DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 3 and 5 and the cancellation of claim 11.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the mold body and gap distance must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber Maschinenbau GmbH Breidenbach (DE 202009017954 U1), hereafter known as Weber, in view of Bristow (US 2002/0146530 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Weber teaches an industrial knife (Weber; P. 0002) with a base body (Weber; Figs. 1-3 and 5; 15) and an exchangeable cutting edge part (Weber; Figs. 1-4; 45; P. 0012), wherein the cutting edge part is coupled in a non-positive and/or positive manner to a base body surface (Weber; Fig. 1-3; 19), as well as with at least one connection means (Weber; Fig. 1-3; 19),
characterized in that
the connection means is formed as mold body (Weber; Figs. 1-3; 19), which has a web (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Weber) below) and a mold head (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Weber) below), wherein notches (Weber; Fig. 4; 37), which are complementary to the respective mold head and are in each case present in the base body and in the cutting edge part (Weber; Fig. 4 and 5; 37 and 43) and the base body and cutting edge part have a coupling surface (Weber; Fig. 1 and 3; 47).
Weber does not teach wherein the mold body of the connection means comprises two opposite mold heads and wherein the notches merge into a channel or a groove in the direction of a coupling surface.
Bristow teaches a joint apparatus (Bristow; Figs. 1-14) with a base body (Bristow; Figs. 1-4; 10) and a connecting body (Bristow; Figs. 1-4; 12) with at least one connection means (Bristow; Figs. 3-4; 16), characterized in that the connection means is formed as a mold body (Bristow; Figs. 3-4; 42, 44, 45, 46, and 48), which has a web (Bristow; Figs. 3-4; 44) and two opposite mold heads (Bristow; Figs. 3-4; 45 and 46), wherein a notch (Bristow; Figs. 1-4; 30), which is complementary to the respective mold head (Bristow; Figs. 3-4; 30, 45 and 46) and in each case merges into a channel or a groove (Bristow; Fig. 1; 32) in the direction of a coupling surface (Bristow; Figs. 1 and 3; 24 and 28), is in each case present in the base body and connecting body (Bristow; Figs. 1 and 3; 24 and 28). Such an alternative arrangement allows for the structures to be secured together in a co-planar manner with their opposing inner edges that form the coupling surface to be abutting (Bristow; P. 0048) while also providing a recessed space for the mold head that allow the connection means to be flush with the base body surface.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the at least one connection means and notch taught by Weber to have the features of the at least one connection means and notch taught by Bristow as such a connection means and notch allow for two structures to be secured together in a co-planar manner thus allowing the connection means to be flush with the base body surface.
Regarding claim 2, Weber in view of Bristow teaches the industrial knife according to claim 1, characterized in that the notches (Bristow; Figs. 1-4; 30) and the respective channel (Bristow; Fig. 1; 32) or the respective groove form an accessible hollow space (Bristow; Fig. 1; 30 and 32), into which the mold body can be introduced (Bristow; Figs. 3; 30, 32, 42, 44, 45, 46, and 48).
Regarding claim 3, Weber in view of Bristow teaches the industrial knife according to claim 1, characterized in that the mold body (Bristow; Figs. 3-4; 42, 44, 45, 46, and 48) has means for generating a clamping force (Bristow; Fig. 4; 44; P. 0053) between the mold heads (Bristow; Figs. 3-4; 45 and 46) and thus the coupling surface (Weber; Fig. 1 and 3; 47) as well as the base body (Weber; Figs. 1-3 and 5; 15) and the cutting edge part (Weber; Figs. 1-4; 45), wherein the means for generating a clamping force comprise a screw or bolt connection (Bristow; Figs. 3-4; 42, 44, 45, 46, and 48; P. 0053) including the web (Bristow; Figs. 3-4; 44).
Regarding claim 5, Weber in view of Bristow teaches the industrial knife according to claim 3, characterized in that the notch (Bristow; Figs. 1-4; 30) in the base body (Weber; Figs. 1-3 and 5; 15) and/or in the cutting edge part (Weber; Figs. 1-4; 45) have an access for actuating the screw or bolt connection (Bristow; Figs. 3-4; 30), in particular to a screw head (Bristow; Figs. 3-4; 42 and 48).
Regarding claim 6, Weber in view of Bristow teaches the industrial knife according to claim 1, characterized in that the respective notch (Bristow; Figs. 1-4; 30) has a circular shape, a pitch circle shape or a polygonal shape (Bristow; Figs. 1-4; 30), the notch taught by Bristow has a polygonal shape.
Regarding claim 7, Weber in view of Bristow teaches the industrial knife according to claim 1, characterized in that a gap distance between the base body surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Weber) above) and the opposite surface of the cutting edge part (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Weber) above) can be minimized via the connection means (Bristow; P. 0048 and 0053).
Regarding claim 8, Weber in view of Bristow teaches the industrial knife according to claim 1, characterized in that the base body surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Weber) above) and the cutting edge part (Weber; Figs. 1-4; 45) form a coupling surface (Weber; Fig. 1 and 3; 47), which is embodied edge to edge (Weber; Fig. 1 and 3; 47; ; P. 0028).
