DETAILED ACTION
Applicant filed a communication dated 5/18/2026 in which claims 1, 6-8, and 10 have been amended, claims 9 and 21-50 have been canceled and new claim 51 has been added. Thus, the claims 1-8, 10-20, and 51 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 51 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 51, line 7, the claim states “in some embodiments, the treatment includes” should be amended to state “and the treatment includes” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10-20, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 7-11, the claim recites “causes administration of an existing and/or new therapy to the subject”. The word “causes” is interpreted as an intended use language and is not given patentable weight. Examiner recommends amending the claim to positively recite administration of an existing and/or new therapy to the subject. Moreover, the scope of an existing and/or new therapy is unclear when “and” is in the embodiment. For example, one cannot have two therapies (existing and new) at the same time. The therapy is going to be either existing or new. With that interpretation, Examiner recommends amending the claim to state “existing or new therapy”. Furthermore, the scope of “new therapy” is unclear. The specification in [0008] states maintain or alter treatment. Examiner interprets “alter treatment” to be alter the existing treatment but may not mean completely new treatment. Thus, the scope of new as in “new treatment” is not supported by the disclosure of “alter the treatment”. Examiner recommends amending new treatment to alter treatment.
In claim 51, lines 1-2, the claim recites “causes administration of one or more agents”. The word “causes” is interpreted as an intended use language and is not given patentable weight. Examiner recommends amending the claim to positively recite administration of one or more agents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8, 10-20, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea to calculate a risk probability for a cardiac event for a subject without significantly more.
Claim 1 is directed to a method, which is one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
The claim 1 recites a series of steps, e.g., detecting methylation in at least one of a plurality of sites in nucleic acids in a cell-free DNA (cfDNA) sample from a subject; generating a plurality of methylation calls for each of the plurality of sites; determining one or more metrics from the methylation calls; and processing the one or more metrics to calculate a risk probability for a cardiac event for the subject, wherein the calculated risk probability causes administration of an existing and/or new therapy to the subject comprising one or more agents selected from the group consisting of: Letrozole, Palbociclib, Capecitabine, Tamoxifen, Trastuzumab, T-DM1, Pertuzumab, Adotrastuzumab emtansine Neratinib, Lapatinib, Tucatinib, Margetuximab, and Trastuzumab deruxtecan. These limitations describe the abstract idea to calculate a risk probability for a cardiac event for a subject which corresponds to a certain method of organizing human activity and hence are abstract in nature. The claim does not recite any additional elements. Thus, the claim 1 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 1: YES).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim does not recite any additional elements. Thus, the claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO).
The claim 1 does not include additional elements that amount to add significantly more (Step 2B: NO). Thus, the claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-20, and 51 further define the abstract idea that is present in the independent claim 1, thus correspond to a Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity and hence are abstract in nature. Dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the claims 2-8, 10-20, and 51 are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claims 1-8, 10-20, and 51 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-20 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lambert, WO2024/112893 in view of Kim et al., US Patent Application No. 2021/0389309 in view of Anastassiadis et al., US Patent Application No. 2023/0203510.
Regarding claim 1, Lambert discloses a method comprising:
detecting methylation in at least one of a plurality of sites in nucleic acids in a cell-free DNA (cfDNA) sample from a subject ([0004]-[0005], [0007], [0023]);
generating a plurality of methylation calls for each of the plurality of sites ([0237]);
determining one or more metrics from the methylation calls ([0138], [0237]); and
processing the one or more metrics to calculate a risk probability for a cardiac event for the subject ([0037], estimation of circulating tumor; [0073] recurrence risk; [0138], predicting a risk factor), wherein the calculated risk probability causes administration of an existing and/or new therapy to the subject comprising one or more agents selected from the group consisting of: Letrozole, Palbociclib, Capecitabine, Tamoxifen, Trastuzumab, T-DM1, Pertuzumab, Adotrastuzumab emtansine Neratinib, Lapatinib, Tucatinib, Margetuximab, and Trastuzumab deruxtecan.
Lambert does not disclose
a cardiac event;
wherein the calculated risk probability causes administration of an existing and/or new therapy to the subject comprising one or more agents selected from the group consisting of: Letrozole, Palbociclib, Capecitabine, Tamoxifen, Trastuzumab, T-DM1, Pertuzumab, Adotrastuzumab emtansine Neratinib, Lapatinib, Tucatinib, Margetuximab, and Trastuzumab deruxtecan.
