DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to the Amendment to Application # 18/920,363 filed on August 6, 2026 in which claims 1 and 6 were amended and claim 5 was cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 C.F.R. § 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on August 6, 2026 has been entered.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are pending, which are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Title of the Invention
37 C.F.R. § 1.72(a) states: “The title of the invention may not exceed 500 characters in length and must be as short and specific as possible” (emphasis added). Thus, the title of the invention is not sufficiently descriptive.
A new title is required that is more clearly and more specifically indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
It is the examiner’s duty to give claims “their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” See MPEP § 2111, citing Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 75 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Further, if the specification is silent to the meaning of claim terminology, “words of the claim must be given their plain meaning.” See MPEP § 2111.01.
Here, the present claims refer to a “work site.” The specification does not appear to address the meaning of this term. Therefore, the plain and ordinary meaning must be used. As is present understood, a “work site” is the area where work occurs. (Worksite Definition, yourdictionary.com, December 2, 2022, Page 1). Thus, within the scope of the claims, the work site shall be interpreted to be the area immediately surrounding the vehicle where the vehicle is currently or could immediately perform work.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa, US Publication 2026/0009910 (hereinafter Yuasa), as cited on the Notice of References Cited dated May 22, 2026, in view of Uchida et al., US Publication 2015/0130219 (hereinafter Uchida).
Regarding claim 1, Yuasa discloses a work vehicle including a device that receives positional information in a work site (Yuasa Abstract) comprising “a steering section for steering the vehicle” (Yuasa ¶ 39, Fig. 3) by disclosing a steering system inside the cabin, making that area a steering section of the vehicle. Additionally, Yuasa discloses “a driver’s seat disposed in the steering section” (Yuasa ¶ 35, Fig. 3) by disclosing operator’s seat 10. Further, Yuasa discloses “a correction information terminal comprising a housing, a display, and an antenna” (Yuasa Fig. 4) which shows a display screen inside a display (i.e., a housing) and an antenna. Moreover, Yuasa discloses “the antenna configured to receive correction information for correcting the positional information from a fixed base station located outside the work site” (Yuasa ¶¶ 42, 44, 63) where the antenna 22 receives positional information (Yuasa ¶ 44), which may be from the base station (Yuasa ¶ 42) and the base stations may be installed at (i.e., inside) or around (i.e., outside) the agricultural field. (Yuasa ¶ 63). Likewise, Yuasa discloses “the correction information based on a difference between a predetermined reference position of the fixed base station and a subsequent positional information of the fixed base station” (Yuasa ¶ 44) by using RTK, which a person of ordinary skill in the art understands to operate by using the difference between a known location of the base station and a location of the base station calculated from GNSS satellite data. (What is Real Time Kinematics?, Everythingrf.com, July 27, 2020, Page 2). Finally, Yuasa discloses “wherein the display is configured to display an operation state of the correction information terminal.” (Yuasa ¶ 143).
Although Yuasa discloses the existence of the correction information terminal, it does not explicitly state its location and, therefore, does not appear to explicitly disclose “the correction information terminal disposed below the driver's seat such that the display is below the driver's seat.”
However, Uchida a work vehicle (Uchida Abstract) comprising “a steering section for steering the vehicle; a driver's seat disposed in the steering section.” (Uchida ¶ 58, Fig. 11). Additionally, Uchida discloses “a correction information terminal comprising a housing [and] a display” (Uchida ¶ 64) by disclosing that the monitor 131 is mounted in panel part body 150, making that a housing. Finally, Uchida discloses “the correction information terminal disposed below the driver's seat such that the display is below the driver's seat” (Uchida ¶ 69) by disclosing that the “the display screen of the monitor 131 [is] arranged outside and below driver’s seat 112.”
Yuasa and Uchida are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of work vehicles including displays.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yuasa and Uchida before him or her to modify the display of Yuasa to be located in the steering section and below the driver’s seat, as disclosed by Uchida.
