DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of the continuation of Application 17479905 now U.S. Patent 12,156,865. Application 17479904 is a continuation of Application 16319793, now U.S. Patent 11,123,325. Application 16319793 is a national stage entry of PCT/US2017/043106 filed 07/20/2017 which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application 62365037 filed 07/21/2016.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/18/2024, 04/04/2025, 08/26/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15, 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Whipple (US Patent 6,319,491 published 11/20/2001) Bodor et al (US2014/0275204 published 09/18/2014), Bodor (US Patent 7,399,861 published 07/15/2008, referred to as Bodor ‘861) and Kawasaki (JP2003-113392 published 04/18/2003).
Whipple teaches anti-sweat lotion designed for people suffering from hyperhidrosis. Said lotion comprises denatured ethyl alcohol, fumed silica treated with a polydimethylsiloxane polymer, a copolymer of methyl vinyl ether and maleic anhydride, decamethylcyclopentasiloxane (cyclomethicone) and hydroxypropyl cellulose (abstract). Whipple teaches that subjects with hyperhidrosis comprise uncontrolled sweating and find it difficult to interact socially, such as shaking hands with a wet clammy handshake (col. 1 lines 30-50).
Whipple teaches that the anti-sweat lotion penetrates the skins surface, causing invisible barrier, which keeps sweat from forming on the skin’s surface, keeping it dry and comfortable for hours (col 2. Lines 10-15). All the ingredients are FDA approved, so it can be used safely and with confidence.
Whipple teaches that the anti-sweat lotion is composed of 90% wt. denatured ethyl alcohol. Whipple teaches high levels of ethanol promote quick drying after application and have good levels of antiperspirant activity (col 1 lines 25-30; col. 3 lines 1-15). Whipple teaches that ethanol is 200 proof and is called SD-40-2, and comprises t-butyl alcohol and brucine sulfate (col. 3 lines 1-15). As evidenced by the MSDS of said SD-40-2, the composition is 99.86% ethanol 200 proof and 0.14% tert-butyl alcohol and brucine sulfate. As the ethanol does not contain water, the examiner has interpreted the denatured ethanol of Whipple as anhydrous ethanol. In addition, considering the anhydrous denatured ethyl alcohol comprises 90% wt. of the anti-sweat lotion, the examiner has interpreted that said 90% wt. anhydrous ethanol is present in an amount sufficient to act as a non-aqueous solvent.
Regarding the viscosity controlling agent/gelling agent, Whipple teaches hydroxypropyl cellulose as a preferred film-forming and thickening component to be combined into the ethanol solution (col 4 lines 35-65).
Additionally, Whipple teaches that decamethyl cyclopentasiloxane (cyclomethicone 5) is a suitable additive to use in the anti-sweat lotion (col. 4 lines 30-35). Whipple teaches treating hyperhidrosis in a subject comprising administering the disclosed anti-sweat lotion to the hands of a subject in need (col. 2 lines 10-20).
However, Whipple does not teach the compound of Formula (Ia) in the anti-sweat lotion, in at least 1-25% wt. of the anti-sweat lotion. Additionally, Whipple does not specifically teach wherein the anti-sweat lotion comprises isopropyl myristate, nor citric acid, nor hexylene glycol.
Bodor teaches compounds of Formula (Ia), including the elected (2R, 3’R)3-(2-cyclopentyl-2-phenyl-2-hydroxyacetoxy)-1-(ethoxycarbonylmethyl)-1-methyl-pyrrolidinium bromide) as a potent compound for treating hyperhidrosis (referred to as compound #5 [0057], claims 9, 15). Regarding claims 1-4, the anion of compound #5 is bromide. A preferred embodiment is formulating said compound as a 5% wt. solution in 70% ethanol ([0027]). Gels, lotions and creams wherein ethanol as the only solvent are also embodied in the teaching of Bodor ([0071], [0074-0076], claims 9-12). Bodor further teaches that said anti-sweat compounds may be combined with other active substances that treat perspiration ([0071]). Bodor teaches incorporating pH adjusting agents to the anti-sweat composition in order to keep the composition in a preferred pH range near 6 ([0073]). Bodor teaches treating hyperhidrosis in a subject in need comprising administering said composition to areas of the skin that are in need of sweat reduction, such as hand-palm areas, which reads on the methodology of claims 20-23 ([0025], [0032], claims 9-10).
