DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 01/27/2026 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. An initialed copy of the PTO-1449 is included in this correspondence.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In view of amendment, a new reference of Choi et al. (US Pub. 2024/0312409 A1) is applied to a new ground of rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 with respect to claims 1, 12, and 20 regarding a limitation “a plurality of classes” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the argument, the Office respectfully submits that Lee discloses a method of determining an image complexity to be a high complexity and a low complexity based on comparing difference in data value between a target pixel and pixels adjacent to the target pixel; outputting a weight data wv based on the determining that the image complexity is a high complexity or a low complexity; and adjusting the luminance according to the weight data wv. More specifically, a low weight data or a high weight data is generated with respect to an image RGB having a low complexity or high complexity, respectively (para. [0049-0050]). Therefore, Lee further teaches classifying the image complexity into a plurality of classes; and generating a plurality of dimming control signals to control the analysis area based on the plurality of classes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 12-13, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub. 2018/0122296 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US Pub. 2024/0312409 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Lee teaches a display apparatus (a display system 10, Fig.1) comprising:
a display (a display panel 11);
memory (a storage device 16) storing one or more instructions (para. [0028]); and
one or more processors (an application processor 13) configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory (para. [0028]), wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the display apparatus to:
obtain, for an image comprising an analysis area (Figs. 3 and 4, para. [0038,0048], a control logic 210 obtains an image data RGB. The control logic 210 comprises an image complexity calculator 212 configured to analyze the image data RGB),
image complexity information of the analysis area (para. [0048], the image complexity calculator 212 calculates image complexity by analyzing the pattern of the image data RGB),
classify the analysis area into a plurality of classes based on the image complexity information (para. [0048-0050], the image complexity calculator 212 outputs weight data WV based on the image data RGB. The value of weight data WV is generated based on determining that the image complexity is a high complexity or a low complexity. In particular, para. [0049], the image complexity is determined based on a difference in data value between one pixel PX, which is selected from among the pixels PX, and pixels PX adjacent to the pixel PX. When a difference value is greater than a preset reference value, the image data RGB is determined as having a complex pattern (i.e., high complexity class). When a difference value is lower than the preset reference value, the image data RGB is determined as having a simple pattern (i.e., low complexity class). The value of the weight data WV is generated based on the degree of the image complexity. More specifically, a low weight data or a high weight data is generated with respect to an image RGB having a low complexity or high complexity, respectively. Therefore, Lee further teaches classifying the image complexity into a plurality of classes; and generating a plurality of dimming control signals to control the analysis area based on the plurality of classes), and
generate a plurality of dimming control signals configured to control a brightness of the analysis area based on the plurality of classes (Fig.4, para. [0050-0051], the control logic 210 generates a brightness correction data dy based on the weight data WV. In particular, a high weight data wv is generated with respect to the image data RGB having the complex pattern (i.e., high complexity class). A low weight data wv is generated with respect to the image data RGB having a simple pattern (i.e., low complexity class). The control logic 210 further comprises an output data calculator 215 configured to generate a corrected image data RGB’ based on the brightness correction data dy).
Lee does not teach that a plurality of analysis areas.
Choi teaches a plurality of analysis areas (Fig.5, para. [0062 and 0073], Choi discloses a method of dividing an image frame into a first area A1 and a second area A2; calculating an average number of edges of each of first area A1 and second area A2; determining whether the first area A1 and the second area A2 are low/high complexity; and generating a first gain parameter α based on the determination that the first area A1 and the second area A2 are low/high complexity).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Lee of adjusting brightness based on image complexity to include the teaching of Choi of dividing an image into first area and second area; determining whether the first and areas are low or high complexity; and generating a first gain parameter based on the determination that the first and second areas are low or high complexity. Accordingly, Lee as modified by Choi would render a method of dividing an image into a first area and a second area; calculating edge numbers in the first area and the second area to determine whether the first area and the second area are low or high complexity; generating weight data for the first area and the second area based on the determination that the first area and the second area are low or high complexity; and adjusting the brightness of the first area and the second area according to the weight data. The motivation would have been in order to improve the image display quality.
