Status under America Invents Act
Rejections based on Prior Art
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullaly et al (US 6,981,871) in view of Honkura et al (US 6,203,325).
Mullaly et al disclose a dental attachment assembly comprised of a retention member 14 adapted for a snap engagement with abutment member 12 and a cap 15 having a cavity sized and dimensioned to receive and engage the retention member 14 in a swivelling manner (column 4, line 30)(note annotated Figures 2 and 3 of Mullaly et al below).
Mullaly et al do not disclose the limitation of claim 1 requiring “an interior top surface of the cavity comprises a central portion, and wherein when the cap engages the retention member the central portion is in contact with a portion of the retention member while maintaining a space between a non-central portion of the cap and the retention member.”
Honkura et al, however for a similar dental attachment assembly teaches that it is desirable to provide for a soft resin button (227, 227’) on an interior top central portion surface of a cap cavity 2 in order to provide for cushioning (note column 16, lines 18-20) in the denture/prosthetic worn by the patient. The soft resin button 227, 227’ provides for spacing S between the cap and the retention member allowing for the button to deform when compressed by the pressure of biting (note column 16, lines 45-56). Note particular Figure 21 of Honkura et al below.
To have added a soft resin button to the interior top cavity surface of the Mollally et al cap 15 central portion as taught by Honkura et al in order to provide for cushioning in in the denture/prosthesis when the patient is biting as taught by Honkura et al would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.++
In regard to claim 2, note the abutment member 12 in Mullay et al. In regard to claims 3 and 4, note the annular recess extending from the top along to along the sides in Mullaly et al. In regard to claim 5, the soft resin button in the Mullay et al/Honkura et al dental attachment assembly protrudes axially into the cavity. In regard to claim 6, note the flat upper surface of the Mullaly et al retention member 14 with skirt extending therefrom. In regard to claim 7, note the Mullay et al abutment member 12 with axially spaced retention portions/annular projections 22 and 24 that are snap engaged by the retention member 14. In regard to claim 8, the space in the Mullay et al/Honkura et al dental attachment assembly is circular and meets the broad and vague “series of consecutive tangent circular arcs” limitation.
Double Patenting Rejection
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
Claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 9,033,709;
Claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,452,030;
Claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 9,925,022;
Claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,687,920;
Claims 1-9 or U.S. Patent No. 11,696817; and
Claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,150,833.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims of ‘709, ‘030, ‘022, ‘920, ‘817 and ‘833 each set forth a dental attachment assembly comprised of a retention member and a cap with a cavity that receives the retention member and allows for the cap to swivel with respect to the retention member. The presently pending claims are broader than and/or use different language to describe the same subject matter previously patented, and consequently fail to set forth a patentably distinct invention from that previously claimed and patented.
For example, with respect to pending claim 1, patented claim 1 of ‘709 sets forth a dental attachment assembly (preamble) comprised of a retention member adapted for snap engagement (second claimed element) and a cap with a cavity that receives the retention member and allows for the cap to swivel with respect to the retention member (third claimed element). Patented dependent claim 2 specifies that the cap has a central portion that protrudes into the cavity and claim 3 specified that the retention member is in contact with the cap protrusion – the protruding central portion of the cap that contacts the retention member teaches the current claim 1 limitation that allows for a space between a non-central portion of the cap and the retention member. Currently pending claim 1 claims the same subject matter as that previously patented in ‘709 without any patentable distinctions.
Patented claim 1 of ‘030 sets forth a dental attachment assembly (preamble) comprised of a retention member adapted for attachment (second claimed element) and a cap with a cavity that receives the retention member and allows for the cap to swivel with respect to the retention member (third claimed element). Patented dependent claim 2 specifies that the cap has a central portion that protrudes into the cavity that contacts the retention member– the protruding central portion of the cap that contacts the retention member teaches the current claim 1 limitation that allows for a space between a non-central portion of the cap and the retention member. Currently pending claim 1 claims the same subject matter as that previously patented in ‘030 without any patentably distinctions.
Patented claim 1 of ‘022 sets forth a dental attachment assembly (preamble) comprised of a retention member (line 7) adapted for attachment and a cap (cup shaped member) with a cavity that receives the retention member and allows for the cap to swivel with respect to the retention member. Patented claim 1 further specifies that the cap has a central portion that protrudes into the cavity and dependent claim 10 specifies a space between a non-central portion of the cap and the retention member. Currently pending claim 1 claims the same subject matter as that previously patented in ‘022 without any patentably distinctions.
Patented claim 1 of ‘920 sets forth a dental attachment assembly (preamble) comprised of a retention member (first claimed element) adapted for engagement and a cap (second element) with a cavity that receives the retention member and allows for the cap to swivel with respect to the retention member. Patented claim 1 further specifies that the cap has a central portion that protrudes into the cavity and claim 2 specifies that the retention member is in contact with the cap protrusion – the protruding central portion of the cap that contacts the retention member teaches the current claim 1 limitation that allows for a space between a non-central portion of the cap and the retention member. Currently pending claim 1 claims the same subject matter as that previously patented in ‘920 without any patentable distinctions.
Patented claim 1 of ‘817 sets forth a dental attachment assembly (preamble) comprised of a retention member adapted for engagement (first claimed element) and a cap with a cavity that receives the retention member and allows for the cap to swivel with respect to the retention member (third claimed element). Patented dependent claim 2 specifies that the cap has a central portion that protrudes into the cavity and that the retention member is in contact with the cap protrusion – the protruding central portion of the cap that contacts the retention member teaches the current claim 1 limitation that allows for a space between a non-central portion of the cap and the retention member. Currently pending claim 1 claims the same subject matter as that previously patented in ‘817 without any patentably distinctions.
Patented claim 1 of ‘833 sets forth a dental attachment assembly (preamble) comprised of a retention member adapted for snap engagement (first claimed element) and a cap with a cavity that receives the retention member and allows for the cap to swivel with respect to the retention member (third claimed element). Patented claim 1 further specifies that the cap has a central portion that protrudes into the cavity and claim 3 specified that the retention member is in contact with the cap protrusion and allows for a space between a non-central portion of the cap and the retention member. Currently pending claim 1 claims the same subject matter as that previously patented in ‘833 without any patentably distinctions.
/RALPH A LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772 (571) 272-4712