DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to an amendment filed on 01/22/2026, in which claims 1-9 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/358,844, filed on 07/25/2023.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are not persuasive.
In regards to claim 1 applicant argues that Lee discloses performing the intra prediction using the adjacent reference samples, however, this disclosure does not disclose the limitation of determining a single reference sample line among plural reference sample lines based on the position of an upper boundary of the current block.
However, examiner respectfully disagrees. In paragraph 300 Lee clearly mentions that an intra-prediction of the current block may be performed by at least one of a plurality of reference lines. As shown in Fig. 16 and paragraph 294 of Lee, a reference sample line is used for inter-prediction of the current block. Furthermore, as shown in Fig. 26 and paragraph 299 of Lee, multiple reference lines are present and at least one of the reference lines is used for the intra-prediction of the current block. Furthermore, as shown in Fig. 23B and paragraph 256 of Lee, intra-prediction modes of the top neighboring blocks of the current block are used for the intra-prediction of the current block. Please note that all the reference lines are determined with respect to the top-left position of the current coding block, and as shown in Fig. 26, each of the reference lines index numbers are with respect to the top and left boundary of the current block. Thus, all the argued limitations of the current application has been fully disclosed by the currently on file reference.
Claims 1-9 remain rejected since the system disclosed by the applicant is taught by the prior arts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2019/0116381 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses: An image decoding method, comprising:
deriving an intra prediction mode of a current block (see paragraph 67);
determining one reference sample line among a plurality of reference sample lines (see paragraph 300, intra-prediction of a current block may be performed by at least one of a plurality of reference lines);
configuring a reference sample of intra prediction for the current block from the one reference sample line (see paragraph 297); and
performing intra prediction for the current block based on the intra prediction mode (see paragraph 303) and the reference sample (see paragraph 298),
wherein the one reference sample line is determined based on a position of an upper boundary the current block (see paragraph 300, 256, and Fig. 23B).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the one reference sample line is determined based on whether the upper boundary of the current block corresponds to a boundary of a coding tree block (see Lee, paragraph 296 and Fig. 14, i.e. index 0 and 2).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses: The method of claim 1, when the upper boundary of the current block corresponds to a boundary of a coding tree block, the one reference sample line is determined as a reference sample line closest to the current block (see Lee, paragraph 296).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the configuring the reference sample further comprising:
filtering the one reference sample line based on whether the one reference sample line is a reference sample line adjacent to the current block (see Lee, paragraph 208).
Regarding claims 5-8, claims 5-8 are drawn to an encoding methods having limitations similar to the decoding method claimed in claims 1-4 treated in the above rejections. Therefore, method claims 5-8 correspond to method claims 1-4 and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is drawn to a transmitting method having limitations similar to the decoding method claimed in claim 1 treated in the above rejections. Therefore, method claim 9 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARYAM A NASRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483