Response to Arguments
Applicant Amendments and Remarks filed on 05/08/2026 in response to the Non-Final office action mailed on 02/19/2026 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows:
Regarding the Claim Rejections under 35 USC §§ 102 and 103: With respect to the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103, Applicant has amended the independent claims and these amendments have changed the scope of the original application. Therefore, the Office has supplied new grounds of rejection attached below in the FINAL office action and therefore the prior arguments are considered moot.
FINAL OFFICE ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of a colon in the limitations “in response to receiving the activation of the user input device:” and “in response to determining the contemporaneous change in heading has become equal to or exceeds the stored threshold heading change: disengage the auto-steering module” is grammatically incorrect. A colon must follow a complete, independent clause. Therefore, using commas instead of the colons is suggested.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyzen et al. (US 2021/0070356 A1, hereinafter “Lyzen”) in view of Yoshida et al. (JP 2017176096 A, hereinafter “Yoshida”). The rejections below are based on the machine translation of Yoshida.
Regarding claim 1, Lyzen discloses a method for operating a lawn maintenance apparatus, comprising:
monitor a user input device of the lawn maintenance apparatus for an activation of the user input device (Lyzen at para. [0072]: “A user input/output 310 is also provided, which can include user command or data entry to mainboard 204 (e.g., turning control unit 202 on or off; providing auto-steering assist activation input(s), such as depicted at FIGS. 14-14C)”) while an auto-steering module of the lawn maintenance apparatus is inactive and steering of the lawn maintenance apparatus is operator-controlled (Lyzen at para. [0105]: “In embodiments facilitating user-assisted parallel steering, an operator manually turns the power equipment device and re-engages automated steering” “In response to the user input 606 (or user inputs 622, 632, 642) automated steering is re-engaged”; The activation of the user input is monitored while the automated steering is disengaged (i.e., “auto-steering module of the lawn maintenance apparatus is inactive”) and the operator manually turns the steering wheel (i.e., “steering of the lawn maintenance apparatus is operator-controlled”));
detect the activation of the user input device including a direction command (Lyzen at para. [0184]: “a third press of the parallel line and auto-tum command 1450D can activate auto-steering status for the power equipment device, causing the power equipment device to establish a target path and heading, auto-steer onto the target path and heading, and allow the operator to execute an auto-turn to an adjacent parallel line (which is updated to be the target path and heading) in response to left turn command 1430D and right turn command 1432D”; The left turn command and the right turn command (i.e., “direction commend”) are received via the joystick control from the user);
in response to receiving the activation of the user input device:
obtain an initial heading of the lawn maintenance apparatus at a time proximate the activation of the user input device (Lyzen at para. [0100]: “A further user input 606 is entered to engage automated steering for the power equipment device” “a current heading 613 of the power equipment device is calculated and an angular displacement from a target heading is measured (e.g., primary heading 607)”);
engage the auto-steering module of the lawn maintenance apparatus and turn the lawn maintenance apparatus into a direction specified by the direction command and at a turn radius that is not equal to a track width of the lawn maintenance apparatus (Lyzen at para. [0111]: “FIG. 6B illustrates an embodiment(s) in which an automatic turn is performed utilizing a three-state auto-turn steering 600B”; FIG. 8 and para. [0125]: “a turn that results in a path displaced by one width of a work engine 730 (optionally plus a target overlap 732, for example: several centimeters or less; about 2 cm; etc.) can result in a low radius turn”; FIG. 8A and para. [0131]: “Continuous turn 800A has a width of turn 845A that is smaller than a width of work engine 730”);
monitor a current heading of the lawn maintenance apparatus relative to the initial heading as the auto-steering module turns the lawn maintenance apparatus, and determine a contemporaneous change in heading during the turn (Lyzen at para. [0116]: “a heading1 634C for moderate-radius constant turn 622B can be determined from the local measurement device. Moderate-radius constant turn 622B can be maintained until a threshold angular displacement between heading1 634C and heading0 632C is reached”);
compare the contemporaneous change in heading to a stored threshold heading change relative to the initial heading (Lyzen at para. [0116]: “a heading1 634C for moderate-radius constant turn 622B can be determined from the local measurement device. Moderate-radius constant turn 622B can be maintained until a threshold angular displacement between heading1 634C and heading0 632C is reached”);
determine the contemporaneous change in heading has become equal to or exceeds the stored threshold heading change (Lyzen at para. [0116]: “a heading1 634C for moderate-radius constant turn 622B can be determined from the local measurement device. Moderate-radius constant turn 622B can be maintained until a threshold angular displacement between heading1 634C and heading0 632C is reached”; The turning is maintained until the threshold angular displacement is reached (i.e., “contemporaneous change in heading has become equal to” “the stored threshold heading change”)).
However, Lyzen does not explicitly state:
in response to determining the contemporaneous change in heading has become equal to or exceeds the stored threshold heading change: disengage the auto-steering module.
