DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitations, "second, third, fourth and fifth expansion valves supply refrigerant… without substantial pressure drop" are not sufficiently supported by the original disclosure because applicant has not provided any mention of where the above-listed phrase "substantial pressure drop" is found in the original disclosure. In addition, there is no description for the claimed expansion valves that allow a flow of refrigerant to pass through the expansion valves without "substantial pressure drop" (claims 9-13; figs. 1-6; and paragraphs 135, 141, 163, 169, 212, 249-250, 276, specification). It is also unclear what is considered “substantial” by the applicant because applicant has not provided any standard of measuring what is a substantial pressure drop and what is not a substantial pressure drop. The term “expansion valve” is understood by a person of skill in the art as a valve that expands refrigerant; therefore, to exclude expansion even for a degree (i.e. without substantial pressure drop) from an expansion valve is counter to the definition of the phrase “expansion valve”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “without substantial pressure drop” in claims 9-13 is used by the claim to mean “expansion valves are not expanding refrigerant,” while the accepted meaning is “expansion at expansion valves includes pressure drop.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. Applicant has not provided any explanation for the term “substantial pressure drop” in the original disclosure. It is also unclear what range of pressure changes are within the substantial drop and what pressure changes are outside the substantial drop. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0185067 A1) and in view of Kim (US 2022/0089000 A1) herein after referred as Kim’89.
In regards to claim 1, Kim discloses a heat pump system for a vehicle (see abstract and figs. 1-8), comprising: a compressor (19) configured to compress a refrigerant (see paragraph 77); a heating, ventilation, and air-conditioning (HVAC) module (see fig. 6) including:
an internal condenser (condenser 12a) and an evaporator (evaporator 16) connected to the compressor through a refrigerant line (via refrigerant line 11), and
an opening/closing door (door 12b, see fig. 1 and paragraph 74) configured to adjust an air having passed through evaporator to be selectively introduced into the internal condenser (by operation of the damper door 12b, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 74-76), based on a cooling or heating of a vehicle (see cooling and heating air, paragraphs 75-76);
a heat-exchanger (heat exchangers 13, 14) connected to the internal condenser through refrigerant line (via refrigerant line 11, see fig. 1), and configured to condense or evaporate the refrigerant by exchanging heat between the supplied refrigerant and the air (see air cooled/heated HXs 13, 14 functioning as a condenser, paragraphs 73 and 80-81);
a first expansion valve (expansion valve 15) provided on the refrigerant line between the heat-exchanger and the evaporator (valve 15 between HX 14 and evaporator 16, fig. 6);
an accumulator (accumulator 17) provided on the refrigerant line between the evaporator and the compressor (accumulator 17 between evaporator 16 and compressor 19, see fig. 1);
a first connection line (at least line 21, see fig. 1) including: a first end connected to the refrigerant line between the compressor and the evaporator (first end of line 21 between evaporator 16 and compressor 19, fig. 1), and a second end connected to the refrigerant line between the heat-exchanger and the evaporator (second end of line 21 between heat exchanger 14 and evaporator 16, fig. 1);
a chiller (chiller 40) provided on the first connection line (chiller 40 on line 21, see fig. 1), and configured to adjust a temperature of a selectively introduced coolant by exchanging heat between the refrigerant introduced into the first connection line and the coolant (chiller 40 adjusts temperature by exchanging heat between refrigerant and coolant, see paragraph 64);
a second expansion valve (expansion valve 23) provided on the first connection line at an upstream end of the chiller (valve 23 upstream of chiller 40 on line 21, see fig. 1);
a gas injection device (gas injection device 30, fig. 6) connected to the internal condenser and the heat-exchanger (see figs. 1, 6), and configured to:
selectively expand and flow the expanded refrigerant supplied from the internal condenser or the heat exchanger (see fig. 6 and paragraph 98), and
selectively supply a partial refrigerant, among the supplied refrigerant, to the compressor (supplying refrigerant to the compressor 19 via pipe 32, see fig. 6) to increase a flow amount of the refrigerant circulating the refrigerant line (see fig. 6 and paragraphs 16-17);
wherein the gas injection device (per claim 2) comprises:
a flash tank (separator 31, fig. 6) configured to separate a gaseous refrigerant (via 32) and a liquid refrigerant (via 51, 35) from an interiorly introduced refrigerant (via 11, 34) and selectively discharge the separated refrigerants (selective flow by controlling valves 34, 35, 24);
