DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action has been issued in response to Applicant's Amendment filed April 7, 2026.
Claims 1, 10, 11, and 15 have been amended. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument with respect to the rejection under 35 USC § 101 have been considered but they are not persuasive. The claims still appear to be direct to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Applicant argues Liu does not disclose the amended limitations. Examiner refers to the rejection presented below.
Applicant argues Liu does not disclose an alleged location for storing a lookup table that is accessible to each of the at least two secure elements. Paragraph [0062] of Liu discloses computing device 110 stores a correspondence relationship between the input data portion and the shared portion in a lookup table. Figure 1 of Liu discloses the trusted nodes in communication with the computing device.
Applicant argues Liu does not disclose rows and counters. Rows and counters are inherent elements of lookup tables.
Applicant argues Liu does not disclose operating domains. Paragraph [0052] of Liu discloses computing device 110 not only may be used to interact with user 120 and trusted node 130, but also may be used as trusted node 130 for operation. Therefore, computing device 110 may be located in one trusted node, or each trusted node may include a computing device with the same or similar functions as computing device 110.
Applicant’s remaining arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) dividing data and storing the divided data which is using a computer as a tool to perform a mental process. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a compute. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they do not add significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by.
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2023/0239149 to Liu et al. (hereinafter “Liu”) and further in view of US Pub. No. 2018/0227120 to Takemori et al. (hereinafter “Takemori”).
As to Claim 1, Liu discloses a method of storing a data item in an electronic system, wherein the method comprises:
providing the electronic system comprising at least two secure elements, including a first secure element associated with a first operating domain of the electronic system and a second secure element associated with a second operating domain of the electronic system (Paragraph [0065] of Liu discloses stores the predetermined number of shared portion sets in the predetermined number of trusted nodes according to a correspondence relationship between the predetermined number of shared portion sets and the predetermined number of trusted nodes);
receiving, by the electronic system, the data item (Paragraph [0065] of Liu discloses stores the predetermined number of shared portion sets in the predetermined number of trusted nodes according to a correspondence relationship between the predetermined number of shared portion sets and the predetermined number of trusted nodes);
dividing the data item into at least two parts including a first part of the data item and a second part of the data item; (Paragraph [0060] of Liu discloses after acquiring the input data, computing device 110 may generate a predetermined number of shared portion sets from the input data, for example, in accordance with the Shamir secret sharing scheme); and
distributing the first part of the data item to the first secure element and the second part of the data item to the second secure element (Paragraph [0065] of Liu discloses stores the predetermined number of shared portion sets in the predetermined number of trusted nodes according to a correspondence relationship between the predetermined number of shared portion sets and the predetermined number of trusted nodes) and
storing each of the at least two parts into one of the at least two secure elements the first part of the data item in the first secure element and the second part of the data item in the second secure element (Paragraph [0065] of Liu discloses stores the predetermined number of shared portion sets in the predetermined number of trusted nodes according to a correspondence relationship between the predetermined number of shared portion sets and the predetermined number of trusted nodes).
Takemori further discloses different domains.
Paragraph [0052] of Takemori discloses the ECU 50 is an on-board computer installed in the automobile 1. For example, the ECUs 50 are classified into drive ECUs, vehicle ECUs, and safety-control ECUs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the secret sharing system as disclosed by Liu, with distributing to different domains as disclosed by Takemori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Liu and Takemori are directed toward secret sharing systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Paragraph [0052] of Liu discloses computing device 110 not only may be used to interact with user 120 and trusted node 130, but also may be used as trusted node 130 for operation. Therefore, computing device 110 may be located in one trusted node, or each trusted node may include a computing device with the same or similar functions as computing device 110.
As to Claim 2, Liu-Takemori discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the distributing of the at least two parts into the at least two secure elements is recorded in a row or column of a lookup table (Paragraph [0064] of Liu discloses taking the Shamir secret sharing scheme described previously as an example, once α, b, and x (trusted node identifiers) are determined, F(x) for each different M may be determined. Therefore, when input data are in bytes, all F(x) for all different M, i.e., 0-255, may be computed, and a correspondence relationship between these M and the corresponding shared portions is saved in a lookup table).
As to Claim 3, Liu-Takemori discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the lookup table is stored in a single location of a system accessible to each of the at least two secure elements (Paragraph [0064] of Liu discloses taking the Shamir secret sharing scheme described previously as an example, once α, b, and x (trusted node identifiers) are determined, F(x) for each different M may be determined. Therefore, when input data are in bytes, all F(x) for all different M, i.e., 0-255, may be computed, and a correspondence relationship between these M and the corresponding shared portions is saved in a lookup table. Paragraph [0062] of Liu discloses computing device 110 stores a correspondence relationship between the input data portion and the shared portion in a lookup table. Figure 1 of Liu discloses the trusted nodes in communication with the computing device).