In the same field of endeavor, Yoshida teaches:
in response to determining the contemporaneous change in heading has become equal to or exceeds the stored threshold heading change: disengage the auto-steering module (Yoshida at pg. 19, ln. 7-13: “the steering angle sensor 70 shifts from the straight traveling state of the traveling vehicle body 1 to the right small turning state (an example of the turning state) by rocking the steering member 52 from the straight traveling position .o to the second set angle .b on the left side And detects the swinging from the second set angle .b on the left side of the steering member 52 to the first set angle .a as a transition from the right turning state of the vehicle body 1 to the straight traveling state. In other words, the steering angle sensor 70 functions as a transition detection unit that detects a transition of the running state of the traveling vehicle body 1”; pg. 23, ln. ;20-22: “The travel start point Pa is a point at which the direction control unit 60 M detects the transition from the small turning state to the straight traveling state of the traveling vehicle body 1 based on the detection of the steering angle sensor 70”; pg. 30, ln. 1-3: “When the predetermined time for the ridge turning has elapsed, the direction control unit 60 M terminates the ridge turning operation by the automatic turning control so that the straight running state of the traveling vehicle body 1 is obtained”; pg. 30, ln. 6-10: “On the basis of the detection by the steering angle sensor 70 at this time, the direction control unit 60 M detects the arrival at the traveling start point Pa of the traveling vehicle body 1, executes the aforementioned determination control, and based on this determination control and the like , Manual correction steering by the driver, automatic rectilinear control by the direction control unit 60M, or the like is performed similarly to the description in (3) above”; In response to detecting transition from the small turning state to the straight traveling state based on the detection of the steering angles at the first and second set angles (i.e., “in response to determining the contemporaneous change in heading has become equal to or exceeds the stored threshold heading change”), the automatic turning control is terminated (i.e., “disengage the auto-steering module”) and the manual correction steering by the driver is executed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Lyzen by adding disengagement of Yoshida with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the module of Lyzen in view of Yoshida is to improve work efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Lyzen in view of Yoshida teaches the method of claim 1.
Lyzen further discloses wherein the direction is selected from a group consisting of a left of heading turn direction and a right of heading turn direction (Lyzen at para. [0114]: “similar three-state auto turn steering can be implemented for a left hand turn in response to an operator entry of a left auto-turn command, rather than the right auto-turn command 608A”; para. [0184]: Various direction options including left and right turns are described).
Regarding claim 4, Lyzen in view of Yoshida teaches the method of claim 1.
Lyzen further discloses wherein the turn radius is less than but not equal to the track width of the lawn maintenance apparatus (Lyzen at para. [0070]: “the angular rotation metric can include complex data with multiple steering directions and rotation speeds for a single turn, which can be different for different steering wheels, and can vary depending on the type of turn ( e.g., a zero radius turn, a small radius turn in which a displacement of the power equipment device is less than twice the width of the power equipment device, or the like, as is known in the art or reasonably conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art through the context provided herein)”; FIG. 8A and para. [0131]: “Continuous turn 800A has a width of turn 845A that is smaller than a width of work engine 730”).
Regarding claim 5, Lyzen in view of Yoshida teaches the method of claim 1.
Lyzen further discloses wherein the stored threshold heading change is within a range from about 170 degrees to about 190 degrees from the initial heading (Lyzen at FIG. 6B and para. [0112]: “Once initiated, three-state auto-turn steering 600B begins with a first stage in the direction of the command, with a moderate (or low) radius constant turn 622B”; para. [0113]: “a second stage zero-radius turn 624B or pivot turn can be implemented (see, e.g., FIG. 8A, infra). The zero-radius turn 624B can be implemented until a current heading of the power equipment device is within a second threshold angular displacement from a completed turn (e.g., 180-degree turn) is performed. The second threshold angular displacement can be between 15 to 30 degrees from completion of the turn, or any suitable value or range there between”; para. [0114]: “a third stage auto-turn 626B can be implemented, utilizing an algorithm for generating steering adjustment data to align a current heading of the power equipment device with a target heading or target path”; The combined threshold heading change of the three-state auto-turn steering is 180 degrees to complete the turn) and wherein (Lyzen at para. [0113]: “a second stage zero-radius turn 624B or pivot turn can be implemented (see, e.g., FIG. 8A, infra). The zero-radius turn 624B can be implemented until a current heading of the power equipment device is within a second threshold angular displacement from a completed turn (e.g., 180-degree turn) is performed”; The completion of turn is determined based on the change in heading being 180 degrees).
Yoshida further teaches:
disengaging the auto-steering module is in response to the contemporaneous change in heading being determined to equal or exceed the stored threshold heading change (Yoshida at pg. 29, ln. 55-57: “Every time the automatic direction change control is executed, the steering angle sensor 70 detects a transition from the straight traveling state of the traveling vehicle body 1 to the small turning state”; pg. 30, ln. 1-3: “When the predetermined time for the ridge turning has elapsed, the direction control unit 60 M terminates the ridge turning operation by the automatic turning control so that the straight running state of the traveling vehicle body 1 is obtained”; pg. 30, ln. 6-10: “On the basis of the detection by the steering angle sensor 70 at this time, the direction control unit 60 M detects the arrival at the traveling start point Pa of the traveling vehicle body 1, executes the aforementioned determination control, and based on this determination control and the like , Manual correction steering by the driver, automatic rectilinear control by the direction control unit 60M, or the like is performed similarly to the description in (3) above”; In response to detecting the arrival at the traveling start point (i.e., “in response to the contemporaneous change in heading being determined to equal or exceed the stored threshold heading change”), the automatic turning control is terminated (i.e., “disengaging the auto-steering module”) and the manual correction steering by the driver is executed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lyzen in view of Yoshida by adding disengaging the auto-steering module of Yoshida with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Lyzen in view of Yoshida is to improve work efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Lyzen in view of Yoshida teaches the method of claim 1.