The motivation/rationale for doing so would have been that of applying a known technique to a known device. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (U.S. 2007) and MPEP § 2143(I)(D). Yuasa teaches the “base device” for a work machine including a display unit. Further, Uchida teaches the “known technique” for placing a display unit in a work machine such that it is below the driver’s seat that is applicable to the base device of Yuasa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system because such a modification would have merely required moving the display unit.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yuasa and Uchida discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Yuasa and Uchida discloses “a cabin that covers the steering section, wherein the correction information terminal is disposed inside the cabin” (Uchida ¶ 88, Fig. 15) where the steering section, including the display, is shown to be disposed inside the cabin.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yuasa and Uchida discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 2 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Yuasa and Uchida discloses “wherein the correction information terminal is disposed such that display of the operation state is viewable from an outside of the cabin” (Uchida ¶¶ 53-54) by disclosing the presence of left and right-side windows, which would allow a person to view the display from outside the cabin.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yuasa and Uchida discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 2 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Yuasa and Uchida discloses “wherein the cabin has an open/close door for getting in and getting out of the steering section” (Yuasa Fig. 3) where doors are shown in Fig. 3. Further, the combination of Yuasa and Uchida discloses “the correction information terminal is disposed such that the operation state is viewable from an outside of the cabin through the open/close door in a closed state” (Uchida ¶¶ 53-54) by disclosing the presence of left and right-side windows, which would allow a person to view the display from outside the cabin.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yuasa and Uchida discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Yuasa and Uchida discloses “wherein the correction information terminal is configured to display the operation state of the correction information terminal on the display by a light emitting mode of a light emitter” (Uchida ¶88) where the display may be an LED or LCD display, which are known to those of ordinary skill in the art to work in this manner.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa in view of Uchida, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Miura et al., US Patent 8,730,055 (hereinafter Miura).1
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yuasa and Uchida discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Yuasa and Uchida discloses “the correction information terminal is disposed in a driver's seat support portion that supports the driver's seat” (Uchida Fig. 17) where the display is part of an apparatus that is shown attached (i.e., disposed) below the driver’s seat as part of the seat support potion.
The combination of Yuasa and Uchida does not appear to explicitly disclose “reset operation portion for resetting a state of the correction information terminal” or “the reset operation portion is disposed in the driver's seat support portion.”
However, Miura discloses a work vehicle including “a reset operation portion for resetting a state of the correction information terminal” (Miura col. 13, l. 59-col. 14, l. 10) where button SW5 switches the LCD display, which is resetting the state of the display within the plain and ordinary meaning of the term. Additionally, Miura discloses “the reset operation portion is disposed in the driver's seat support portion” (Miura Fig. 2) where Miura Fig. 2 shows that display 43, which includes the reset button as discussed above, is connected to right steering stand 22, which is shown to be part of the driver’s seat support portion.
Yuasa, Uchida, and Miura are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of work machines.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yuasa, Uchida, and Miura before him or her to modify the display of Yuasa and Uchida to include the ability to change the display of Miura.
The motivation/rationale for doing so would have been that of applying a known technique to a known device. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (U.S. 2007) and MPEP § 2143(I)(D). The combination of Yuasa and Uchida teaches the “base device” of a work machine including a display for correcting positional information. Further, Miura teaches the “known technique” for including on a display of a work machine a button to change the display state that is applicable to the base device of Yuasa and Uchida. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system because such a modification would have allowed the display to show other useful information when it was not needed for correcting the vehicle’s position.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yuasa, Uchida, and Miura discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 6 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Yuasa, Uchida, and Miura discloses “ wherein the reset operation portion is disposed below the correction information terminal” (Miura Fig. 8) where button SW5 is shown below the terminal.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa in view of Uchida, as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of Feng, US Publication 2015/0015466 (hereinafter Feng), as cited on the Notice of References Cited dated May 22, 2026.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yuasa and Uchida discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 8 for the reasons discussed above. Although the combination of Yuasa and Uchida discloses the presence of LED and LCD displays, it does not explicitly disclose the number of colors that are used on these displays and, therefore, does not appear to explicitly disclose “wherein the light emitter is configured to display the operation state of the correction information terminal on the display by light emission in a plurality of light emission colors.”
However, Feng discloses that color OLED displays are well-known in the art “wherein the light emitter is configured to display the operation state of the correction information terminal on the display by light emission in a plurality of light emission colors” (Feng ¶ 18) where each pixel includes a first, second, and third color sub-pixel.
Yuasa, Uchida, and Feng are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of display technology.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yuasa, Uchida, and Feng before him or her to modify the OLED display of Yuasa and Uchida to include the use of multiple colors on an OLED display of Yuasa.
The motivation for doing so would have been that the display of Feng provides improved “accuracy and yield of evaporation and image resolution.” (Feng Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yuasa, Uchida, and Feng discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 9 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Yuasa, Uchida, and Feng discloses “wherein the display includes a plurality of light emitters arranged in a horizontal line at a predetermined interval” (Feng. ¶ 18 and Fig. 1(a)) where the organic light emitting diodes are spaced by a second interval in the horizontal direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s request filed August 6, 2026, to hold the objection to the title in abeyance (Remarks 4) have been noted.
Applicant’s arguments filed August 6, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 (Remarks 4-7) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Yuasa and Uchida.
Conclusion
/ANDREW R DYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662
1 Although the Miura reference was initially cited in the Final Rejection dated May 22, 2026, it appears to have been inadvertently omitted from the Notice of References Cited that accompanied that action. It is, therefore, being included with the present Notice of References Cited.