DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first action on the merits, in response to application filed October 18, 2024. Claims 1-15, are currently pending.
Priority
Certified copy of priority documents KR10-2022-0089836 dated July 20, 2022 and KR10-2022-0109188, dated August 30, 2022, are acknowledged which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/18/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (WO 2022/119219, admitted prior art) to Lee et al (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claims 1, 11, 15, Lee discloses an electronic device (method) (element 101, fig. 1 and 200 in fig. 2) comprising:
a display module (element 160, 210 in fig 1 and 2 respectively) comprising a plurality of areas (areas 1310a, 1320a and 1310b, 1320b in figs 13A and 13B respectively) (paras. 0084, 0102, 0134-0149);
at least one processor (element 120, 250 in figs 1 and 2 respectively); and
memory (element 130, 240 in figs 1 and 2 respectively) configured to store instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (paras. 0007-0008, 0038, 0061), cause the electronic device to:
when detecting an execution input for a target application9the execution input is implied, since it generally interpreted to mean a trigger input, a user touch input on a screen to execute a target application to obtain or have the desired area of interest sought by the user appear on the screen to display among the pieces of application targeted by the touch trigger) obtain pieces of target subscriber identification module (SIM) information connected to the target application among pieces of SIM information read by the electronic device (according to an embodiment, when the function related to the first application is not performed using the first SIM 221, the processor 250 May determine whether a function related to the first application may be performed using the second SIM 223. For example, each of the first SIM 221 and the second SIM 223 May correspond to a different communication company, a communication fee, and/or a communication scheme, or may have a difference in the amount of available data communication. For example, in order to perform a specific function of an application, the SIM 220 May support a corresponding setting (e.g. a communication company or a communication method), or a resource (e.g. a communication data capacity, a call time, or a message number) allocated to the SIM 220 May need to be sufficient. For example, when the amount of communication data available in the first SIM 221 is insufficient, the processor 250 May determine whether the amount of available communication data is sufficient through the second SIM 223. For example, when a specific communication scheme cannot be used in the first SIM 221, the processor 250 May determine whether the specific communication scheme may be used in the second SIM 223. For example, when the first SIM 221 uses all available resources (e.g. communication data capacity, call time, or message number) according to the specified communication fee, the processor 250 May determine whether the second SIM 223 May use the corresponding resource) (paras. 0007-0008, 0066, 0068-0071, 00840112, 0115, 0156, 0159-0161, 0176, 0199, element 2020, 2040, in figs. 15A, 15B and fig. 20 respectively), and
display a screen of the target application executed by using the obtained target SIM information in a target area corresponding to the obtained target SIM information among the areas of the display module (an electronic device capable of efficiently managing areas and user interfaces of a display corresponding to a plurality of SIMs. Flexible display 210 May visually provide information to the outside (e.g. a user) of the electronic device 200, the flexible display 210 May include at least one of a foldable display, a slidable display, and a rollable display the flexible display 210 may have various form factors, for instance, an expanded form or a reduced form of a folded form or an unfolded form of a foldable display, a slidable display (e.g. an area of a slidable display exposed to the outside of the electronic device), or an expanded form or a reduced form of a rollable display (e.g. an area of a rollable display exposed to the outside of the electronic device) may be a form factor of a flexible display, a reduced state may refer to a state in which at least a portion of the slidable display or the rollable display is inserted into the housing of the electronic device and covered by the housing) (paras. 0007-0008, 0028, 0042, 0049, 0067-0072, 0077-0078, 0112, 0115, 0156, 0158). Lee further discloses computer program product may be distributed in the form of a machine-readable storage medium (e.g. compact disk read only memory (CD-ROM)), or be distributed (e.g. downloaded or uploaded) online via an application store, or between two user devices (e.g. smart phones) directly, (para. 0265).
Regarding claim 11, this claim is analyzed and rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 because the corresponding apparatus in claim 1 can be used to practice the method steps of claim 11.
Regarding claims 2, 12, Lee discloses wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: when obtaining the pieces of target SIM information connected to the target application, display the screen of the target application by using the pieces of target SIM information in target areas respectively corresponding to the pieces of target SIM information (see paras. 0007-0008, 0078; fig. 2, elements 221, 223)
Regarding claims 3, 13, Lee discloses wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: when a piece of content corresponds to at least two pieces of among the pieces of SIM information read by the electronic device, display the content through a screen corresponding to a piece of SIM information among the at least two pieces of SIM information (see paras. 0007-0008, 0078 and fig. 2).
Regarding claims 4, 14, Lee discloses when there is a different area from the target area among the areas, display a home screen configured to detect an execution input for an application stored in the electronic device in the different area (see paras. 00073, 0096, 0113, figs 4, 6, 13A and 13B, element 2120 in fig. 21).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses when detecting an execution input for a different application using different SIM information from the target SIM information while displaying the screen of the target application, display a screen of the different application in a different area from the target area while maintaining the displaying of the screen of the target application in the target area (see para. 0087).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses when detecting an execution input for the target application, select the target SIM information connected to the target application from among the pieces of SIM information, based on connection information between an application and SIM information (see paras. 0007, 0036, 0039, 0082, 0084, 0089, 0170, 0177).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses select the target SIM information based on an area comprising a position at which the execution input is detected (see paras. 0159, 0161).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses in areas respectively corresponding to the pieces of SIM information, display a home screen configured to execute an application stored in the electronic device by using a SIM corresponding to the application (see paras. 0122, 0126).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses by using representative SIM information selected from among the pieces of SIM information, display a home screen configured to execute an application (see para. 0126).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (hereinafter Lee) (WO2022/119219, prior art IDS) in view of Wang (US 2022/0007172, prior art IDS).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses limitation noted above with claim 1. Lee does not expressly show when detecting an input for moving the displayed screen of the target application to another area corresponding to different SIM information, execute the target application by using the different SIM information and display the screen of the target application in the other area. Wang however discloses when detecting an input for moving the displayed screen of the target application to another area corresponding to different SIM information, execute the target application by using the different SIM information and display the screen of the target application in the other area (after the icon of the target application is moved from the first display region to the second display region, when the target application is controlled to perform an operation based on a SIM card, the SIM card associated with the second display region is automatically selected to perform the operation, instead of selecting the SIM card associated with the first display region. Therefore, in this embodiment of the present disclosure, the SIM card automatically selected when the application performs an operation based on a SIM card can be adjusted by means of moving the icon of the application) (para. 0080). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wang with device processing of Lee for the benefit of allow a user to use services provided by a plurality of wireless network systems through one terminal device provide a simplified user operation, thereby improving user experience.
Conclusion
/QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2632.