DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) dividing data and storing the divided data which is using a computer as a tool to perform a mental process. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a compute. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they do not add significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2023/0239149 to Liu et al. (hereinafter “Liu”).
As to Claim 1, Liu discloses a method of storing a data item in an electronic system comprising at least two secure elements, wherein the method comprises the successive steps of:
dividing the data item into at least two parts (Paragraph [0060] of Liu discloses after acquiring the input data, computing device 110 may generate a predetermined number of shared portion sets from the input data, for example, in accordance with the Shamir secret sharing scheme); and
distributing and storing each of the at least two parts into one of the at least two secure elements (Paragraph [0065] of Liu discloses stores the predetermined number of shared portion sets in the predetermined number of trusted nodes according to a correspondence relationship between the predetermined number of shared portion sets and the predetermined number of trusted nodes).
As to Claim 2, Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the distributing of the at least two parts into the at least two secure elements is recorded in a row or column of a lookup table (Paragraph [0064] of Liu discloses taking the Shamir secret sharing scheme described previously as an example, once α, b, and x (trusted node identifiers) are determined, F(x) for each different M may be determined. Therefore, when input data are in bytes, all F(x) for all different M, i.e., 0-255, may be computed, and a correspondence relationship between these M and the corresponding shared portions is saved in a lookup table).
As to Claim 3, Liu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the lookup table is stored in a single location of a system accessible to each of the at least two secure elements (Paragraph [0064] of Liu discloses taking the Shamir secret sharing scheme described previously as an example, once α, b, and x (trusted node identifiers) are determined, F(x) for each different M may be determined. Therefore, when input data are in bytes, all F(x) for all different M, i.e., 0-255, may be computed, and a correspondence relationship between these M and the corresponding shared portions is saved in a lookup table).
As to Claim 5, Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the distributing is different for each data item stored in the system (Paragraph [0056] of Liu discloses the predetermined number is associated with a secret sharing scheme to be used. For example, computing device 110 may receive from user 120 an instruction specifying a secret sharing scheme to be used, and the instruction may further indicate the number of trusted nodes to be used, which are associated with the secret sharing scheme to be used).
As to Claim 6, Liu discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the distributing is selected by selecting a row of a lookup table (Paragraph [0064] of Liu discloses taking the Shamir secret sharing scheme described previously as an example, once α, b, and x (trusted node identifiers) are determined, F(x) for each different M may be determined. Therefore, when input data are in bytes, all F(x) for all different M, i.e., 0-255, may be computed, and a correspondence relationship between these M and the corresponding shared portions is saved in a lookup table).
As to Claim 7, Liu discloses the method of claim 6, wherein selecting the row of the lookup table is performed by using a counter (Paragraph [0064] of Liu discloses taking the Shamir secret sharing scheme described previously as an example, once α, b, and x (trusted node identifiers) are determined, F(x) for each different M may be determined. Therefore, when input data are in bytes, all F(x) for all different M, i.e., 0-255, may be computed, and a correspondence relationship between these M and the corresponding shared portions is saved in a lookup table).
As to Claim 8, Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each of the at least two secure elements is comprised in at least one operating domain of the system (Paragraph [0052] of Liu discloses a plurality of trusted nodes 130-1, 130-2, ..., 130-N (hereinafter collectively referred to as trusted node 130), and network 140).
As to Claim 9, Liu discloses the method of claim 8, wherein each at least one operating domain further comprises at least one electronic device (Paragraph [0052] of Liu discloses a plurality of trusted nodes 130-1, 130-2, ..., 130-N (hereinafter collectively referred to as trusted node 130), and network 140).
As to Claim 10, Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least two secure elements are on-board secure elements (Paragraph [0052] of Liu discloses a plurality of trusted nodes 130-1, 130-2, ..., 130-N (hereinafter collectively referred to as trusted node 130), and network 140. Computing device 110 may also be a trusted node or may be located in trusted node).
As to Claim 11, Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data item is an application key (Paragraph [0003] of Liu discloses data includes personal data such as resumes, financial reports, medical records, family photos and videos, certificates and keys).
