Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (EP 4572511) in view of Jeon (US 20200314917).
Regarding claim 1, Bae discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (fig. 2) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive, from a network entity, a configuration message indicating a plurality of random access channel resource sets for the UE, wherein each random access channel resource set of the plurality of random access channel resource sets is associated with a respective (fig. 13, s1301, s1401, [0132][0155], receive a configuration related to plurality of random access channel occasion; [0166] the BS may provide a configuration related to a plurality of RO groups; parameter preambleReceivedTargetPower may be configured for each PRACH resource or RO group, which may be used to determine the PRACH target reception power through MAC layer operations);
select a random access channel resource set from the plurality of random access channel resource sets based at least in part on an uplink power value associated with the UE ([0141], the UE may determine a PRACH resource or RO group to use for random access based on the PRACH transmission power determined for each of the plurality of PRACH resources or RO groups); and
transmit, to the network entity, one or more random access messages in accordance with one or more resources of the random access channel resource set based at least in part on selecting the random access channel resource set ([0141], the UE may perform random access using a RACH resource or RO group with transmission power less than the UEconfigured maximum output power (PCMAX,f,c )(that is, a RACH resource or RO group with the largest transmission power among RACH resources or RO groups where PPRACH,b,f,c(i) is determined to be less than PcMAX,f,c).
Bae does not explicitly disclose each random access channel resource set of the plurality of random access channel resource sets is associated with a respective
Jeon discloses each random access channel resource set of the plurality of random access channel resource sets is associated with a respective (Jeon, fig. 18C, [0373][0400-401], the target power range can be (-202, -60)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings as given by Bae with the teachings given by Jeon. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce delay in determining a success or a failure of a random access procedure (Jeon, [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, 15, 24, 28, Bae and Jeon disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of a mapping between each range of targeted uplink power values and each random access channel resource set, wherein selecting the random access channel resource set is based at least in part on the indication of the mapping (Bae, [0139][0141], the parameter preambleReceivedTargetPower may be configured for each PRACH resource or RO group; the UE may use different PRACH target reception power PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_ TARGET POWER for each PRACH resource or RO group. Jeon, fig. 18c ).
Regarding claim 3, 16, 25, 29, Bae and Jeon disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein each random access channel resource set of the plurality of random access channel resource sets is associated with a respective quantity of random access occasions (Bae, [0149], a group that may include one or more RO indices may be included in the RACH configuration).
Regarding claim 4, 17, 26, 30, Bae and Jeon disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein, to select the random access channel resource set, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
select a random access preamble from a plurality of random access preambles associated with the selected random access channel resource set (Bae, [0149], the UE may select one preamble from the given group and perform random access preamble transmission).
5. The UE of claim 1, wherein each random access channel resource set of the plurality of random access channel resource sets is associated with a unique plurality of random access preambles (Bae, [0149], the RO group may include a group of RACH preamble indices).
Regarding claim 6, 18, Bae and Jeon disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein each random access channel resource set of the plurality of random access channel resource sets is associated with a respective random access channel format (Bae, [0120][0133][0140], DELTA_PREAMBLE is a predefined value based on the preamble format. PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPI NG_COUNTER is a variable that indicates the number of times the preamble power is ramped).
Regarding claim 7, 19, Bae and Jeon disclose the UE of claim 6, wherein:
a first random access occasion comprises two or more portions, each of the two or more portions respectively corresponding to a first random access channel resource set associated with a first random access channel format (Bae, fig. 15, 19; Jeon, fig. 18, [0373][0400-401]);
a second random access occasion comprises a single portion that corresponds to a second random access channel resource set associated with a second random access channel format different than the first random access channel format (Bae, fig. 15, 19; Jeon, fig. 18, [0373][0400-401]); and
the first random access occasion and the second random access occasion occupy a same set of time domain resources (Bae, fig. 15, 19, the UL and DL resources are assigned to the UE through resource allocation by the BS. Resource allocation may include time domain resource allocation).
Regarding claim 8, 20, Bae and Jeon disclose the UE of claim 6, wherein:
a first random access channel format is associated with a first quantity of repetitions and a second random access channel format is associated with a second quantity of repetitions that is greater than the first quantity; and one or more first targeted uplink power values of a first range associated with the first random access channel format are greater than one or more second targeted uplink power values of a second range associated with the second random access channel format (Bae, [0133][0139-40][0142]; Jeon, [0338], the parameter may indicate at least one of the following: a PRACH resource allocation, a preamble format, SSB information (e.g., a total number/quantity of SSBs, downlink resource allocation of SSB transmission, a transmission power of SSB transmission, and/or other information), uplink radio resources for one or more transport block transmissions, and/or associations between PRACH resource allocation and the uplink radio resources (or associations between the uplink radio resources and downlink reference signals)).
Regarding claim 9, 21, Bae and Jeon disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein, to select the random access channel resource set, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
select a random access channel format associated with the selected random access channel resource set, wherein the one or more random access messages are transmitted in accordance with a quantity of repetitions in accordance with the selected random access channel format (Bae, [0133][0139-40][0142]) .
Regarding claim 10, Bae and Jeon disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
detect a change in the uplink power value associated with the UE (Bae, [0141-42], if power ramping progresses such that the current value of PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER exceeds the maximum value of PREAMBLE _POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER of a specific PRACH resource or RO group) ;
select a second random access channel resource set from the plurality of random access channel resource sets different from the random access channel resource set based at least in part on detecting the change; and transmit, to the network entity, one or more second random access messages in accordance with one or more second resources of the random access channel resource set based at least in part on selecting the second random access channel resource set (Bae, [0142], the UE may perform random access using another PRACH resource or RO group without using the corresponding PRACH resource or RO group).
Regarding claim 11, Bae and Jeon disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
select a second random access channel resource set from the plurality of random access channel resource sets different from the random access channel resource set based at least in part on one or more failures of the one or more random access messages; and transmit, to the network entity, one or more second random access messages in accordance with one or more second resources of the random access channel resource set based at least in part on selecting the second random access channel resource set (Bae, [0080], fig. 6, when the UE fails in receiving the RAR directed to the UE, the UE may attempt to retransmit the preamble. In the case of contention based random access, the UE may transmit a PUSCH based on a UL resource assignment included in the RAR (S15)).
Regarding claim 12, Bae and Jeon disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive an indication to use the uplink power value associated with the UE for selecting the random access channel resource set, wherein the selecting is based at least in part on receiving the indication (Bae, fig. 13, s1301, s1401, [0132][0155], receive a configuration related to plurality of random access channel occasion; [0166] the BS may provide a configuration related to a plurality of RO groups; parameter preambleReceivedTargetPower may be configured for each PRACH resource or RO group, which may be used to determine the PRACH target reception power through MAC layer operations).
Regarding claim 13, 22, Bae and Jeon disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive one or more reference signals from the network entity; and
calculate the uplink power value used based at least in part on a reference signal received power (RSRP) value measured in accordance with receiving the one or more reference signals (Bae, [0133-136], the UE may then perform the random access procedure based on measured RSRP).
Conclusion
/ZHENSHENG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474