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of the invention would have found it prima facie obvious to combine the art-recognized hyperhidrosis treating compound #5 of Bodor to the hyperhidrosis treating lotion comprising 90% wt. anhydrous ethanol, hydroxypropyl cellulose, and polydimethylsiloxane polymer coated hydrophobic silica of Whipple. Motivation to combine the hyperhidrosis treating compound of Bodor to the hyperhidrosis treating lotion of Whipple flows logically from the very fact each agent was known in the prior art to have the same therapeutic utility of treating hyperhidrosis by topical application in ethanol-based lotions, which in turn, raises the reasonable expectation of success, that when combined, a composition comprising 90% wt. anhydrous ethanol, hydroxypropyl cellulose, polydimethylsiloxane polymer hydrophobic silica and compound #5 of Bodor would be efficacious at treating hyperhidrosis. The instant situation is amenable to the type of analysis set forth in In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980) wherein the court held that it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06).
However, the combination of Whipple and Bodor do not explicitly teach the addition of isopropyl myristate to the anti-sweat composition.
Bodor ‘861 teaches compounds of Formula (Ia) which reads on the genus of Formula (II) wherein R1 is phenyl and R2 is cyclopentyl and R is C2 alkyl (abstract, col. 1 and col. 23). Bodor ‘861 teaches that said compounds are anti-sweat compounds used to treat hyperhidrosis (col. 8 lines 1-5). Bodor ‘861 formulates said compound in solutions compositions (col. 11 lines 25-50). Bodor ‘861 exemplifies solution compositions comprising compounds of Formula (I) further comprising isopropyl myristate and absolute ethanol (col. 72-73, Examples 30-35).
Kawasaki teaches preparation of antiperspirant lotions composed of anhydrous ethanol. As exemplified in Example 416, said antiperspirant lotion comprises 92% absolute ethanol and 2% wt. isopropyl myristate.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of the invention would have found it prima facie obvious to combine isopropyl myristate to the anti-sweat lotion of Whipple and Bodor comprising 90% anhydrous alcohol, hydroxypropyl cellulose, silica and compound #5 in view of Bodor ‘861 and Kawasaki.
MPEP 2143 provides rationale for a conclusion of obviousness including (A) combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results;
In the instant case, the prior art element of formulating the compounds of Formula (II) with isopropyl myristate with established in the methodology of Bodor ‘861 coupled with the knowledge that it was routine in the art to incorporate isopropyl myristate into antiperspirant lotions comprising 90%wt. ethanol in view of Kawasaki. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have predicted, with a reasonable expectation of success that topical application of a lotion comprising 90% anhydrous ethanol, hydroxypropyl cellulose, silica, isopropyl myristate and compound #5 would have effectively treated hyperhidrosis in the administered subject.
Secondly, said artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to treat hyperhidrosis in a subject in need comprising administering the hyperhidrosis composition of Whipple, Bodor, Bodor ‘8611 and Kawasaki to areas in need of sweat reduction, such as the hand-palm area, as Whipple, Bodor, Bodor ‘8611 and Kawasaki teach that topical compositions comprising a compound of Formula (II), at least 90% wt. ethanol, isopropyl myristate and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose are suitable compositions to apply to the hand-palm area to treat hyperhidrosis in the afflicted subject.
