DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
The Response, filed on July 7, 2026, has been received and made of record. In response to the Non-Final Office Action dated April 29, 2026, claims 1, 2 and 5 have been amended, claims 3, 4 and 9 have been cancelled, and no claims have been newly added.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1 and 3-6, Applicant first argues “Rosenberry does not teach (a) a rotating connecting rod disposed laterally into booth interior, (b) a discrete stepless adjusting plate fixed to that rod's end with a connecting bottom plate, or (c) the telescopic rod assembly as an externally connected member pivoted on a shaft on that discrete plate.” (Remarks, section A., p. 4/10). The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Rosenberry clearly teaches a rotating connecting rod disposed laterally into booth interior in that element 23 is disposed laterally into the interior of element 5 (e.g., figs. 1B and 2). Rosenberry also clearly teaches a discrete adjusting plate fixed to that rod's end with a connecting bottom plate, via the connecting element ([0021-22]) which is fixed between the ends of the connecting part 23 and telescopic portion 22, and possesses a connecting bottom plate (e.g., fig. 1B; lower portion of connection element is integrally formed with a portion connecting to element 23, with this lower portion being interpreted as the connecting bottom plate; the Examiner notes that absent structural defining recitations, a connecting bottom plate is merely a label). The Examiner notes that the “stepless” feature is taught via the 35 U.S.C.103 teaching by Wang. The Examiner also notes that the term “discrete” is not found to be recited in the claim.
Finally, Rosenberry clearly teaches the telescopic rod assembly as an externally connected member pivoted on a shaft on that discrete plate, via element 22 (see figs. 1A, 1B and 3) which pivots in relation to the connection element attached to element 23 (e.g., figs. 1A, 1B and 3; [0021-22]). The Examiner also notes that the terms “an externally connected member,” “a shaft” and “discrete plate” are not found to be recited in the claim. In light of the teachings of Rosenberry, and in view of the additional teachings of the accompanying 35 U.S.C. 103 references, the Office stands behind the teachings of the art.
Applicant then attempts to argue that the Wang reference is non-analogous (Remarks, section B., p. 5/10). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). Although Applicant would like to narrowly define the relationship to be between “machine-vision inspection fixtures” and “360° photo booth rotating brackets” (Remarks, p. 5/10), in this case, when one of ordinary skill in the art, is faced with the problem of allowing for a pivotal adjustment beyond that allowed by a discrete number of holes arranged in an arc (e.g., see Rosenberry – fig. 1B; [0022]), one would look to the solutions of others as they apply to pivotal adjustment. Wang provides such a solution. The solution of Wang is also applied to a camera system, i.e., both in the field of cameras and image capture. Therefore, in light of at least the above, the Office stands behind the analogous art teachings of Wang.
Applicant then argues that Rosenberry teaches against the design of Wang (Remarks, section B., p. 5/10). As one of skill in the art would be motivated by the increased range of possible angles, versus the finite number provided by a plurality of holes, and because Rosenberry is not found to teach away from this motivation or result, the Office stands behind the 35 U.S.C. 103 combination.
Applicant then argues that the “no wrench” motivation is inapposite (Remarks, section A., p. 6/10). Again, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Puchini teaches a
fitted locking connection (e.g., fig. 8, element 104 has a recessed locking connection for element 118 to connect with element 116; col. 11, lines 28-31). One of ordinary skill in the mechanical arts would understand that when connecting a nut to a bolt, if the nut is not held/secured, the nut can also turn during a tightening process of the bolt. That simple concept applies in the instant case. In light of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have applied the teachings of Puchini into the bracket as taught by Rosenberry and Wang, resulting in the other end of the locking connecting rod being in fit connection with one end of the telescopic rod assembly, in order to eliminate the need for a wrench or other mechanical means to hold the nut tight/prevent the nut from turning while fastening. If the nut is not held, the nut can also turn during a tightening process.
