DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 uses NW acronym for the first time in the claim set. Each acronym should be expanded at least once when first used in the claim set.
Claim 11 uses DRX acronym for the first time in the claim set. Each acronym should be expanded at least once when first used in the claim set.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tooher et al. (US-PGPUB 2021/0176710).
Regarding claim 1, Tooher teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to: receive configuration information from a network, wherein the configuration information indicates information to be included in an ON/OFF feedback report and a reporting condition associated with sending of the ON/OFF feedback report [Para 95 and 103, feedback report is used to indicate status of awake and sleep mode]; receive a network discontinuous reception (DRX) feedback message from the network, wherein the network DRX feedback message comprises one or more of an indication of a latency induced from a DRX pattern generated by the network, a latency induced by an ON/OFF pattern determined by the WTRU, or a buffer status of downlink data for the WTRU queued at the network [Para 112-115, receives DRX report that identifies latency of the network]; determine a state and a reward for a reinforcement learning (RL) model of the WTRU based on the received network DRX feedback message [Para 116-117, determines how to adjust DRX cycle based on transmission instances]; determine an updated ON/OFF pattern using the RL model of the WTRU based on the state and the reward, wherein the updated ON/OFF pattern is for an interval of time [Para 116-117, updates awake and sleep period are determined based on the learning from past transmission instances]; and send the ON/OFF feedback report to the network based on the reporting condition being satisfied [Para 118, updated report is generated based on the learned transmission instances].
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Tooher teaches one or more of battery state information associated with the WTRU, a power profile of the WTRU, a power saving preference of the WTRU, the reward of the RL model of the WTRU, or an indication of the updated ON/OFF pattern [Para 116-117].
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Tooher teaches receiving from a network (NW) a request to transmit ON/OFF learning and operation capabilities [Para 172]; and transmit a capabilities message indicating WTRU support for dynamic ON/OFF operation [Para 172].
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Tooher teaches one or multiple time slots, and wherein the number of time slots are configured by the NW [Para 95].
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Tooher teaches a network DRX feedback message configuration, and wherein the network DRX feedback message is configured in accordance with the network DRX feedback message configuration [Para 95 and 103].
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Tooher teaches a history of one or more of ON and OFF slots, data reception slots, or feedback messages from the network, and wherein the reward of the RL model comprises one or more of latency, on time hit ratio, off time miss ratio, or off time ratio [Para 116-117].
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Tooher teaches determining the ON/OFF pattern for the next DRX cycle based on the state and the reward of the RL model of the WTRU [Para 116-117].
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Tooher teaches a periodic reporting condition, an aperiodic reporting condition, or a semi-persistent reporting condition [Para 113-115].
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Tooher teaches an event-triggered reporting condition that is based on a comparison of a value of the reward or a change in the value of the reward and a threshold [Para 113-115].
Regarding claim 11, Tooher teaches a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising: receiving configuration information from a network, wherein the configuration information indicates information to be included in an ON/OFF feedback report and a reporting condition associated with sending of the ON/OFF feedback report [Para 95 and 103, feedback report is used to indicate status of awake and sleep mode]; receiving a network discontinuous reception (DRX) feedback message from the network, wherein the network DRX feedback message comprises one or more of an indication of a latency induced from a DRX pattern generated by the network, a latency induced by an ON/OFF pattern determined by the WTRU, or a buffer status of downlink data for the WTRU queued at the network [Para 112-115, receives DRX report that identifies latency of the network]; determining a state and a reward for a reinforcement learning (RL) model of the WTRU based on the received network DRX feedback message [Para 116-117, determines how to adjust DRX cycle based on transmission instances]; determining an updated ON/OFF pattern using the RL model of the WTRU based on the state and the reward, wherein the updated ON/OFF pattern is for an interval of time [Para 116-117, updates awake and sleep period are determined based on the learning from past transmission instances]; and sending the ON/OFF feedback report to the network based on the reporting condition being satisfied [Para 118, updated report is generated based on the learned transmission instances].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited on the form PTO-892.
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464