based on the screen size); and control to display an application execution screen corresponding to the resized object on the extended flexible display (Para. 185-188: control the display for application).
Regarding claim 10, Kim is silent regarding device to identify at least one of a position, a direction, or a placed state of the external electronic device while performing the connection with the external electronic device.
Lee discloses device to identify at least one of a position, a direction, or a placed state of the external electronic device while performing the connection with the external electronic device (Fig. 14-15) (Para. 66-67: device position determined & Para. 161: Device direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device location and direction to connect multiple device securely to transfer data between devices.
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al discloses method comprising perform a connection with an external electronic device including a flexible display extendable in one or more directions (Para. 86- 87: Flexible display 151 extendable D1 direction & Fig. 2-3) (Para. 59: Mobile device 100 can be connected to another mobile terminal),
display an indicator for resizing the flexible display on at least a portion of the display based on the user input (Para. 92-96: Flexible display reshape/ resize based on user touch/ pressure/ deformation detection) & (Para. 127 & 180 & 204) and control to display the object on the resized flexible display based on an input selecting the indicator (Para. 25 & 85-86: Enlarger flexible display based on user selection) & (Para. 113 & 216 & 223).
Kim et al discloses does not explicitly discloses identify a user input for displaying the object on the display of the external electronic device.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee et al discloses method performed by an electronic device to share a screen with an external electronic device (Fig. 5: Photograph device share screen with mobile terminal & Para. 261) and identify a user input for displaying the object on the display of the external electronic device (Para. 229-232: Preview image output by the photograph device based on user gesture input) & (Para. 213: Gesture control identify[Wingdings font/0xE0] display preview image) & (Fig. 3: S303 gesture input & S305 receive photo & Para. 176-177).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the item sending and displaying system of Lee’s disclosure with the flexible screen controlling system, as taught by Kim. Doing so would have resulted in effectively sending selected items from one device to another device and control display unit based on the user input requirements.
Regarding claim 19, Kim et al discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions configured to, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device (Fig. 1), individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform at least one operation, the at least one operation comprising: perform a connection with an external electronic device including a flexible display extendable in one or more directions (Para. 86- 87: Flexible display 151 extendable D1 direction & Fig. 2-3) (Para. 59: Mobile device 100 can be connected to another mobile terminal), display an indicator for resizing the flexible display on at least a portion of the display based on the user input (Para. 92-96: Flexible display reshape/ resize based on user touch/ pressure/ deformation detection) & (Para. 127 & 180 & 204) and control to display the object on the resized flexible display based on an input selecting the indicator (Para. 25 & 85-86: Enlarger flexible display based on user selection) & (Para. 113 & 216 & 223).
Kim et al discloses does not explicitly discloses identify a user input for displaying the object on the display of the external electronic device.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee et al discloses identify a user input for displaying the object on the display of the external electronic device (Para. 229-232: Preview image output by the photograph device based on user gesture input) & (Para. 213: Gesture control identify [Wingdings font/0xE0] display preview image) & (Fig. 3: S303 gesture input & S305 receive photo & Para. 176-177).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the item sending and displaying system of Lee’s disclosure with the flexible screen controlling system, as taught by Kim. Doing so would have resulted in effectively sending selected items from one device to another device and control display unit based on the user input requirements.
Claims 5-7 & 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (Pub No. 2023/0325050), in view of Lee et al (Pub No. 2016/0085266) and further in view of CAO et al (Pub No. 2022/0342850).
Regarding claim 5 & 14, Kim is silent regarding the user input for displaying on the display of the external electronic device includes a drag movement for the object toward an edge of the display corresponding to a direction toward the external electronic device.
CAO discloses the user input for displaying on the display of the external electronic device includes a drag movement for the object toward an edge of the display corresponding to a direction toward the external electronic device (Para. 4 & 22: Drag and drop images).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use drag and drop operation to transfer image data between devices properly.
Regarding claim 6 & 15, Kim is silent regarding the input selecting the indicator includes the user input to move the object onto or adjacent to the indicator.
CAO discloses the input selecting the indicator includes the user input to move the object onto or adjacent to the indicator (Para. 4 & 22: Drag and drop object from one device to another device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use drag and drop operation to transfer image data between devices properly.
Regarding claim 7 & 16, Kim discloses the electronic device to control to display an application execution screen corresponding to the object on the flexible display not extended, based on the user input to move out of the indicator (Para. 25: Reduced display mode includes receiving a first signal for outputting a recently used application list).
Prior art do not rely upon/ Other Prior Art
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Those prior art generally close to the inventive concept.
Deleporte (US 11997805) discloses expandable touch screen display devices each having a flexible display that can be reconfigured from a compact state to an expanded state can be controlled wirelessly and through machine learning algorithms.
Kang (US 2011/0080356) discloses displaying an execution picture of the first application and an execution notification indicator of the second application, receive a touch and drag action from the execution notification indicator of the second application to the execution picture of the first application, displaying information provided by the second application during the touch and drag action.
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648