Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: “Vehicle Communication System for Trailer Connectivity Solutions”… etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, the term “about” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear if 1.5 inches, 1.89 inches, or 1.95 inches would be about 1 inch to about 2 inches.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-13, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armacost (US Patent No. 20160214551 A1), in view of Alguera (US Patent No. 12311712 B2).
In re claim 1, Armacost teaches A gateway device of a trailer (Para [0016]: “The trailer 100 of FIG. 1 is a typical semi-trailer configured to be pulled behind a cab vehicle (not shown). Incorporated or otherwise associated with the trailer 100 is a module communication system 102. The modular communication system 102 may include two controller boards 104,106, although some embodiments may include one controller board or several controller boards.”), comprising:
a processing circuit configured to enable bi-directional communication between electrical devices at the trailer and an electrical system of the tractor (Para [0018]: “In one embodiment, the front controller board 104 may be integrated with or otherwise in communication with a J560 connector socket 110 of the trailer 100. As discussed above, the J560 connector is a standardized seven conductor electrical connector that is used to connect the various electronic systems of a pulling vehicle, such as a commercial truck, to the corresponding electronic systems operating on a towed trailer. The connector may plug into a corresponding socket 110 located on the trailer 100 to electrically connect the seven conductors of the connector to the electrical system of the trailer. In this manner, electrical signals created in the cab may be transmitted to the trailer through the J560 connector and socket 110.” and para [0024]: “The controller board 204, 206 may also include an operation output port for transmitting one or more control signals to one or more components of a trailer in response to a received message. Such a control signal may be an electrical signal, message, series of messages, or electrical power supplied on the operation output port 258. To determine when the a control signal is provided on the operation output port 258, the controller board 204, 206 may include a processor 260 configured to process received messages and provide an output signal or control signal, as explained in more detail below. It should be appreciated that additional modules and components may be included in the controller board 204, 206 of the communication system.”); and
a housing encompassing the processing circuit (SEE FIG 1, controller boards 104 and 106 within a rectangular box, ie, a ‘housing’), the housing comprising a terminal configured to be electrically coupled to an electrical socket at a front side of the trailer via a single cable (Para [0017]: “The controller boards 104,106 of the communication system communicate over a transmission media 108. In one embodiment, the transmission media 108 is a twisted pair of wires along which one or more messages between the controller boards may be passed… In general, any transmission media for the transmission of one or more messages may be utilized with the communication system 102 to transmit messages between the controller boards 104,106 of the system.” and para [0018]: “In one embodiment, the front controller board 104 may be integrated with or otherwise in communication with a J560 connector socket 110 of the trailer 100.”).
Armacost fails to teach and coupled to an underside of the trailer,
that passes through a kingpin plate at the underside of the trailer.
However, Alguera teaches and coupled to an underside of the trailer (SEE FIGS 1-12, Col 4, lines 38-43: “The cable store is expediently arranged under a trailer floor of the semi-trailer. This installation position allows direct access for assembly and repair purposes. In addition, the cable store and the entire cable routing device can be installed without major structural modifications to the semi-trailer.”),
that passes through a kingpin plate at the underside of the trailer (SEE FIGS 1-12, and Col 9, lines 11-26: “FIG. 12 illustrates in a further exemplary embodiment the attachment of the cable routing device to a vehicle 10 in the form of an articulated vehicle 10c or to its frame components. The articulated vehicle 10c has a first vehicle part 10c1 and a second vehicle part 10c2, which are connected to one another via a swivel joint 19 arranged between them. In the illustration according to FIG. 12, the articulated vehicle 10c is in a cornering position in which the first vehicle part 10c1 is angled towards the second vehicle part 10c2 at the swivel joint 19. The line strand 20 runs from the first vehicle part 10c1 via the swivel joint 19 to the second vehicle part 10c2. Since the relative position of the first and second vehicle parts 10c1, 10c2 changes constantly during driving, it is necessary to also adapt the line strand 20 to the respective bending position of the first and second vehicle parts 10c1, 10c2.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Armacost to incorporate the teachings of Alguera to provide and coupled to an underside of the trailer, that passes through a kingpin plate at the underside of the trailer with the TRAILER COMMUNICATION SYSTEM of Armacost. Doing so allows direct access for assembly and repair purposes. In addition, the cable store and the entire cable routing device can be installed without major structural modifications to the semi-trailer, as recognized by Alguera (Col 4, lines 38-43).
System claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as device claim 1 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope; examiner notes ‘a harness’ is taught in Armacost in para [0018]: “In one embodiment, the front controller board 104 may be integrated with or otherwise in communication with a J560 connector socket 110 of the trailer 100. As discussed above, the J560 connector is a standardized seven conductor electrical connector that is used to connect the various electronic systems of a pulling vehicle, such as a commercial truck, to the corresponding electronic systems operating on a towed trailer. The connector may plug into a corresponding socket 110 located on the trailer 100 to electrically connect the seven conductors of the connector to the electrical system of the trailer. In this manner, electrical signals created in the cab may be transmitted to the trailer through the J560 connector and socket 110.”.
In re claim 2, Armacost and Alguera teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Alguera further teaches wherein the housing is coupled between two adjacent cross-beams above a landing gear of the trailer (SEE FIGS 1-12, Col 4, lines 44-50: “Particularly preferred is an embodiment in which the cable store is attached to an underside of a trailer floor or to a chassis component or to an attachment of the semi-trailer, such as the support jacks. A chassis component is understood to mean, in particular, a longitudinal member or cross member of the vehicle frame of the semi-trailer or the mounting brackets for the support jacks.”).
System claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as device claim 2 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 3, Armacost and Alguera teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Armacost further teaches wherein the processing circuit is configured to directly communicate with at least one of a vehicle communication system (VCS) or a human-machine interface (HMI) at the tractor (Para [0015]: “FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a trailer 100 including a modular communication system 102 for controlling or communicating with one or more components of the trailer.” and para [0018]: “In one embodiment, the front controller board 104 may be integrated with or otherwise in communication with a J560 connector socket 110 of the trailer 100. As discussed above, the J560 connector is a standardized seven conductor electrical connector that is used to connect the various electronic systems of a pulling vehicle, such as a commercial truck, to the corresponding electronic systems operating on a towed trailer.”), without intervention of an anti-lock braking system (ABS) module of the tractor (Para [0027]: “…one of the conductors of the connector is associated with the braking system of the cab.”).
System claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as device claim 3 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 4, Armacost and Alguera teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Armacost further teaches wherein the processing circuit is configured to communicate with an anti-lock braking system (ABS) module of the tractor via at least one of a power line carrier (PLC) communication link, an ethernet link, or a controller area network (CAN)-based connection (SEE Para [0027], and para [0028]: “…the front controller board 204 may create or otherwise encode a message that may be decoded and interpreted as a command to illuminate a brake light. In one particular example, the message may follow the standard communication protocol SAE J1939 for a CAN bus system.”).
System claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as device claim 4 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 7, Armacost and Alguera teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Armacost further teaches wherein the processing circuit is configured to establish a controller area network (CAN)-based connection between one or more devices at the trailer and the electrical system of the tractor (Para [0014]: “Further, in one embodiment, the communication system may utilize the standard communication protocol SAE J1939 for a controller area network (CAN) bus system. In this manner, a communication system may be implemented in a trailer that allows for transmission of one or more electrical signals utilized in the operation of a trailer and for the connection and communication of several sensor and/or communication modules of the trailer.” and para [0018]: “In other words, the front controller board 104 may be in electrical communication with one or more of the conductors of the J560 connector to receive electrical signals or impulses transmitted along the J560 connector. Further, because the connector is generally standardized throughout the trucking industry, the front controller board 104 may receive the signals from most cabs in the industry through the connector.”).
System claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as device claim 7 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 8, Armacost and Alguera teach all of the limitations of claim 7 stated above where Armacost further teaches wherein the one or more devices at the trailer comprise at least one of a tire pressure sensor or a light check sensor (Para [0040]: “For example, one or more sensors 412-420 may be connected to or otherwise associated with the communication system 402. Some example sensors are illustrated in the system 402 of FIG. 4, namely: …a tire pressure sensor 420 for detecting when the tire pressure of the trailer drops below a threshold. These sensors 412-420 are but some examples of the types of sensors that may be incorporated into the trailer and in communication with the communication system 402. In general, any type of sensor 412-420 may utilize the communication system 402 to provide modules to the system.”).
System claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as device claim 8 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 9, Armacost and Alguera teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Alguera further teaches wherein the single cable passes through an opening in the kingpin plate at the underside of the trailer (SEE FIGS 1-12 depicting single cable 20 passing through kingpin plate), the opening having a diameter of about 1 inch to about 2 inches (Col 6, lines 57-67: “…line strand 20, which comprises a total of six supply lines 23a, 23b, 23c, 23d, 23e, 23f, of which four supply lines 23a, 23b, 23c, 23d are electrical lines and two supply lines 23e, 23f are designed as pneumatic lines. The always several supply lines 23a, 23b, 23c, 23d, 23e, 23f are inserted together into a protective hose 24, which, in addition to a mechanical protective function for the supply lines 23a, 23b, 23c, 23d, 23e, 23f, also has a particularly smooth surface, which reduces sliding friction between the line strand 20 and a spring element 21 surrounding it.”; examiner notes ‘The primary SAE standard for heavy-duty truck-trailer connections, which includes electrical (usually 7-pin, but often interpreted in modern applications with multiple functional lines) and two pneumatic lines (service and emergency/supply), is SAE J560. While SAE J560 is a seven-conductor electrical connector, it works in tandem with two pneumatic lines, commonly totaling six main connections for standard operations.’ Furthermore, SAE J560 “7-pin” connector standard typically has a body diameter of approx. 2.2 inches [as provided by google]—therefore, would require an opening diameter of about 2 inches).
System claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as device claim 9 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 18, Armacost and Alguera teach all of the limitations of claim 10 stated above where Armacost further teaches wherein the electrical socket comprises a SAE J560 socket (Para [0003]: “One typical electrical connection between the cab and the trailer includes a Society of Automobile Engineers (SAE) standard J560 connector.”), and wherein the harness is a primary and auxiliary seven conductor electrical connector for truck-trailer jumper cable (Para [0018]: “In one embodiment, the front controller board 104 may be integrated with or otherwise in communication with a J560 connector socket 110 of the trailer 100. As discussed above, the J560 connector is a standardized seven conductor electrical connector that is used to connect the various electronic systems of a pulling vehicle, such as a commercial truck, to the corresponding electronic systems operating on a towed trailer. The connector may plug into a corresponding socket 110 located on the trailer 100 to electrically connect the seven conductors of the connector to the electrical system of the trailer. In this manner, electrical signals created in the cab may be transmitted to the trailer through the J560 connector and socket 110.”).
Claims 5-6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armacost (US Patent No. 20160214551 A1), in view of Alguera (US Patent No. 12311712 B2) and further in view of Lesesky (US Patent No. 20040207514 A1).
In re claim 5, Armacost and Alguera teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Armacost further teaches between at least one of one or more cameras or one or more sensors at the trailer and the electrical system of the tractor (Para [0015]: “FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a trailer 100 including a modular communication system 102 for controlling or communicating with one or more components of the trailer.” and para [0040]: “For example, one or more sensors 412-420 may be connected to or otherwise associated with the communication system 402.”).
The combination fails to teach wherein the processing circuit comprises an ethernet router configured to establish an ethernet-based connection.
However, Lesesky teaches wherein the processing circuit comprises an ethernet router configured to establish an ethernet-based connection (Para [0009]: “For example, the second data communications protocol is… an Internet or other global communications network data protocol, a local area network data communications protocol…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Armacost and Alguera to further incorporate the teachings of Lesesky to provide wherein the processing circuit comprises an ethernet router configured to establish an ethernet-based connection with the TRAILER COMMUNICATION SYSTEM of Armacost as modified by Alguera. Doing so provides a system, an apparatus and methods of data communication which is readily adapted to existing vehicle data communication technology and does not require either extensive retrofitting or extensive and expensive additions to existing vehicle data communication technology, as recognized by Lesesky (Para [0008]).
