DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/920,482 filed on 10/18/2024.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 10/18/2024, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 1-20 are pending.
-Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 15-18, 20 are rejected.
-Claims 4, 9, 14, 19 are objected.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/18/2024, 04/14/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 5, 10, 15, 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Regarding Claims 5, 10, 15, 20 (i.e. using claim 5 as an example representative of Claim 10, 15, 20) - Claim 5 recites terms “one or more sub-bands” in recitation “the configuration for one or more sub-bands” after a preceding recitation of “a configuration for one or more sub-bands” in Claim 1. Claim 1 subsequently within limitations of claim 1 recites “the one or more sub-bands” finding appropriate antecedence to the preceding recitation “one or more sub-bands” within claim 1. However, the office action presents significant questions may be raised as to where recitation of the terms “one or more sub-bands” in Claim 5 finds antecedent basis, i.e. whether the recitation of “one or more sub-bands” in claim 1 serves as the antecedent basis for “one or more sub-bands” recited in Claim 5, or whether the recitation “one or more sub-bands” in Claim 5 refers to a separate instance of “one or more sub-bands” different from “one or more sub-bands” as referenced in claim 1.
To avoid questions raised “one or more sub-bands” in Claim 5 is interpreted as finding antecedent basis in “one or more sub-bands” as referenced in claim 1, where Claim 5 is possibly missing an article “the” as in “the configuration for” the “one or more sub-bands”.
Claims 10, 15, 20 also recite “one or more sub-bands” with respect to respective independent Claims 6, 11, 16, and claims 10, 15, 20 are subject to similar issues identified for claim 5.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
8. Claims 1, 5, 6, 10, 11, 15, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost et al. (US 20210105812 A1) i.e. “Rastegardoost” in view of XIONG et al. (US 20200274660 A1), i.e. “XIONG”
Regarding Claim 1. Rastegardoost teaches: A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system (Rastegardoost - FIG. 22 & ¶0411 […] A UE may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters indicating radio resources of a configured grant. The radio resources may be periodic. The radio resources may comprise a first CG resource, e.g., a time/frequency resource, that spans over two or more LBT subbands. For example, the first CG resource may be a wideband resource, configured for a wideband operation scenario. The configuration parameters may further indicate one or more DMRS scrambling ID/sequence, and/or one or more frequency/PRB offsets for mapping CG-UCI in the CG PUSCH.;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0411 i.e. A UE may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters indicating radio resources of a configured grant reads on: A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system ),
the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, a configuration for one or more sub-bands (Rastegardoost - FIG. 22 FIG. 27& ¶0406 […] The BS may indicate one or more frequency offsets to one or more UEs to indicate a first allocated RE/PRB for CG-UCI of the one or more UEs within a common CG resource. The one or more frequency offsets may be with respect to a starting RE/PRB/subcarrier of the CG resource. The one or more frequency offsets may be with respect to a reference PRB of the subband/bandwidth part (e.g. first PRB of a subband, or PRB0 of a bandwidth part) ; ¶0411 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0411 i.e. A UE may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters indicating radio resources of a configured grant reads on: the method comprising: receiving, per ¶0406 i.e. The BS may indicate one or more frequency offsets to one or more UEs to indicate a first allocated RE/PRB for CG-UCI of the one or more UEs within a common CG resource i.e. The one or more frequency offsets may be with respect to a reference PRB of the subband/bandwidth part (e.g. first PRB of a subband, or PRB0 of a bandwidth part) reads on: from a base station , where per ¶0411 i.e. A UE may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters indicating radio resources of a configured grant. The radio resources may be periodic. The radio resources may comprise a first CG resource, e.g., a time/frequency resource, that spans over two or more LBT subbands reads on: a configuration for one or more sub-bands ) ;
receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (Rastegardoost -FIG. 21, FIG. 22 & ¶0191 […] Depending on the purpose and/or content of a DCI, the base station may transmit the DCIs with one or more DCI formats. For example, DCI format 0_0 may be used for scheduling of PUSCH in a cell. ; ¶0397 […] The BS may semi-statically configure by RRC one or more beta-offset values. The one or more beta-offset values may indicate a coding rate of the CG-UCI and/or HARQ-ACK and/or CSI and/or PUSCH. The UE may use the one or more beta-offset values to determine the resource elements allocated to CG-UCI and/or HARQ-ACK/CSI part 1/CSI part 2. For example, for type 2 CG PUSCH, the one or more beta-offset values may be dynamically indicated by the activation DCI;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0191 i.e. the base station may transmit the DCIs with one or more DCI formats i.e. DCI format 0_0 may be used for scheduling of PUSCH reads on: receiving, from the base station downlink control information (DCI), where per ¶0397 The BS may semi-statically configure by RRC one or more beta-offset values i.e. type 2 CG PUSCH, the one or more beta-offset values may be dynamically indicated by the activation DCI reads on: downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH));
identifying, among the one or more sub-bands, a first sub-band for uplink control information (UCI) (Rastegardoost -Fig. 22 & ¶0413 […] the UE maps a CG-UCI to a CG-UCI region comprising one or more REs/PRBs in a first subband of two or more subbands within the CG PUSCH bandwidth. The UE may multiplex the CG-UCI in the PUSCH within the first subband.;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0413 i.e. the UE maps a CG-UCI to a CG-UCI region reads on: identifying , per ¶0413 i.e. the UE maps a CG-UCI to a CG-UCI region comprising one or more REs/PRBs in i.e. a first subband of two or more subbands reads on: among the one or more sub-bands , where per ¶0413 i.e. maps a CG-UCI to a CG-UCI region comprising one or more REs/PRBs in a first subband reads on: a first sub-band , where the UE maps a CG-UCI to a CG-UCI region reads on: for uplink control information (UCI));
multiplexing the UCI on the PUSCH based on the first sub-band for the UCI (Rastegardoost -Fig. 22 & ¶0413 See above.;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0413 i.e. The UE may multiplex the CG-UCI in the PUSCH reads on: multiplexing the UCI on the PUSCH per ¶0413 i.e. within the first subband where per ¶0412 i.e. one or more beta-offset values associated with number of PRBs allocated to a CG-UCI in each LBT subband may be different or may be the same and i.e. The one or more CG-UCI regions may be confined to a subband bandwidth. reads on: based on the first sub-band for the UCI);
and transmitting, to the base station, the PUSCH including the UCI (Rastegardoost -Fig. 22 & ¶0413 See above.; ¶0415 […] The UE may transmit the CG-UCI and/or PUSCH in one or more subbands where LBT is successful (channel is idle);
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0415 i.e. UE may transmit the CG-UCI and/or PUSCH in one or more subbands reads on: and transmitting, to the base station, the PUSCH including the UCI).
While Rastegardoost via a combination of examples and embodiments teaches: receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) as noted herein,
assuming arguendo i.e. Rastegardoost a single embodiment does not appear to explicitly teach (i.e. Rastegardoost implies) downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and therefore i.e.,
Rastegardoost (i.e. a single embodiment) does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Rastegardoost i.e. implies see italicized portions of claim limitations): downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel;
XIONG which also teaches: A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system (XIONG FIG. 14 & ¶0087 […]step 1401, in which the processor or processing circuit of the RAN node, such as the RAN nodes 1511 and 1512, may encode information, such as downlink control information (DCI), wherein the DCI indicates a resource mapping scheme. The resource mapping scheme may be used by the UE such as such as UE 1501 or 1502, to generate an uplink (UL) signal to be transmitted on physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ; ¶0088 […] method 1400 may proceed to step 1402, in which the transceiver interface of the RAN node, such as the RAN nodes 1511 and 1512, may transmit the encoded information such as DCI to the UE such as such as UE 1501 or 1502;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0088 i.e. method 1400 may proceed to step 1402 reads on: A method, per ¶0088 i.e. in which the transceiver interface of the RAN node, such as the RAN nodes 1511 and 1512, may i.e. transmit the encoded information such as DCI to the UE reads on: performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system ),
the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, a configuration for one or more sub-bands (XIONG FIG. 14 & ¶0058 […] the starting position of the UL data transmission on PUSCH when UCI is multiplexed on PUSCH, in term of symbol index in time domain and subcarrier or physical resource block (PRB) index in frequency domain, can be predefined in the specification or configured by higher layers via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling or dynamically indicated in the DCI or a combination thereof. Alternatively, the starting position of UL data transmission on PUSCH can be determined in accordance with the maximum payload size or offset parameter for the first and second CSI part;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0088 i.e. step 1402, in which the transceiver interface of the RAN node, such as the RAN nodes 1511 and 1512, may transmit the encoded information such as DCI reads on: the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, a configuration , where per ¶0058 as i.e. configured by higher layers via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling or dynamically indicated in the DCI, i.e. the starting position of the UL data transmission on PUSCH when UCI is multiplexed on PUSCH, in term of symbol index in time domain and i.e. subcarrier or physical resource block (PRB) index in frequency domain reads on: for one or more sub-bands);
