DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) Status
Claims 1-16 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarosz et al. (“Jarosz”, US 4419658 A) in view of Lee (WO 2018174540 A1) and Du et al. (“Du”, CN 202160278 U). 1) Regarding claims 1 and 9, a portable fire alarm device, comprising: As per the limitation sensing unit configured to receive a plurality of signals from at least one of one or more on-board sensors and one or more remotely located sensor devices to generate sensor related data corresponding to an environment. Jarosz discloses, in Col. 2, lines 21-43 with reference to Figs. 2-3, the use of a sensing unit 18 to enable detection of the presence of smoke. While, Jarosz discloses a single sensor chamber 52. In the same art, Lee discloses, on page 4; Fig. 4, the concept of providing a fire detection means (corresponding to a sensing unit) configured to mount a smoke and gas sensor and various other fire sensor device to enable detection of fire conditions and provide a corresponding alert. In an analogous art of providing, emergency warnings via a portable device Du discloses, in ¶¶31-32; Fig. 3, the concept of connecting external sensors to enable emergency warnings via external sensors. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of providing a fire detection means configured to mount a smoke and gas sensor and various other fire sensor device to enable detection of fire conditions and provide a corresponding alert and the concept of connecting external sensors to enable emergency warnings via external sensors, with the motivation to enhance the fire detection and alerting features of the system. As per the limitation an alert generation unit (Lee: page 4; Fig. 3: alarm means 20) configured to generate an alert based on the sensor-related data indicating a potential fire hazard within the environment (Lee: page 4); a power unit comprising at least one of: a pluggable power interface to enable a connection of the portable fire alarm device with an Alternating Current (AC) outlet to supply power to the sensing unit and the alert generation unit to generate the alert (see Jarosz: Col. 2, lines 21-43; Figs. 1-2: plug 34 being interfaced into the portable unit via cord 32 which enable AC power to supplied). As per the limitation a power interface to enable a connection of the portable fire alarm with an external Direct Current (DC) power source to supply power to the sensing unit. Du discloses, in ¶32, the concept of providing a DC input interface to enable connection of a DC power source with a portable emergency sensing and warning device. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of providing a DC input interface to enable connection of a DC power source with a portable emergency sensing and warning device, with the motivation to enhance power supply features of the system.
As per the limitation the alert generation unit to generate the alert (Jarosz: Col. 2, lines 21-43; also see Lee page 4); and an internal DC power source configured to supply power to the sensing unit (Jarosz: claim 1) and the alert generation unit to generate the alert (Jarosz: claim 1). As per the limitation an interface mole configured to establish a connection with a communication mole of another device to send the generated alert to one or more external electronic devices. Du discloses, on page 4, the concept of providing a communication means to enable generated alarm notifications to be transmitted to an external smartphone. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of providing a communication means to enable generated alarm notifications to be transmitted to an external smartphone, with the motivation to enhance alarm notification features of the system. 2) Regarding claim 2 and 10, wherein the at least one of the one or more on-board sensors and the one or more remotely located sensor devices comprise at least one of a temperature sensor (Lee: page 4 with regard to the heat sensor), a gas sensor (Lee: page 4), a smoke sensor (Jarosz: Col. 2, lines 21-57; Lee: page 4), and a flame sensor (Lee: page 4 with regard to the illumination sensor 15). 3) Regarding claims 3 and 11, wherein the sensor-related data indicates at least one of a change in temperature, a detection of flame, a detection of a target gas (Lee: page 4), or a detection of smoke in the environment (Jarosz: Col. 2, lines 21-57; Lee: page 4). 4) Regarding claims 4 and 12, wherein the alert generation unit is configured to compare the at least one of the change in the temperature (Lee: page 6), the detection of flame (Lee: page 6), the detection of the target gas (Lee: page 4 with regard to the detection of combustion gas), or the detection of smoke in the environment with a corresponding predefined criteria to determine whether the received sensor-data corresponds to the potential fire hazard (Jarosz: Col. 2, line 44 through Col. 3, line 17; Lee pages 5-6). 5) Regarding claims 5 and 13, wherein the alert corresponds to at least one of an activation of one or more visual indicators, an activation of a sound signal, or a combination thereof (Jarosz: Col. 2, line 44 through Col. 3, line 17; Lee pages 4-6). 6) Regarding claims 6 and 14, wherein the external DC power source comprises a battery powered device (Du: ¶18, with regard to the cigar lighter interface can be directly connected to the vehicle, hence connected to an external device powered by a battery).
Claim(s) 7 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarosz in view of Du, and in further view of Ellul (US 20070132575 A1, IDS) 1) Regarding claims 7 and 15, wherein the another device comprises at least one of a smart lock device, an Internet of Thing (IOT) home device, and an external alarm system. Du discloses, in ¶41; Fig. 1, the concept of providing an alarm notification to a remote alarm 14 device.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of providing an alarm notification to a remote alarm device, with the motivation to enhance the notification features of the system.
Claim(s) 8 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarosz in view of Du, and in further view of Balaji et al. (“Balaji”, US 20190287363 A1). 1) Regarding claims 8 and 16, wherein the sensor-related data indicates at least one of a change in a temperature or a change in gases in an environment, and the alert generation unit is configured to determine whether the at least one of the change in the temperature or the changes in the gases in the environment exceeds a corresponding predefined threshold value. Balaji discloses, in ¶75, the concept of evaluating temperature change indicating an threshold exceeding condition that triggers an alert transmission event.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of evaluating temperature change indicating an threshold exceeding condition that triggers an alert transmission event, with the motivation to enhance the fire detection and notification features of the system. As per the limitation generate the alert based on a determination that the at least one of the change in the temperature or the changes in the gases in the environment exceeds the corresponding predefined threshold value (Balaji” ¶75).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2004066237 A1; JP 2009003773 A; JP 2006209361 A; portable fire alarm systems.
CHICO A. FOXX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2684
/CHICO A FOXX/Examiner, Art Unit 2685