a third expansion valve (at least one of expansion valves 34, 35, fig. 6) provided on the refrigerant line between the internal condenser (12a) and the heat-exchanger (HX 13, 14, see figs. 1, 6);
a first line including: a first end connected to the flash tank, and a second end connected to the third expansion valve (see first line between valve 34 and flash tank 31, below annotated fig. 3);
a second line (line 32) connecting the compressor and the flash tank, and configured to selectively supply the gaseous refrigerant from the flash tank to the compressor (see figs. 1, 3, 6 and paragraph 101);
a third line including: a first end connected to the flash tank, and a second end connected to the refrigerant line between the third expansion valve and the heat-exchanger (see third line between valve 34 and HX 13, 14, below annotated fig. 3); and
a fourth expansion valve (expansion valve 35) provided on the third line (see figs. 1, 3 and 6, for claim 2); and
a third connection line (at least line 29, see fig. 4) including: a first end connected to the refrigerant line between the heat-exchanger and the evaporator (first end of line 29 between HX 13, 14 and evaporator 16, fig. 4), and a second end connected to the gas injection device (second end of line 29 connected to gas injection device 30 via valve 34, see fig. 4).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach a second connection line connected between the second expansion valve and the accumulator.
Kim’89 teaches a second expansion vale (expansion valves 23, 24) provided on the first connection line (21) at an upstream end of the chiller (valves 23, 24 upstream of chiller 40, see fig. 1); a second connection line (line 22, see fig. 1) including: a first end connected to the second expansion valve (first end of line 22 connected to valve 24, 23, see fig. 1), and a second end connected to the accumulator (second end of line 22 connected to accumulator 17, see fig. 1); and the second expansion valve is a 3-way valve (valve 24, 23 is a 3-way valve, see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first connection line of the heat pump system of Kim by providing 3-way second expansion valve on the first connection line with a second connection line having a first end connected to the second expansion valve, and a second end connected to the accumulator based on the teachings of Kim’89 in order to selectively use the chiller for cooling battery and to supply the expanded refrigerant vapor to the accumulator on the suction side of the compressor.
In regards to claim 3, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the fourth expansion valve (expansion valve 35) is configured to: selectively expand the refrigerant supplied from the flash tank (31) and supply the expanded refrigerant to the heat-exchanger (HX 13, 14); or supply the refrigerant supplied from the flash tank to the chiller (via refrigerant lines 11, 51 and 21, see figs. 1-8) or the first expansion valve (via refrigerant lines 11 or 51 to first expansion valve 15, see fig. 4), in an unexpanded state (refrigerant passed through line 51 expands at first expansion valve 15, see fig. 4).
In regards to claim 4, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the third and fourth expansion valves are selectively operated in a cooling mode, a heating mode, or a heating and dehumidifying mode of the vehicle interior (see opened and closed third and fourth expansion valves 34 and 35, see figs. 1-8), and configured to selectively expand the refrigerant while controlling a flowing movement of the supplied refrigerant (see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs 98, 106-122, 128, 130 and 137).
In regards to claim 5, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the flash tank (31) is operated when the expanded refrigerant is supplied (after passing through expansion valve 34), and the flash tank is configured to supply the gaseous refrigerant among the supplied refrigerant to the compressor through the second line (via line 32 to compressor 19, see fig. 4), to increase the flow amount of the refrigerant circulating through the refrigerant line (see paragraphs 108-105 and 200).
In regards to claim 16, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a cooling apparatus (coolant loop through chiller 40, see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs 10-11, 24) comprising an electrical component and a battery module (see electrical components and battery, paragraphs 10, 65 and 67) through which the coolant circulates (see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs 64-67), wherein the chiller is connected to the electrical component through a first coolant line (coolant line 5) through which the coolant circulates, and connected to the battery module through a second coolant line through which the coolant circulates (first coolant line passing through electrical component and second coolant line passing through battery, see paragraph 67).