furthermore (i.e. specific to this rejection) XIONG teaches: receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (XIONG FIG. 14 & ¶0058 See above; ¶0088 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0058 as i.e. configured by higher layers via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling or dynamically indicated in the DCI reads on: receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI), i.e. the starting position of the UL data transmission on PUSCH reads on: scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) per ¶0058 i.e. when UCI is multiplexed on PUSCH, in term of symbol index in time domain and subcarrier or physical resource block (PRB) index in frequency domain);
identifying, among the one or more sub-bands, a first sub-band for uplink control information (UCI) (XIONG FIG. 2, FIG. 14 & ¶0045 […] HARQ-ACK is either puncturing or rate-matching around the CSI report, depending on the payload size. Further, the first CSI part, the second CSI part, and the UL data may be mapped subsequently, in either time first or frequency first manner; ¶0046 […] although for frequency first mapping as shown in FIG. 2, the mapping starts from the first subcarrier of the allocated resource, the mapping may also start from the last subcarrier of the allocated resource ;¶0058 See above; ¶0088 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0058 as i.e. configured by higher layers via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling or dynamically indicated in the, i.e. the starting position of the UL data transmission on PUSCH i.e. when UCI is multiplexed on PUSCH, in term of symbol index in time domain and subcarrier or physical resource block (PRB) index in frequency domain reads on: identifying, where per ¶0045 i.e. HARQ-ACK is either puncturing or rate-matching around the CSI report, depending on the payload size. Further, i.e. the first CSI part, the second CSI part, and the UL data may be mapped subsequently, in either time first or i.e. frequency first manner and per ¶0046 i.e. the mapping starts from the first subcarrier of the allocated resource i.e. HARQ-ACK and the first CSI part, the second CSI part, and the UL data may be mapped subsequently in frequency first manner where per ¶0046 as depicted in FIG. 2 i.e. the mapping starts from the first subcarrier of the allocated resource and i.e. the mapping may also start from the last subcarrier reads on: among the one or more sub-bands, per ¶0046 i.e. the mapping starts from the first subcarrier reads on: a first sub-band for uplink control information (UCI), where correspondingly per ¶0058 i.e. UCI is multiplexed on PUSCH, in term of symbol index in time domain and subcarrier or physical resource block (PRB) index in frequency domain );
multiplexing the UCI on the PUSCH based on the first sub-band for the UCI (XIONG FIG. 14 & ¶0058 See above; ¶0088 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0058 as i.e. configured by higher layers via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling or dynamically indicated in the, i.e. the starting position of the UL data transmission on PUSCH i.e. when UCI is multiplexed on PUSCH reads on: multiplexing the UCI on the PUSCH , i.e. in term of symbol index in time domain and subcarrier or physical resource block (PRB) index in frequency domain reads on: based on the first sub-band for the UCI);
and transmitting, to the base station, the PUSCH including the UCI (XIONG - FIG. 13 & ¶0082 […] step 1301, in which the processor or processing circuit of UE, such as UE 1501 or 1502, may generate a uplink (UL) signal to be transmitted on physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) by using a resource mapping scheme, wherein at least a part of the resource mapping scheme is predefined, configured by higher layer signalling, or indicated in downlink control information (DCI); ¶0084 […]step 1302, in which the transceiver interface of UE, such as UE 1501 or 1502, may transmit the generated UL signal;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0084 i.e. step 1302, in which the transceiver interface of UE, such as UE 1501 or 1502, may transmit the generated UL signal reads on: and transmitting, to the base station , where per ¶0058 i.e. the starting position of the UL data transmission on PUSCH when UCI is multiplexed on PUSCH reads on: the PUSCH including the UCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rastegardoost with teachings of XIONG, since XIONG enables that a hybrid resource mapping may be employed for the transmission of the first and second CSI part on PUSCH, which may help in exploiting the benefit of both time and frequency diversity, which may help to provide efficient processing of the decoding of CSI report (XIONG - ¶0049).