Regarding claim 2; Lee in view of Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above.
Lee does not explicitly teach the image complexity information of each analysis area of the plurality of analysis areas comprises at least one of a number of objects in the analysis area, a number of hue ranges with cumulative pixels in the analysis area, or an edge component ratio of the analysis area.
Choi teaches a plurality of analysis areas (see the analysis of claim 1 above).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Choi teaches the image complexity information of each analysis area of the plurality of analysis areas comprises at least one of a number of objects in the analysis area, a number of hue ranges with cumulative pixels in the analysis area, or an edge component ratio of the analysis area (para. [0058, 0060, 0062, 0063, 0077, and 0079], Choi discloses that the edge detector 242 detects an average number of edges of each of first area A1 and second area A2. The edge detector 242 calculates the average number of edges by dividing the number of edges detected on a frame basis in the edge detection filter by the total number of pixels. Therefore, Choi further teaches the image complexity information of each area of the first area A1 and the second area A2 comprises an edge component ratio).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6; Lee in view of Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above. Lee does not teach obtain an edge component ratio corresponding to a point where values of pixels belonging to the at least one analysis area, among the plurality of analysis areas, are discontinuous, and classify the at least one analysis area into a class among the plurality of classes based on the edge component ratio.
Choi teaches a plurality of analysis areas (see the analysis of claim 1 above).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Choi teaches obtain an edge component ratio corresponding to a point where values of pixels belonging to the at least one analysis area, among the plurality of analysis areas, are discontinuous, and classify the at least one analysis area among the plurality of classes into a class among the plurality of classes based on the edge component ratio (para. [0058, 0060, 0062, 0063, 0077, and 0079], Choi discloses that the edge detector 242 detects an average number of edges of each of first area A1 and second area A2. The edge detector 242 calculates the average number of edges by dividing the number of edges detected on a frame basis in the edge detection filter by the total number of pixels. Choi further discloses that edges mean regions where brightness is abruptly varied, that is, boundaries (i.e., discontinuous)).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7; Lee in view of Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above. Lee further teaches classify the at least one analysis area into the class by obtaining an image complexity value based on the image complexity information (para. [0068], the control logic 210 comprises a pattern analysis unit 212_3 configured to generate a weight value WV based on an image complexity. In particular, in the case of the high image complexity, the weight data WV becomes a high value. In the case of lower image complexity, the weight data WV becomes a lower value) and classifying the at least one analysis area into the class, among the plurality of classes, based on the image complexity value, wherein the class corresponds to image complexity values greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold, and based on the at least one analysis area being classified into the class (para. [0068 and 0087], the image complexity may be high or low as a result of edge detection), generate the plurality of dimming control signals by causing a dimming control signal, among the plurality of dimming control signals, to cause the brightness of the at least one analysis area to decrease (para. [0068], the image complexity may be high or low. In other words, when the image complexity is higher than a threshold (i.e., high image complexity), the control logic 210 applies a first brightness correction data dy1. When the image complexity is lower than the threshold (i.e., low image complexity), the control logic 210 applies a second brightness correction data dy2. Para. [0087], when the image complexity is increased, the data voltage (i.e., brightness) is decreased).
Lee does not teach the plurality of analysis areas.