In view of the above responses, the Office stands behind the teachings of the art.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 2 and 7-10, Applicant first argues “field and load-regime mismatch” (Remarks, A., p. 7/10). One skilled in the art, when faced with the issue of quick and easy connectivity between telescoping elements (e.g., Rosenberry, element 22 telescopes; [0023]), would look to the solutions of others who also had to connect telescoping elements. Elation Sports Technologies provides a connection solution. Elation Sports Technologies teaches a quick and easy hand-fastening means of connecting/adjusting the telescopic rod units, eliminating the need for keeping a tool handy (larger surface area hand fastening allow for improved grip and leverage than a smaller fastener), as well as taking advantage of the ability to turn a telescoping element within another (versus square tubing), allowing for additional capture directional options, as the multimedia device would also be turned. In light of at least the above, the Office stands behind the analogous art teachings of Elation Sports Technologies.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments relating to “fixed limit screw…” (Remarks, B. and C., p. 8/10), Puchini clearly teaches a fitted locking connection that is applicable to the teachings of the clamping element as taught by Elation (please see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of newly amended claim 2, infra). In view of the rejection of newly amended claim 2, the Office stands behind the teachings of the art.
* * * * * *
The Office notes that structural differences illustrated by the Applicant are taught by the prior art, are well-known mechanical practices/elements, and are not found to amount to patentable distinctions over the known prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 2, 5-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the independent claim, from which claims 2, 5-8 and 10 depend and inherit all limitations therefrom, recites the limitation "the locking connecting rod" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the claims are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim, from which claims 7, 8 and 10 depend and inherit all limitations therefrom, introduces the limitation “a second clamping portion” in line 4. The claim also introduces the limitation “a second clamping portion” in line 9. It is unclear from the claim as currently written whether the recited limitations are the same limitation or separate and distinct limitations. Absent clarity, one skilled in the art would not be put on full and fair notice regarding the metes and bounds of the recited subject matter. Therefore, the claims are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim introduces the limitation “a first clamping pillar” in line 2. However, claim 2, from which this claim depends and inherits all limitations therefrom, previously introduces “a first clamping pillar” in line 8. It is unclear from the claim as currently written whether the recited limitations are the same limitation or separate and distinct limitations. Absent clarity, one skilled in the art would not be put on full and fair notice regarding the metes and bounds of the recited subject matter. Therefore, the claims are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim introduces the limitation “a second clamping pillar” in line 8. However, claim 2, from which this claim depends and inherits all limitations therefrom, previously introduces “a second clamping pillar” in line 9. It is unclear from the claim as currently written whether the recited limitations are the same limitation or separate and distinct limitations. Absent clarity, one skilled in the art would not be put on full and fair notice regarding the metes and bounds of the recited subject matter. Therefore, the claims are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0219192 to Rosenberry et al. (hereinafter “Rosenberry”) in view of Chinese Patent Application No. 107228825 to Wang, in further view of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,390 to Puchini.
Regarding claim 1, Rosenberry teaches a rotating shooting bracket comprising a rotating connecting rod (e.g., fig. 1B, element 23), extending into an inner side of a photo booth part (e.g., figs. 1B and 2, element 5), and a telescopic rod assembly (e.g., fig. 1B, element 22; [0023]) rotatably and movably connected to one end of the rotating connecting rod (e.g., fig. 1B, via pivot point of element 23, [0020]), wherein the telescopic rod assembly comprises a plurality of telescopic rod units connected end to end (e.g., fig. 3, elements 24; [0023], one or more segments), a connecting part of the rotating connecting rod and the telescopic rod assembly is provided with an adjusting plate (fig. 1B, unlabeled plate associated with pivot point of elements 24 and 23; [0021-22], connection element), wherein the adjusting plate is fixedly arranged at an end part of the rotating connecting rod (e.g., fig. 1B; [0021-22], connection element arranged at end of element 23), and a lower portion of the adjusting plate is integrally formed with or connected with a connecting bottom plate for being connected to the rotating connecting rod (e.g., fig. 1B; lower portion of connection element is integrally formed with a portion connecting to element 23, with this lower portion being interpreted as the connecting bottom plate; the Examiner notes that absent structural defining recitations, a connecting bottom plate is merely a label), and an adjusting hole is formed in the adjusting plate (e.g., fig. 1B; [0021-22], at least one of the plurality of holes), a rotating shaft is arranged on the adjusting plate (e.g., fig. 3, point of pivot; [0021-22], in the form of a mechanical fastener, such as a wing screw fastener), and one end of the telescopic rod assembly is provided with a rotating hole for connecting the rotating shaft (e.g., fig. 3; [0021-22], pivotal connection between elements 22 and 23), and a locking connecting hole for connecting the locking connecting rod (e.g., fig. 1A; [0021], connection hole, of the plurality of holes spaced apart, for association with a mechanical fastener), the rotating shooting bracket further comprises a locking switch for locking one end of the telescopic rod assembly onto the adjust plate ([0021], wing end of wing screw fastener), and a locking connecting rod penetrating through the adjusting hole (e.g., fig. 3, ([0021], screw of wing screw fastener) and one end of the locking connecting rod is in fit connection with the locking switch (e.g., fig. 3; [0021]). However, Rosenberry has not been found by the Examiner to expressly disclose the adjusting plate being stepless adjusting plate, with a stepless adjusting hole being formed therein, nor expressly disclose the other end of the locking connecting rod being in fit connection with one end of the telescopic rod assembly. It is noted that Rosenberry does illustrate an uninterrupted arc hole under the plurality of holes spaced apart and an unlabeled element within that arc hole in alignment with the telescoping rod (e.g., fig. 1B).