Regarding Claim 5. Rastegardoost in view of XIONG teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Rastegardoost teaches: wherein the configuration for one or more sub-bands includes a beta-offset value for each sub-band of the one or more sub-bands (Rastegardoost – FIG. 22 & ¶0409 See claim 2; ¶0412 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0409 i.e. the BS may indicate the one or more frequency offsets via DCI (e.g., activation DCI for CG type 2) […] the BS may indicate, via RRC/DCI signaling, the one or more beta-offset values reads on: wherein the configuration for one or more sub-bands includes a beta-offset value, per ¶0412 i.e. one or more beta-offset values associated with number of PRBs allocated to a CG-UCI in each LBT subband reads on: for each sub-band of the one or more sub-bands where subbands are depicted in FIG. 22),
and wherein a number of resource elements (REs) for the UCI is identified based on a beta-offset value for the first sub-band for the UCI (Rastegardoost - ¶0397 […] the one or more beta-offset values may be dynamically indicated by the activation DCI. […] the base station may configure a second beta-offset for a configured grant resource configuration. The wireless device may determine a number of REs used for mapping a CG-UCI based on the second beta-offset;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per 0397 i.e. the base station may configure a second beta-offset for a configured grant resource configuration. The wireless device may determine a number of REs used for mapping a CG-UCI based on the second beta-offset reads on: and wherein a number of resource elements (REs) for the UCI is identified based on a beta-offset value, where per ¶0412 i.e. one or more beta-offset values associated with number of PRBs allocated to a CG-UCI in each LBT subband reads on: for the first sub-band for the UCI).
Regarding Claim 6. Rastegardoost teaches: A method performed by a base station in a communication system (Rastegardoost - FIG. 22 & ¶0406 See claim 1; ¶0409 See claim 2; ¶0414 See claim 2;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0406 i.e. The BS may indicate one or more frequency offsets to one or more UEs to indicate a first allocated RE/PRB for CG-UCI of the one or more UEs within a common CG resource i.e. The one or more frequency offsets may be with respect to a reference PRB of the subband/bandwidth part (e.g. first PRB of a subband, or PRB0 of a bandwidth part) and per ¶0409 i.e. the BS may indicate the one or more frequency offsets via DCI (e.g., activation DCI for CG type 2 and per ¶0414 i.e. the BS may indicate the first subband all reads on: A method performed by a base station in a communication system ),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 6 recites features in conjunction with a base station that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 1 in conjunction with a UE, for example Claim 6 associates with “transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration […]” where reciprocally Claim 1 associates with “receiving, from a base station, a configuration […]”, and furthermore Claim 6 associates with “transmitting, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)” and reciprocally Claim 1 associates with “receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”. The rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 6. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for one or more sub-bands; transmitting, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); and receiving, from the UE, the PUSCH including an uplink control information (UCI) (Rastegardoost -Fig. 22 & ¶0413 See Claim 1; ¶0415 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0415 i.e. UE may transmit the CG-UCI and/or PUSCH in one or more subbands reads on: and receiving, from the UE, the PUSCH including an uplink control information (UCI)), wherein the UCI is multiplexed in a first sub-band for the UCI among the one or more sub-bands(Rastegardoost -Fig. 22 & ¶0413 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0413 i.e. The UE may multiplex the CG-UCI in the PUSCH reads on: wherein the UCI is multiplexed per ¶0413 i.e. within the first subband where per ¶0412 i.e. one or more beta-offset values associated with number of PRBs allocated to a CG-UCI in each LBT subband may be different or may be the same and i.e. The one or more CG-UCI regions may be confined to a subband bandwidth. reads on: in a first sub-band for the UCI. ¶0413 i.e. the UE maps a CG-UCI to a CG-UCI region comprising one or more REs/PRBs in i.e. a first subband of two or more subbands reads on: among the one or more sub-bands)
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 6 recites features in conjunction with a base station that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 1 in conjunction with a UE, for example Claim 6 associates with “transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration […]” where reciprocally Claim 1 associates with “receiving, from a base station, a configuration […]”, and furthermore Claim 6 associates with “transmitting, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)” and reciprocally Claim 1 associates with “receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”. The rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 6. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 10. Rastegardoost in view of XIONG teaches: The method of claim 6,
(See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 10 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 10. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the configuration for one or more sub-bands includes a beta-offset value for each sub-band, and wherein a number of resource elements (REs) for the UCI is identified based on a beta-offset value for the first sub-band for the UCI (See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 10 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 10. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 11. Rastegardoost teaches: A user equipment (UE) in a communication system (Rastegardoost - FIG. 22 & ¶0411 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0411 i.e. A UE grant reads on: A user equipment (UE) i.e. may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters indicating radio resources of a configured reads on: in a communication system ),