Choi teaches a plurality of analysis areas (see the analysis of claim 1 above).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8; Lee in view of Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above. Lee further teaches classify the at least one analysis area into a class, among the plurality of classes, by obtaining an image complexity value based on the image complexity information and classifying the at least one analysis area into at least one of a first class or a second class based on the image complexity value (para. [0068], the control logic 210 comprises a pattern analysis unit 212_3 configured to generate a weight value WV based on an image complexity. In particular, in the case of the high image complexity (i.e., first class as claimed), the weight data WV becomes a high value. In the case of lower image complexity (i.e., second class as claimed), the weight data WV becomes a lower value), wherein the first class corresponds to image complexity values greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold and the second class corresponds to image complexity values less than the predetermined threshold (para. [0068 and 0087], the image complexity may be high or low as a result of edge detection), based on the at least one analysis area being classified into the first class, cause the dimming control signal to include a first dimming value corresponding to a first decrease in the brightness of the at least one analysis area, and based on the at least one analysis area being classified into the second class, cause the dimming control signal, among the plurality of dimming control signals, to include a second dimming value corresponding to a second decrease in the brightness of the at least one analysis area, wherein the second decrease in the brightness is less than the first decrease in the brightness (para. [0068], the image complexity may be high or low. Therefore, Lee inherently discloses a complexity threshold for determining whether an image complexity is low or high. In other words, when the image complexity is higher than the threshold (i.e., high image complexity or first class as claimed), the control logic 210 applies a first brightness correction data dy1 (i.e., first decrease as claimed). When the image complexity is lower than the threshold (i.e., low image complexity or second class as claimed), the control logic 210 applies a second brightness correction data dy2 (i.e., second decrease as claimed). The first/second decrease would be a difference in data value between input image data RGB and corrected image data RGB’. Para. [0058], Lee states “…The difference in data value between image data RGB having a simple pattern with relatively low image complexity and corrected image data RGB′ based on the image data RGB is less than the difference in data value between image data RGB having a complex pattern and corrected image data RGB′ based on the image data RGB…”. In other words, the second decrease is less than the first decrease).
Lee does not teach the plurality of analysis areas.
Choi teaches a plurality of analysis areas (see the analysis of claim 1 above).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12; Lee in view of Choi teaches a method of operating a display apparatus, the method comprising: obtaining, for an image comprising a plurality of analysis areas, image complexity information of each analysis area of the plurality of analysis areas; classifying the plurality of analysis areas into a plurality of classes based on the image complexity information of each analysis area of the plurality of analysis areas; and generating a plurality of dimming control signals configured to control a brightness of the plurality of analysis areas based on the plurality of classes (similar to the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 13; Lee in view of Choi teaches the method of claim 12 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 2. Thus, claim 13 is rejected based on the same analysis as the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 17; Lee in view of Choi teaches the method of claim 12 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 6. Thus, claim 17 is rejected based on the same analysis as the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 18; Lee in view of Choi teaches the method of claim 12 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 7. Thus, claim 18 is rejected based on the same analysis as the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 20; Lee in view of Choi teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium (a storage device 16, Fig.1) having instructions stored therein (para. [0028]), which when executed by at least one processor (an application processor 13, Fig.1) cause the at least one processor to execute a method of operating a display apparatus, the method comprising: obtaining, for an image comprising a plurality of analysis area, image complexity information of each of the plurality of analysis areas; classifying the plurality of analysis areas into a plurality of classes based on the respective image complexity information of each of the plurality of analysis areas; and generating a plurality of dimming control signals configured to control a brightness of the plurality of analysis areas based on the plurality of classes (similar to the rejection of claim 1).
Claims 3-4 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub. 2018/0122296 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US Pub. 2024/0312409 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above; further in view of OK et al. (US Pub. 2020/0264567 A1) and Grobelny et al. (US Pub. 2024/0020427 A1).
Regarding claim 3; Lee in view of Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above.
Lee does not teach the plurality of analysis areas.
Choi teaches a plurality of analysis areas (see the analysis of claim 1 above).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Lee does not teach identify a number of objects in the at least one analysis area by applying the at least one analysis area to an artificial intelligence (AI) model, and classify the at least one analysis area into the class among the plurality of classes based on the identified number of objects.