In regards to claim 17, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16 and further discloses that when a waste heat of the electrical component (electrical components and battery, see paragraph 65) is to be recollected in a heating mode of the vehicle interior, the first coolant line is opened to connect the chiller and the electrical component (coolant loop through chiller 40, see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs 10-11, 24; coolant circulation apparatus 3 for passing cooling through electrical component and battery, see paragraph 65 and figs. 3-7).
In regards to claim 18, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16 and further discloses that when a waste heat of the battery module (electrical components and battery, see paragraph 65) is to be cooled in a cooling mode of the vehicle, or when a waste heat of the battery module is to be recollected in a heating mode of the vehicle interior, the second coolant line is opened to connect the chiller and the battery module (coolant loop through chiller 40, see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs 10-11, 24; coolant circulation apparatus 3 for passing cooling through electrical component and battery, see paragraph 65 and figs. 3-7).
Claim(s) 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0185067 A1) in view of Kim (US 2022/0089000 A1) herein after referred as Kim’89 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kim (KR 20210126361 A) herein after referred as Kim’361.
In regards to claims 6 and 7, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a fifth 3-way valve (valve 28) provided on the refrigerant line between the heat-exchanger (HX 13, 14) and the first expansion valve (expansion valve 15), and connected to a first end of the second connection line (valve 28 connected to the second expansion valve 23, see figs. 1-6), and connected to the flash tank/separator (via line 29, see fig. 1-6); and
a fourth connection line (line 51) including: a first end connected to the fourth expansion valve (line 51 connected to expansion valve 35 via a t-connection, see figs. 1-6), and a second end connected to the refrigerant line (refrigerant line 51 connected to refrigerant line 11 between valve 28 and t-connection for line 21, see figs. 1-6) between the heat-exchanger (HX 14) and the first expansion valve (valve 15, see figs. 1-6). Kim also teaches that the first end of the third connection line (29) is connected to the fifth 3-way valve (line 29 connected to fifth valve 28, see fig. 1); and a second end of the third connection line is connected to the first line (line 29 also connected to the first line upstream of the separator/flash tank, see fig. 1).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach that the fifth valve is an expansion valve.
Kim’361 discloses a fifth expansion valve (expansion valve 136) provided on the refrigerant line between the heat-exchanger (HX 140) and the first expansion valve (expansion valve 151, 161), and connected to the firs line connecting to the separator/flash tank (1tank 133 via line 136a, see fig. 1). Kim’361 also teaches that a first end of the third connection line is connected to the fifth expansion valve (line 136a connected to fifth expansion valve 136, see fig. 1); and a second end of the third connection line is connected to the first line (line 136a also connected to the first line at 171, see fig. 1 and paragraph 57).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the refrigerant line of the heat pump system of Kim by providing 3-way fifth expansion valve connected to the third connection line with the second end connected to the first line providing refrigerant to the separator/flash tank based on the teachings of Kim’361 in order to separate the partially expanded and heated refrigerant at the separator/flash tank before supplying the refrigerant vapor to the compressor to increase the flow of refrigerant vapor at the compressor and improve operational efficiency of the compressor.
In regards to claim 8, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses when a waste heat of an electrical component (electrical components and battery, see paragraph 65) is to be recollected in a cooling mode (coolant circulation apparatus 3 for passing cooling through electrical component and battery, see paragraph 65), a heating and dehumidifying mode, or a heating mode of the vehicle interior (see figs. 4 and 7), the fourth connection line is opened by the fourth expansion valve (line 51 is opened by operation of fourth expansion valve 35, see figs. 4 and 7). In addition, Kim’361 discloses a fourth expansion valve (expansion valve 135); and a fourth connection line (line 133d, 172) opened by the fourth expansion valve (by operation of expansion valve 135) when heat is recollected in cooling mode, heating mode or heating and dehumidifying mode (heat recollected at the chiller 160 from the electrical battery component 235, see paragraph 50 and fig. 1).