the UE comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the at least one processor configured (Rastegardoost - FIG. 15 & FIG. 22, ¶0201 […] a wireless device 1502 ; ¶0204 […]a transmission processing system 1520 ; ¶0205 […]a reception processing system 1522; ¶0207 […] The processing system 1508 and the processing system 1518 may be associated with a memory 1514 and a memory 1524, respectively. Memory 1514 and memory 1524 (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 to carry out one or more of the functionalities discussed in the present application;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶201 i.e. a wireless device 1502 reads on: the UE ¶0204 i.e. a transmission processing system 1520 and ¶0205 i.e. a reception processing system 1522 depicted within FIG. 15 wireless device reads on: a transceiver , per ¶0207 i.e. Memory 1514 and memory 1524 (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 to carry out one or more of the functionalities where the processing system is depicted to be coupled to the transceiver reads on: and at least one processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the at least one processor configured )
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 11 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 11. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) to: receive, from a base station, a configuration for one or more sub-bands, receive, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), identify, among the one or more sub-bands, a first sub-band for uplink control information (UCI), multiplex the UCI on the PUSCH based on the first sub-band for the UCI, and transmit, to the base station, the PUSCH including the UCI(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 11 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 11. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 15. Rastegardoost in view of XIONG teaches: The UE of claim 11,
(See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 15. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the configuration for one or more sub-bands includes a beta-offset value for each sub-band, of the one or more sub-bands and wherein a number of resource elements (REs) for the UCI is identified based on a beta-offset value for the first sub-band for the UCI (See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 15. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 16. Rastegardoost teaches: A base station in a communication system (Rastegardoost - FIG. 22 & ¶0406 See claim 1; ¶0409 See claim 2; ¶0414 See claim 2;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0406 i.e. The BS may indicate one or more frequency offsets to one or more UEs to indicate a first allocated RE/PRB for CG-UCI of the one or more UEs within a common CG resource i.e. The one or more frequency offsets may be with respect to a reference PRB of the subband/bandwidth part (e.g. first PRB of a subband, or PRB0 of a bandwidth part) and per ¶0409 i.e. the BS may indicate the one or more frequency offsets via DCI (e.g., activation DCI for CG type 2 and per ¶0406 i.e. the BS reads on: A base station may indicate one or more frequency offsets to one or more UEs to indicate a first allocated RE/PRB for CG-UCI reads on: in a communication system ),
the base station comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the at least one processor configured (Rastegardoost - FIG. 15 & FIG. 22, ¶0201 […] a base station 1504; ¶0204 […]a transmission processing system 1510 ; ¶0205 […]a reception processing system 1512; ¶0207 […] The processing system 1508 and the processing system 1518 may be associated with a memory 1514 and a memory 1524, respectively. Memory 1514 and memory 1524 (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 to carry out one or more of the functionalities discussed in the present application;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶201 i.e. a base station 1504 reads on: the base station and ¶0204 i.e. a transmission processing system 1520 and ¶0205 i.e. a reception processing system 1522 depicted within FIG. 15 wireless device reads on: a transceiver , per ¶0207 i.e. Memory 1514 and memory 1524 (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 to carry out one or more of the functionalities where the processing system is depicted to be coupled to the transceiver reads on: and at least one processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the at least one processor configured )
(See the rejection of Claim 6, Claim 16 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 6 applies similarly to Claim 16. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for one or more sub-bands, transmit, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and receive, from the UE, the PUSCH including an uplink control information (UCI), wherein the UCI is multiplexed in a first sub-band for the UCI among the one or more sub-bands (See the rejection of Claim 6, Claim 16 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 6 applies similarly to Claim 16. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 20. Rastegardoost in view of XIONG teaches: The base station of claim 16, (See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the configuration for one or more sub-bands includes a beta-offset value for each sub-band, and wherein a number of resource elements (REs) for the UCI is identified based on a beta-offset value for the first sub-band for the UCI (See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
9. Claims 2, 7, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost in view of XIONG, further in view of LEE et al. (US 20260122624 A1), i.e. “LEE”
Regarding Claim 2. Rastegardoost in view of XIONG teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Rastegardoost teaches: wherein the DCI includes a field indicating the first sub-band for the UCI among the one or more sub-bands, and wherein the first sub-band for the UCI is identified based on the field included in the DCI (Rastegardoost – FIG. 22 & ¶0409 […] the BS may indicate the one or more frequency offsets via DCI (e.g., activation DCI for CG type 2) […] the BS may indicate, via RRC/DCI signaling, the one or more beta-offset values.; ¶0414 […] For example, the BS may send a DCI indicating a COT sharing with the UE on one or more of the subbands comprising the first subband. For example, the BS may indicate the first subband via semi-static configuration.;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0409 i.e. the BS may indicate the one or more frequency offsets via DCI (e.g., activation DCI for CG type 2) and per ¶414 i.e. BS may send a DCI indicating a COT sharing with the UE on one or more of the subbands comprising the first subband reads on: wherein the DCI includes a field indicating the first sub-band for the UCI among the one or more sub-bands and wherein the first sub-band for the UCI is identified based on the field included in the DCI where DCI is well known to comprise fields for indicating ).