Lyzen further discloses wherein engaging the auto-steering module further comprises activating a motor coupled to a wheel orientation mechanism of a steering ground wheel of the lawn maintenance apparatus and providing a turning signal to the motor causing the motor to turn the wheel orientation mechanism of the steering ground wheel a fixed angle that corresponds to the turn radius (Lyzen at para. [0067]: “Motor drive 208 can be powered by an electrical power system 230” “motor drive 208 can activate a motor 220 connected to a steering control of a power equipment device”; para. [0127]: “left wheel control 712 can turn a left steering wheel at a first steering angle to accomplish a turn ( e.g., outer turn path 722). Likewise, right wheel control 714 can turn the right steering wheel at a second steering angle to accomplish a turn (e.g., inner turn path 724). In these embodiments, continuous motion turning module 706 is configured to generate suitable turn angles (and optionally drive speeds) for the left wheel and right wheel to accomplish a particular turn”).
Regarding claim 8, Lyzen in view of Yoshida teaches the method of claim 1.
Lyzen further discloses wherein engaging the auto-steering module further comprises activating a relative motor output controller that:
generates a right wheel speed signal and outputs the right wheel speed signal to a right drive wheel motor of the lawn maintenance apparatus to rotate a right drive wheel at a first rotational speed; and
generates a left wheel speed signal of different magnitude than the right wheel speed signal and outputs the left wheel speed signal to a left drive wheel motor of the lawn maintenance apparatus to rotate a left drive wheel at a second rotational speed, wherein a difference between the first rotational speed and the second rotational speed is selected to turn the lawn maintenance apparatus into the direction at the turn radius (Lyzen at para. [0067]: “Motor drive 208 can be powered by an electrical power system 230” “motor drive 208 can activate a motor 220 connected to a steering control of a power equipment device”; para. [0127]: “left wheel control 712 can turn a left steering wheel at a first steering angle to accomplish a turn ( e.g., outer turn path 722). Likewise, right wheel control 714 can turn the right steering wheel at a second steering angle to accomplish a turn (e.g., inner turn path 724). In these embodiments, continuous motion turning module 706 is configured to generate suitable turn angles (and optionally drive speeds) for the left wheel and right wheel to accomplish a particular turn”).
Regarding claim 10, Lyzen in view of Yoshida teaches the method of claim 1.
Lyzen further discloses further comprising monitoring an operator steering input device during engagement of the auto-steering module for an activation of the operator steering input device, and disengaging the auto-steering module, and reverting the operator-controlled steering, prior to determining the contemporaneous change in heading has become equal to or exceeds the stored threshold heading change in response to identifying the activation of the operator steering input device (Lyzen at para. [0105]: “automated steering as described herein can be disengaged when an operator of a power equipment device manually engages a steering apparatus of the power equipment device. Thus, where the operator manipulates left-right steering wheel levers, or turns a steering wheel, the automated steering disengages and reverts solely to manual operator steering”; When the operation reverts solely to manual operation, further determination will not be made. Therefore, the manual operation will begin “prior to” any determination regarding the automated steering).
Regarding claim 11, Lyzen in view of Yoshida teaches the method of claim 1.
Lyzen further discloses further comprising, in response to determining the contemporaneous change in heading has become equal to or exceeds the stored threshold heading change:
terminating the turning the lawn maintenance apparatus at the turn radius (Lyzen at para. [0112]: “The first stage for the moderate radius constant turn 622B can be guided by an IMU position location system, in some embodiments, in which a constant rate of turn is initiated until a threshold portion of the turn is completed. The threshold portion can be measured in angular displacement (e.g., greater than 90 degrees, 105 degrees, 120 degrees, 140 degrees, 150 degrees, any range or value between 90 to 150 degrees, any suitable value or range there between, or other suitable angular displacement)”);
steer, by way of the auto-steering module, to a low radius turn into the direction specified by the direction command, wherein the low radius turn is different from the turn radius and defined by a second turn radius that is less than the track width of the lawn maintenance apparatus (Lyzen at para. [0113]: “Once the threshold portion of moderate radius constant turn 622B is complete, a second stage zero-radius turn 624B or pivot turn can be implemented (see, e.g., FIG. 8A, infra)”);
continue monitoring the current heading of the lawn maintenance apparatus during the low radius turn relative to the initial heading and determining the contemporaneous change in heading (Lyzen at para. [0113]: “Angular rotation of the power equipment device during the second stage zero-radius turn 624B can be measured by IMU position location”);
compare the contemporaneous change in heading during the low radius turn to a second stored threshold heading change (Lyzen at para. [0113]: The zero-radius turn 624B can be implemented until a current heading of the power equipment device is within a second threshold angular displacement from a completed turn (e.g., 180-degree turn) is performed. The second threshold angular displacement can be between 15 to 30 degrees from completion of the turn, or any suitable value or range there between”); and
determine the contemporaneous change in heading has become equal to or exceeds the second stored threshold heading change, wherein (Lyzen at para. [0113]: “a second stage zero-radius turn 624B or pivot turn can be implemented (see, e.g., FIG. 8A, infra). The zero-radius turn 624B can be implemented until a current heading of the power equipment device is within a second threshold angular displacement from a completed turn (e.g., 180-degree turn) is performed”; The completion of turn is determined based on the change in heading being 180 degrees).
