DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2015/0184804 to Handa (Handa) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2003/0029224 to Pratt et al. (Pratt).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Handa discloses a controller and method (abstract) for refueling a fuel cell, comprising: a data acquisition system (ECU 6) configured to: receive, in a first sampling time period, sensor data of a hydrogen storage unit (information about tank 31 from sensors 41 and 42), and generate, based on the sensor data, first data corresponding to a state of charge (SoC) of the hydrogen storage unit ([0047]); a soft sensor system (ECU 95 having sensors 97a, 97b, 97c) communicatively coupled to the data acquisition system and configured to: receive the first data; and generate second data based on the first data, wherein the second data corresponds to a pseudo state of the storage based on the first data ([0037], [0040]-[0042] and [0047]; the state of the storage system is calculated based on the first data); a parameter vector generator (the ECU 95 generates the parameter vectors) coupled to the soft sensor system and configured to generate a parameter vector of a plurality of parameter vectors, wherein the parameter vector comprises the first data and the second data (see Figs. 2 and 3); and a multi-parametric model predictive controller (mpMPC) (ECU also generates predictive models; see [0037] and [0040]-[0041]) communicatively coupled to the parameter vector generator and configured to: generate a first control action based on the parameter vector; and send the first control action to the storage system for controlling refueling of the storage system (control of the filling is based on the data and model; see [0037], [0040]-[0042], [0047], [0063], [0067] and [0070] which describe the communicative filling process). Handa does not disclose the hydrogen storage is a metal hydride storage system (MHSS). Pratt teaches the use of metal hydride storage system (MHSS) for storing hydrogen ([0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a MHSS for storing the hydrogen as taught by Pratt in the fuel cell system of Handa. MHSS hydrogen storage is known for longer lasting storage with minimal hydrogen loss.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Handa as modified by Pratt further discloses a memory (memory connected to ECU 95) configured to: store a first data structure corresponding to a plurality of critical regions, wherein the plurality of critical regions correspond to feasible states of the plurality of parameter vectors ([0041]-[0042]); and store a second data structure corresponding to a plurality of piecewise affine functions, wherein each piecewise affine function of the plurality of piecewise affine functions corresponds to different control actions of the plurality of critical regions (the different filling modes and filling rates based on the data; [0040]-[0042] and Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Handa as modified by Pratt discloses the mpMPC is further configured to: search, using the parameter vector, the first data structure; select, based on searching the first data structure using the first data structure, a first critical region of the plurality of critical regions, wherein the first critical region corresponds to the parameter vector; select, from the second data structure, a piecewise affine function corresponding to the first critical region; and obtain the first control action based on the piecewise affine function ([0040]-[0042], [0047], [0063] and [0070]; the controller can search memory for data, select a critical region, select a function and obtain a control action).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Handa as modified by Pratt further discloses the mpMPC is further configured to control a controlled parameter of the MHSS using each of the different control actions (different control actions can be used to control different parameters of the hydrogen storage; e.g., temperature, pressure).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Handa as modified by Pratt discloses the mpMPC is further configured to: receive, in a second sampling time period, second sensor data of the hydrogen storage unit from the parameter vector generator; and send a second control action to the MHSS when the second sensor data indicates an optimal refilling profile for the MHSS, wherein the second control action maintains the first control action at the MHSS (continuous communication between the ECU’s allows for additional sampling periods and control actions to be generated as the state of the storage system changes; [0041]-[0042] and [0070]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Handa as modified by Pratt discloses the pseudo state of the MHSS corresponds to an estimate of the SoC of the MHSS, and wherein the soft sensor system is configured to estimate the SoC based on a look up table (see [0037]-[0042]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Handa as modified by Pratt discloses the second data comprises a real-time pressure of the MHSS (see [0046]) and a real-time temperature of the MHSS (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Handa as modified by Pratt discloses the mpMPC is further configured to send the first control action to a pressure controller for instructing the MHSS to control a refilling pressure of hydrogen at the MHSS ([0046]-[0047] and [0057]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Handa as modified by Pratt discloses the data acquisition system is further configured to receive the sensor data of the MHSS when the MHSS has a positive pressure ([0046]).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Handa as modified by Pratt discloses the parameter vector generator is configured to generate the parameter vector after the MHSS is coupled to a hydrogen gas supply ([0037]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and claimed invention.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 December 8, 2025