Rastegardoost in view of XIONG does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Rastegardoost i.e. implies see italicized portions of claim limitations): based on the field included in the DCI;
LEE teaches: wherein the DCI includes a field indicating the first sub-band among the one or more sub-bands, and wherein the first sub-band is identified based on the field included in the DCI (LEE - ¶0252 The UE may expect that the PDSCH and/or PUSCH resource allocation via the FDRA field of the DCI is allocated within a specific sub-BWP.
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0252 i.e. the FDRA field of the DCI reads on: wherein the DCI includes a field , where i.e. expect that the PDSCH and/or PUSCH resource allocation i.e. via the FDRA field of the DCI is allocated within a specific sub-BWP reads on: indicating the first sub-band i.e. a specific sub-BWP reads on: among the one or more sub-bands, i.e. expect that the PDSCH and/or PUSCH resource allocation i.e. via the FDRA field of the DCI is allocated within a specific sub-BWP reads on: and wherein the first sub-band is identified based on the field included in the DCI );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rastegardoost in view of XIONG with teachings of LEE, since LEE enables transmitting and receiving signals more accurately and efficiently (LEE - ¶0004).
Regarding Claim 7. Rastegardoost in view of XIONG teaches: The method of claim 6, (See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 7 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 7. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the DCI includes a field indicating the first sub-band for the UCI among the one or more sub-bands, and wherein the first sub-band for the UCI is identified based on the field included in the DCI (See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 7 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 7. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 12. Rastegardoost in view of XIONG teaches: The UE of claim 11, (See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 12 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 12. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the DCI includes a field indicating the first sub-band for the UCI among the one or more sub-bands, and wherein the first sub-band for the UCI is identified based on the field included in the DCI (See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 12 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 12. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 17. Rastegardoost in view of XIONG teaches: The base station of claim 16, (See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the DCI includes a field indicating the first sub-band for the UCI among the one or more sub-bands, and wherein the first sub-band for the UCI is identified based on the field included in the DCI (See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
10. Claims 3, 8, 13, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost in view of XIONG, further in view of Lei et al. (US 20220295558 A1), i.e. “Lei”.
Regarding Claim 3. Rastegardoost in view of XIONG teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Rastegardoost teaches: wherein the first sub-band for the UCI is identified as a second sub-band selected by the UE, and wherein the PUSCH includes the second sub-band selected by the UE (Rastegardoost - ¶0416 […] the UE maps/multiplexes the CG-UCI on one or more REs in the first subband (subband1) and performs LBT. In this example, the LBT result is failed in subband1 and subband2, and is successful in subband3 and subband […] The UE may place the CG-UCI in one or more REs of one or more subbands with successful LBT results (e.g. subband3 and/or subband4) […]the UE may select a second subband (subband3 in FIG. 23) from the two or more subbands, and multiplex the CG-UCI in REs in the second subband;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 23 & ¶0416 i.e. the UE maps/multiplexes the CG-UCI on one or more REs in the first subband (subband1) and performs LBT, and i.e. the LBT result is failed in subband1 reads on: wherein the first sub-band for the UCI , where furthermore i.e. The UE may place the CG-UCI in one or more REs of one or more subbands with successful LBT results (e.g. subband3 and/or subband4) reads on: is identified as a second sub-band selected by the UE , and per FIG. 23 which shows PUSCH in subband 3 reads on: and wherein the PUSCH, and per ¶0416 i.e. the UE may select a second subband (subband3 in FIG. 23) reads on: includes the second sub-band selected by the UE i.e. from the two or more subbands, and multiplex the CG-UCI in REs in the second subband);
Rastegardoost in view of XIONG does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions of claim limitations): the PUSCH includes information indicating the second sub-band