In re claim 6, Armacost and Alguera teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above but fails to teach wherein the processing circuit is configured to enable communication between a first anti-lock braking system (ABS) module at the tractor and a second anti-lock braking system (ABS) module at the trailer via power line carrier (PLC), ethernet, or controller area network (CAN) communication links.
However, Lesesky teaches wherein the processing circuit is configured to enable communication between a first anti-lock braking system (ABS) module at the tractor and a second anti-lock braking system (ABS) module at the trailer (Para [0053]: “The data communications apparatus 30 preferably includes at least one electronic subsystem 40 associated with the vehicle 20. The at least one electronic subsystem 40, for example, can include an anti-locking brake system ("ABS") 41 connected to the vehicle 20. The tractor/trailer combination or other vehicle, however, preferably includes a plurality of electronic subsystems associated with tractor 21 and/or trailer 25. The electronic subsystems 40 preferably produce data or includes some type of signal generating means, e.g., preferably provided by a signal generator 42. Some examples of these electronic subsystems 40 and features which may be controlled and/or monitored by the apparatus of the present invention are illustrated for a tractor/trailer combination in Table I and for an agricultural tractor in Table II below…”) via power line carrier (PLC), ethernet, or controller area network (CAN) communication links (Para [0055]: “For example, data can be directly communicated., e.g., on/off, status, threshold levels, RS-232, or RS-485 protocols, through the conductors or power line carrier ("PLC") communication protocols such as Spread Spectrum…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Armacost and Alguera to further incorporate the teachings of Lesesky to provide wherein the processing circuit is configured to enable communication between a first anti-lock braking system (ABS) module at the tractor and a second anti-lock braking system (ABS) module at the trailer via power line carrier (PLC), ethernet, or controller area network (CAN) communication links with the TRAILER COMMUNICATION SYSTEM of Armacost as modified by Alguera. Doing so provides a system, an apparatus and methods of data communication which is readily adapted to existing vehicle data communication technology and does not require either extensive retrofitting or extensive and expensive additions to existing vehicle data communication technology, as recognized by Lesesky (Para [0008]).
In re claim 15, Armacost and Alguera teach all of the limitations of claim 10 stated above but fails to teach wherein the gateway device is configured to enable communication between a first anti-lock braking system (ABS) module at the tractor and a second anti-lock braking system (ABS) module at the trailer via power line carrier (PLC) communication links.
However, Lesesky teaches wherein the gateway device is configured to enable communication between a first anti-lock braking system (ABS) module at the tractor and a second anti-lock braking system (ABS) module at the trailer (Para [0053]: “The data communications apparatus 30 preferably includes at least one electronic subsystem 40 associated with the vehicle 20. The at least one electronic subsystem 40, for example, can include an anti-locking brake system ("ABS") 41 connected to the vehicle 20. The tractor/trailer combination or other vehicle, however, preferably includes a plurality of electronic subsystems associated with tractor 21 and/or trailer 25. The electronic subsystems 40 preferably produce data or includes some type of signal generating means, e.g., preferably provided by a signal generator 42. Some examples of these electronic subsystems 40 and features which may be controlled and/or monitored by the apparatus of the present invention are illustrated for a tractor/trailer combination in Table I and for an agricultural tractor in Table II below…”) via power line carrier (PLC) communication links (Para [0055]: “For example, data can be directly communicated., e.g., on/off, status, threshold levels, RS-232, or RS-485 protocols, through the conductors or power line carrier ("PLC") communication protocols such as Spread Spectrum…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Armacost and Alguera to further incorporate the teachings of Lesesky to provide wherein the gateway device is configured to enable communication between a first anti-lock braking system (ABS) module at the tractor and a second anti-lock braking system (ABS) module at the trailer via power line carrier (PLC) communication links with the TRAILER COMMUNICATION SYSTEM of Armacost as modified by Alguera. Doing so provides a system, an apparatus and methods of data communication which is readily adapted to existing vehicle data communication technology and does not require either extensive retrofitting or extensive and expensive additions to existing vehicle data communication technology, as recognized by Lesesky (Para [0008]).