Yoshida further teaches:
disengaging the auto-steering module and reverting to the operator-controlled steering is in response to determining the contemporaneous change in heading has become equal to or exceeds the second stored threshold heading change (Yoshida at pg. 19, ln. 7-13: “the steering angle sensor 70 shifts from the straight traveling state of the traveling vehicle body 1 to the right small turning state (an example of the turning state) by rocking the steering member 52 from the straight traveling position .o to the second set angle .b on the left side And detects the swinging from the second set angle .b on the left side of the steering member 52 to the first set angle .a as a transition from the right turning state of the vehicle body 1 to the straight traveling state. In other words, the steering angle sensor 70 functions as a transition detection unit that detects a transition of the running state of the traveling vehicle body 1”; pg. 23, ln. ;20-22: “The travel start point Pa is a point at which the direction control unit 60 M detects the transition from the small turning state to the straight traveling state of the traveling vehicle body 1 based on the detection of the steering angle sensor 70”; pg. 30, ln. 6-10: “On the basis of the detection by the steering angle sensor 70 at this time, the direction control unit 60 M detects the arrival at the traveling start point Pa of the traveling vehicle body 1, executes the aforementioned determination control, and based on this determination control and the like , Manual correction steering by the driver, automatic rectilinear control by the direction control unit 60M, or the like is performed similarly to the description in (3) above”; pg. 34, para. [10]: “the arrival determination unit 60P determines that the vehicle 1 has reached the turning end point , The automatic direction change control may be terminated”; In response to detecting transition from the small turning state to the straight traveling state based on the detection of the steering angles at the first and second set angles (i.e., “in response to determining the contemporaneous change in heading has become equal to or exceeds the second stored threshold heading change”), the automatic turning control is terminated (i.e., “disengaging the auto-steering module”) and the manual correction steering by the driver is executed (i.e., “reverting back to the operator-controlled steering)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lyzen in view of Yoshida by adding disengaging the auto-steering module of Yoshida with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Lyzen in view of Yoshida is to improve work efficiency.
Regarding claim 12, Lyzen in view of Yoshida teaches the method of claim 11.
Lyzen further discloses wherein the stored threshold heading change is within a first range from about 60 degrees to about 150 degrees from the initial heading (Lyzen at para. [0112]: “The first stage for the moderate radius constant turn 622B can be guided by an IMU position location system, in some embodiments, in which a constant rate of turn is initiated until a threshold portion of the turn is completed. The threshold portion can be measured in angular displacement (e.g., greater than 90 degrees, 105 degrees, 120 degrees, 140 degrees, 150 degrees, any range or value between 90 to 150 degrees, any suitable value or range there between, or other suitable angular displacement)”), and wherein the second stored threshold heading change is within a second range from about 150 degrees to about 190 degrees from the initial heading (Lyzen at para. [0113]: “a second stage zero-radius turn 624B or pivot turn can be implemented (see, e.g., FIG. 8A, infra). The zero-radius turn 624B can be implemented until a current heading of the power equipment device is within a second threshold angular displacement from a completed turn (e.g., 180-degree turn) is performed).
Regarding claim 13, Lyzen in view of Yoshida teaches the method of claim 11.
Lyzen further discloses wherein the low radius turn is less than one half the track width of the lawn maintenance apparatus (Lyzen at para. [0113]: “a second stage zero-radius turn 624B or pivot turn can be implemented (see, e.g., FIG. 8A, infra). The zero-radius turn 624B can be implemented until a current heading of the power equipment device is within a second threshold angular displacement from a completed turn (e.g., 180-degree turn) is performed; Zero-radius is less than one half the track width).
Regarding claim 14, Lyzen in view of Yoshida teaches the method of claim 1.
Lyzen further discloses wherein engaging the auto-steering module and turning the lawn maintenance apparatus further comprises turning the lawn maintenance apparatus with a non-constant turn radius that includes the turn radius as a portion thereof, wherein a turn radius value of the non-constant turn radius changes between the initial heading to the threshold heading change (Lyzen at FIG. 6B and para. [0112]: “Once initiated, three-state auto-turn steering 600B begins with a first stage in the direction of the command, with a moderate (or low) radius constant turn 622B”; para. [0113]: “a second stage zero-radius turn 624B or pivot turn can be implemented (see, e.g., FIG. 8A, infra). The zero-radius turn 624B can be implemented until a current heading of the power equipment device is within a second threshold angular displacement from a completed turn (e.g., 180-degree turn) is performed. The second threshold angular displacement can be between 15 to 30 degrees from completion of the turn, or any suitable value or range there between”; para. [0114]: “a third stage auto-turn 626B can be implemented, utilizing an algorithm for generating steering adjustment data to align a current heading of the power equipment device with a target heading or target path”).
Regarding claim 15, Lyzen in view of Yoshida teaches the method of claim 14.
Lyzen further discloses wherein the non-constant turn radius is defined by an arc, a parabola, a polynomial function or a multi-radius curve (Lyzen at FIG. 6B and para. [0112]: “Once initiated, three-state auto-turn steering 600B begins with a first stage in the direction of the command, with a moderate (or low) radius constant turn 622B”; para. [0113]: “a second stage zero-radius turn 624B or pivot turn can be implemented (see, e.g., FIG. 8A, infra). The zero-radius turn 624B can be implemented until a current heading of the power equipment device is within a second threshold angular displacement from a completed turn (e.g., 180-degree turn) is performed”; para. [0114]: “a third stage auto-turn 626B can be implemented, utilizing an algorithm for generating steering adjustment data to align a current heading of the power equipment device with a target heading or target path”).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Kim (KR 20230031584 A). The rejections below are based on the machine translation of Kim.