As to Claim 5, Liu-Takemori discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the distributing is different for each data item stored in the system (Paragraph [0056] of Liu discloses the predetermined number is associated with a secret sharing scheme to be used. For example, computing device 110 may receive from user 120 an instruction specifying a secret sharing scheme to be used, and the instruction may further indicate the number of trusted nodes to be used, which are associated with the secret sharing scheme to be used).
As to Claim 6, Liu-Takemori discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the distributing is selected by selecting a row of a lookup table (Paragraph [0064] of Liu discloses taking the Shamir secret sharing scheme described previously as an example, once α, b, and x (trusted node identifiers) are determined, F(x) for each different M may be determined. Therefore, when input data are in bytes, all F(x) for all different M, i.e., 0-255, may be computed, and a correspondence relationship between these M and the corresponding shared portions is saved in a lookup table).
As to Claim 7, Liu-Takemori discloses the method of claim 6, wherein selecting the row of the lookup table is performed by using a counter (Paragraph [0064] of Liu discloses taking the Shamir secret sharing scheme described previously as an example, once α, b, and x (trusted node identifiers) are determined, F(x) for each different M may be determined. Therefore, when input data are in bytes, all F(x) for all different M, i.e., 0-255, may be computed, and a correspondence relationship between these M and the corresponding shared portions is saved in a lookup table).
As to Claim 8, Liu-Takemori discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each of the at least two secure elements is comprised in at least one operating domain of the system (Paragraph [0052] of Liu discloses a plurality of trusted nodes 130-1, 130-2, ..., 130-N (hereinafter collectively referred to as trusted node 130), and network 140).
As to Claim 9, Liu-Takemori discloses the method of claim 8, wherein each at least one operating domain further comprises at least one electronic device (Paragraph [0052] of Liu discloses a plurality of trusted nodes 130-1, 130-2, ..., 130-N (hereinafter collectively referred to as trusted node 130), and network 140).
As to Claim 10, Liu-Takemori discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the electronic system is a vehicle and the at least two secure elements are on-board secure elements (Paragraph [0052] of Liu discloses a plurality of trusted nodes 130-1, 130-2, ..., 130-N (hereinafter collectively referred to as trusted node 130), and network 140. Computing device 110 may also be a trusted node or may be located in trusted node. Paragraph [0009] of Takemori discloses it is possible to improve the protection quality of on-vehicle computer system by way of mutual authentication with counterpart devices for exchanging data using keys held by ECUs after the ECUs are activated).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 11, Liu-Takemori discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data item is an application key enabling making at least one functionality of an electronic device of the first operating domain of the electronic system accessible, wherein the electronic device is comprised of the first secure element (Paragraph [0003] of Liu discloses data includes personal data such as resumes, financial reports, medical records, family photos and videos, certificates and keys. Paragraph [0009] of Takemori discloses it is possible to improve the protection quality of on-vehicle computer system by way of mutual authentication with counterpart devices for exchanging data using keys held by ECUs after the ECUs are activated).
As to Claim 13, Liu-Takemori discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising the successive steps of: retrieving the at least two parts of the data item stored in the at least two secure elements (Paragraph [0079] of Liu discloses computing device 110 respectively acquires, from a predetermined number of trusted nodes, at least a further predetermined number of shared portion sets); and
forming the data item by using the at least two parts (Paragraph [0079] of Liu discloses computing device 110 generates, based on the secret sharing scheme, the input data from the further predetermined number of shared portion sets).
As to Claim 14, Liu-Takemori discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the forming of the data item is performed using a lookup table (Paragraph [0064] of Liu discloses taking the Shamir secret sharing scheme described previously as an example, once α, b, and x (trusted node identifiers) are determined, F(x) for each different M may be determined. Therefore, when input data are in bytes, all F(x) for all different M, i.e., 0-255, may be computed, and a correspondence relationship between these M and the corresponding shared portions is saved in a lookup table).