However, Kim discloses
a cardiac event (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Lambert to include the above-noted disclosure of Kim. The motivation for combining these references would have been to determine the probability of a cardiac event.
Lambert and Kim do not disclose
wherein the calculated risk probability causes administration of an existing and/or new therapy to the subject comprising one or more agents selected from the group consisting of: Letrozole, Palbociclib, Capecitabine, Tamoxifen, Trastuzumab, T-DM1, Pertuzumab, Adotrastuzumab emtansine Neratinib, Lapatinib, Tucatinib, Margetuximab, and Trastuzumab deruxtecan.
However, Anastassiadis discloses
wherein the calculated risk probability causes administration of an existing and/or new therapy to the subject comprising one or more agents selected from the group consisting of: Letrozole, Palbociclib, Capecitabine, Tamoxifen, Trastuzumab, T-DM1, Pertuzumab, Adotrastuzumab emtansine Neratinib, Lapatinib, Tucatinib, Margetuximab, and Trastuzumab deruxtecan (Table 6, page 24, CYP2D6, tamoxifen response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Lambert and Kim to include the above-noted disclosure of Anastassiadis. The motivation for combining these references would have been to determine the cause of a cardiac event.
Regarding claim 2, Lambert discloses wherein the at least one of the plurality of sites comprises one or more genes selected from the group consisting of: SIX2, KBTBD8, TAFA4, EVC, NCA, SNCA-AS, ARAP4, NT5E, XPO1, XPO1, TMEM181, NRG1, DYDC2, CACUL1,00RF888, FAM, FAM222A, MIR9-3HG, BCKDK, MAPK7, AlG, CACNA1, MXRA7, ADCYAP1, EPOR, MAST1, DKKL1, PCSK2, CGB7, EMB, TGFBI, COX6B1, ZNF347, and DKKL1 ([0018], XP01).
Regarding claim 3, Lambert discloses wherein the at least one of the plurality of sites comprises one or more genes selected from the group consisting of: SIX2, KBTBD8, TAFA4, EVC, NCA, SNCA-AS, CGB7, EMB, TGFBI, COX6B1, ZNF347, and DKKL1 ([0018], ZNF217, ZNF703).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses wherein the cardiac event comprises one or more of: stroke, transient ischemic attack (TIA), myocardial infarction (MI), angina, transient ischemic attack (TIA), stroke, and acute coronary syndrome ([0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Lambert to include the above-noted disclosure of Kim. The motivation for combining these references would have been to determine the probability of a cardiac event.
Regarding claim 5, Anastassiadis discloses wherein the cardiac event is associated with cardiomyopathy selected from the group consisting of: dilated cardiomyopathy, hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, restrictive cardiomyopathy, and arrhythmogenic right ventricular dysplasia (Table 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Lambert and Kim to include the above-noted disclosure of Anastassiadis. The motivation for combining these references would have been to determine the cause of a cardiac event.
Regarding claim 6, Anastassiadis wherein the cardiac event comprises inherited cardiomyopathy (Table 6, hereditary).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Lambert and Kim to include the above-noted disclosure of Anastassiadis. The motivation for combining these references would have been to determine the cause of a cardiac event.
Regarding claim 7, Anastassiadis wherein the cardiac event comprises acquired cardiomyopathy (Table 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Lambert and Kim to include the above-noted disclosure of Anastassiadis. The motivation for combining these references would have been to determine the cause of a cardiac event.
Regarding claim 8, Anastassiadis discloses wherein the cardiac event is associated with an agent (Table 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Lambert and Kim to include the above-noted disclosure of Anastassiadis. The motivation for combining these references would have been to determine the cause of a cardiac event.
Regarding claim 10, Anastassiadis discloses wherein the therapy is Trastuzumab, Ado- trastuzumab emtansine, and/or Trastuzumab deruxtecan (Table 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Lambert and Kim to include the above-noted disclosure of Anastassiadis. The motivation for combining these references would have been to determine the cause of a cardiac event.
Regarding claim 11, Lambert discloses wherein determining one or more metrics from the methylation calls comprises determining counts of methylated molecules for the at least one of the plurality of sites ([0007], absolute number; [0029], a total number).
Regarding claim 12, Lambert discloses wherein the counts are peak counts ([0029], a total number serves as peak counts).
