DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gregg (US 10,147,296).
Regarding claim 1: Gregg discloses a system for detecting falls comprising obtaining, by a mobile device (120), motion data indicating a motion measured by one or more motion sensors (accelerometer, gyroscope) over a first time period, wherein the one or more motion sensors are worn by a user (wearable device, 130); determining, by the mobile device, that the user has fallen based on the motion data; responsive to determining that the user has fallen, generating, by the mobile device, one or more notifications indicating that the user has fallen (col. 2, lines 23-27; col. 2, line 57-col. 3, line 26; col. 4, lines 4-59; col. 6, line 11-col. 8, line 63).
Regarding claim 2: Gregg discloses presenting a first notification to the user indicating that the user has fallen (col. 8, lines 18-63).
Regarding claim 3: Gregg discloses one of a visual message, an audio message, or a haptic message (col. 8, lines 23-40).
Regarding claim 4: Gregg discloses receiving, by the mobile device, an input from the user in response to the first notification, the input indicating a request for assistance by the user; responsive to receiving the input, transmitting a second notification indicating the request for assistance to a communications device remote from the mobile device (col. 8, lines 40-63).
Regarding claim 5: Gregg discloses the communication device is an emergency response system (col. 9, lines 45-54).
Regarding claim 6: Gregg discloses the second notification indicates a location of the mobile device (co. 8, lines 50-54).
Regarding claim 7: Gregg discloses determining, by the mobile device, an absence of movement by the user during a second time period after the user has fallen (the lie state exceeds the threshold); responsive to determining the absence of movement by the user during the second time period, transmitting a second notification indicating a request for assistance to a communications device remote from the mobile device (col. 8, lines 18-63).
Regarding claim 8: Gregg discloses generating the one or more notifications comprises: determining, by the mobile device, that the user has moved during a second time period after the user has fallen; responsive to determining that the user has moved during the second time period, refraining from transmitting a second notification indicating a request for assistance to a communications device remote from the mobile device (col. 7, lines 19-62).
Regarding claim 9: Gregg discloses the notifications are generated according to a state machine (col. 7, line 18-col. 8, line 63).
Regarding claim 10: Gregg discloses one or more motion sensors comprise at least one of an accelerometer or a gyroscope (col. 3, lines 1-13).
Regarding claim 11: Gregg discloses the mobile device is smart phone (col. 5, lines 54-67). Thus, it is known that some users usually wear the smart phone on or around their waist or on an armband. Therefore, it is the smart phone is a wearable device.
Regarding claim 12: Gregg discloses the determining that the user has fallen comprises determining that the user experienced an impact based on the motion data (col. 7, line 19-col. 8, line 63).
Regarding claim 13: Gregg discloses wherein determining that the user has fallen comprises determining a behavior of the user during the first time period (col. 7, line 19-col. 8, line 63).
Regarding claim 14: See claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15: See claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 16: See claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 17: See claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 18: See claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 19: See claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 20: Gregg discloses the wearable electronic device is a smart watch (col. 2, lines 57-64).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Orellano (US 10,485,452) discloses a fall detection and prevention system for patients with Alzheimer’s disease.
-Richardson et al. (US 9,704,369) discloses an autonomous fall monitor using an altimeter with opposed sensing ports.
-Cheng et al. (US 11,380,181) discloses a doppler radar system with machine learning applications for fall prediction and detection.
/TOAN N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 12/22/25