As to Claim 13, Liu discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising the successive steps of: retrieving the at least two parts of the data item stored in the at least two secure elements (Paragraph [0079] of Liu discloses computing device 110 respectively acquires, from a predetermined number of trusted nodes, at least a further predetermined number of shared portion sets); and
forming the data item by using the at least two parts (Paragraph [0079] of Liu discloses computing device 110 generates, based on the secret sharing scheme, the input data from the further predetermined number of shared portion sets).
As to Claim 14, Liu discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the forming of the data item is performed using a lookup table (Paragraph [0064] of Liu discloses taking the Shamir secret sharing scheme described previously as an example, once α, b, and x (trusted node identifiers) are determined, F(x) for each different M may be determined. Therefore, when input data are in bytes, all F(x) for all different M, i.e., 0-255, may be computed, and a correspondence relationship between these M and the corresponding shared portions is saved in a lookup table).
As to Claim 15, Liu discloses an electronic system comprising at least two secure elements and configured for storing a data item by following the successive steps of: dividing the data item into at least two parts (Paragraph [0060] of Liu discloses after acquiring the input data, computing device 110 may generate a predetermined number of shared portion sets from the input data, for example, in accordance with the Shamir secret sharing scheme); and
distributing and storing each of the at least two parts into one of the at least two secure elements (Paragraph [0065] of Liu discloses stores the predetermined number of shared portion sets in the predetermined number of trusted nodes according to a correspondence relationship between the predetermined number of shared portion sets and the predetermined number of trusted nodes).
As to Claim 16, Liu discloses the electronic system of claim 15, wherein the distributing of the at least two parts into the at least two secure elements is recorded in a row, or column, of a lookup table (Paragraph [0064] of Liu discloses taking the Shamir secret sharing scheme described previously as an example, once α, b, and x (trusted node identifiers) are determined, F(x) for each different M may be determined. Therefore, when input data are in bytes, all F(x) for all different M, i.e., 0-255, may be computed, and a correspondence relationship between these M and the corresponding shared portions is saved in a lookup table).
As to Claim 17, Liu discloses the electronic system of claim 16, wherein the lookup table is stored in a single location of the electronic system accessible to each of the at least two secure elements (Paragraph [0064] of Liu discloses taking the Shamir secret sharing scheme described previously as an example, once α, b, and x (trusted node identifiers) are determined, F(x) for each different M may be determined. Therefore, when input data are in bytes, all F(x) for all different M, i.e., 0-255, may be computed, and a correspondence relationship between these M and the corresponding shared portions is saved in a lookup table).
As to Claim 19, Liu discloses the electronic system of claim 15, wherein the distributing is different for each data item stored in the system (Paragraph [0056] of Liu discloses the predetermined number is associated with a secret sharing scheme to be used. For example, computing device 110 may receive from user 120 an instruction specifying a secret sharing scheme to be used, and the instruction may further indicate the number of trusted nodes to be used, which are associated with the secret sharing scheme to be used).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and further in view of US Pub. No. 2003/0174840 to Bogan (hereinafter “Bogan”).
As to Claim 4, Liu discloses the method of claim 2. Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein a copy of the lookup table is stored in each of the at least two secure elements.
However, Bogan discloses this. Figure 1 of Bogan discloses both nodes having lookup tables.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the security system as disclosed by Liu, with having lookup tables in each node as disclosed by Bogan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Liu and Bogan are directed toward security systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Local copies of the look up table would improve access time.
As to Claim 12, Liu discloses the method of claim 1. Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the distributing varies depending on an operating session of the system.
However, Bogan discloses this. Paragraph [0014] of Liu discloses the table and/or database lookup can be facilitated with information discovered during the session initiation.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 4.
As to Claim 18, Liu discloses the electronic system of claim 16. Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein a copy of the lookup table is stored in each of the at least two secure elements.
However, Bogan discloses this. Figure 1 of Bogan discloses both nodes having lookup tables.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 4.
As to Claim 20, Liu discloses the electronic system of claim 16. Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the distributing varies depending on an operating session of the system.
However, Bogan discloses this. Paragraph [0014] of Liu discloses the table and/or database lookup can be facilitated with information discovered during the session initiation.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 4.
Conclusion
/KEVIN S MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499