DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In the statement: “a return magnetic-path auxiliary member that is arranged on at least one of an outer diameter side and an inner diameter side in the direction perpendicular to the tube axis of the excitation coil, and that complements a function of the return magnetic path,” the applicant does not disclose which part of the apparatus “side” refers to. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as “an outer diameter side and an inner diameter side of the excitation coil…”
An Annotated Figure 2 showing how this office action interprets outer diameter and inner diameter.
Claims 2-6 are rejected for depending on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zing (U.S. 2005/0000300).
Regarding Claim 1, Zing teaches:
An electromagnetic flow meter that measures a flow rate of a conductive fluid flowing through a measuring tube, comprising (see [0031]):
an excitation coil that is arranged in the measuring tube, and that generates a magnetic field in a direction perpendicular to a tube axis of the measuring tube (see [0015], [0035]);
a return magnetic path that is arranged on a side surface in a circumferential direction of a tube axis including the excitation coil in the measuring tube, and that concentrates the magnetic field generated by the excitation coil to an inside of the measuring tube (see [0040]);
and a return magnetic-path auxiliary member that is arranged on at least one of an outer diameter side and an inner diameter side in the direction perpendicular to the tube axis of the excitation coil, and that complements a function of the return magnetic path (see [0044], parts 17-22 in Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Zing teaches:
Wherein the return magnetic-path auxiliary member is arranged on the outer diameter side in the direction perpendicular to the tube axis of the excitation coil, and blocks movement of a magnetic flux of the magnetic field to the outer diameter side (see [0044], [0047], parts 17-20 in Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Zing teaches:
Wherein the return magnetic-path auxiliary member is arranged to extend inwardly to a gap of the excitation coil, and reinforces the magnetic field generated by the excitation coil (see parts 171, 181, 191, and 201 in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Zing teaches:
Wherein the return magnetic-path auxiliary member is arranged on the inner diameter side in the direction perpendicular to the tub axis of the excitation coil, and absorbs a magnetic flux of the magnetic field toward the outer diameter side (see [0040], [0043], [0049], parts 21 and 22 in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Zing teaches:
Wherein the return magnetic-path auxiliary member arranged on the inner diameter side except a position at which the excitation coil is arranged in the measuring tube, and passes a magnetic flux of the magnetic field toward the inner diameter side, and reinforces the magnetic field generated by the excitation coil (see [0040], parts 21 and 22 in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Zing teaches:
Wherein the return magnetic-path auxiliary member is a plate of a ferromagnetic material (see [0057]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. 2015/0268075 (Rovner) is considered relevant to the disclosure but is not used in this rejection. Rovner discloses a similar electromagnetic flow meter and magnetic return path assembly.
Furthermore, Zing teaches a further embodiment that could be considered relevant to this objection, but was not relied upon. Figure 7 teaches magnetic auxiliary members (31) within a metallic flow tube (11), which could be considered relevant to Claims 4 and 5. This, however, was not relied upon based on this office action’s claim interpretations.
/Colin S Craven/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855 8/19/26