OK teaches identify a number of objects in the at least one analysis area by applying the at least one analysis area, and classify the at least one analysis area into the class among the plurality of classes based on the identified number of objects (para. [0083], a processor 120 determines a complexity of an image based on a number of objects in the image. For example, as the greater number of multiple objects are included in the image, the processor 120 may determine that the complexity is high. As another example, as the smaller number of multiple objects are included in the image, the processor 120 may determine that the complexity is low).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Lee of adjusting brightness of the display based on a degree of image complexity to include the teaching of Kim of determining a complexity score of an image based on a number of objects in the image because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display system of Lee as modified by OK is known to yield a predictable result of determining a degree of complexity of an image. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the display system of Lee the ability to do the method of OK since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Lee in view of OK does not teach identify a number of objects in the at least one analysis area by applying the at least one analysis area to an artificial intelligence (AI) model.
Grobelny teaches identify a number of objects in the at least one analysis area by applying the at least one analysis area to an artificial intelligence (AI) model (para. [0041], an inference engine 207 includes ML/AI model configured to detect, recognize, or identify; in an image 206; a number of persons in the image).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Lee in view of OK to include the ML/AI model of Grobelny for identifying a number of persons in an image because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display system of Lee in view of OK as modified by Grobelny is known to yield a predictable result of improving the accuracy, efficiency, and speed of the image analysis. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the display system of Lee in view of OK the ability to include the ML/AI model of Grobelny since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 4; Lee in view of Choi, OK, and Grobelny teaches the display apparatus of claim 3 as discussed above. Lee does not teach based on the identified number of objects being at least a reference number, classify the at least one analysis area into a first class among the plurality of classes, and based on the identified number of objects being less than the reference number, classify the at least one analysis area into a second class among the plurality of classes.
OK teaches based on the identified number of objects being at least a reference number, classify the at least one analysis area into a first class, and based on the identified number of objects being less than the reference number, classify the at least one analysis area into a second class (para. [0083], for example, as the greater number of multiple objects are included in the image, the processor 120 may determine that the complexity is high. As another example, as the smaller number of multiple objects are included in the image, the processor 120 may determine that the complexity is low. OK implies that there would be a reference number of objects for identifying whether the complexity is high or low).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 14; Lee in view of Choi teaches the method of claim 12 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 3. Thus, claim 14 is rejected based on the same analysis as the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 15; Lee in view of Choi, OK, and Grobelny teaches the method of claim 14 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 15 is substantially similar to claim 4. Thus, claim 15 is rejected based on the same analysis as the rejection of claim 4.
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub. 2018/0122296 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US Pub. 2024/0312409 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above; further in view of AN (US Pub. 2013/0222221 A1) A1) and Funamoto (US Pub. 2022/0130053 A1).
Regarding claim 5; Lee in view of Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above.
Lee does not teach the plurality of analysis areas.
Choi teaches a plurality of analysis areas (see the analysis of claim 1 above).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Lee does not teach convert color components of pixels in the at least one analysis area, obtain a hue histogram comprising a distribution of pixels that have the converted color components and are accumulated in each of a plurality of hue ranges, obtain a number of the plurality of hue ranges with cumulative pixels in the hue histogram, and identify the class among the plurality of classes based on the number of the plurality of hue ranges.
AN teaches identify the class among the plurality of classes based on a number of a plurality of hue ranges (Fig.5, para. [0031, 0043, 0058], the complexity of the input image can be determined based on a number of recognizable colors. It is understood that each recognizable color would be corresponding to a specific hue range. Therefore, AN further teaches a method of identifying a degree of complexity based on a number of recognizable colors).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Lee to include the method of AN of identifying a degree of complexity based on a number of recognizable colors (i.e., hue ranges) because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display system of Lee as modified by AN is known to yield a predictable result of determining a degree of complexity of an input image. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the display system of Lee the ability to do the method of AN since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Funamoto teaches convert color components of pixels in the at least one analysis area (Fig.3, para. [0071], a second generator 113 converts image data into a color (hue)), obtain a hue histogram (Fig.6, a hue histogram) comprising a distribution of pixels that have the converted color components and are accumulated in each of a plurality of hue ranges (Fig.6, para. [0062], the hue histogram is a graph representing the distribution of pixels in hue ranges), obtain a number of the plurality of hue ranges with cumulative pixels in the hue histogram (Fig.6, para. [0063], the hue histogram has 32 hue ranges. For example, in the hue histogram, hue ranges Bin [0] to Bin [3] are defined as a specific hue range determined as having a specific color).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Lee in view of AN to include the method of Funamoto of using a hue histogram to determine a plurality of specific colors because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display system of Lee in view of AN as modified by Funamoto is known to yield a predictable result of determining a plurality of specific colors. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the display system of Lee in view of AN the ability to do the method of Funamoto since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 16; Lee teaches the method of claim 12 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 16 is substantially similar to claim 5. Thus, claim 16 is rejected based on the same analysis as the rejection of claim 5.