Regarding claim 3, Lyzen in view of Yoshida teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Lyzen in view of Yoshida does not explicitly state wherein the turn radius is greater than but not equal to the track width of the lawn maintenance apparatus.
Nevertheless, Lyzen at least suggests the idea of providing large radius turns (Lyzen at para. [0071]: “For large radius turns, steering wheels may pivot at similar angles and at similar speeds to accomplish the large radius turn”).
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein the turn radius is greater than but not equal to the track width of the lawn maintenance apparatus (Kim at FIG. 16 and para. [0085]: “the width (W, Sub[attributes={}; value=[i]], ) of the reciprocating driving area is the working width (W, Sub[attributes={} ; value = [v]], This is an embodiment applied when it is greater than a predetermined integer multiple of ). The work path calculation unit 140 calculates that the width of the reciprocating driving area (W, Sub[attributes={}; value=[i]], ) is the work width (W, Sub[attributes={}; value = [v]], if it is greater than a predetermined integer multiple of ), the reciprocating travel area 12 is divided, and the skip pattern of the straight path 21 is repeated for each divided area, and the sequence of the straight path 21 is repeated. can be determined”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lyzen in view of Yoshida by adding the turn radius of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Kim is to provide efficient work coverage.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Chang et al. (US 2020/0172166 A1, hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding claim 6, Lyzen in view of Yoshida teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Lyzen in view of Yoshida does not explicitly state wherein engaging the auto-steering module further comprises activating an electric motor coupled to a drive shaft of the lawn maintenance apparatus and providing a turning signal to the electric motor causing the electric motor to turn (Lyzen at para. [0067]: “Motor drive 208 can be powered by an electrical power system 230” “motor drive 208 can activate a motor 220 connected to a steering control of a power equipment device”; para. [0188]: “power equipment control unit 1502 can be configured to operate a motor drive ( or engine) to mechanically power wheels, a drivetrain, etc. of the power equipment device”; para. [0127]: “left wheel control 712 can turn a left steering wheel at a first steering angle to accomplish a turn ( e.g., outer turn path 722). Likewise, right wheel control 714 can turn the right steering wheel at a second steering angle to accomplish a turn (e.g., inner turn path 724). In these embodiments, continuous motion turning module 706 is configured to generate suitable turn angles (and optionally drive speeds) for the left wheel and right wheel to accomplish a particular turn”).
However, Lyzen in view of Yoshida does not explicitly state:
causing the electric motor to turn the drive shaft to a fixed angle.
In the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches:
causing the electric motor to turn the drive shaft to a fixed angle (Chang at para. [0047]: “A drive section (not shown) is connected to steering axle 110 and a steering motor 112 to pivot and direct motion of the left traction wheel 106 and right traction wheel 108 during operation, thus allowing the turf device 100 to alter its path during movement”; para. [0052]: “FIG. 6 is an illustration of the steering causing the turf device 100 to turn in a counter-clockwise direction”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lyzen in view of Yoshida by adding the drive shaft of Chang with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Chang is to provide a reliable steering mechanism.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Legault et al. (US 2020/0245560 A1, hereinafter “Legault”).
Regarding claim 9, Lyzen in view of Yoshida teaches the method of claim 8.
Lyzen further discloses wherein the first rotational speed of the right drive wheel and the second rotational speed of the left drive wheel in combination define a turning ground speed for the lawn maintenance apparatus (Lyzen at para. [0129]: “The outer turn path 822 follows continuous forward rotational motion starting in a first direction ( e.g., directed to the top of the page) and ending in a second direction (e.g., directed to the bottom of the page). The inner wheel on the turn path 824 starts at point A and follows a tighter radius at a lower speed about a shorter radius inner turn path 824 from A, B, C and D”; para. [0132]: “Although speed of motion changes for the different tires ( and even direction of motion for the inner tire), continuous motion is maintained throughout turn 800A to avoid divots or other marks on turf different from continuous motion or striping”).
However, Lyzen in view of Yoshida does not explicitly state wherein the turning ground speed is different from an initial ground speed of the lawn maintenance apparatus at the time proximate the activation of the user input device.
Nevertheless, Lyzen at least suggests that a power equipment make automated turn initiated at the end of a straight primary path to turn and align with a path that is parallel to the primary path (Lyzen at para. [0112]).
In the same field of endeavor, Legault teaches wherein the turning ground speed is different from an initial ground speed of the lawn maintenance apparatus at the time proximate the activation of the user input device (Legault at FIGS. 9A-9B and para. [0066]: “In steeper turns on either side of 0° (in a range from +10° to +55° and in a range from -10° to -55°), the maximum ground speed in transport is reduced in a linear arrangement by approximately 1.25% for each incremental 1 ° of angle increase. Thus, in a full 60° turn either to the left or right, the maximum ground speed is reduced to 45% of whatever nominal maximum ground speed had been set by the operator for use during transport”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lyzen in view of Yoshida by adding the turning ground speed of Legault with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Chang is to reduce ground speed when the lawn maintenance apparatus is turning for improving lawn maintenance quality.
