DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as anticipated by
Goto (USPub20080248316) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Goto (USPub20080248316) in view of either one of (USPub20190362754) or (USPub20120188663).
Regarding claims 1-7: ‘316 teaches a glass containing a crystalline phase such as cristobalite, lithium disilicate, etc. (see Tables) and provides examples such as, but not limited to, that shown below in mass%.
K and L
SiO2
75.3
Al2O3
7
P2O5
2
Li2O
9.9
K2O
2
Na2O
0
MgO
0.8
CaO
0
BaO
0
ZnO
0.5
SrO
0
ZrO2
2.3
TiO2
0
Sb2O3
0.2
As2O3
0
Y2O3
0
The glasses have a E/p ratio as claimed (see E/d of Examples listed in Tables)
While ‘’316 does teach their glass having CTE (at 25-100oC) of above 85x10-7/oC (see K and L in Table 3 for instance as well as other some other Examples shown in the tables), ‘316 does not explicitly teach their glass CTE measured at 100-300oC as required in claim 3 or the glass transition point as required in claims 1 and 2. However, the following is noted.
Initially, as shown above, the oxide composition of ‘316 meets that of Applicants’ claims. Additionally, Applicants disclose that their claimed glass can be formed with a 2-stage heat treatment as shown below (see specification par 0053),
Temperature (C)
Duration (min)
1st Nucleating step
400-680, 450-650, or 500-600
30-2000 or 180-1440
2nd crystal growth step
≥680, 700-850, or 700-780
30-500 or 60-400
which is substantially the same as the method used by ‘316 shown below (see K and L in Table 3 for instance).
Temperature (C)
Duration
1st Nucleating step
540 (K and L)
5hr (300min)
2nd crystal growth step
730 (K) or 750 (L)
3hr (180min)
Given the similarities, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same properties to result (MPEP 2112).
Alternatively, it is noted that ‘316 does not appear to place limits on CTE measured at 100-300oC or the glass transition point and instead, only generally teaches a glass used as a substrate for information recording media such as magnetic disks, etc. (abstract).
As ‘754 and ‘663, who each similarly disclose glasses used as substrates for information recording media such as magnetic disks, teaches that because of the high temperatures required of such substrates, good heat resistance is desired (see 0069 in ‘754 and 0040 in ‘663) with desirably a transition point of ≥680oC (0069 in ‘754) or even 630-750oC (0040 in ‘663), and in order to keep the difference of CTE between the glass and spindles used in magnetic disks small, the glass should desirably have CTE at 100-300 of 51 to 90 x10-7 (0077 in ‘754) or even 75 to 120 x10 -7/oC (0042 in ‘663), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of invention to modify ‘316 to include forming their glass with a transition point of ≥680oC or even 630-750oC for heat resistance and a CTE at 100-300 of 51 to 90 x10-7 or even 75 to 120 x10 -7/oC in order to keep the difference of CTE between the glass and spindles used in magnetic disks small.
Note that the above ranges overlap with the ranges claimed (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 8: ‘316’s glass can have a Vicker’s hardness as claimed (see K and L in Table 3).
Regarding claim 9: As discussed above, ‘316 teaches their glass being a magnetic recording medium substrate.
Regarding claims 10 and 11: A magnetic recording layer can be applied on the magnetic recording medium substrates (0012, 0151) and ‘316 additionally suggests their substrate being used with a magnetic recording head (see discussion of magnetic head in 0005-0011, 0081, 0100-0101, 0107).
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as anticipated by
Yagi (USPub20090118113) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yagi (USPub20090118113) in view of either one of (USPub20190362754) or (USPub20120188663).
Regarding claims 1-7: Yagi teaches a glass containing a crystalline phase such as cristobalite, lithium disilicate, etc. (see Tables) and provides examples such as, but not limited to, that shown below in mass%.
Example 6
SiO2
70.5
Al2O3
6.5
P2O5
2
Li2O
8.5
B2O3
0
K2O
1.5
Na2O
0
MgO
0.8
CaO
0
BaO
5.5
ZnO
0.5
SrO
0
ZrO2
4
TiO2
0
Sb2O3
0.2
The glasses have a E/p ratio as claimed (see E/d of Examples listed in Tables including that of Example 6)
While ‘Yagi does teach their glass having CTE (at 25-100oC) of 55-120 x10-7/oC (0059) and even values above 85 x10-7/oC (see for instance Example 6), Yagi does not explicitly teach their glass CTE measured at 100-300oC as required in claim 3 or the glass transition point as required in claims 1 and 2. However, the following is noted.
Initially, as shown above, the oxide composition of Yagi meets that of Applicants’ claims. Additionally, Applicants disclose that their claimed glass can be formed with a 2-stage heat treatment as shown below (see specification par 0053),
Temperature (C)
Duration (min)
1st Nucleating step
400-680, 450-650, or 500-600
30-2000 or 180-1440
2nd crystal growth step
≥680, 700-850, or 700-780
30-500 or 60-400
which is substantially the same as the method used by Yagi shown below (see Example 6 and par 0073).
Temperature (C)
Duration
1st Nucleating step
500-600 (540 in Ex 6)
1-12hr (60-720min)
2nd crystal growth step
600-850 (740 in Ex 6)
1-12hr (60-720min)
Given the similarities, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same properties to result (MPEP 2112).
Alternatively, it is noted that Yagi does not appear to place limits on CTE measured at 100-300oC or the glass transition point and instead, only generally teaches a glass used as a substrate for information recording media such as magnetic disks, etc. (abstract).
As ‘754 and ‘663, who each similarly disclose glasses used as substrates for information recording media such as magnetic disks, teaches that because of the high temperatures required of such substrates, good heat resistance is desired (see 0069 in ‘754 and 0040 in ‘663) with desirably a transition point of ≥680oC (0069 in ‘754) or even 630-750oC (0040 in ‘663), and in order to keep the difference of CTE between the glass and spindles used in magnetic disks small, the glass should desirably have CTE at 100-300 of 51 to 90 x10-7 (0077 in ‘754) or even 75 to 120 x10 -7/oC (0042 in ‘663), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of invention to modify Yagi to include forming their glass with a transition point of ≥680oC or even 630-750oC for heat resistance and a CTE at 100-300 of 51 to 90 x10-7 or even 75 to 120 x10 -7/oC in order to keep the difference of CTE between the glass and spindles used in magnetic disks small.
Note that the above ranges overlap with the ranges claimed (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 8: Given the similarities between Yagi and Applicants’ invention as laid out above, one skilled in the art would conclude the same resulting hardness (MPEP 2112)
Regarding claim 9: As discussed above, Yagi teaches their glass being a magnetic recording medium substrate.
Regarding claims 10 and 11: A magnetic recording layer can be applied on the magnetic recording medium substrates (0009) and Yagi additionally suggests their substrate being used with a magnetic recording head (see discussion of magnetic head throughout the disclosure).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/713168 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-11 of copending Application No. 18/834606 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/024489 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/024491 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/024490 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18834614 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/919627 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18994649 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Claims 1-11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,807,568. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
Conclusion
LAUREN ROBINSON COLGAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/LAUREN R COLGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784