In regards to claim 9, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses that when the gas injection device operates in a cooling mode of the vehicle interior (see figs. 3-7):
a portion of the first line connecting a second end of the third connection line to the flash tank is opened (see opened first line, fig. 3); a remaining first line connecting the second end of the third connection line to the third expansion valve is closed (see closed portion of first line as shown by dotted line, fig. 4);
the second line is opened (see opened line 32, fig. 4);
a portion of the third line connecting the flash tank to the fourth expansion valve is opened by the fourth expansion valve (see opened third line from flash tank 31 to fourth expansion valve 35, fig. 4); a remaining third line connecting the fourth expansion valve to the refrigerant line is closed by the fourth expansion valve (see closed third line beyond closed fourth expansion valve 35, as shown by dotted line, fig. 4);
the first connection line is closed by the second expansion valve (see second expansion valve 23 closing first connection line 21, fig. 7);
the third and fourth connection line are opened by the fifth and fourth expansion valves respectively (lines 29 and 51 opened by operation of valves 28 and 35, see fig. 4);
the first expansion valve (valve 15) expands the refrigerant introduced through the refrigerant line and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the evaporator (see refrigerant flow through open first expansion valve 15 and evaporator 16, fig. 4);
an operation of the second expansion valve is stopped (second expansion valve 23 closed, see fig. 7);
the third expansion valve supplies the refrigerant introduced through the refrigerant line to the heat-exchanger without substantial pressure drop (refrigerant passed to the HX 13, 14 without fully expanding, see fig. 3, where expansion by valve 15 is downstream of HX 13, 14);
the fourth expansion valve flows the refrigerant supplied from the flash tank through the third line to the fourth connection line without substantial pressure drop (refrigerant passed from the flash tank 31 through a t-connection to the fourth connection line 51 without expansion at fourth expansion valve 35, see fig. 4, where expansion at valve 35 would create substantial pressure drop);
the fifth expansion valve (valve 28, Kim and valve 136, Kim’361) expands the refrigerant supplied from the heat-exchanger (HX13, 14) and flows the expanded refrigerant to the third connection line (line 29, see fig. 4); and the flash tank supplies the gaseous refrigerant among the interiorly introduced refrigerant to the compressor through the opened second line (refrigerant vapor supplied through second line 32 to the compressor, see fig. 4). In addition, Kim’89 teaches that the second connection line is closed by the second expansion valve (second connection line 22 closed by valve 24, see fig. 3) during cooling mode (fig. 3).
In regards to claim 10, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses that when the gas injection device operates and cooling of the battery module is required in a cooling mode of the vehicle interior (see cooling mode and battery module cooling, figs. 3-7, and paragraphs 23-24):
a portion of the first line connecting a second end of the third connection line to the flash tank is opened (see opened first line, fig. 3); a remaining first line connecting the second end of the third connection line to the third expansion valve is closed (see closed portion of first line as shown by dotted line, fig. 4);
the second line is opened (see opened line 32, fig. 4);
a portion of the third line connecting the flash tank to the fourth expansion valve is opened by the fourth expansion valve (see opened third line from flash tank 31 to fourth expansion valve 35, fig. 4); a remaining third line connecting the fourth expansion valve to the refrigerant line is closed by the fourth expansion valve (see closed third line beyond closed fourth expansion valve 35, as shown by dotted line, fig. 4);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the fifth expansion valve (28) to a second end of the fourth connection line is closed by the fifth expansion valve (valve 28 blocks refrigerant flow towards t-connection of fourth connection line 51, as shown by dotted line adjacent valve 28, see fig. 4);
the first connection line is opened by the second expansion valve (see second expansion valve 23 opened, fig. 4);
the third and fourth connection lines are opened by the fifth and fourth expansion valves respectively (lines 29 and 51 opened by operation of valves 28 and 35, see fig. 4);
the first expansion valve (valve 15) expands the refrigerant introduced through the fourth connection line (51 through valve 15, see fig. 4) and a portion of the refrigerant line from the flash tank, and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the evaporator (refrigerant from flash tank 31 supplied through fourth connection line 51 and first expansion valve 15 to evaporator 16, see fig. 4);
the second expansion valve expands the refrigerant introduced through the fourth connection line, a portion of the refrigerant line, and the first connection line from the flash tank, and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the chiller (refrigerant from flash tank 31 supplied through fourth connection line 51, first connection line 21, second expansion valve 23 to the chiller 40, see fig. 4);
the third expansion valve supplies the refrigerant introduced through the refrigerant line to the heat-exchanger without substantial pressure drop (refrigerant passed to the HX 13, 14 without fully expanding, see fig. 3, where expansion by valve 15 is downstream of HX 13, 14);
the fourth expansion valve flows the refrigerant supplied from the flash tank through the third line to the fourth connection line without substantial pressure drop (refrigerant passed from the flash tank 31 through a t-connection to the fourth connection line 51 without expansion at fourth expansion valve 35, see fig. 4, where expansion at valve 35 would create substantial pressure drop);
the fifth expansion valve (valve 28, Kim and valve 136, Kim’361) expands the refrigerant supplied from the heat-exchanger (HX13, 14) and flows the expanded refrigerant to the third connection line (line 29, see fig. 4); and the flash tank supplies the gaseous refrigerant among the interiorly introduced refrigerant to the compressor through the opened second line (refrigerant vapor supplied through second line 32 to the compressor, see fig. 4). In addition, Kim’89 teaches that the second connection line is closed by the second expansion valve (second connection line 22 closed by valve 24, see fig. 3) during cooling mode (fig. 3).