Nevertheless, the concept of stepless adjustment via a plate having a stepless adjusting hole being formed therein is well-known and accepted in the mechanical arts. For example, Wang teaches the concept of a stepless adjusting plate (e.g., fig. 1, element 2; p. 3, lines 29-30), with a stepless adjusting hole being formed therein (e.g., fig. 1, element 23; p. 3, line 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Wang into the bracket as taught by Rosenberry in order to have a fully variable arc for the telescopic rod assembly to be able to move to/through; as opposed to the finite number and locations presented by the plurality of holes of Rosenberry.
Further to this, Puchini teaches an example of the well-known and accepted concept of providing a fitted locking connection (e.g., fig. 8, element 104 has a recessed locking connection for element 118 to connect with element 116; col. 11, lines 28-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have applied the teachings of Puchini into the bracket as taught by Rosenberry and Wang, resulting in the other end of the locking connecting rod being in fit connection with one end of the telescopic rod assembly, in order to eliminate the need for a wrench or other mechanical means to hold the nut tight/prevent the nut from turning while fastening (if the nut is not held, the nut can also turn during a tightening process).
Regarding claim 5, Rosenberry, Wang and Puchini teach all of the limitations of claim 1 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection to claim 3, supra) including teaching wherein the locking connecting rod is a screw (e.g., ‘192 – fig. 3; [0021], screw of wing screw fastener), the locking switch is fixedly connected to one end of the locking connecting rod (e.g. ‘192 – fig. 3; [0021]), and the locking connecting hole is a threaded hole for the locking connecting rod to pass through (e.g. ‘192 – fig. 3; [0021]).
Regarding claim 6, Rosenberry, Wang and Puchini teach all of the limitations of claim 6 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection to claim 5, supra) including teaching wherein one end, located at the locking connecting hole, of the locking connecting rod is provided with a nut (e.g. ‘192 – fig. 3; [0021]; ‘390 – fig. 8, element 118), and the locking connecting hole is a hole structure in fit with the shape of the nut, and the nut is accommodated into the hole structure (390 - e.g., fig. 8, element 104 has a recessed locking connection for element 118 to connect with element 116; col. 11, lines 28-31).
Claims 2 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenberry, Wang, and Puchini, in further view of the Cinch Couplings CNH-BND-OO1-BLK by Elation Sports Technologies (web.archiev.org screenshots dated at least May 28, 2024, and Sept 11, 2024; based on https://www.elationsportstechnologies.com/product-page/cinch-pair-of-couplings).
Regarding claim 2, Rosenberry, Wang and Puchini teach all of the limitations of claim 2 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection to claim 1, supra) except for being found by the Examiner to expressly disclose wherein the telescopic rod assembly further comprises a clamping sleeve for limiting and maintaining a telescopic state of each telescopic rod unit, the clamping sleeve comprises a first clamping portion and a second clamping portion which are in fit connection with two adjacent telescopic rod units, respectively, and the telescopic rod assembly further comprises a clamping switch for clamping and adjusting the first clamping portion and/or the second clamping portion, a first clamping pillar is integrally formed with the first clamping portion in fit connection with the clamping switch, a second clamping portion is integrally formed with a second clamping pillar, a fixed limit screw is arranged on the second clamping pillar in a penetrating manner, and a fixed limit nut is arranged on the fixed limit screw.