Claims 9, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub. 2018/0122296 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US Pub. 2024/0312409 A1) as applied to claims 8, 1, and 12 above; further in view of AN (US Pub. 2013/0222221 A1) A1).
Regarding claim 9; Lee in view of Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 8 as discussed above. Lee does not teach the dimming control signal, among the plurality of dimming control signals, comprises at least one of a pulse width modulation (PWM) signal or a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) signal, wherein, based on the dimming control signal including the PWM signal, a PWM duty ratio corresponding to the first dimming value is smaller than a PWM duty ratio corresponding to the second dimming value, and wherein, based on the dimming control signal including the PAM signal, a PAM amplitude corresponding to the first dimming value is smaller than a PAM amplitude corresponding to the second dimming value.
An teaches the dimming control signal, among the plurality of dimming control signals (a backlight dimming signal CDIM, Fig.1) comprises at least one of a pulse width modulation (PWM) signal (para. [0025 and 0033], the CDIM comprises a PWM signal) or a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) signal, wherein, based on the dimming control signal including the PWM signal, a PWM duty ratio corresponding to the first dimming value is smaller than a PWM duty ratio corresponding to the second dimming value, and wherein, based on the dimming control signal including the PAM signal, a PAM amplitude corresponding to the first dimming value is smaller than a PAM amplitude corresponding to the second dimming value (Figs. 1 and 2, para. [0031], AN discloses a display system comprising a convex gain calculator 10 configured to receive an input image; analyze the complexity of the input image; and calculate a convex gain CG based on the complexity. Para. [0031], when the complexity of the input image has a relative large value, the convex gain calculator 10 greatly reduces the convex gain CG to be applied to a peripheral part of the screen of the liquid crystal display panel. On the other hand, when the complexity of the input image has a relative small value, the convex gain calculator 10 slightly reduces the convex gain CG to be applied to the peripheral part of the screen. In other words, when the image complexity is high, a peripheral part has a first brightness (or first PWM duty). When the image complexity is low, the peripheral part has a second brightness (or second PWM duty). The first brightness would be lower than the second brightness. Accordingly, the first PWM duty would be smaller than the second PWM duty because PWM duty is proportional to the backlight luminance (see AN, para. [0025])).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Lee to include the teaching of AN of determining an image complexity; and adjusting brightness of a backlight by generating PWM signal according to the image complexity because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the display system of Lee to include the method of AN is expressly provided by AN, stating that “to greatly reduce power consumption of the liquid crystal display without a reduction in the image quality, which the viewer can perceive” (para. [0090]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the display system of Lee to include the method of AN with the motivation provided by AN. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of improving the display quality and reducing power consumption.
Regarding claim 11; Lee in view of Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above. Lee does not teach the display comprises a backlight driving circuit and a backlight unit, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the display apparatus to provide the plurality of dimming control signals to the backlight driving circuit, and wherein the backlight driving circuit is configured to control a brightness of the backlight unit based on the plurality of dimming control signals.