In regards to claim 11, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses that when the gas injection device operates and a waste heat of an electrical component (electrical components and battery, see paragraph 65) is to be recollected in a heating mode of the vehicle interior (coolant circulation apparatus 3 for passing cooling through electrical component and battery, see paragraph 65 and figs. 3-7):
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the fifth expansion valve (28) to a second end of the fourth connection line is closed by the fifth expansion valve (valve 28 blocks refrigerant flow towards t-connection of fourth connection line 51, as shown by dotted line adjacent valve 28, see fig. 4);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the compressor (19) and the internal condenser (12a) and a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the internal condenser (12a) and the third expansion valve (34) are opened by the third expansion valve (see refrigerant flow through refrigerant line from compressor 19 to expansion valve 34, see figs. 5-8);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the first connection line (line 21) and the compressor is opened (refrigerant supplied via lines 21 and 11 to compressor 19, see figs. 3-4, 7-8);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the heat-exchanger (HX 13, 14) and the third expansion valve (third expansion valve 34) is closed by the third expansion valve (refrigerant line connecting HX 13, 14 and third expansion valve 34 is capable of being closed by expansion valve 34, see figs. 3-8);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the heat-exchanger (HX 13, 14) and a second end of the fourth connection line is closed by the fifth expansion valve (see figs. 4-8, where fifth expansion valve 28 closes refrigerant line connecting HX 13, 14 to second of fourth connection line 51);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting a second end of the first connection line to the evaporator is closed by the first expansion valve (valve 15 closed to close connection between line 21 and evaporator 16, see fig. 6);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the evaporator and a first end of the first connection line is closed (see dotted line for closed lines, fig. 6);
the first line is opened by the third expansion valve (see opened first line by valve 34, figs. 3-8);
the second line is opened (see opened line 32, fig. 4, 8);
a portion of the third line connecting the flash tank to the fourth expansion valve is opened by the fourth expansion valve (see opened third line from flash tank 31 to fourth expansion valve 35, fig. 4); a remaining third line connecting the fourth expansion valve to the refrigerant line is closed by the fourth expansion valve (see closed third line beyond closed fourth expansion valve 35, as shown by dotted line, fig. 4);
the first connection line is opened by the second expansion valve (see second expansion valve 23 opened, fig. 4);
the third connection line is closed by the fifth expansion valve (line 29 closed by valve 28, see fig. 8);
the fourth connection line is opened by the fourth expansion valve (line 51 opened by operation of valve 35, see figs. 8, 4);
operations of the first and fifth expansion valves are stopped (see valve 15 and 28 closed, fig. 6);
the second expansion valve expands the refrigerant introduced through the fourth connection line, a portion of the refrigerant line, and the first connection line from the flash tank, and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the chiller (refrigerant from flash tank 31 supplied through fourth connection line 51, first connection line 21, second expansion valve 23 to the chiller 40, see fig. 4);
the third expansion valve (34) expands the refrigerant supplied from the internal condenser (12a) and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the flash tank (refrigerant passed through condenser 12a and third expansion valve 34 to flash tank 31, see fig. 6);
the fourth expansion valve flows the refrigerant supplied from the flash tank through the third line to the fourth connection line without substantial pressure drop (refrigerant passed from the flash tank 31 through a t-connection to the fourth connection line 51 without expansion at fourth expansion valve 35, see fig. 4, where expansion at valve 35 would create substantial pressure drop); and the flash tank supplies the gaseous refrigerant among the interiorly introduced refrigerant to the compressor through the opened second line (refrigerant vapor supplied through second line 32 to the compressor, see fig. 4). In addition, Kim’89 teaches that the second connection line is closed by the second expansion valve (second connection line 22 closed by valve 24, see fig. 3) during cooling mode (fig. 3).