Lastly, regarding the limitation wherein the composition has greater storage stability compared to a composition comprising an aqueous solvent or aqueous buffer with the proviso that said ingredients are present in amounts such that the product of any transesterification is the same as the compound of Formula (II), Applicant is reminded that properties, such as storage stability are considered characteristic features of the claimed composition. It is noted that MPEP 2112, In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to "prove that subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess characteristic relied on" (205 USPQ 594, second column, first full paragraph).
In the present case, in order to overcome the rejection of record, the burden is shifted to Applicant to prove that the anti-sweat lotion comprising 90% wt. anhydrous ethanol, hydroxypropyl cellulose, isopropyl myristate polydimethylsiloxane polymer hydrophobic silica and compound #5 of Whipple, Bodor, Bodor ‘861 and Kawasaki does not comprise a greater storage stability to a composition comprising an aqueous solvent or aqueous buffer.
Claims 16-18, 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Whipple (US Patent 6,319,491 published 11/20/2001) Bodor et al (US2014/0275204 published 09/18/2014), Bodor (US Patent 7,399,861 published 07/15/2008, referred to as Bodor ‘861) and Kawasaki (JP2003-113392 published 04/18/2003) as applied to claims 1-15, 19-23 above in view of Williams (GB 2,280,111 published 01/25/1995).
As discussed above, the combination of Whipple, Bodor, Bodor ‘861 and Kawasaki render obvious the preparation of an anti-sweat lotion comprising 90% wt. anhydrous ethanol, hydrophobic silica comprising dimethicone (polydimethylsiloxane polymer), decamethylcyclopentasiloxane (cyclomethicone) hydroxypropyl cellulose, isopropyl myristate and compound #5 in order to treat hyperhidrosis. Additionally, the combination of Whipple, Bodor, Bodor ‘861 and Kawasaki render obvious the treatment of hyperhidrosis in a subject in need comprising topical administration of said anti-sweat lotion to areas of the skin that are in need of treating, such as the hand-palm area.
However the combination of Whipple, Bodor, Bodor ‘861 and Kawasaki do not specifically teach incorporating hexylene glycol and citric acid into the antiperspirant composition.
Williams (GB 2,280,111 published 01/25/1995) teaches anti-perspirant gel compositions comprising a dihydridic alcohol as a primary solvent, buffering agents and gelling agents (abstract). Williams teaches that a buffering agent is used in the composition to prevent wide pH swings, maintaining a pH to about 5 (page 6 lines 2 to page 7 line 10). Citric acid taught as a preferred buffering solution (claims 1, 17-20). Williams also teaches that hexylene glycol is a suitable dihydridic alcohol for the anti-perspirant gel composition (page 4 lines 15-30, claims 1, 6). Williams further teaches administration of said gel composition in order to reduce perspiration on the skin of a mammal in need (claim 26).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of the invention would have found it prima facie obvious to combine hexylene glycol and citric acid to the anti-sweat lotion of Whipple, Bodor, Bodor ‘861 and Kawasaki in order to arrive at the instantly claimed antiperspirant composition.
MPEP 2143 provides rationale for a conclusion of obviousness including (A) combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results;
In the instant case, the prior art element of formulating antiperspirant compositions with hexylene glycol and citric acid was established in the methodology of Williams. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have predicted, with a reasonable expectation of success that topical application of a lotion comprising 90% anhydrous ethanol, hydroxypropyl cellulose, silica, isopropyl myristate, hexylene glycol, citric acid and compound #5 would have effectively treated hyperhidrosis in the administered subject.