Regarding claim 13, Lambert discloses wherein processing the one or more metrics comprises selection on the basis of tumor fraction and/or methylated molecule counts ([0138], [0237]).
Regarding claim 14, Lambert discloses wherein processing the one or more metrics comprises application of a model ([0224], Bayesian mutation calling method serves as a model, [0225], [0235]).
Regarding claim 15, Lambert discloses wherein the model is a probabilistic model ([0224]-[0225], [0235]).
Regarding claim 16, Lambert discloses wherein processing the one or more metrics comprises determining probabilities based on the one or more metrics ([0137], [0221]).
Regarding claim 17, Lambert discloses wherein the probabilities based on the one or more metrics generates calculation of the risk probability for the cardiac event for the subject ([0137], will develop a disease (e.g., cancer), [0221]).
Kim discloses the cardiac event (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Lambert to include the above-noted disclosure of Kim. The motivation for combining these references would have been to determine the probability of a cardiac event.
Regarding claim 18, Lambert discloses wherein the risk probability for the subject is an increased risk for a cardiac event ([0137], [0221]).
Kim discloses
a cardiac event (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Lambert to include the above-noted disclosure of Kim. The motivation for combining these references would have been to determine the probability of a cardiac event.
Regarding claim 19, Anastassiadis discloses wherein the cardiomyopathy (Table 6)
Lambert discloses is a comorbidity with another disease or condition in the subject ([0003], [0005], cancer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Lambert and Kim to include the above-noted disclosure of Anastassiadis. The motivation for combining these references would have been to determine the cause of a cardiac event.
Regarding claim 20, Lambert discloses wherein the another disease or condition in the subject is selected from one or more diseases or conditions from the group consisting of: cancer, coronary heart disease, heart attack, high blood pressure, diabetes, thyroid disease, viral hepatitis, HIV1, and viral infections ([0003], [0005], cancer).
Regarding claim 51, Anastassiadis discloses wherein the calculated risk probability causes administration of one or more agents selected from the group consisting of: pixaban, rivaroxaban, dabigatran, edoxaban, solalol hydrochloride, ibutilide fumarate injection, flecainide acetate, digoxin, tafamidis, tafamidis meglumine, mavacamten, spironolactone, eplerenone, isosorbide dinitrate, dapagliflozin, tenecteplase, clopidogrel, abeiximab, tirofiban, eptifibatide, colchicine, flurpiridaz F 18, ticagrelor, valsartan, hydrochlorothiazide, cangrelor, finerenone, enoxaparin sodium injection, reteplase, alteplase, ticagrelor. In some embodiments, the treatment includes antiplatelet agents, anticoagulant agents, beta-blockers, nitrates, and fibrinolytics, or any combination thereof (page 24, Table 6, CYP2C19 Clopidogrel response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Lambert and Kim to include the above-noted disclosure of Anastassiadis. The motivation for combining these references would have been to determine the cause of a cardiac event.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed dated 5/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive due to the following reasons:
With respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101, Applicant states that under Step 2A, Prong One, it does not appear that the claims at issue are in any way directed to subject matter described by, or similar to, such examples of certain methods of organizing human activity.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that generating, determining and processing steps corresponds to a certain method of organizing human activity as the activity described by these steps corresponds to interactions between people including following rules or instructions. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
With respect to Step 2A, Prong Two, Applicant states that each processing step is inexorably linked together in providing information for subsequent analysis, the information together finding use in identifying whether a subject may be at risk for a cardiac event.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the claim does not recite any additional elements and thus the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
With respect to Step 2B, Applicant states that the recited method steps translates biological activity, such as methylation, into informative and context-rich measurement, with utility for characterizing disease risk in a patient. Here, that includes characterization of a patient beyond individual elements that are largely or almost entirely uninformative when in isolation otherwise.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the claim does not recite any additional elements and the remaining limitations are abstract idea which cannot furnish an inventive concept.
With respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection presented in this office action. With respect to Applicant’s teaches away arguments, Examiner notes that “the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed……” (see MPEP 2141.02VI). The fact that Kim discloses that the longitudinal association was significant only in the presence of depression at baseline. Thus, the disclosure of Kim that cardiovascular risk factors only in the presence of depression is relevant to the claimed invention as the claim does not exclude depression. Thus, the disclosure of Kim can be combined with the disclosure of Lambert.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAJESH KHATTAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3684
/RAJESH KHATTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684