In regards to claim 12, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses that when the gas injection device operates and an ambient air heat source is to be recollected in a heating mode of the of the vehicle interior (coolant circulation apparatus 3 for passing outside air through the condenser to the interior of the vehicle during heating, see paragraph 235 and figs. 3-7):
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the compressor (19) and the internal condenser (12a) and a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the internal condenser (12a) and the third expansion valve (34) are opened by the third expansion valve (see refrigerant flow through refrigerant line from compressor 19 to expansion valve 34, see figs. 5-8);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the evaporator (16) and accumulator (17) is closed (see fig. 6);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the third expansion valve (34) to a second end of the third line is closed by the third expansion valve (refrigerant flow through third expansion valve 34 to the third line is capable of being closed by third expansion valve 34, see figs. 3-8);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the heat-exchanger (13, 14) to the second end of the third line is opened by the fourth expansion valve (refrigerant flow through fourth expansion valve 35 to HX 13, 14, see figs. 3 and 5-8);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the heat-exchanger (13, 14) to a second end of the first connection line is opened by the fifth expansion valve (refrigerant flow through HX 13, 14 to first connection line 21 via fifth expansion valve 28, see figs. 3-8);
a portion of the refrigerant line connected from a first end of the first connection line (21) to the evaporator (16) and, a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the evaporator to the accumulator are closed by the first expansion valve (refrigerant flow through evaporator closed by first expansion valve 15, see figs. 5-6);
the first line is opened by the third expansion valve (see opened first line by valve 34, figs. 3-8);
the second line is opened (see opened line 32, fig. 4, 8);
the third line is opened by the fourth expansion valve (see opened third line by expansion valve 35, fig. 5);
a portion of the first connection line (21) connecting the second end of the first connection line to the second expansion valve is opened by the second expansion valve (see second valve 23 opened, figs. 3-4);
a portion of the first connection line (21) connecting the second expansion valve (23) to the refrigerant line by passing through the chiller (40) is closed by the second expansion valve (see closed expansion valve 23, figs. 5-8);
the third connection line is closed by the fifth expansion valve (line 29 closed by valve 28, see fig. 8);
the fourth connection line is closed by the fourth expansion valve (line 51 closed by operation of valve 35 and valve 53, see fig. 6);
an operation of the first expansion valve is stopped (see valve 15 closed, fig. 6);
the second expansion valve flows the refrigerant introduced through the refrigerant line and the first connection line from the heat-exchanger to the second connection line without substantial pressure drop (refrigerant passed through the HX 13, 14 and line 21 to the second expansion valve without fully expanding, see fig. 3, where expansion by valve 15 is downstream of HX 13, 14);
the third expansion valve (34) expands the refrigerant supplied from the internal condenser (12a) and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the flash tank (refrigerant passed through condenser 12a and third expansion valve 34 to flash tank 31, see fig. 6);
the fourth expansion valve flows the refrigerant supplied from the flash tank through the third line, and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the heat exchanger through the refrigerant line (refrigerant passed from the flash tank 31 through third line to HX 13, 14, see fig. 4);
the fifth expansion valve (valve 28, Kim and valve 136, Kim’361) flows refrigerant introduced from heat-exchanger (HX13, 14) through the refrigerant line to the first connection line (21) without substantial pressure drop (refrigerant passed through the valve 28 after passing through HX 13, 14 without fully expanding, see fig. 3, where expansion by valve 15 is downstream of HX 13, 14, where expansion at valve 15 would create substantial pressure drop); and the flash tank supplies the gaseous refrigerant among the interiorly introduced refrigerant to the compressor through the opened second line (refrigerant vapor supplied through second line 32 to the compressor, see fig. 4). In addition, Kim’89 teaches that the second connection line is opened by the second expansion valve (second connection line 22 opened by valve 24, see fig. 4) during heating mode (fig. 4 and paragraph 46); and the second expansion valve (23, 24) flows the refrigerant introduced through the refrigerant line and the first connection line from the heat-exchanger (14) to the second connection line (21) without substantial pressure drop (refrigerant passed through HX 14 and line 21 to the second expansion valve without fully expanding, see fig. 4, where expansion by valve 15 is downstream of HX 13, 14, where expansion at valve 15 would create substantial pressure drop).