As to Claim 15, Liu discloses an electronic system comprising at least two secure elements including a first secure element associated with a first operating domain of the electronic system and a second secure element associated with a second operating domain of the electronic system (Paragraph [0065] of Liu discloses stores the predetermined number of shared portion sets in the predetermined number of trusted nodes according to a correspondence relationship between the predetermined number of shared portion sets and the predetermined number of trusted nodes);
wherein the electronic system is configured for storing a data item in the electronic system by:
receiving, by the electronic system, the data item (Paragraph [0065] of Liu discloses stores the predetermined number of shared portion sets in the predetermined number of trusted nodes according to a correspondence relationship between the predetermined number of shared portion sets and the predetermined number of trusted nodes)
dividing the data item into at least two parts including a first part of the data item and a second part of the data item (Paragraph [0060] of Liu discloses after acquiring the input data, computing device 110 may generate a predetermined number of shared portion sets from the input data, for example, in accordance with the Shamir secret sharing scheme); and
distributing the first part of the data item to the first secure element and the second part of the data items to the second secure element (Paragraph [0065] of Liu discloses stores the predetermined number of shared portion sets in the predetermined number of trusted nodes according to a correspondence relationship between the predetermined number of shared portion sets and the predetermined number of trusted nodes); and
storing the first part of the data item in the first secure element and the second part of the data item in the second secure element (Paragraph [0065] of Liu discloses stores the predetermined number of shared portion sets in the predetermined number of trusted nodes according to a correspondence relationship between the predetermined number of shared portion sets and the predetermined number of trusted nodes).
Takemori further discloses different domains.
Paragraph [0052] of Takemori discloses the ECU 50 is an on-board computer installed in the automobile 1. For example, the ECUs 50 are classified into drive ECUs, vehicle ECUs, and safety-control ECUs.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 16, Liu-Takemori discloses the electronic system of claim 15, wherein the distributing of the at least two parts into the at least two secure elements is recorded in a row, or column, of a lookup table (Paragraph [0064] of Liu discloses taking the Shamir secret sharing scheme described previously as an example, once α, b, and x (trusted node identifiers) are determined, F(x) for each different M may be determined. Therefore, when input data are in bytes, all F(x) for all different M, i.e., 0-255, may be computed, and a correspondence relationship between these M and the corresponding shared portions is saved in a lookup table).
As to Claim 17, Liu-Takemori discloses the electronic system of claim 16, wherein the lookup table is stored in a single location of the electronic system accessible to each of the at least two secure elements (Paragraph [0064] of Liu discloses taking the Shamir secret sharing scheme described previously as an example, once α, b, and x (trusted node identifiers) are determined, F(x) for each different M may be determined. Therefore, when input data are in bytes, all F(x) for all different M, i.e., 0-255, may be computed, and a correspondence relationship between these M and the corresponding shared portions is saved in a lookup table).
As to Claim 19, Liu-Takemori discloses the electronic system of claim 15, wherein the distributing is different for each data item stored in the system (Paragraph [0056] of Liu discloses the predetermined number is associated with a secret sharing scheme to be used. For example, computing device 110 may receive from user 120 an instruction specifying a secret sharing scheme to be used, and the instruction may further indicate the number of trusted nodes to be used, which are associated with the secret sharing scheme to be used).
Claims 4, 12, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu-Takemori and further in view of US Pub. No. 2003/0174840 to Bogan (hereinafter “Bogan”).
As to Claim 4, Liu-Takemori discloses the method of claim 2. Liu-Takemori does not explicitly disclose wherein a copy of the lookup table is stored in each of the at least two secure elements.
However, Bogan discloses this. Figure 1 of Bogan discloses both nodes having lookup tables.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the security system as disclosed by Liu-Takemori, with having lookup tables in each node as disclosed by Bogan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Liu and Bogan are directed toward security systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Local copies of the look up table would improve access time.
As to Claim 12, Liu-Takemori discloses the method of claim 1. Liu-Takemori does not explicitly disclose wherein the distributing varies depending on an operating session of the system.
However, Bogan discloses this. Paragraph [0014] of Liu discloses the table and/or database lookup can be facilitated with information discovered during the session initiation.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 4.
As to Claim 18, Liu-Takemori discloses the electronic system of claim 16. Liu-Takemori does not explicitly disclose wherein a copy of the lookup table is stored in each of the at least two secure elements.
However, Bogan discloses this. Figure 1 of Bogan discloses both nodes having lookup tables.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 4.
As to Claim 20, Liu-Takemori discloses the electronic system of claim 16. Liu-Takemori does not explicitly disclose wherein the distributing varies depending on an operating session of the system.
However, Bogan discloses this. Paragraph [0014] of Liu discloses the table and/or database lookup can be facilitated with information discovered during the session initiation.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN S MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499