Claims 16 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon (US 2022/0332365 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Lyzen discloses an auto-turning module for an outdoor power machine, comprising:
a user input device for receiving an operator turn command related to turning an outdoor power equipment and a direction for turning the outdoor power equipment during operator-controlled steering of the outdoor power machine (Lyzen at para. [0114]: “similar three-state auto turn steering can be implemented for a left hand turn in response to an operator entry of a left auto-turn command, rather than the right auto-turn command 608A”; para. [0183]: “the joystick control 1400D can be provided for operator input commands for left and right turn commands”);
a steering controller communicatively coupled to the user input device configured to receive the operator turn command and the direction from the user input device (Lyzen at para. [0189]: “power equipment control unit 1502 is connected to user input/output 1506 for receipt of user commands ( e.g., input of primary parallel line commands, input of turn left or turn right commands, or other function or maintenance related controls for steering assist and property management device 1500)”), the steering controller further comprising:
a computing module for generating a turning signal (Lyzen at para. [0107]: “a current heading of the power equipment device can then be acquired, and a target path and a target heading selected for the automated turn 608A”; para. [0197]: “control unit (e.g., control unit 112, control unit 202, power equipment control unit 502, 704, 1502, and so forth) of a power equipment device can be embodied in part by computer 1602”);
a steering apparatus of the outdoor power equipment configured to activate in response to receipt of the operator turn command and initiate automated steering configured to move the outdoor power equipment at a turn angle into the direction (Lyzen at para. [0107]: “In response to a third user input 607 A, auto steering can be re-engaged and manual turn 606A becomes an automated turn 608A”), wherein the turn angle is selected to have a turn radius that is different from a track width of the outdoor power equipment (Lyzen at FIG. 8 and para. [0125]: “a turn that results in a path displaced by one width of a work engine 730 (optionally plus a target overlap 732, for example: several centimeters or less; about 2 cm; etc.) can result in a low radius turn”; FIG. 8A and para. [0131]: “Continuous turn 800A has a width of turn 845A that is smaller than a width of work engine 730”);
an orientation module that determines an instantaneous heading of the outdoor power equipment that is local to the outdoor power equipment (Lyzen at para. [0092]: “power equipment control unit 502 can be configured to compute a heading of power equipment device 500, as well as store and track changes to the heading”); and
a tracking module configured to determine when the outdoor power equipment has completed a turn into the direction (Lyzen at para. [0092]: “power equipment control unit 502 can be configured to compute a heading of power equipment device 500, as well as store and track changes to the heading”; The heading is tracked by the power equipment control unit; para. [0113]: “a second stage zero-radius turn 624B or pivot turn can be implemented (see, e.g., FIG. 8A, infra). The zero-radius turn 624B can be implemented until a current heading of the power equipment device is within a second threshold angular displacement from a completed turn (e.g., 180-degree turn) is performed”).
However, Lyzen does not explicitly state:
a tracking module configured to determine when the outdoor power equipment has completed a turn into the direction and generate a turn completion signal
wherein the steering controller is configured to terminate generating the turning signal and to deactivate the steering apparatus in response to generation of the turn completion signal by the tracking module and restore exclusive control of the steering apparatus to an operator of the outdoor power equipment.
Nevertheless, Lyzen at least suggests that the heading of the power equipment device is computed to confirm that the turn is completed and the completion of the turn is further utilized to perform control steps (see Lyzen at para. [0092], [0113], and claim 31).
In the same field of endeavor, Yoshida teaches:
a tracking module configured to determine when the outdoor power equipment has completed a turn into the direction and generate a turn completion signal (Yoshida at pg. 30, ln. 6-10: “On the basis of the detection by the steering angle sensor 70 at this time, the direction control unit 60 M detects the arrival at the traveling start point Pa of the traveling vehicle body 1, executes the aforementioned determination control, and based on this determination control and the like , Manual correction steering by the driver, automatic rectilinear control by the direction control unit 60M, or the like is performed similarly to the description in (3) above; Control based on an information requires a signal regarding the information. Therefore, to perform control steps based on the arrival at the traveling start point Pa, a signal indicating the arrival at the traveling start point (i.e., “a turn completion signal”) must be generated).
wherein the steering controller is configured to terminate generating the turning signal and to deactivate the steering apparatus in response to generation of the turn completion signal by the tracking module (Yoshida at pg. 34, para. [10]: “the arrival determination unit 60P determines that the vehicle 1 has reached the turning end point , The automatic direction change control may be terminated”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Lyzen by adding the steering controller of Yoshida with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the module of Lyzen in view of Yoshida is to improve work efficiency.
However, Lyzen in view of Yoshida does not explicitly state:
restore exclusive control of the steering apparatus to an operator of the outdoor power equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, Calderon teaches:
restore exclusive control of the steering apparatus to an operator of the outdoor power equipment (Calderon at para. [0048]: “When the analysis determines that condition(s) for manual steering control are met, the automatic steering is disengaged and control reverts 1350 to the operator”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Lyzen in view of Yoshida by adding restoring the exclusive control of Calderon with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the module of Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon is to enable transitioning from an automatic steering mode to a manual steering mode.
Office Note: The term “a turn completion signal” is interpreted as “a detectable physical quantity by which messages or information can be transmitted associated with completion of a turn” (“Signal.” Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/signal. Accessed 27 Jul. 2026.).
Regarding claim 20, Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon teaches the auto-turning module of claim 16.