In regards to claim 13, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses that when the gas injection device operates in a heating and dehumidifying mode of the vehicle interior (see heating and dehumidifying modes, figs. 5-8 and paragraphs 52-53):
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the compressor (19) and the internal condenser (12a) and a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the internal condenser (12a) and the third expansion valve (34) are opened by the third expansion valve (see refrigerant flow through refrigerant line from compressor 19 to expansion valve 34, see figs. 5-8);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the evaporator (16) and accumulator (17) is opened (see figs. 7-8);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting a second end of the fourth connection line (51) to the evaporator (16) is opened by the first expansion valve (see opened first expansion valve 15, fig. 7);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the heat-exchanger (13, 14) and the third expansion valve is closed by the third expansion valve (refrigerant flow through third expansion valve 34 to the third line and HX 13, 14 is capable of being closed by third expansion valve 34, see figs. 3-8);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the heat-exchanger (13, 14) and the second end of the fourth connection line (51) is closed by the fifth expansion valve (see valve 28 closure, fig. 7);
a portion of the refrigerant line connecting the third expansion valve (valve 34) to a second end of the third line is closed by the third expansion valve (see closed third expansion valve 34, closing refrigerant connection to third line, see figs. 3-8);
the first line is opened by the third expansion valve (see opened first line by third expansion valve 34, see figs. 3-8);
the second line is opened (see opened line 32, figs. 4, 6);
a portion of the third line connecting the flash tank and the fourth expansion valve is opened by the fourth expansion valve (see opened third line from flash tank 31 to fourth expansion valve 35, fig. 4); a remaining third line connecting the fourth expansion valve and the refrigerant line is closed by the fourth expansion valve (see closed third line beyond closed fourth expansion valve 35, as shown by dotted line, fig. 4);
the first connection line is opened by the second expansion valve (see second expansion valve 23 opened, fig. 4);
the third connection line is closed by the fifth expansion valve;
the fourth connection line is opened by the fourth expansion valve (line 51 opened by operation of valves 35, 53, see fig. 4);
the first expansion valve (valve 15) expands the refrigerant introduced through the fourth connection line (51 through valve 15, see fig. 4) and a portion of the refrigerant line from the flash tank, and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the evaporator (refrigerant from flash tank 31 supplied through fourth connection line 51 and first expansion valve 15 to evaporator 16, see fig. 4);
the second expansion valve expands the refrigerant introduced through the fourth connection line, a portion of the refrigerant line, and the first connection line from the flash tank, and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the chiller (refrigerant from flash tank 31 supplied through fourth connection line 51, first connection line 21, second expansion valve 23 to the chiller 40, see fig. 4);
the third expansion valve expands
the third expansion valve (34) expands the refrigerant supplied from the internal condenser (12a) and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the flash tank (refrigerant passed through condenser 12a and third expansion valve 34 to flash tank 31, see fig. 6);
the fourth expansion valve flows the refrigerant supplied from the flash tank through the third line to the fourth connection line without substantial pressure drop (refrigerant passed from the flash tank 31 through a t-connection to the fourth connection line 51 without expansion at fourth expansion valve 35, see fig. 4, where expansion at valve 35 would create substantial pressure drop); and the flash tank supplies the gaseous refrigerant among the interiorly introduced refrigerant to the compressor through the opened second line (refrigerant vapor supplied through second line 32 to the compressor, see fig. 4). In addition, Kim’89 teaches that the second connection line is opened by the second expansion valve (second connection line 22 opened by valve 24, see fig. 4) during heating mode (fig. 4 and paragraph 46); and the second expansion valve (23, 24) flows the refrigerant introduced through the refrigerant line and the first connection line from the heat-exchanger (14) to the second connection line (21) without expansion (refrigerant passed through HX 14 and line 21 to the second expansion valve without fully expanding, see fig. 4, where expansion by valve 15 is downstream of HX 13, 14).