Furthermore, said artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to treat hyperhidrosis in a subject in need comprising administering the hyperhidrosis composition of Whipple, Bodor, Bodor ‘861, Kawasaki and Williams to areas in need of sweat reduction, such as the hand-palm area, as the combination of Whipple, Bodor, Bodor ‘861, Kawasaki and Williams teach that topical compositions comprising a compound of Formula (II), at least 90% wt. ethanol, isopropyl myristate, hexylene glycol, citric acid and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose are suitable components to formulate together to yield a topical gel composition suitable at reducing perspiration in a subject in need and effective when applied to the hand-palm area. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have predicted, with a reasonable expectation of success that administration topical composition comprising 90% anhydrous ethanol, hydroxypropyl cellulose, silica, isopropyl myristate, hexylene glycol, citric acid and compound #5 would have effectively treated hyperhidrosis at the administered location of the afflicted subject.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,034,652.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent 11,034,652 are directed to a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol, citric acid, hexylene glycol and hydroxypropyl cellulose. Said topical gel formulation overlaps with the topical gel formulation of Formula (Ia) embraced within claims 1-19 of the present claims. Furthermore, the methodology of treating hyperhidrosis comprising topically administering a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol, citric acid, hexylene glycol and hydroxypropyl cellulose embodied within claims 11-20 of U.S. Patent 11,034,652 overlaps with the treatment methodology embraced within claims 20-26 of the present application.
Claims 1-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 11,052,067.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,052,067 are directed to a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol, citric acid, isopropyl myristate, hexylene glycol and hydroxypropyl cellulose. Said topical gel formulation overlaps with the topical gel formulation of Formula (Ia) embraced within claims 1-19 of the present claims.
Furthermore, the methodology of treating hyperhidrosis comprising topically administering a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol, citric acid, hexylene glycol and hydroxypropyl cellulose embodied within claims 15-29 of U.S. Patent 11,052,067 overlaps with the treatment methodology embraced within claims 19-26 of the present application.
Claims 1-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,084,788.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,084,788. are directed to a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol, citric acid, hexylene glycol and hydroxypropyl cellulose. Said topical gel formulation overlaps with the topical gel formulation of Formula (Ia) embraced within claims 1-18 of the present claims. Furthermore, the methodology of treating hyperhidrosis comprising topically administering a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol, citric acid, hexylene glycol and hydroxypropyl cellulose embodied within claims 11-19 of U.S. Patent 11,084,788 overlaps with the treatment methodology embraced within claims 19-26 of the present application.
Claims 1-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,123,325.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,123,325 are directed to a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol, isopropyl myristate, citric acid, hexylene glycol and dimethicone. Said topical gel formulation overlaps with the topical gel formulation embraced within claims 1-19 of the present claims. Furthermore, claims 16-17 of U.S. Patent 11,123,325 are directed to treating hyperhidrosis in a subject in need comprising administering a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol, isopropyl myristate, citric acid, hexylene glycol, hydroxypropyl cellulose and dimethicone. Said methodology and topical formulation overlaps with the methodology and topical formulation embraced within claims 20-26 of the present claims.
Claims 20-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,947,192.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,947,192 are directed to treating hyperhidrosis in a subject in need comprising administering a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol, and further comprising citric acid, hexylene glycol and the viscosity controlling hydroxypropyl cellulose. Said treatment methodology and topical gel formulation overlaps with the treatment methodology and topical formulation embraced within claims 20-26 of the present claims.
Claims 20-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 11, 14-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,959,983.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-9, 11, 14-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,959,983 are directed to treating hyperhidrosis in a subject in need comprising administering a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol and further comprising isopropyl myristate, citric acid, hexylene glycol and the viscosity controlling hydroxypropyl cellulose. Said treatment methodology and topical gel formulation overlaps with the methodology and topical formulation embraced within claims 20-26 of the present claims.
Claims 20-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 9, 11-16 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,961,191.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-6, 9, 11-16 and 19 of U.S. Patent No.10,961,191 are directed to treating hyperhidrosis in a subject in need comprising administering a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol and further comprising isopropyl myristate, citric acid, hexylene glycol and the viscosity controlling hydroxypropyl cellulose. Said treatment methodology and topical gel formulation overlaps with the methodology and topical formulation embraced within claims 20-26 of the present claims.