Nevertheless, Elation Sports Technologies teaches a cinch coupling including a clamping sleeve for limiting and maintaining a telescopic state of each telescopic rod unit (primary figure, main body; also see screen capture, infra), the clamping sleeve comprises a first clamping portion (e.g., screen capture indicator 1) and a second clamping portion (e.g., screen capture indicator 2) which are in fit connection with two adjacent telescopic rod units, respectively (e.g., see reference image with telescoping conduit elements), and the telescopic rod assembly further comprises a clamping switch for clamping (e.g., screen capture indicator 3) and adjusting the first clamping portion, a first clamping pillar is integrally formed with the first clamping portion in fit connection with the clamping switch (e.g., screen capture indicator 4), a second clamping portion is integrally formed with a second clamping pillar (e.g., screen capture indicator 5), a fixed limit screw is arranged on the second clamping pillar in a penetrating manner (e.g., screen capture indicator 6).
See Examiner illustrated figure below:
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]first clamping portion 1 second clamping pillar 5
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow] first clamping pillar 4 second clamping portion 2
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
clamping switch 3 fixed limit screw 6
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the clamp couplings and the tubular telescopic configuration as taught by Elation Sports Technologies with the rotating shooting bracket as taught by Rosenberry, Wang and Puchini, in order to allow for hand-fastening means of connecting/fastening/adjusting the telescopic rod units, eliminating the need for keeping a tool handy (larger surface area hand fastening allow for improved grip and leverage than a smaller fastener), as well as taking advantage of the ability to turn a telescoping element within another (versus square tubing), allowing for additional capture directional options, as the multimedia device would also be turned. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense" KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Further to this Puchini teaches the concept of a fixed limit nut (e.g., fig. 8, nut 118 is fixed in a fitted, recessed locking connection with element 104; col. 11, lines 28-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adapted the second clamping pillar of the rotating shooting bracket as taught by Rosenberry, Wang, Puchini and Elation Sports Technologies to accommodate a nut into the second clamping pillar in the manner as taught by Puchini to connect with the fixed limiting screw, in order to eliminate the need for a wrench or other mechanical means to hold the nut tight/prevent the nut from turning while fastening via the clamping switch (if the nut is not held when the clamping switch is turned, the nut can also turn).
Regarding claim 7, Rosenberry, Wang, Puchini and Elation Sports Technologies teach all of the limitations of claim 7 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection to claim 2, supra)
wherein the first clamping portion is integrally formed with a first clamping pillar in fit connection with the clamping switch (Elation Sports Technologies - e.g., screen capture, supra), the clamping switch comprises an operation portion (Elation Sports Technologies - primary figure, clamping knob), and a clamping portion connected to the operation portion (Elation Sports Technologies - primary figure, threading post), the first clamping pillar is provided with a clamping through hole for penetrating through the clamping portion (Elation Sports Technologies - primary figure), and the operation portion is located outside the clamping through hole (Elation Sports Technologies - primary figure), and the second clamping portion is integrally formed with a second clamping pillar (Elation Sports Technologies - primary figure, bottom portion associated with screw).
Regarding claim 8, Rosenberry, Wang, Puchini and Elation Sports Technologies teach all of the limitations of claim 8 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection to claim 2, supra) including teaching wherein the clamping portion is a screw (Elation Sports Technologies - primary figure, associated with clamping knob), and the operation portion is a rotating knob connected to the clamping portion (Elation Sports Technologies - primary figure, associated with clamping knob).
Regarding claim 10, Rosenberry, Wang, Puchini and Elation Sports Technologies teach all of the limitations of claim 10 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection to claim 2, supra) including teaching wherein the first clamping portion and the second clamping portion are of an integrally formed structure (Elation Sports Technologies - primary figure).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/GARY C VIEAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638