DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-41 and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 27 claims “the grapple saw head assembly configured to complete full rotations about at least two axes of the universal joint assembly” and claim 45 claims “the grapple saw head assembly is configured to complete full rotations about at least two axes of the joint assembly”. However, the specification specifically discloses only complete rotations around the vertical axis (see for example ¶¶49-50 and 76). As such the application only teaches full rotation around a single axis (the vertical one) and not around two axes.
Claims 27-41 and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For claim 27, there is no antecedent basis for “the universal joint assembly”. For claim 45, there is no antecedent basis for “the joint assembly”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 42 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 12,052,952 to Ketonen (Ketonen).
Concerning claim 42, Ketonen discloses a grapple saw system comprising:
a hydraulic power pack assembly (2); and a
grapple saw head assembly (36) coupled to the hydraulic power pack assembly (2), the grapple saw head assembly including a saw (38) configured to cut vegetation, and including grapple arms (E1 in the figure reproduced below) pivotable between an open configuration to obtain and release the vegetation, and a closed configuration to securely retain the vegetation during cutting operations,
wherein the grapple saw head assembly (36) is free from rotational constraints and configured for unlimited rotation about a vertical axis of the hydraulic power pack assembly in either of opposite rotational directions (column 4, lines 14-21).
Concerning claim 44, Ketonen discloses a joint assembly (3, 4), the grapple saw head assembly (36) coupled to the hydraulic power pack assembly (2) via the joint assembly (3, 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ketonen in view of U.S. Patent No. 12,127,508 to Needham et al (Needham).
Concerning claim 43, Ketonen does not disclose a wireless controller for the grapple saw head assembly.
Needham discloses a grapple saw head assembly (18) including a saw (40) configured to cut vegetation, and including grapple arms (28) pivotable between an open configuration to obtain and release the vegetation, and a closed configuration to securely retain the vegetation during cutting operations wherein operation of the grapple saw head assembly is controlled by a wireless transmitter or receiver, or both (column 5, lines 25-42).
Because both these references are concerned with a similar problem, i.e. grapple saw head assemblies, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the wireless system of Needham to the device of Ketonen. In KSR (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)) the courts held that combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. Accordingly a simple addition of he wireless system of Needham to the device of Ketonen will obtain predictable results and is therefore obvious and proper combination of the references is made. The predictable results being wireless control.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent No. 11,382,279 also discloses wireless control.
/Matthew Katcoff/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725
06/09/2026