In regards to claim 14, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and the combination further discloses that the second expansion valve (3-way valve 24, fig. 4, Kim’89) and the fifth expansion valve are 3-way electronic expansion valves (3-way valve 24, Kim and valve 136, Kim’361) configured to selectively expand the refrigerant while controlling a flowing movement of the refrigerant (see figs. 3-4, Kim’89; figs. 1-8, Kim; and figs. 1-8, Kim’361). In addition, Kim teaches that the second and third expansion valves are connected to 3-way t-connections before and/or after the valves (see figs. 3-8); however, Kim does not explicitly teach that the third and fourth valves are 3-way valves. Kim’361 discloses that the third expansion valve (131) is 3-way electronic expansion valves (3-way valve 131, figs. 1-8) configured to selectively expand the refrigerant while controlling a flowing movement of the refrigerant (see paragraphs 52-53 and 68); and the third line after the flash tank/separator (131) contains a 3-way connection (172), where each of the branched line from 3-way connection contains a separate expansion valve (valves 135 and 151, figs. 1-8). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to modify the first and third lines before and after the separator/flash tank by providing 3-way third and fourth expansion valves on the first and third lines before and after the separator/flash tank in order to direct only the vapor refrigerant towards the suction side of the compressor when necessary and whenever the vapor refrigerant is available for injection into the compressor without compromising the efficiency of the compressor.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0185067 A1) in view of Kim’89 and Kim’361 as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of Kim (US 2022/0324286 A1) herein after referred as Kim’286.
In regards to claim 15, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 except a sub-heat-exchanger provided on the refrigerant line before the first expansion valve and configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant from the heat-exchanger and refrigerant from chiller.
However, Kim’286 discloses a sub-heat-exchanger (heat exchanger 34) provided on the refrigerant line before the first expansion valve (HX 34 before valve 14, see figs. 1-3), the sub-heat-exchanger configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant supplied from the heat-exchanger (refrigerant from heat exchanger 12, see figs. 1-3) through the refrigerant line or the refrigerant supplied from the fourth connection line through the refrigerant line (this is an alternative limitation) and the refrigerant supplied from either the evaporator or the chiller (refrigerant at HX 34 exchanges heat with refrigerant supplied from chiller/evaporator 36, see figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the refrigerant line between the first expansion valve and the fifth expansion valve in the heat pump system of Kim by providing a sub-heat-exchanger between the first expansion valve and the fifth expansion valve, wherein the sub-heat-exchanger is configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant supplied from the heat-exchanger through the refrigerant line or the refrigerant supplied from the fourth connection line through the refrigerant line and the refrigerant supplied from either the evaporator or the chiller based on the teachings of Kim’286 in order to lower the temperature of the first refrigerant being supplied to the first expansion valve (see paragraph 91, Kim’286).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument, "Kim-89 does not teach the second connection line because the second end of the line is directly connected to the chiller, rather than accumulator 17," examiner maintains the rejection of claim 1 and points out that claim 1 does not require “direct connection” of the second end of the line to the accumulator, rather the second end is connected to the accumulator, which may be via several components. In addition, Kim-89 teaches second end of line 22 connected directly/indirectly to the accumulator 17 (fig. 1, Kim-89). Therefore, applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument, "Kim-067 does not teach the third connection line because the alleged third connection line (29) is not between heat exchanger 13 and evaporator 16, rather it is between condenser 14 and evaporator 16," examiner maintains the rejection of claim 1 and points out that claim third connection line (29) is between both heat exchangers (13 and 14) and the evaporator (16, see fig. 4, Kim-067). Therefore, applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763