Lyzen further discloses wherein the turning signal is calibrated to cause drive motors of the outdoor power equipment to operate respective drive wheels of the outdoor power equipment at respective speeds that accomplish the turn angle (Lyzen at para. [0067]: “Motor drive 208 can be powered by an electrical power system 230” “motor drive 208 can activate a motor 220 connected to a steering control of a power equipment device”; para. [0127]: “left wheel control 712 can turn a left steering wheel at a first steering angle to accomplish a turn ( e.g., outer turn path 722). Likewise, right wheel control 714 can turn the right steering wheel at a second steering angle to accomplish a turn (e.g., inner turn path 724). In these embodiments, continuous motion turning module 706 is configured to generate suitable turn angles (and optionally drive speeds) for the left wheel and right wheel to accomplish a particular turn”).
Regarding claim 21, Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon teaches the auto-turning module of claim 16.
Lyzen further discloses wherein the orientation module is selected from a group consisting essentially of: a gyroscope, a gyroscope in combination with an accelerometer, a gyroscope in combination with a wheel encoder and a gyroscope in combination with a speed estimation module, wherein the speed estimation module infers vehicle speed from a metric of prime mover power output (Lyzen at para. [0134]: “A gyroscope/inclinometer 910 is provided to measure an angle of rotation of incline surface 904”; para. [0136]: “Displacement in the tilt direction can be measured by an onboard IMU ( e.g., a gyroscope and accelerometer, among others) and used to calculate tilt adjustment data for axial compensation data, as described in more detail at FIGS. 9C and 9D”).
Regarding claim 22, Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon teaches the auto-turning module of claim 16.
Lyzen further discloses wherein the turn completion signal is a primary leg turn completion signal of a primary leg of turning the outdoor power equipment, and the steering controller is further configured to initiate a secondary leg of the turning the outdoor power equipment in response to the primary leg turn completion signal (Lyzen at para. [0112]: “Once initiated, three-state auto-turn steering 600B begins with a first stage in the direction of the command, with a moderate (or low) radius constant turn 622B. The first stage for the moderate radius constant turn 622B can be guided by an IMU position location system, in some embodiments, in which a constant rate of turn is initiated until a threshold portion of the turn is completed. The threshold portion can be measured in angular displacement (e.g., greater than 90 degrees, 105 degrees, 120 degrees, 140 degrees, 150 degrees, any range or value between 90 to 150 degrees, any suitable value or range there between, or other suitable angular displacement), or can be measured in translational displacement from primary path 605A (or from subsequent parallel line 610A), or the threshold portion can be a combination of angular displacement and translational displacement in various embodiments”; para. [0113]: “Once the threshold portion of moderate radius constant turn 622B is complete, a second stage zero-radius turn 624B or pivot turn can be implemented (see, e.g., FIG. SA, infra)”), and further wherein:
the computing module is configured to generate a second turning signal in response to initiation of the secondary leg, wherein the second turning signal causes the steering apparatus to move the outdoor power equipment at a second turn angle into the direction having a second turn radius smaller than the turn radius and equal to or less than half the track width of the outdoor power equipment (Lyzen at para. [0113]: “Once the threshold portion of moderate radius constant turn 622B is complete, a second stage zero-radius turn 624B or pivot turn can be implemented (see, e.g., FIG. 8A, infra)”;
the orientation module is configured to continue determining the instantaneous heading during the second turn angle (Lyzen at para. [0113]: The zero-radius turn 624B can be implemented until a current heading of the power equipment device is within a second threshold angular displacement from a completed turn (e.g., 180-degree turn) is performed”; The orientation module must continue to determine to determine the turn completion based on the comparison between the current heading and the threshold angular displacement);
the tracking module is configured to determine when the outdoor power equipment has completed the secondary leg of the turning and (Lyzen at para. [0092]: “power equipment control unit 502 can be configured to compute a heading of power equipment device 500, as well as store and track changes to the heading”; The heading is tracked by the power equipment control unit; para. [0113]: “a second stage zero-radius turn 624B or pivot turn can be implemented (see, e.g., FIG. 8A, infra). The zero-radius turn 624B can be implemented until a current heading of the power equipment device is within a second threshold angular displacement from a completed turn (e.g., 180-degree turn) is performed”).
Yoshida further teaches to generate a steering controller deactivation that causes the computing module to terminate the second turning signal and causes the steering controller to deactivate (Yoshida at pg. 34, para. [10]: “The automatic direction change control is started when the reach determination unit 60P determines that the vehicle 1 reaches the turning start points Pc and Pd of the vehicle body 1 and the arrival determination unit 60P determines that the vehicle 1 has reached the turning end point , The automatic direction change control may be terminated”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon by adding the steering controller of Yoshida with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the module of Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon is to improve work efficiency.
Regarding claim 23, Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon teaches the auto-turning module of claim 22.
Lyzen further discloses wherein the orientation module determines an initial heading of the outdoor power equipment contemporaneous with the user input device receiving the operator turn command, and wherein the primary leg is an arc of between 60 and 150 degrees from the initial heading (Lyzen at para. [0112]: “The threshold portion can be measured in angular displacement (e.g., greater than 90 degrees, 105 degrees, 120 degrees, 140 degrees, 150 degrees, any range or value between 90 to 150 degrees, any suitable value or range there between, or other suitable angular displacement), or can be measured in translational displacement from primary path 605A (or from subsequent parallel line 610A), or the threshold portion can be a combination of angular displacement and translational displacement in various embodiments”) and the secondary leg is a second arc of between 150 and 190 degrees from the initial heading (Lyzen at para. [0113]: “The zero-radius turn 624B can be implemented until a current heading of the power equipment device is within a second threshold angular displacement from a completed turn (e.g., 180-degree turn) is performed. The second threshold angular displacement can be between 15 to 30 degrees from completion of the turn, or any suitable value or range there between”).