Regarding claim 9, Weber in view of Bristow teaches the industrial knife according to claim 8, characterized in that supporting guide or bearing surfaces or surface sections (Weber; Figs. 1, 3, and 5; 41) are additionally formed below or above the coupling surface (Weber; Figs. 1, 3, and 5; 47), which is embodied edge to edge (Weber; Fig. 5; 41 and 47; P. 0028).
Regarding claim 10, Weber in view of Bristow teaches the industrial knife according to claim 2.
Weber in view of Bristow does not teach the mold body is formed of a hardening, initially liquid mass, which is introduced into the hollow space. However, Bristow does teach that metal, plastic, and synthetic materials are well known in the art (Bristow, P. 0009 and 0010) which are materials known to have a liquid phase that allows for the material to be formed. It is also well known in the art to form structure using metal, plastic, or synthetic materials by well-known methods of casting, injection molding or 3D printing. As such, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the mold bodies taught by Weber in view of Bristow to be metal, plastic or a synthetic material and formed by a well-known method of casting, injection molding or 3D printing since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component or material on the basis of suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious mechanical design expediency. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Also see MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. states "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). Since mold bodies are known in the art as taught by Weber in view of Bristow, the designation of a specific material does nothing to enhance the patentability of a design.
Response to Amendment
The applicant asserts the features objected to in the drawing objection of record are shown in the instant drawings. The Examiner practically agrees. The applicant asserts that the supporting guide and bearing surfaces are shown as and labeled as the bearing surface. The Examiner accepts this explanation and withdraws the objection drawn to the supporting guide and bearing surfaces. The applicant asserts that the access refers to the space created between the notches and screw or bolt connection as shown in Figs. 3 and 5. The Examiner accepts this explanation and withdraws the objections drawn to the access. The applicant asserts that the “gap distance” is shown in Figs. 1 and 2 in the area of the coupling surface between the base body and cutting edge part. The Examiner disagrees, a gap between the base body and cutting edge part do not appear to be shown in either Figs. 1 or 2 or any of the instant drawings and as such a gap distance does not appear to be shown by the instant drawing. Therefore, the drawing objection regarding the gap distance is maintained. The applicant is silent regarding the mold body and thus the objection of record regarding the mold body is maintained.
The applicant asserts that the amendment to claim 9 overcome the claim objection of record. The Examiner agrees and withdraws the claim objection of record.
The applicant asserts that the amendments to claims 1 and 3 overcome the U.S.C. 112(b) indefiniteness type rejection of record. The Examiner agrees and withdraws the indefiniteness rejections of record for claims 1-9.
The applicant asserts that the limitations of claim 10 are clear in view of the specification and, as such, that the U.S.C. 112(b) indefiniteness type rejection of record should be withdrawn. The Examiner disagrees, however, the Examiner believes given the applicant’s explanation that the limitation is clear enough and withdraws the rejection of record. However, the limitation “formed of a hardening, initially liquid mass, which is introduced into the hollow space” will be treated as intended use as the claim is an apparatus claim and not a method claim.
The applicant assert that the prior art of record of Bristow (US 2002/0146530) is non-analogous art as Bristow is not from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention or the reference is not reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. First, the Examiner agrees that the prior art of Bristow is not from the same field of endeavor and has not characterized it as such. Second, the Examiner disagrees that the prior art of Bristow is not reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. According to Stevenson v. Int'l Trade Comm., 612 F.2d 546, 550, 204 USPQ 276, 280 (CCPA 1979) "In a simple mechanical invention a broad spectrum of prior art must be explored and it is reasonable to permit inquiry into other areas where one of ordinary skill in the art would be aware that similar problems exist" (see MPEP 2141.01(a)(IV)). As one of the problems faced by the inventor was how to connect the cutting edge to the blade body both with a bearing surface and without such a surface while minimizing protrusions or recesses the Examiner turned to the connecting and joining arts where the similar problems of how to connect two or more structures exist. As the prior art of Weber (DE 202009017954 U1) teaches an industrial knife and is modified by the prior art of Bristow which teaches a connection type for two structures which is similar to the problem faced by the inventor it is considered analogous art. As such, the applicant’s assertion is unpersuasive.
The applicant asserts that the 35 U.S.C. 103 obviousness type prior art rejections of record for claims 1-11 are improper as the Examiner failed to meet the burden of clearly articulating a reason why one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been motivated to combine the teachings of the prior art of record and has thus engaged in impermissible ex post reasoning and hindsight bias. The Examiner disagrees. While the Examiner did not include that the arrangement taught by Bristow was an alternative to the arrangement taught by Weber it should be clear from the rejection of record that it is. To clarity of the record the Examiner has updated the prior art rejection to include the alternative nature of Bristow with the additional benefit of the arrangement allowing for the connection to be recessed from the surface. As such, the applicant’s assertion is unpersuasive.
The applicant asserts that the combination of Weber in view of Bristow would not have a reasonable expectation of success due to the complex recess geometry with undercuts taught by Bristow applied to the thin-walled and highly stressed cutting element of Weber. The Examiner disagrees, Bristow includes multiple embodiments that vary in complexity regarding the recess. The embodiment used by the Examiner specifically does not include complex geometry or undercuts, however, even if the recess had such features the test for obviousness is not drawn to the difficulty of developing such features but instead to the level of ordinary skill of a worker in the art and sufficient motivation for a modification. As such, the applicant’s assertion is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT D CORNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724