DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, and 17-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan et al. (US Application 2023/0062505, hereinafter Khoshnevisan).
Regarding claims 1, 29, Khoshnevisan discloses an apparatus, and a method (Figs. 1,3,7,11-17) for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (115), comprising:
a processing system (740,1140) that includes one or more processors (740,1140) and one or more code-storing memories (730,1130) coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the UE to:
receive one or more beam sweeping signals via one or more respective network beams(Abstract, [0090]-[0091],[0174]-[0176],[0192]-[0194], which recites the UE 115-b may identify a configuration. In some examples, the UE 115-b may receive an indication of the configuration via RMSI or some other control signaling or broadcast signaling. The configuration indicates a beam sweeping pattern for transmitting the set of multiple reference signals, the beam sweeping pattern including an indication of a quantity of directional beams);
transmit a plurality of first random access messages via respective UE beams associated with a network beam of the one or more respective network beams([0170]-[0171], [0177]-[0180],[0195]-[0196], which recites the method may include transmitting a first message indicating at least a random access preamble for a random access procedure based on a configuration. The method may include transmitting a set of multiple reference signals using a set of directional beams); and
receive an indication of a UE beam of the respective UE beams([0170]-[0171], [0177]-[0180],[0195]-[0196], which recites the method may include transmitting a first message indicating at least a random access preamble for a random access procedure based on a configuration. The method may include transmitting a set of multiple reference signals using a set of directional beams).
Regarding claims 17, 30,Khoshnevisan discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, and a method(Figs. 1,3,7,11-17), comprising:
a processing system (740,1140) that includes one or more processors (740,1140) and one or more code-storing memories (730,1130) coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the network node to:
transmit one or more beam sweeping signals via one or more respective network beams(Abstract, [0090]-[0091],[0174]-[0176],[0192]-[0194], which recites the UE 115-b may identify a configuration. In some examples, the UE 115-b may receive an indication of the configuration via RMSI or some other control signaling or broadcast signaling. The configuration indicates a beam sweeping pattern for transmitting the set of multiple reference signals, the beam sweeping pattern including an indication of a quantity of directional beams);
receive a plurality of first random access messages via respective user equipment (UE) beams associated with a network beam of the one or more respective network beams([0170]-[0171], [0177]-[0180],[0195]-[0196], which recites the method may include transmitting a first message indicating at least a random access preamble for a random access procedure based on a configuration. The method may include transmitting a set of multiple reference signals using a set of directional beams); and transmit an indication of a UE beam of the respective UE beams([0170]-[0171], [0177]-[0180],[0195]-[0196], which recites the method may include transmitting a first message indicating at least a random access preamble for a random access procedure based on a configuration. The method may include transmitting a set of multiple reference signals using a set of directional beams).
Regarding claims 2,18, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication is a second random access message(Abstract, [0090]-[0091],[0174]-[0176],[0192]-[0194]).
Regarding claims 3,19, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: communicate one or more signals via the UE beam([0170]-[0171], [0177]-[0180],[0195]-[0196]).
Regarding claim 4,20, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication to transmit the plurality of first random access messages via the respective UE beams([0170]-[0171], [0177]-[0180],[0195]-[0196]).
Regarding claims 5, 21, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the indication indicates one or more of a first random access message transmission quantity threshold or a plurality of random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) associated with the plurality of first random access messages([0010],[0088]).
Regarding claims 6, 22, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a transmit power of the plurality of first random access messages is in accordance with one or more transmit power control (TPC) parameters associated with first random access message beam sweeping([0014],[0029],[0045],[0086]).
Regarding claims 7, 23, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication of one or more absolute values of the one or more TPC parameters([0014],[0029],[0045],[0086]).
Regarding claims 8, 24, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication of one or more differential values of the one or more TPC parameters([0014],[0029],[0045],[0086]).
Regarding claims 9, 25, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a transmit power of the plurality of first random access messages is associated with a random access failure([0017],[0122],[0215]).
Regarding claims 10,26, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the transmit power of the plurality of first random access messages is greater than a transmit power of a plurality of first random access messages that were previously transmitted([0014],[0029],[0045],[0086]).
Regarding claim 11, 27,Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the transmit power of the plurality of first random access messages is equal to a transmit power of a plurality of first random access messages that were previously transmitted([0014],[0029],[0045],[0086]).
Regarding claims 12, 28,Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the transmit power of the plurality of first random access messages is greater than a transmit power of a plurality of first random access messages that were previously transmitted via the respective UE beams, or wherein the respective UE beams are first respective UE beams, and wherein the transmit power of the plurality of first random access messages is equal to a transmit power of a plurality of first random access messages that were previously transmitted via second respective UE beams that are different than the first respective UE beams([0170]-[0171], [0177]-[0180],[0195]-[0196]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art in record fails to anticipate or render obvious the following limitations: the plurality of first random access messages is a first plurality of first random access messages, the respective UE beams are first respective UE beams, the network beam is a first network beam, to cause the UE to transmit the first plurality of first random access messages, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to transmit the first plurality of first random access messages in one or more first random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) associated with downlink UE beam selection, the UE beam is a downlink UE beam, and the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: transmit a second plurality of first random access messages via second respective UE beams associated with a second network beam of the one or more respective network beams in one or more second ROs associated with uplink UE beam selection; and receive an indication of an uplink UE beam of the second respective UE beams.
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418