AN teaches the display (a display as shown in Fig.25) comprises a backlight driving circuit (a light source driver 310) and a backlight unit (a backlight unit 300), wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the display apparatus to provide the plurality of dimming control signals to the backlight driving circuit (Fig.1, the display device comprises a backlight dimming control device 100 configured to provide a backlight dimming signal CDIM to the light source driver 310), and wherein the backlight driving circuit is configured to control a brightness of the backlight unit based on the plurality of dimming control signals (para. [0031, 0033, 0086, and 0087], AN discloses a display system comprising a convex gain calculator 10 configured to receive an input image; analyze the complexity of the input image; and calculate a convex gain CG based on the complexity. The backlight dimming signal CDIM is generated based on the convex gain CG).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Lee to include the teaching of AN of determining an image complexity; and adjusting brightness of a backlight by generating PWM signal according to the image complexity because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the display system of Lee to include the method of AN is expressly provided by AN, stating that “to greatly reduce power consumption of the liquid crystal display without a reduction in the image quality, which the viewer can perceive” (para. [0090]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the display system of Lee to include the method of AN with the motivation provided by AN. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of improving the display quality and reducing power consumption.
Regarding claim 19; Lee in view of Choi teaches the method of claim 12 as discussed above. Lee further teaches the classifying the analysis area into the class comprises obtaining an image complexity value based on the image complexity information and classifying the at least one analysis area into at least one of a first class or a second class, among the plurality of classes, based on the image complexity value (para. [0068], the control logic 210 comprises a pattern analysis unit 212_3 configured to generate a weight value WV based on an image complexity. In particular, in the case of the high image complexity (i.e., first class as claimed), the weight data WV becomes a high value. In the case of lower image complexity (i.e., second class as claimed), the weight data WV becomes a lower value), wherein the first class corresponds to image complexity values greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold and the second class corresponds to image complexity values less than the predetermined threshold (para. [0068 and 0087], the image complexity may be high or low as a result of edge detection), wherein, based on the at least one analysis area being classified into the first class, the generating the dimming control signal comprises causing the dimming control signal to include a first dimming value corresponding to a first decrease in the brightness of the at least one analysis area, wherein, based on the at least one analysis area being classified into the second class, the generating the plurality of dimming control signals comprises causing the dimming control signal, among the plurality of dimming control signals, to include a second dimming value corresponding to a second decrease in the brightness of the at least one analysis area, wherein the second decrease in the brightness is less than the first decrease in the brightness (para. [0068], the image complexity may be high or low. In other words, when the image complexity is higher than a threshold (i.e., high image complexity or first class as claimed), the control logic 210 applies a first brightness correction data dy1 (i.e., first decrease as claimed). When the image complexity is lower than the threshold (i.e., low image complexity or second class as claimed), the control logic 210 applies a second brightness correction data dy2 (i.e., second decrease as claimed). The first/second decrease would be a difference in data value between input image data RGB and corrected image data RGB’. Para. [0058], Lee states “…The difference in data value between image data RGB having a simple pattern with relatively low image complexity and corrected image data RGB′ based on the image data RGB is less than the difference in data value between image data RGB having a complex pattern and corrected image data RGB′ based on the image data RGB…”. In other words, the second decrease is less than the first decrease).
Lee does not teach the plurality of analysis areas.
Choi teaches a plurality of analysis areas (see the analysis of claim 1 above).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Lee does not teach the dimming control signal comprises at least one of a pulse width modulation (PWM) signal or a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) signal, wherein, based on the dimming control signal including the PWM signal, a PWM duty ratio corresponding to the first dimming value is smaller than a PWM duty ratio corresponding to the second dimming value, and wherein, based on the dimming control signal including the PAM signal, a PAM amplitude corresponding to the first dimming value is smaller than a PAM amplitude corresponding to the second dimming value.