Claims 1-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,865.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,865 are directed to a topical formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol and further comprising isopropyl myristate, citric acid, hexylene glycol. Said topical formulation includes a gel, cream, lotion, foam or emulsion as found in claims 6-7 of the present claims. Furthermore, claims 16-22 of U.S. Patent 11,123,325 are directed to treating hyperhidrosis in a subject in need comprising administering a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol and further comprising isopropyl myristate, citric acid, hexylene glycol and hydroxypropyl cellulose. Said treatment methodology and topical formulation overlaps with the methodology and topical formulation embraced within claims 20-26 of the present claims.
Claims 1-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 12-41 of U.S. Patent No. 12,398,102
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,398,102 are directed to a topical formulation of a compound of Formula (2a) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol and further comprising isopropyl myristate, citric acid, hexylene glycol and the viscosity controlling modified cellulose. Said topical gel formulation further excludes propyl gallate, butylated hydroxytoluene and the aluminum species aluminum chloride or aluminum chlorohydrate. Said topical gel formulation overlaps with the topical gel formulation of Formula (Ia) embraced within claims 1-19 of the present claims.
Furthermore, claims 12-41 of U.S. Patent 12,398,102 are directed to treating hyperhidrosis in a subject in need comprising administering a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol and further comprising isopropyl myristate, citric acid, hexylene glycol and the viscosity controlling modified cellulose and further excludes propyl gallate, butylated hydroxytoluene and the aluminum species aluminum chloride or aluminum chlorohydrate. Said treatment methodology and topical formulation overlaps with the methodology and topical formulation embraced within claims 20-26 of the present claims.
Claims 1-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 9-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,609
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-6, 9-10 and 19 of U.S. Patent No.12,357,609 are directed to a topical formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol and further comprising isopropyl myristate, citric acid, hexylene glycol and the viscosity controlling hydroxypropyl cellulose. Said topical gel formulation further excludes propyl gallate, butylated hydroxytoluene and the aluminum species aluminum chloride or aluminum chlorohydrate. Said topical gel formulation overlaps with the topical gel formulation of Formula (Ia) embraced within claims 1-19 of the present claims.
Furthermore, claims 13-18 of U.S. Patent 12,357,609 are directed to treating hyperhidrosis in a subject in need comprising administering a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol and further comprising isopropyl myristate, citric acid, hexylene glycol and the viscosity controlling hydroxypropyl cellulose and further excludes propyl gallate, butylated hydroxytoluene and the aluminum species aluminum chloride or aluminum chlorohydrate. Said treatment methodology and topical formulation overlaps with the methodology and topical formulation embraced within claims 20-26 of the present claims.
Claims 1-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8, 11-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,026,919.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,026,919 are directed to a topical formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol and further comprising isopropyl myristate, citric acid, hexylene glycol and the viscosity controlling hydroxypropyl cellulose. Said topical gel formulation overlaps with the topical gel formulation of Formula (Ia) embraced within claims 1-19 of the present claims.
Furthermore, claims 11-15 of U.S. Patent 11,026,919 are directed to treating hyperhidrosis in a subject in need comprising administering a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol and further comprising isopropyl myristate, citric acid, hexylene glycol and the viscosity controlling hydroxypropyl cellulose. Said treatment methodology and topical formulation overlaps with the methodology and topical formulation embraced within claims 20-26 of the present claims.
Claims 20-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,952,990.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5, 8-12 of U.S. Patent 10,952,990 are directed to treating hyperhidrosis in a subject in need comprising administering a topical gel formulation of a compound of Formula (2) in 1%wt. to 20% wt., at least 70% wt. anhydrous ethanol and further comprising isopropyl myristate, citric acid, hexylene glycol and the viscosity controlling hydroxypropyl cellulose. Said treatment methodology and topical formulation overlaps with the methodology and topical formulation embraced within claims 20-26 of the present claims.
Conclusion
In view of the rejections set forth above, no claim is allowed.
/GEORGE W KOSTURKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621