Claims 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armacost (US Patent No. 20160214551 A1), in view of Alguera (US Patent No. 12311712 B2) and further in view of Phillips, “Phillips Announces Tractor-Trailer Connectivity Solution”, 08/23/2023, Heavy Duty Trucking, Pages 1-4 (Year: 2023); hereinafter referred to as ‘Phillips’.
In re claim 14, Armacost and Alguera teach all of the limitations of claim 10 stated above but fails to teach wherein the gateway device comprises an ethernet router configured to establish an ethernet-based connection between one or more cameras at the trailer and the electrical system of the tractor.
However, Phillips teaches wherein the gateway device comprises an ethernet router configured to establish an ethernet-based connection between one or more cameras at the trailer and the electrical system of the tractor (Page 4, para [0005]: “Other expanded capabilities of the Phillips EC47 technology include two 1000BASE-T1 capable ethernet connectors supporting 1G/sec speeds capable of streaming multiple video feeds and camera viewing.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Armacost and Alguera to further incorporate the teachings of Phillips to provide wherein the gateway device comprises an ethernet router configured to establish an ethernet-based connection between one or more cameras at the trailer and the electrical system of the tractor with the TRAILER COMMUNICATION SYSTEM of Armacost as modified by Alguera. Doing so enables streaming multiple video feeds and camera viewing, as recognized by Phillips (Page 4, para [0005]).
In re claim 19, Armacost and Alguera teach all of the limitations of claim 10 stated above but fails to teach wherein the electrical socket comprises an EC47 socket comprising an ethernet terminal, a controller area network (CAN) terminal, and a J560 receptor, and wherein the harness comprises conductors for carrying ethernet signals, CAN signals, and signals compatible with SAE J560.
However, Phillips teaches wherein the electrical socket comprises an EC47 socket comprising an ethernet terminal, a controller area network (CAN) terminal, and a J560 receptor, and wherein the harness comprises conductors for carrying ethernet signals, CAN signals, and signals compatible with SAE J560 (Page 2, para [0003]: “Phillips has an answer with it new EC47. The name comes from what it offers: two ethernet connectors, two CAN network connections, 4 AUX connections, and a 7-way J560 power connection. It is cross-compatible, expands tractor-trailer communication, and allows fleets to upgrade their systems when they are ready, according to the company.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Armacost and Alguera to further incorporate the teachings of Phillips to provide wherein the electrical socket comprises an EC47 socket comprising an ethernet terminal, a controller area network (CAN) terminal, and a J560 receptor, and wherein the harness comprises conductors for carrying ethernet signals, CAN signals, and signals compatible with SAE J560 with the TRAILER COMMUNICATION SYSTEM of Armacost as modified by Alguera. Doing so expands tractor-trailer communication, and allows fleets to upgrade their systems when they are ready, according to the company, as recognized by Phillips (Page 2, para [0003]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 7793966 B2 teaches a plug-in coupling system for joining cables between a tractor and a trailer. The invention also relates to the individual components, i.e. the semitrailer coupling and the plug-in connector on which the invention is implemented. The cables between the tractor and the trailer are usually plugged into each other by hand. Automatic systems have not been successful on the market so far. The aim of the invention is therefore to create a plug-in coupling system which allows the supply cables to be connected in a comfortable and operationally safe manner when the trailer is joined to and disconnected from the tractor. Said aim is achieved, among other things, by disposing the socket in a stationary manner below the insertion hole on the semitrailer coupling while arranging the contact points of the plug below the king pin on the plug-in connector.
US 20240278644 A1 teaches A trailer connection safety system is provided. In example aspects, the system receives an action by an operator of a vehicle and determines a connection state of an electrical cable. If the electrical cable is not in an appropriate state for the action of the operator, an alert is generated and displayed. In further aspects, the system may act as an interlock to prevent the action of the operator if the electrical cable is not in an appropriate state.
/JAMES E MUNION/Examiner, Art Unit 2688 03/25/2026