Lei teaches: wherein the first sub-band for the UCI is identified as a second sub-band selected by the UE, and wherein the PUSCH includes information indicating the second sub-band selected by the UE” ( Lei ¶0088 […] 4 subbands ranging from 0-3 are configured for a UE. In order to obtain a COT, UE needs to perform a channel access procedure, e.g. an LBT Category 4 procedure, for each of the configured subbands before transmitting. Next, the UE initiates a COT on a set of subbands for which the LBT procedure generated a successful result and begins a configured grant-PUSCH (CG-PUSCH) transmission on the set of subbands with successful LBT procedure result […] UE may transmit CG-UCI associated with the uplink data in slots within the COT either on each subband of the LBT successful subbands set or only on the lowest or highest subband(s) of the LBT successful subbands set to the gNB; ¶0089 […] The CG-UCI may include information on the result of the channel access procedure for each subband. For example, an indicator may be included in the CG-UCI to indicate the index of the occupied subbands where PUSCH with configured grant is transmitted, the index of the subband with successful LBT results;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0088 i.e. the UE initiates a COT on a set of subbands for which the LBT procedure generated a successful result reads on: wherein the first sub-band for the UCI is identified and begins a configured grant-PUSCH (CG-PUSCH) transmission on the set of subbands with successful LBT procedure result, where i.e. UE may transmit CG-UCI associated with the uplink data in slots within the COT either on i.e. only on the lowest or highest subband(s) of the LBT successful subbands reads on: is identified as a second sub-band selected by the UE , and per ¶0089 i.e. an indicator may be included in the CG-UCI to indicate the index of the occupied subbands where PUSCH with configured grant is transmitted reads on: and wherein the PUSCH, i.e. an indicator may be included in the CG-UCI to indicate the index of the occupied subbands reads on: includes information indicating the second sub-band selected by the UE i.e. where PUSCH with configured grant is transmitted, the index of the subband with successful LBT results i.e. included with the CG-UCI ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rastegardoost in view of XIONG with teachings of Lei, since Lei enables procedures where an LBT procedure is required before initiating any transmission on the unlicensed spectrum, in order to achieve a fair coexistence with other wireless systems, channel access procedures (Lei - ¶0069).
Regarding Claim 8. Rastegardoost in view of XIONG teaches: The method of claim 6, (See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 8 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 8. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the first sub-band for the UCI is identified as a second sub-band selected by the UE, and wherein the PUSCH includes information indicating the second sub-band selected by the UE (See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 8 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 8. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 13. Rastegardoost in view of XIONG teaches: The UE of claim 11, (See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 13 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 13. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the first sub-band for the UCI is identified as a second sub-band selected by the UE, and wherein the PUSCH includes information indicating the second sub-band selected by the UE (See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 13 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 13. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 18. Rastegardoost in view of XIONG teaches: The base station of claim 16, (See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the first sub-band for the UCI is identified as a second sub-band selected by the UE, and wherein the PUSCH includes information indicating the second sub-band selected by the UE (See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 4, 9, 14, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to all of the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(2) that all independent claims were amended with similar, identical and parallel features and amendments in the independent claims representing identical features were submitted in a formal response,
(3) that the claim limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations,
(4) that all pending issues associated with the claims including:
(a) clarifying applicable issues related with claim objections under minor informalities and 112 (b) rejections,
(b) issues related with the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, including the independent claims,
are all acceptably resolved, and do not result in a case where, given the scope of any applicant claimed amendments and/or arguments, examination would require further consideration and search.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 4. The method of claim 3, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the information indicating the second sub-band selected by the UE is multiplexed on the PUSCH over an entire bandwidth of the PUSCH”.
Regarding Claim 9. The method of claim 8, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the information indicating the second sub-band selected by the UE is multiplexed on the PUSCH over an entire bandwidth of the PUSCH”.
Regarding Claim 14. The UE of claim 13, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the information indicating the second sub-band selected by the UE is multiplexed on the PUSCH over an entire bandwidth of the PUSCH”.
Regarding Claim 19. The base station of claim 18, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the information indicating the second sub-band selected by the UE is multiplexed on the PUSCH over an entire bandwidth of the PUSCH”.
Please note: The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
10/04/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414