Regarding claim 24, Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon teaches the auto-turning module of claim 16.
Yoshida further teaches wherein the steering controller is independent of wireless global positioning, wireless satellite positioning and wireless local positioning systems (Yoshida at pg. 35, para. [12]: “The positioning unit 86 may include a DGPS (differential GPS: differential GPS), RTK-GPS (Real Time Kinematic GPS), or the like as the satellite navigation device 87”; pg. 35, para. [13]: “Instead of the satellite navigation device 87, the positioning unit 86 may include an optical measuring device that measures the position of the vehicle body, for example, using a laser beam”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon by adding the steering controller that is independent of wireless global positioning, wireless satellite positioning and wireless local positioning systems of Yoshida with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the module of Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon is to provide an alternative positioning unit that does not include wireless positioning systems.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon and Minami (JP H02241850 A). The rejections below are based on the machine translation of Minami.
Regarding claim 17, Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon teaches the auto-turning module of claim 16.
Lyzen further discloses wherein to facilitate determining completion of the turn, the tracking module is further configured to:
store a target change in heading associated with completion of the turn (Lyzen at para. [0088]: “less than another suitable angular displacement programmed to power equipment control unit 502 to imply a turn of power equipment device 500 to a new direction of a path vector”; The suitable angular displacement (i.e., “target change in heading”) must be stored to program the power equipment to be controlled based on the suitable angular displacement);
obtain an initial heading for the outdoor power equipment from the orientation module in response to the user input device receiving the operator turn command (Lyzen at para. [0100]: “A further user input 606 is entered to engage automated steering for the power equipment device” “a current heading 613 of the power equipment device is calculated and an angular displacement from a target heading is measured (e.g., primary heading 607)”);
obtain subsequent heading determinations from the orientation module during the generating of the turning signal by the computing module (Lyzen at para. [0116]: “a heading1 634C for moderate-radius constant turn 622B can be determined from the local measurement device. Moderate-radius constant turn 622B can be maintained until a threshold angular displacement between heading1 634C and heading0 632C is reached”);
compare a difference in the subsequent heading determinations with the initial heading relative to the stored target change in heading (Lyzen at para. [0116]: “a heading1 634C for moderate-radius constant turn 622B can be determined from the local measurement device. Moderate-radius constant turn 622B can be maintained until a threshold angular displacement between heading1 634C and heading0 632C is reached”); and
(Lyzen at FIG. 6B and para. [0112]: “Once initiated, three-state auto-turn steering 600B begins with a first stage in the direction of the command, with a moderate (or low) radius constant turn 622B”; para. [0113]: “a second stage zero-radius turn 624B or pivot turn can be implemented (see, e.g., FIG. 8A, infra). The zero-radius turn 624B can be implemented until a current heading of the power equipment device is within a second threshold angular displacement from a completed turn (e.g., 180-degree turn) is performed. The second threshold angular displacement can be between 15 to 30 degrees from completion of the turn, or any suitable value or range there between”; para. [0114]: “a third stage auto-turn 626B can be implemented, utilizing an algorithm for generating steering adjustment data to align a current heading of the power equipment device with a target heading or target path”); Claim 31: “the location module is configured to switch from the secondary position location information back to the corrected position data in response to completion of the turn by the direction control module”).
However, Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon does not explicitly state output the turn completion signal to the steering controller.
Nevertheless, Lyzen at least suggests the idea of indicating whether auto-steering is engaged or disengaged along with other information via steering controller (Lyzen at para. [0186]) .
In the same field of endeavor, Minami teaches output the turn completion signal to the steering controller (Minami at pg. 2, ln. 32-34: “A microcomputer-based control device (5) constituting a notifying means (101) for informing each start time by actuating a buzzer (4) at each starting point of straight traveling accompanied by the end of the secondary turnover is provided”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon by adding outputting the turn completion signal of Minami with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the module of Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon and Minami is to assist an operator.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon and Chang.
Regarding claim 19, Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon teaches the auto-turning module of claim 16.
However, Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon does not explicitly state wherein the turning signal is calibrated to adjust a steering apparatus of the outdoor power equipment to turn steering wheels of the outdoor power equipment according to the turn angle.
In the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches wherein the turning signal is calibrated to adjust a steering apparatus of the outdoor power equipment to turn steering wheels of the outdoor power equipment according to the turn angle (Chang at para. [0047]: “A drive section (not shown) is connected to steering axle 110 and a steering motor 112 to pivot and direct motion of the left traction wheel 106 and right traction wheel 108 during operation, thus allowing the turf device 100 to alter its path during movement”; para. [0052]: “FIG. 6 is an illustration of the steering causing the turf device 100 to turn in a counter-clockwise direction”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon by adding the steering apparatus of Chang with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the module of Lyzen in view of Yoshida further in view of Calderon and Chang is to provide a reliable steering mechanism.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found in the attached PTO-892 form.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JISUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
7/28/26