An teaches the dimming control signal (a backlight dimming signal CDIM, Fig.1) comprises at least one of a pulse width modulation (PWM) signal (para. [0025 and 0033], the CDIM comprises a PWM signal) or a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) signal, wherein, based on the dimming control signal including the PWM signal, a PWM duty ratio corresponding to the first dimming value is smaller than a PWM duty ratio corresponding to the second dimming value, and wherein, based on the dimming control signal including the PAM signal, a PAM amplitude corresponding to the first dimming value is smaller than a PAM amplitude corresponding to the second dimming value (Figs. 1 and 2, para. [0031], AN discloses a display system comprising a convex gain calculator 10 configured to receive an input image; analyze the complexity of the input image; and calculate a convex gain CG based on the complexity. Para. [0031], when the complexity of the input image has a relative large value, the convex gain calculator 10 greatly reduces the convex gain CG to be applied to a peripheral part of the screen of the liquid crystal display panel. On the other hand, when the complexity of the input image has a relative small value, the convex gain calculator 10 slightly reduces the convex gain CG to be applied to the peripheral part of the screen. In other words, when the image complexity is high, a peripheral part has a first brightness (or first PWM duty). When the image complexity is low, the peripheral part has a second brightness (or second PWM duty). The first brightness would be lower than the second brightness. Accordingly, the first PWM duty would be smaller than the second PWM duty because PWM duty is proportional to the backlight luminance (see AN, para. [0025])).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Lee to include the teaching of AN of determining an image complexity; and adjusting brightness of a backlight by generating PWM signal according to the image complexity because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the display system of Lee to include the method of AN is expressly provided by AN, stating that “to greatly reduce power consumption of the liquid crystal display without a reduction in the image quality, which the viewer can perceive” (para. [0090]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the display system of Lee to include the method of AN with the motivation provided by AN. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of improving the display quality and reducing power consumption.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub. 2018/0122296 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US Pub. 2024/0312409 A1) as applied to claim 1 above; further in view of Xu (US Pub. 2018/0342189 A1) A1).
Regarding claim 10; Lee teaches the display apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above. Lee does not teach at least one analysis area, among the plurality of analysis areas, comprises one or more blocks each comprising a preset number of pixels, and wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the display apparatus to: identify a dimming value for each of the one or more blocks, and cause the dimming control signal, among the plurality of dimming control signals, to have a same dimming value for the one or more blocks.
Choi teaches a plurality of analysis areas (see the analysis of claim 1 above).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Xu teaches at least one analysis area comprises one or more blocks (Fig.2, a display panel is divided into a plurality of blocks D) each comprising a preset number of pixels (Fig.2, para. [0073], each block comprises a plurality of pixels P), and wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the display apparatus to: identify a dimming value for each of the one or more blocks (para. [0012], Xu discloses a method of analyzing an image data and obtaining an edge information amount of each block. The edge information amount indicates an image complexity. Para. [0013], a luminance adjustment coefficient is calculated for each block based on the edge information amount), and cause the dimming control signal, among the plurality of dimming control signals, to have a same dimming value for the one or more blocks (It is understood that at least two blocks may have the same edge information amount. Accordingly, the luminance adjustment coefficients for the at least two blocks would be the same. In addition, each block would be applied the same luminance adjustment coefficient).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Lee to include the teaching of Xu of determining an edge information amount of a display block to indicate an image complexity; and adjusting luminance of a display panel based on the image complexity because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the display system of Lee to include the method of Xu is expressly provided by Xu, stating that “to maintain details in darker part of the image, and to adjust the luminance of bright of complex part of image to greater extent” (para. [0008]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the display system of Lee to include the method of Xu with the motivation provided by Xu. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of improving the display quality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shi et al. (US Pub. 2023/0049237 A1) discloses a method of compensating grayscales according to image complexity. In particular, an image is divided into a plurality of regions 10; determine an image complexity for each region; determining a conversion matrix corresponding to pixels in each region 10; and perform grayscale compensation for each pixel in each region. Shi further teaches that a plurality of threshold values of edge pixel points may be used to determine a plurality of image complexities (para. [0091]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/NGUYEN H TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2623
/CHANH D NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623